GEICO Auto Insurance Review (2022)

GEICO offers extensive insurance and discount options, especially for teens and drivers with poor credit.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 15, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 15, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 15, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GEICO

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$984

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordable rates
  • High customer satisfaction
  • Extensive discounts

Cons

  • No GAP coverage
  • Higher rates for drivers with a DUI

The Bottom Line

See if GEICO is Right for Your Car

GEICO is well-known for its affordable rates and impressive list of discounts. While everyone has a chance to find affordable rates from GEICO, teens and people with low credit scores can particularly benefit.

Although you’ll probably find a good quote with GEICO, you should always compare insurance companies to ensure you get the right policy for your needs at the right price.

GEICO is a familiar name in the car insurance market, and for a good reason. Founded in 1936 as the Government Employee Insurance Company, GEICO is the second-largest car insurance provider in America today.

While GEICO originally sold coverage exclusively to government and military members, millions of drivers can find affordable coverage with the company today. GEICO also has the second-lowest rates of all major insurance providers, with only USAA providing lower prices.

From standard coverage to usage-based car insurance plans, nearly every driver can find the policy they need with GEICO. Read on to explore if GEICO’s insurance options are right for your car and budget. Then, compare quotes with other companies to find the best policy possible.

Is GEICO a Good Choice?

Things to Remember

  • GEICO is the second-largest insurance company in America and has the second-lowest average rates
  • Although it has standard discounts, GEICO offers unique savings for over 500 organizations
  • GEICO touts an A++ rating from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau, with customers generally satisfied with their service

Car insurance is a touchy subject for many drivers since they’re paying monthly for a service they hope never to use so they can keep driving. With that in mind, it’s not hard to see why customers are often critical of their insurance providers.

However, that’s not the case with GEICO. While it has complaints, the consensus is that GEICO provides valuable coverage at affordable rates.

Professional rating companies show GEICO love, as well. For example, A.M. Best gives GEICO a superior score of A++ for its financial security. The Better Business Bureau (BBB) also ranks GEICO highly, giving the company an A+.

GEICO is available in all 50 states and Washington D.C., offering an array of digital tools to help find quotes, manage your policy, and file claims.

GEICO Customer Service

Depending on the state, GEICO’s customer service tends to be hit or miss. Some customers rave about their experience, while others say they’ve never received such poor service. Interestingly, some reviewers say they were happy with customer service agents until they moved to another state.

GEICO Claims Handling

Nobody likes to file a claim, but GEICO promises to make the claims process as easy and fast as possible. While some companies take weeks to resolve a claim, GEICO can complete the process as quickly as 48 hours.

You can file a claim online or by calling the 24/7 GEICO insurance phone number. While you’re free to use any mechanic you’d like, you can speed the process up by using GEICO’s Auto Repair Xpress tool. This tool will help you locate a mechanic GEICO partners with to ensure a smooth repair process.

GEICO issues payouts electronically or by mail, minus your deductible.

Customer reviews for GEICO’s claims handling are mixed. Some people are satisfied with GEICO’s communication, speediness, and overall handling of their claims.

Others say GEICO is more interested in closing claims quickly than figuring out what happened. Many customers feel they were wrongfully treated like the at-fault driver when they were actually victims.

GEICO Rates

How much is GEICO car insurance?

One of the most appealing aspects of GEICO auto insurance is the low prices. GEICO has the overall lowest rates of any company except for USAA.

Although GEICO is cheaper overall than its competitors, you’ll see different rates based on various factors. Insurance companies look at your location, age, gender, driving history, credit score, and other factors to determine how much you’ll pay for your coverage.

Location is one of the most important aspects of your insurance rates — for example, the average minimum coverage for GEICO in Hawaii is $23 a month, while Louisianans will see around $111.

To get an idea of what you might pay, consider how GEICO compares to other companies for minimum and full coverage below.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAAAverage
AK$1,667 $1,195 $807$737$1,223
AL$1,332 $1,644 $1,099 $1,999 $1,189 $1,388 $1,337 $972$691$1,370
AR$2,007 $1,120 $1,227 $1,581 $1,620 $989$1,367 $674$1,416
AZ$2,226 $1,664 $808$1,436 $1,039 $999$1,292 $780$1,352
CA$1,996 $1,553 $1,732 $1,774
CO$2,054 $1,457 $2,010 $1,161 $1,133 $1,324 $1,490 $1,168 $960$1,475
CT$2,421 $768$2,486 $1,382 $1,641 $1,126 $1,030 $956$1,550
DC$2,976 $855$2,126 $1,420 $1,371 $592$1,750
DE$2,555 $1,243 $6,117 $1,777 $1,115 $1,431 $1,019 $532$2,180
FL$2,263 $1,103 $1,995 $1,272 $1,889 $1,223 $578$1,624
GA$2,035 $754$3,259 $1,878 $1,417 $1,324 $879$1,778
HI$1,113
IA$1,169 $1,008 $1,006 $1,432 $900$930$804$1,143 $678$1,049
ID$1,587 $1,148 $1,139 $708$975$1,018 $653$707$495$992
IL$2,172 $1,405 $587$935$1,146 $1,103 $796$1,077 $767$1,153
IN$1,729 $1,328 $977$785$2,269 $1,198 $849$872$856$529$1,207
KS$1,973 $1,408 $1,781 $923$2,148 $1,141 $1,575 $1,003 $1,071 $697$1,447
KY$988$2,080 $2,277 $1,377 $1,212 $1,725 $886$1,610
LA$2,547 $1,739 $1,990 $1,537 $1,211 $1,953
MA$1,342
MD$2,481 $1,671 $1,313 $1,493 $1,322 $990$1,656
ME$1,334 $1,446 $454$1,485 $1,166 $724$759$455$1,053
MI$5,017 $4,140 $1,219 $5,250 $3,184 $1,880 $2,585 $2,268 $1,320 $3,193
MN$1,977 $1,156 $1,333 $1,118 $4,640 $1,070 $828$837$1,732
MO$1,831 $1,313 $1,674 $1,112 $1,597 $816$1,212 $1,051 $618$1,326
MS$1,822 $886$1,477 $1,190 $1,487 $1,018 $1,092 $671$1,282
MT$1,903 $2,025 $1,020 $726$1,093 $2,109 $870$614$1,392
NC$2,095 $851$1,020 $1,367 $393$949$1,228 $1,129
ND$1,679 $1,793 $1,324 $749$4,919 $949$1,364 $943$542$1,715
NE$1,545 $1,381 $1,606 $1,139 $2,213 $952$1,175 $850$687$1,358
NH$1,585 $624$2,453 $953$785$729$510$1,188
NJ$1,948 $2,861 $917$3,446 $1,154 $1,403 $1,679 $1,915
NM$1,958 $1,615 $1,119 $1,186 $1,069 $855$799$1,300
NV$2,046 $1,734 $1,915 $1,361 $1,375 $1,386 $1,018 $1,272 $1,122 $851$1,470
NY$1,820 $963$2,473 $2,026 $1,188 $1,695 $2,159 $1,053 $1,761
OH$1,483 $764$1,193 $728$1,311 $1,408 $1,051 $863$784$507$1,065
OK$1,668 $1,684 $1,350 $2,279 $1,362 $1,122 $839$1,577
OR$1,896 $1,313 $1,378 $1,155 $1,738 $1,372 $959$926$1,197 $720$1,326
PA$1,829 $843$2,704 $1,066 $1,834 $938$931$705$1,449
RI$2,333 $1,547 $2,905 $2,351 $1,438 $939$1,275 $801$1,827
SC$1,650 $2,059 $979$1,459 $1,294 $1,089 $851$1,422
SD$1,682 $1,867 $1,398 $706$2,849 $943$1,298 $827$1,446
TN$1,777 $1,065 $970$1,464 $1,141 $895$1,090 $723$1,200
TX$2,488 $2,171 $1,303 $1,908 $1,493 $1,109 $772$1,745
UT$1,442 $1,296 $1,417 $906$1,466 $1,154 $1,174 $1,269 $614$1,266
VA$1,277 $859$1,061 $754$785$537$947
VT$1,759 $469$1,242 $954$2,233 $1,079 $523$1,289
WA$1,415 $1,130 $1,260 $922$1,140 $866$746$858$565$1,042
WI$1,521 $774$1,346 $766$1,039 $2,797 $1,158 $721$578$1,265
WV$2,000 $1,030 $2,419 $1,288 $1,362 $979$828$1,513
WY$1,918 $1,604 $1,369 $922$1,017 $705$1,366

While rates tend to be low for everyone, drivers with poor credit scores and young drivers should consider GEICO. On the other hand, drivers looking for high-risk auto insurance might find better rates elsewhere.

GEICO Rates by Age

One critical aspect of how much you’ll pay for insurance is your age. Young drivers are statistically more likely to get into an accident or drive recklessly, so they see much higher rates than adults.

While some companies heavily penalize young drivers, GEICO rates are amongst the lowest. Consider the prices below to see how much GEICO charges drivers of all ages.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Age and GenderAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGEICOLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersNational Average
18 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$6,223 $4,684 $7,238 $3,043 $7,593 $4,646 $7,941 $3,408 $8,750 $5,947
18 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$5,381 $3,452 $6,879 $2,635 $6,335 $3,632 $7,090 $2,750 $6,271 $4,936
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$2,118 $1,545 $1,925 $1,041 $2,373 $1,667 $1,633 $1,234 $1,274 $1,646
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$2,021 $1,310 $1,843 $1,078 $2,072 $1,519 $1,569 $1,122 $1,173 $1,523
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,919 $1,319 $1,595 $962$2,066 $1,376 $1,261 $1,032 $1,169 $1,411
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,941 $1,304 $1,602 $958$2,034 $1,355 $1,340 $1,032 $1,154 $1,413
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,820 $1,251 $1,513 $912$1,959 $1,305 $1,196 $978$1,109 $1,338
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,841 $1,237 $1,519 $909$1,929 $1,285 $1,271 $978$1,095 $1,341
65 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$1,878 $1,291 $1,561 $941$2,022 $1,347 $1,234 $1,010 $1,145 $1,381
65 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$1,900 $1,276 $1,568 $938$1,991 $1,327 $1,312 $1,010 $1,130 $1,383
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Let’s examine some specific age groups to see how GEICO rates compare. The table below shows rates for teenage drivers.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$7,654$7,299$6,223$5,381
American Family$5,761$4,682$4,684$3,452
Farmers$8,901$9,330$7,238$6,879
GEICO$3,743$3,573$3,043$2,635
Liberty Mutual$9,339$8,592$7,593$6,335
Nationwide$5,714$4,926$4,646$3,632
Progressive$9,766$9,617$7,941$7,090
State Farm$4,191$3,730$3,408$2,750
Travelers$10,762$8,506$8,750$6,271
National Average$7,315$6,695$5,947$4,936

Rates for teenagers tend to be higher than average due to their lack of experience behind the wheel. As drivers age, insurance rates start going down. However, in later years, insurance rates may take a slight upturn. Here’s a look at rates for senior drivers.

Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies' Average Annual Rates for Senior Drivers
Insurance CompanyRates for Senior Drivers
Allstate$1966
American Family$1298
Farmers$1582
Geico$937
Liberty Mutual$1994
Nationwide$1349
Progressive$1213
State Farm$986
Travelers$1208
Usaa$694
Average$1393
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Like age, your driving history also has an effect on your insurance rates. Below we’ll examine some specific examples.

GEICO Rates After an Accident

Another important part of your insurance rates is your driving record. People with clean records pay less than drivers with at-fault accidents, speeding tickets, or DUIs.

While GEICO still offers relatively low rates to drivers with an accident, other companies might offer a better price.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,848$1,993
American Family$2,000$1,386
Farmers$2,383$1,674
GEICO$1,595$984
Liberty Mutual$2,840$2,120
Nationwide$1,983$1,445
Progressive$2,284$1,310
State Farm$1,285$1,091
Travelers$1,888$1,287
Average$2,123$1,477

People with an accident on their record may benefit from looking at quotes from State Farm or USAA. However, GEICO still offers relatively low rates with a bad driving record.

GEICO Rates With a DUI

Having a DUI on your record is another factor that may cause your insurance rates to go up. Take a look at the table below:

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$1,993
American Family$2,124$1,386
Farmers$2,296$1,674
GEICO$2,566$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,445
Progressive$1,760$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,287
Average$2,619$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Not only will drinking and driving increase your rates, but it will also endanger you, your passengers, other drivers, and pedestrians.

GEICO Rates With a Ticket

Now let’s look at how a traffic ticket can impact your auto insurance rates.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,342$1,993
American Family$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,108$1,674
GEICO$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,227$1,091
Travelers$1,780$1,287
USAA$859$753
Average$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, all of these traffic violations will lead to increased car insurance rates. And the more you have on your record the higher your rates will climb. Staying safe and keeping your record clean will help keep your car insurance rates low.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GEICO Discounts Available

What discounts does GEICO offer for car insurance?

GEICO is well-known for its affordable rates, and one of the ways it offers such low prices is through extensive discounts. With something for just about everyone, take a look at GEICO’s available discounts below:

  • Air bags
  • Seat belt use
  • Anti-lock brakes
  • Good student
  • New vehicle
  • Anti-theft device
  • Defensive driving course
  • Daytime running lights
  • Good driver
  • Military
  • Emergency deployment
  • Driver’s education course
  • Federal employee
  • Multi-car
  • Multiple policy
  • Membership and employee
  • Sorority, fraternity, and honor society members

Some of these discounts are small, while others are more considerable. Your information will help GEICO determine eligible discounts when you request a quote.

GEICO Coverage Options

What types of car insurance does GEICO sell?

Although GEICO is the second-largest car insurance provider, it doesn’t match the variety of some of its competitors. In fact, if you compare GEICO vs. Progressive, Allstate, or State Farm, GEICO has the fewest options.

However, a smaller list of available insurance products isn’t necessarily bad. You can buy all the coverage you need from GEICO, including:

  • Liability. Liability insurance is required in most states and ensures you can pay for damage you cause in an accident. There are two parts to liability insurance: bodily injury and property damage.
  • Collision. Liability doesn’t cover damage to your car — for that, you’ll need collision insurance. Collision insurance helps repair your vehicle after an accident, even if you’re at fault.
  • Comprehensive. Your car can get damaged in a lot of ways outside of accidents. Comprehensive insurance protects against weather, vandalism, animal contact, theft, and fire damage.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). Personal injury protection helps pay for medical bills, lost wages, and other related health care expenses if you get injured in an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorists. Most states require drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance, but not everyone follows the law. Uninsured/underinsured motorist protects you against drivers with inadequate or no insurance and hit-and-runs.
  • Emergency roadside assistance. If you find yourself stranded on the side of the road, GEICO’s roadside assistance helps with battery jumps, tire changes, fuel delivery, and other related issues.
  • Rental reimbursement. Although GEICO promises fast claims resolution, your car might get stuck in the shop after an accident. GEICO will cover a rental car from Enterprise or reimburse you if you go elsewhere.

The coverage you need depends on various factors. For example, if you own an older car outright and need to keep your payment low, your state’s minimum requirement is probably all you need.

Full coverage — including liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, and PIP — is typically required if you have a car loan or lease.

Another factor you should consider is your location. For example, it might be best to add comprehensive insurance to your plan if you live in a rural area. If you have GEICO and hit a deer, you can only file a claim with comprehensive coverage.

Don’t worry about figuring out which insurance you need by yourself — if you’re not entirely sure, a GEICO representative can help.

DriveEasy With GEICO

According to the Federal Highway Administration, the average American drives more than 13,000 miles annually, but many people now work from home or cut back on their drive time. So it doesn’t seem fair to pay for a full insurance policy when you’re not driving as many miles.

To meet the needs of low-mileage drivers, GEICO offers the DriveEasy program.

DriveEasy is a monitoring program that rewards you for good driving behavior and low mileage. It’s available in 25 states plus Washington D.C., so you’ll have to check your state’s availability.

The DriveEasy program monitors you through the GEICO app and looks at the following while you drive:

  • Phone use
  • Hard braking
  • Rapid acceleration
  • Mileage
  • Sharp turns
  • Time of day

Safe drivers can save up to 25% on their GEICO insurance quote simply by using DriveEasy. However, drivers who engage in poor behaviors might see their rates increase.

Other Car Insurance Services by GEICO

GEICO has a few other options for car insurance, all of which can add policy value and increase your car’s protection. These include:

  • Rideshare. GEICO’s rideshare insurance is a hybrid policy replacing your traditional plan. Whether running errands or driving for a rideshare company, your hybrid policy covers you.
  • Mechanical breakdown insurance. Mechanical breakdown coverage pays for repairs if your car suffers mechanical issues. It doesn’t cover routine wear and tear, so check before filing a claim.
  • Classic car. If you have a vintage vehicle, you need special classic car insurance to protect it. GEICO offers protection for everything from show circuits to pleasure cruises.
  • Mexico travel. American car insurance doesn’t work in Mexico. GEICO’s Mexican insurance will cover your car if you’re planning a trip south of the border.
  • Accident forgiveness. There are two ways to get GEICO accident forgiveness: by buying it or earning it for being a safe driver and loyal GEICO customer.

Aside from additional products, GEICO also offers policyholders an easy-to-use app, 24/7 access to claims handling and tracking, and representatives always ready to help you.

What other types of insurance does GEICO sell?

GEICO offers a multiple policy discount when you buy two or more plans. It’s easy to earn this discount because GEICO provides insurance for just about anything you might need, including:

  • Motorcycle
  • ATV/UTV
  • RV
  • Boat/personal watercraft
  • Homeowners
  • Condo
  • Renters
  • Mobile home
  • Landlord
  • Flood
  • Life
  • Travel
  • Business
  • Commercial auto
  • Umbrella

GEICO does relatively well with its insurance products. For example, GEICO RV insurance reviews say that rates are low and the claims process is easy.

Though you might not see a specific insurance type above, that doesn’t mean GEICO doesn’t cover it. For example, avid cyclists looking to cover sports equipment get GEICO bicycle insurance included in their homeowners, condo, or renters policy.

GEICO vs. Competitors

While GEICO isn’t the largest insurance company, it competes well with other major providers. From lower rates to great discount options, GEICO has a lot to offer. While comparing quotes from different companies is important, you can get an idea of how GEICO compares to other providers below.

GEICO vs. Nationwide

GEICO and Nationwide are similarly rated in many ways, but each company outperforms the other in key areas.

GEICO tends to offer lower rates, with the average GEICO customer saving nearly $200 a year compared to Nationwide policies.

However, Nationwide is rated higher for customer service, claims handling, and overall customer satisfaction.

GEICO vs. Progressive

While Progressive and GEICO offer similar coverage options, GEICO has slightly better third-party ratings. Both A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau give GEICO better ratings.

In most other categories, GEICO does better than Progressive. GEICO offers better rates, has a better customer experience, and an overall stronger reputation.

Progressive does better in one category – coverage options. While both companies offer much of the same insurance, only Progressive offers GAP coverage and custom parts and equipment insurance.

GEICO vs. Allstate

GEICO does better than Allstate in many areas, including claims handling, customer service, and customer renewal rates.

GEICO tends to have cheaper rates than Allstate, except for drivers with a DUI on their record. In general, more customers are happy with the GEICO insurance compared to Allstate.

However, Allstate does better than GEICO for its usage-based insurance. GEICO’s DriveEasy program is not as user-friendly as Allstate’s Drivewise.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is GEICO car insurance worth it?

While the amount that you’ll end up paying depends on your unique situation, most GEICO customers are satisfied with their service. GEICO might not have the lowest rates for you, but it’s at least worth getting a GEICO quote.

Who should get GEICO car insurance?

GEICO is a good option for anyone looking for affordable coverage, especially young drivers and people with low credit scores. However, people with accidents or DUIs might want to look elsewhere.

How can you file a claim with GEICO?

You can file a claim by visiting the GEICO website, using its app, or calling the 24/7 claims phone number. GEICO will send a payment for your claim via mail or to your bank account.

Does GEICO cover rental cars?

While GEICO won’t pay for a rental car unless you’re using your rental reimbursement coverage, your personal policy applies to a rental in the U.S. So, if you have collision and comprehensive insurance, you’ll also have it on a rental car.

Does GEICO sell GAP coverage?

If you have a car loan and total your vehicle, you might owe more on the loan than the car is worth. GAP coverage pays the difference, so you’re not stuck paying for a vehicle you no longer drive.

Unfortunately, GEICO doesn’t currently offer GAP insurance.

How long does a GEICO quote last?

GEICO doesn’t specify how long a quote lasts, but most companies allow you 30 days to decide. Remember that just because a quote is still active doesn’t mean the price will remain the same.

How can you pay for your GEICO insurance?

Several options are open to people wondering, “How can I pay my GEICO bill?” You can set up automatic payments with a debit card, credit card, or bank account or make one-time payments on the website with an online check or a card.

You can also make payments online, in the app, or by mailing a personal check or money order.

Where can you buy GEICO car insurance?

Buying GEICO insurance is easy. You can do so online, through the GEICO app, or with a local agent in your area.

How do you contact GEICO?

Contacting GEICO is easy. You can visit the GEICO website or call the customer service number. The customer service department also has an email if you’d rather write about your issues. Additionally, GEICO accepts traditional mail, but you’ll have to wait longer for a response.

Can you cancel GEICO insurance online?

You can’t cancel your GEICO insurance online. However, the process is relatively painless and requires a simple phone call.

Does GEICO charge a cancellation fee?

There is no cancellation fee if you decide your GEICO auto insurance is no longer the best fit for you.

How long does GEICO take to issue a refund?

GEICO doesn’t say how long it takes to get a refund, but it will likely take the same time as other companies. For example, refunds for personal checks can take up to 30 days, while credit or debit payments will likely get refunded in one to two weeks.

Does GEICO have classic car insurance?

GEICO has a policy specifically for classic cars. From vintage vehicles to exotic models like Lamborghinis and Ferraris, GEICO has specialty insurance to cover unique vehicles.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for GEICO

4.11 (19,116 reviews)
1
January 3, 2022

Volodymyr_Korolevych

Adjuster stopped responding

Cant get ahold of anyone. Always different people giving me different numbers. No resolution Mr [REDACTED NAME], claim adjuster stopped responding to my requests without any resolution. Also not picking up my phone
1
May 17, 2021

Sergei_K

Can't get rid of them

From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could b...
From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could be a mistake, I contacted them 3 times. I talked to 6 different people. All of them promised to help me. I wrote 2 emails attaching copies of my StateFarm Id's for the entire period (after Geico policy cancellation). It didn't cure the problem. Moreover, Geico retroactively and unilaterally (without my desire, knowledge, and consent) reopened the policy. Now, they force me to pay for the previous months (last year). Geico supervisor [REDACTED NAME] claims that he obtains sufficient evidence that I hadn't been insured after I officially broke with Geico in April-May 2020 = the company is right demanding me to pay for nothing. From my non-legal understanding, it's a fraud, He knowingly (I sent them StateFarm Id's for the entire period) mispresents the facts unlawfully demanding payment.
1
February 10, 2021

vscore16

BAIT AND SWITCH

They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money s...
They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money so why would I not expect them to lie about the rate they are giving me. I am no risk adjuster but any halfway intelligent person knows their is a lot more risk for a bus full of athletes that ways 20,000 pounds than a minivan with one person in it. Yet according to geico insuring a moving tank is cheaper than insuring a minivan. Would you believe that? I am not that gullible. Bait and switch all the way.
5
February 3, 2021

Trinidad2_

geico is the best

great company with fantastic customer service they lowered my cost due to covid with no issues and they are always a phoen call away fo r help wiht my policy, i wholeheartedly reccomend them
2
February 3, 2021

Jotwox

Not recommend

They were alright not the best. If they put in more effort into the customers they could’ve kept me.
5
February 2, 2021

Waycross43_

Helpful

Geico has been great during the pandemic. They have worked with me changing billing dates based on what I need. They have helped me save 212 dollars a month on insurance.
5
February 1, 2021

Babanana

Geico is amazing

My experience receiving auto insurance from Geico has been extremely positive. The insurance process was perfectly smooth and I have all my insurance information neatly organized at the tip of my fingers on my mobile phone. The coverage and premiums are much better than I received from my previous provider.
2
February 1, 2021

Justin_Kim

Filing a claim at geico

They were very nice and had good customer service. Once I even filed a claim and they got back to me within seventy-four hours.
5
January 28, 2021

Dingo

Insurance You Can Understand

The representative borke down all information in an easy-to-understand manner and then made very easy the process of initiating the policies. I am also very happy with the ease of managing online and on the app.
5
January 22, 2021

wheezer

Very reasonable

This is the best insurance company I think there is. Rates are very reasonable and they do not overcharge. I am able to pay my insurance every 6 months and when I received my renewal, there was no rate increase. I will be a loyal Geico customer for sure!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption