Erie Car Insurance Review [2022]

Erie car insurance has low average rates and a wide selection of coverages, besides the minimum liability insurance all drivers must carry. However, the company isn’t available in every state.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$700

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • It offers several great perks with standard coverages, such as pet injury protection.
  • Its rates are lower than the national averages.
  • It offers numerous other coverages besides auto insurance.

Cons

  • It’s unavailable in most states.
  • It has many complaints and some negative customer reviews.

The Bottom Line

The Final Word on Erie Auto Insurance 

Erie has lower-than-average rates for most customers and a wide array of coverages. However, it has many complaints and isn’t available in all states.

The best way to decide if Erie is right for you is to get quotes from multiple companies to see how rates and coverages compare. Use our free quote comparison tool to find your area’s best car insurance rates.

If you’re considering signing up with the Erie insurance company, it’s essential to do your research to see if an Erie insurance policy is the right fit. Not looking into a company before committing can lead to headaches later if your claim gets mishandled or you have to cancel Erie insurance and look for a new insurance policy.

To ensure Erie is the right fit for you out of all of the best auto insurance companies, read on for a full Erie insurance review, from its pros and cons to its insurance options.

Is Erie Insurance Group a Good Choice?

Erie Customer Service and Complaints

The Better Business Bureau gives Erie Insurance an A+ rating. While some reviews were negative, the number of complaints is low compared to how many customers Erie insures. There were just over 100 complaints closed in the last three years, with 30 complaints in the last year.

Overall, Erie insurance’s customer service ranked fairly well despite negative reviews. Keep in mind that it’s not uncommon for companies to have a lot of negative reviews, even if they have good customer service.

To understand an insurer’s ratings, it’s vital to determine the percentage of unhappy customers, as a few disgruntled customers don’t reflect on the company.

Erie Insurance Group Rates

Cost of Erie Auto Insurance

Price is a huge selling point regarding car insurance policies. Erie tends to be one of the cheapest insurance companies, as its rates are below the national average. Take a look at Erie’s rates below.

Remember that Erie’s rates depend on the individual driver’s history, vehicle, and more. The best way to determine how much Erie will cost for you is to get Erie insurance quotes.

Erie’s Rates Vs. Competitors’ Rates

While Erie is cheaper than the national average, that doesn’t mean it’s the cheapest company.

Erie's Rates by Age

Age is a significant factor in determining auto insurance rates. Here's a look at Erie's average annual full coverage rates for adult drivers.

When it comes to teenage drivers, rates are going to be significantly higher than average. That's because Erie, like most auto insurance companies, condsider teenagers high-risk due to their lack of driving experience.

If you look at the rate difference in the two charts above you will see that auto insurance rates tend to go down as you age. But, as drivers enter their senior years, they may see a slight rise in there annual insurance rates.

Erie Auto Insurance Rates by Driving History

Being a safe driver pays off when looking for auto insurance. If you have a DUI, ticket, or at-fault accident on your record you are likely to pay more for auto insurance.

Keepin your driving record clean is a great way to avoid higher auto insurance rates.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Insurance Group Discounts Available

Erie Auto Insurance Discounts 

Discounts can significantly reduce auto insurance costs. Erie insurance discounts include:

  • Annual payment plan discount. You can earn a discount if you pay your plan in a lump sum instead of monthly payments.
  • Car safety equipment discount. You can earn a discount if your vehicle has safety features like anti-lock brakes.
  • Multi-car discount. Adding more than one vehicle to your policy will result in cheaper rates. 
  • Multi-policy discount. Erie will give you a discount if you sign up for more than one type of policy, such as home and auto.
  • Reduced usage discount. Erie discounts your rates if you don’t drive for at least 90 consecutive days, like if you travel abroad.
  • Safe driving discount. You can get discounts on your insurance policy if you keep a clean driving record.
  • Young driver discount. Young drivers under 21, unmarried, and living with their parents can earn a discount.

Qualifying for as many discounts as possible can help reduce your rates. Erie offers a good selection of discounts, and having a clean driving record will go a long way to reducing rates.

Erie Insurance Group Coverage Options

Auto Insurance Coverages at Erie 

Erie offers several auto insurance coverages besides the minimum liability insurance all drivers must carry. Most drivers with newer cars carry more than the minimum liability insurance to protect their assets fully, and Erie offers additional coverage for customers’ individual needs.

The main auto insurance coverages that Erie insurance offers are:

  • Bodily injury liability and property damage liability. If you’re at fault in an accident, bodily injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance pay for the other parties’ medical and car repair bills, respectively.
  • Collision. If you crash into another vehicle or an object like a fence post, your collision coverage pays for your vehicle repair bills.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive pays for repairs if you crash into an animal or your car gets damaged by weather, vandalism, or theft.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection will help pay for the medical bills if you or your passengers suffer injuries. 
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist. If the driver who hits you doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your bills or has no insurance, this coverage pays your bills. 

Erie offers all the basic coverages for drivers to purchase a full or minimum coverage policy.

Erie Add-On Insurance Options 

In addition to the basic coverages offered at Erie, the insurance company also has various add-on coverages for drivers. Keep in mind that these add-on coverages aren’t available in every state.

  • Better car replacement. This coverage pays for a car of the same make and model as your totaled car, but the new replacement car will be two years newer. Your current car must be older than two years to qualify for this coverage.
  • Erie Auto Plus. This add-on includes multiple perks like a diminishing deductible, transportation expenses, increased coverage limits, waived deductibles, and death benefits.
  • New car replacement. If you total your car, new car replacement gives you your car’s true value instead of a depreciated value.
    • Rate lock. Erie will lock your rates with this feature even if you have a claim. 
  • Rental car. If your car is in the shop, rental car coverage will provide a car for you until your car is back on the road.
  • Rideshare protection. If you drive for Uber or Lyft, you’ll need rideshare protection from Erie. 
  • Roadside assistance. Erie’s roadside assistance helps with numerous issues, from locking yourself out of your car to a dead battery.

Erie has many great insurance coverages, with some designed to save drivers money over time.

Extra Features Included With Insurance Coverages 

Erie has many perks included with basic policies at Erie, such as pet injury coverage and travel expense coverage. Take a look at the full list below.

  • Accident forgiveness. If you’ve been an Erie customer for at least three years and are claim-free, Erie will forgive your first accident.
  • Diminishing deductible. Erie reduces your deductible every year you go claim-free, up to $500.
  • Pet injury protection. Pet injury coverage covers up to $500 per pet and $1,000 total in vet bills if your pet gets injured in a crash.
  • Travel expenses. Travel expenses helps pay for food and hotel costs if your car breaks down.
  • Windshield deductible waiver. Erie will waive your deductible if you choose to get your window repaired rather than replaced.

Erie’s accident forgiveness policy can help drivers save hundreds of dollars if they’re in an accident. Its comprehensive coverage also carries some perks, including glass repair, locksmith services, and personal items coverage.

Auto Plus Package at Erie 

Customers can add Erie’s Auto Plus package to a standard auto insurance policy. It generally costs less than $35 a year, adding only a few pennies to your daily auto insurance rates. The Auto Plus package offers the following perks:

  • Death benefit. It provides $10,000 per person killed in a covered accident.
  • Diminishing deductible. Erie will reduce your deductible each year you go claims-free.
  • Increased coverage limits. Your coverage limits will increase to help cover things like personal items in the car.
  • Transportation expenses. Erie will pay for up to 10 days more of transportation expenses after settlement if your car gets totaled.
  • Waived deductibles. In some cases, Erie will waive your deductible for covered claims.

For most drivers, adding on the Auto Plus package is worth the price. 

Other Erie Insurance Types 

Erie offers several other insurance types besides auto insurance. To earn bundling discounts, you may want to purchase more than just auto insurance at Erie. Some of the other main types of insurance offered at Erie are:

  • ATV, snowmobile, and golf cart insurance
  • Boat insurance 
  • Business insurance 
  • Collector/classic car insurance 
  • Condo insurance 
  • Home insurance 
  • Life insurance 
  • Motorcycle insurance 
  • Recreational vehicle insurance 
  • Renter’s insurance 

Erie provides a full range of insuranc

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Erie auto insurance policies expensive? 

No, for most drivers Erie will be cheaper than the national average. Erie is one of the cheaper auto insurance companies available.

Does Erie insurance have additional perks?

Erie has many great perks not typically offered at other insurance companies, such as pet injury protection, locked rates, and diminishing deductibles.

Where can I buy Erie auto insurance?

You can buy Erie auto insurance in the District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Is Erie insurance a good company? 

Yes, Erie has decent rates and coverages for drivers, even though it isn’t available in all states. However, if it is in your state, it’s worth looking at reviews of Erie insurance.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Erie Insurance Group

4.28 (1,814 reviews)
5
April 7, 2022

Lee_C

Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!

Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our fa...
Erie Insurance is excellent! We have had Landis Erie insurance for our homes, cars and business for about 30 years, and we are certain that we will continue to choose this company. They have taken care of every issue we had in a timely manner in the past. Erie Insurance gave us tremendous help when our family was in a couple of extremely difficult times in our life. We recommend it to everyone, including all our families and friends. All our family members have Erie Insurance. Please don’t hesitate to choose Erie Insurance!
4
January 12, 2021

reaglehouse

Erie Insurance

I have had a great experience with them. When I have had an issue, they correct it immediately. When I called to lower my rate, they were able to find the best option for me.
5
January 2, 2021

Vinjm_75

Best deals around

It's been nothing but a positive experience the nice thing about a small company is that the agents really get to know the customers on a personal level so they really meet your needs more efficiently any more quickly than these larger companies and their rates are the cheapest around we shopped around with all the other agencies and none of them came close to the deal we got with them
4
November 20, 2020

holymama

its alright!

company is fine, they keep raising my insurance though. have not had any claims for the last few years I have been with them.
1
October 27, 2020

Lewis Cooper

Erie Insurance review

Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her t...
Erie is very deceptive. I had Erie insurance for almost 30 years I had myself, my wife, and my daughter on the policy. Over the years, they dropped my son for having a reckless driving ticket I didn’t have a problem with that they dropped my daughter while she had a learners permit for backing into a pole in a parking lot. There was about $1,500 in damage but the kicker was they had requested a copy of my youngest daughter's title. I told her to send it to them. She did not do it so they canceled my policy without letting me know. The right thing to do would have been to drop her like they did with my son and daughter. I made premium payments for 30 years and never made a claim. My wife had only one claim, and it was my daughter when she ran into the pole. When I contacted my agent his secretary said you might as well just get another policy because Erie probably won't reinstate your policy. I never priced other policies because I never needed to. But when I was forced to, I found several companies that gave me better rates. I gave 1 star only because the website won’t give you the opportunity to give a zero.
4
October 20, 2020

Rose327

Handling claims

Easy to work with, hassle free and great customer service. Recently filed a claim due to a collision where the other driver hit my car. The other driver was not being cooperative and Erie took over so I did not have to be the middle man. This relieved a lot of stress. They were fairly quick at getting my deductible back from the other insurance company however the claims adjuster could have been more prompt at returning phone calls.
2
October 19, 2020

Glitterz17548

Horrible service

This company was completely unprofessional when I had an accident. I carry full coverage and they would not fix my car that had less than 1000 in damages after I had full coverage for over 4 years with them.
5
October 18, 2020

mhake

Great Service and Most Affordable

I purchased an auto policy about 15 years ago and have experienced nothing but great service. They were the best quote by far and I even referred my boyfriend who switched to Erie Insurance. I often check around for new quotes, especially when adding my kids when they were new drivers and they stayed most reasonable. My daughter had an accident and they took care of everything quickly. I would refer anyone to use Erie.
4
October 13, 2020

chrvicars

Good customer service

It was a pleasant enough experience. I was presented with different options to fit my needs regarding the amount of coverage I wanted and how I could pay my bill ( as far as monthly, yearly, or three times a year).
4
October 12, 2020

Kupkake

Great company

They've done everything they can to make prices reasonable while still being able to cover things thoroughly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption