Travelers Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Travelers auto insurance rates are around $99/mo. Travelers auto insurance also has excellent customer service ratings, with an A from the BBB and an A++ from A.M Best. Read our Travelers auto insurance review to learn about the company's customer service, available discounts, and to find affordable coverage.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024Fact Checked

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$99

A.M. Best rating:

A++ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • One of the largest U.S. car insurance companies.
  • Travelers is available in all 50 states and Washington D.C., so you don’t have to switch car insurance companies when you move.
  • Multiple coverage options for car insurance. Travelers provides a wide range of coverages for auto insurance.
  • Travelers’ average car insurance premium is below the national average.

Cons

  • Travelers IntelliDrive program can raise rates. One of Travelers’ auto insurance discount programs can raise drivers’ rates if they score poorly on the app.
  • Travelers’ reviews show below-average customer service. Poor customer service can make dealing with a company a hassle when filing claims.
  • Rideshare insurance is only available in two states.

Final Verdict: Review of Travelers

Travelers auto insurance has lower-than-average rates for most drivers, solid financial reviews, and few customer complaints. However, its IntelliDrive program can actually raise rates, and it lacks some add-on coverages. All in all, Travelers is a solid choice for many drivers as it offers affordable auto insurance rates.

If Travelers isn’t the company for you, there are plenty of other auto insurance companies to consider. To find the best car insurance rates in your area, use our free quote comparison tool.

Choosing one of the best companies for auto insurance can be overwhelming when combing through dozens of companies’ rates and coverages. If Travelers auto insurance — not to be confused with traveler insurance — is one of your top picks for car insurance coverage, this review of Travelers insurance is for you. We’ll review everything you need to know about Travelers car insurance, from its annual rates to financial ratings. We’ll also cover important details like how to sign up for a Travelers policy.

What You Should Know About Travelers Companies, Inc.

Travelers costs around $99 monthly on average for full coverage auto insurance. In addition, Travelers auto insurance has an A from the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and an A++ from A.M. Best, indicating positive customer service and financial ratings.

We’ll cover everything you need to know about the Travelers auto insurance company, such as customer reviews, average cost, and available discounts.

Travelers Auto Insurance Customer Reviews

Travelers auto insurance carries an A rating from the BBB. However, BBB website customer reviews give the company one out of five stars, which is very low. However, there were only 658 compaints within the last three years. Since Travelers auto insurance has many customers, 658 complaints in three years is low. Disgruntled customers are also more likely to post reviews than satisified customer, which is likely why Travelers has poor BBB customer reviews.

In addition, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners gave Travelers a complaint score below one, meaning Travelers gets fewer-than-average complaints.

While some customers express dissatisfaction with customer service in their reviews, this is relatively normal for insurance companies. Overall, Travelers has low complaint scores, suggesting decent customer service and auto insurance claims handling.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

All insurance companies offer the liability auto insurance coverages required in each state, but not all offer the add-on coverages customers desire, such as Travelers auto insurance roadside assistance or gap coverage.

In addition to liability, collision auto insurance, and comprehensive auto insurance, Travelers offers the following coverages:

The noticeable coverages missing are classic car insurance, modified car insurance, and SR-22 auto insurance. So if you’ve made expensive vehicle modifications, own a classic car, or need high-risk auto insurance, you should look elsewhere for coverage.

How to Get Travelers Auto Insurance Coverage

It’s best to get a quote from Travelers auto insurance to see how much you’ll pay before committing to a policy or signing up for coverage. Then, once you’re committed to the company, buying a Travelers auto insurance policy is easy.

You can purchase auto insurance with Travelers through its website, by calling the Travelers insurance phone number, or contacting a local agent. You can cancel Travelers auto insurance online or by calling an agent.

Ensure your Travelers auto insurance policy starts before your old policy ends to avoid a coverage lapse. Driving without auto insurance is illegal and can raise your rates, even if you go without coverage for just a few days.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers Companies, Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

Auto insurance rates are one of the most important things to consider when researching a company. Choosing a car insurance company with reasonable rates can save you hundreds of dollars every year.

For an in-depth profile of Travelers auto insurance rates, let’s look at rates by various factors such as state, age, and more.

Travelers Auto Insurance Rates by State

Like all auto insurance companies, Travelers auto insurance rates by state vary. Insurers also consider local factors like crime, weather, crash statistics, and more when setting rates.

Here’s a look at the average full coverage auto insurance rates across the United States:

Look at which states have the cheapest and most expensive auto insurance rates below:

Travelers Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates by State
StateMonthly Rates
Alabama$79
Alaska$93
Arizona$104
Arkansas$111
California$122
Colorado$114
Connecticut$83
Delaware$82
District of Columbia$102
Florida$166
Georgia$110
Hawaii$72
Idaho$57
Illinois$87
Indiana$69
Iowa$92
Kansas$87
Kentucky$139
Louisiana$156
Maine$61
Maryland$103
Massachusetts$88
Michigan$183
Minnesota$94
Mississippi$88
Missouri$114
Montana$111
Nebraska$102
Nevada$91
New Hampshire$69
New Jersey$136
New Mexico$91
New York$175
North Carolina$99
North Dakota$88
Ohio$63
Oklahoma$105
Oregon$97
Pennsylvania$75
Rhode Island$103
South Carolina$105
South Dakota$97
Tennessee$88
Texas$101
Utah$88
Vermont$75
Virginia$73
Washington$81
West Virginia$102
Wisconsin$72
Wyoming$98

Michigan and New York are some of the most expensive states to purchase Travelers’ insurance. A few of the cheapest states include Ohio and Idaho. Read our guide to find cheap auto insurance in Idaho.

Travelers Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender

Average auto insurance rates by age and gender vary greatly. Look at Traveler auto insurance rates by age and gender below to see how they compare to the national average:

Travelers vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age & Gender
Insurance CompanyFemale (Age 16)Male (Age 16)Female (Age 30)Male (Age 30)Female (Age 45)Male (Age 45)Female (Age 60)Male (Age 60)
Allstate$608$638$168$176$162$160$150$154
American Family$414$509$116$137$115$117$104$105
Farmers$810$773$160$167$139$139$120$128
Geico$298$312$90$87$80$80$73$74
Liberty Mutual$723$785$174$200$171$174$148$159
Nationwide$411$476$124$136$113$115$99$104
Progressive$801$814$131$136$112$105$92$95
State Farm$311$349$94$103$86$86$76$76
Travelers$719$910$99$108$98$99$89$90
U.S. Average$566$618$128$139$119$119$106$110

Teenagers see the highest car insurance rates with Travelers, even if they have clean records.

Once drivers hit age 25, rates start to decrease significantly by thousands of dollars, and Travelers’ rates drop below the national average. Travelers’ rates remain below the national average even if adult and senior drivers have a ticket, accident, or DUI on their record.

However, Travelers does increase rates slightly for senior drivers once they turn 65, even if a senior driver has a clean driving record.

In addition, for drivers under 25, Travelers isn’t the cheapest. If you’re under 25, read our guide to auto insurance for drivers under 25 to see which companies are best.

Travelers Auto Insurance Rates by Driving Record

Your driving record has a significant impact on your car insurance rates. Traffic tickets, at-fault accidents, poor credit scores, and DUIs will raise your rates at Travelers. The table below shows how much rates can increase at Travelers based on your driving record:

A DUI tends to raise auto insurance rates the most, as it’s a serious driving offense. Most companies will raise rates significantly for a DUI, not just Travelers, but Travelers does raise rates above the national average. However, Travelers’ rate increases are slightly below the national average for at-fault accidents and tickets, which is good for drivers with a less-than-perfect record.

Travelers Auto Insurance Rates by Coverage Type

Your rates also depend on the type of auto insurance coverage you purchase with Travelers. While we always recommend carrying a full coverage policy, some drivers may skip on coverages to save.

At Travelers, rates for different types of auto insurance include the following:

Travelers Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Type
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

A full coverage policy usually costs a few hundred dollars more a year, but if you get into an accident, the higher coverage level can save you from expensive repair bills.

How Travelers Compares Against Other Auto Insurance Providers

Unveil the competitive landscape with our detailed analysis below, showcasing how Travelers stacks up against other prominent auto insurance providers.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Discounts Available

Travelers auto insurance discounts can reduce rates significantly. For example, Travelers offers the following auto insurancediscounts to customers:

  • Affinity discount: Travelers offers discounts for employees and members of certain groups or businesses.
  • Continuous insurance discount: Travelers customers who don’t have coverage gaps can earn a small discount.
  • Driver training discount: You must complete a driver training course approved by Travelers to earn the driver’s ed auto insurance discount.
  • Early quote discount: You can earn a small discount for signing up with Travelers before your existing insurance policy expires. This discount is unavailable in California. It’s still fairly simple to find cheap auto insurance in California even without this program.
  • Electronic funds transfer, pay in full, and good payer discounts: These discounts are for policyholders who pay on time, pay in full, or set up automatic payments, but they’re also unavailable in California.
  • Good student discount: College or high school students with a “B” average can get a good student auto insurance discount with Travelers.
  • Homeownership discount: You can earn a small discount if you’re a homeowner.
  • Hybrid/electric car discount: Travelers offers a small discount for environmentally friendly cars.
  • Travelers IntelliDrive: You can save up to 30% on your insurance policy by downloading the Travelers IntelliDrive app. This program is unavailable in California.
  • Multi-car discount: To qualify for the multi-car discount, you need to have two or more vehicles insured through Travelers auto insurance. This discount is unavailable in California.
  • Multi-policy discount: You can save up to 13% if you purchase more than one policy from Travelers.
  • New car discount: Your vehicle must be less than three years old to qualify for the discount. This Travelers car insurance discount isn’t available in California. Read more about how to get a new car auto insurance discount.
  • Safe driver discount: You can’t have any accidents, traffic violations, or major comprehensive claims within the last three to five years. This Travelers auto insurance discount is also unavailable in California.
  • Student away discount: You can qualify for a student away auto insurance discount with Travelers if your child goes to a school 100 miles or more from your home and they aren’t driving cars on your policy at home.

Your savings amount depends on the car insurance discount. However, Travelers auto insurance discounts related to safe driving tend to save drivers the most on their policies.

For example, the Travelers IntelliDrive program could save you 30% on your auto insurance, but you must exhibit safe driving habits to maximize your savings.

How Travelers Companies, Inc. Ranks Among Providers

Travelers auto insurance rates are slightly lower than the national average, but this doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the cheapest car insurance company. Look at the table below to see how Travelers auto insurance rates compare to the national average and other companies:

Travelers vs. Competitors: Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level & Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Dairyland$85$237
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$67$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$38$99
USAA$22$59
U.S. Average$45$119

Other companies are cheaper on average than Travelers. However, a company can sometimes be cheaper for different types of drivers or in different locations.

Enter your ZIP code into the free comparison tool above to find the cheapest Travelers auto insurance quotes.

Travelers Insurance Mobile App and Online Services

Travelers Insurance goes beyond traditional customer service by offering a comprehensive mobile app and online services to enhance policy management and claim filing processes. The mobile app, available on both iOS and Android platforms, allows policyholders to access their insurance information, pay bills, and file claims directly from their smartphones. Additionally, the online portal offers a seamless experience for managing policies, viewing ID cards, and accessing detailed coverage information. These digital tools are designed to provide convenience and efficiency, ensuring that policyholders have easy access to their insurance needs anytime, anywhere.

Travelers Insurance and Social Responsibility

Travelers Insurance is committed to social responsibility and community engagement, embodying corporate citizenship through various initiatives. The company invests in programs focused on community development, education, and environmental sustainability. Travelers’ charitable contributions and volunteer efforts support non-profits and community organizations, aiming to make a positive impact in the communities they serve. Their focus on environmental sustainability is reflected in their policies and practices, which include reducing carbon footprint and promoting green initiatives. Travelers’ dedication to social responsibility demonstrates their commitment to not just being a provider of insurance, but also a force for good in society.

Understanding Travelers Insurance Coverage Options

Travelers Insurance offers a wide array of coverage options to meet the diverse needs of its policyholders. Beyond the standard auto insurance coverages, Travelers provides several add-ons such as rental coverage, new car replacement, accident forgiveness, and roadside assistance. Specialized coverages like ride-sharing insurance for Uber or Lyft drivers and umbrella policies for extended liability protection are also available. By understanding the full range of Travelers Insurance coverage options, policyholders can tailor their policies to provide the exact level of protection they need, ensuring peace of mind on and off the road.

Travelers Insurance Claims Process Explained

The Travelers Insurance claims process is designed for efficiency and customer satisfaction. Policyholders can report a claim 24/7 through the mobile app, online, or by phone. Once a claim is filed, Travelers assigns a dedicated claims professional to guide the policyholder through the process, from evaluation to resolution. The company also offers a network of approved repair shops for expedited service. Travelers’ commitment to a streamlined claims process ensures that policyholders receive timely support and quality service, making the experience as stress-free as possible.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I get Travelers car insurance?

You can purchase Travelers auto insurance by signing up through its website, calling Travelers, or speaking to a local Travelers agent.

How do I contact Travelers?

You can reach Travelers auto insurance customer service any of the following ways:

  • Customer service phone number: 1-800-842-5075
  • Customer service email address: https://www.travelers.com/contact-us/email
  • Personal insurance address: P.O. Box 660307, Dallas, TX 75266-0307
  • Quote service number: 1-866-577-4978
  • Travelers’ website: https://www.travelers.com/

Travelers also has social media accounts on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, and Instagram.

Does Travelers offer SR-22s?

Unfortunately, Travelers doesn’t offer special high-risk auto insurance for drivers who need SR-22 insurance coverage. Some of the drivers who might need SR-22 insurance are drivers with multiple DUIs, drivers caught driving with a suspended license, and drivers with other serious infractions.

Is Travelers insurance and Geico the same company?

No, Travelers and Geico auto insurance are not the same company. Shareholders own Travelers auto insurance, while Berkshire Hathaway owns Geico. However, both auto insurance companies do some business together.

Is Travelers a reputable company?

Since Travelers auto insurance has strong financial ratings, it shouldn’t struggle to pay out claims to customers who file a claim. However, as with any company, Travelers auto insurance customer service reviews are mixed.

Generally, though, if you have a justifiable claim and the proper coverage, there shouldn’t be a problem with your Travelers auto insurance claim.

How can I purchase Travelers auto insurance?

You can purchase a Travelers auto insurance policy by contacting a licensed insurance agent through Travelers auto insurance or through a local independent insurance agency.

What factors can affect the cost of Travelers auto insurance?

Several factors influence the cost of Travelers auto insurance, such as driving record, age, location, vehicle type, coverage limits, auto insurance deductible amount, and any additional policy features or discounts.

What are the common themes in Travelers car insurance reviews?

Travelers car insurance reviews often highlight the company’s competitive pricing, responsive customer service, and comprehensive coverage options. Positive feedback on the BBB and high ratings from A.M. Best corroborate Travelers’ reputation for reliability and customer satisfaction.

How can I contact Travelers auto insurance?

Customers can reach Travelers auto insurance via their phone number for inquiries about policies, claims, or quotes. Their dedicated customer service team is well-reviewed for its effectiveness and efficiency in addressing client needs.

Is Travelers insurance good, according to consumer feedback and professional ratings?

Yes, Travelers insurance is considered good, reflected in positive customer reviews across various platforms, including the BBB, and professional ratings. Their A++ rating from A.M. Best speaks volumes about their financial strength and claim-paying ability.

Why is Travelers insurance so cheap compared to competitors?

Travelers insurance manages to offer competitive rates due to their risk assessment expertise, efficient claims processing, and by offering various discounts. This enables them to provide affordable yet robust coverage options to their clients.

What coverage does Travelers gap insurance provide?

Travelers gap insurance covers the difference between the actual cash value of a vehicle and the balance still owed on the financing (car loan or lease) if the car is totaled or stolen. This can be particularly beneficial for newer cars that depreciate quickly.

Are there any significant Travelers insurance complaints?

While any insurer will have some complaints, Travelers insurance complaints are relatively low given their size and customer base. The company’s commitment to addressing issues and resolving customer complaints is evident in their BBB rating and customer reviews.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Travelers Companies, Inc.

4.07 (1,731 reviews)
4
January 8, 2021

Leopard

Fast reply

They have good customer service fast and quick they reimburse me quick they come to the site quick they nice and friendly and reply email quick and fast
1
December 15, 2020

franbrown11

HORRIBLE

BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 ye...
BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 years, I have never seen customer treated as poorly as I was throughout this experience. Nasty, mean people that could care less about their customers. The first thing the tow company and the auto body shop asked was if I was ok after my accident. Travelers never asked anything like that. Instead, they blamed and shamed me.
4
October 17, 2020

biskutt

Increasing price for no obvious reason

I never had any problems with the coverage, but the price kept going up and up even as my car got older, and I had no tickets or accidents. I changed companies and got the same coverage for a lot less.
4
October 14, 2020

CarterKing2020

Bill

Great company, always there when you need them. I just don't like that sometimes your bill goes up when you have a wreck.
5
October 14, 2020

BW2345

Affordable, easy to manage, and great customer service

Travelers makes managing insurance products easily. With an easy to use mobile app, friendly customer service, and affordable auto insurance, I would highly recommend them for all your insurance needs.
5
October 10, 2020

Rustysgirl

Fast service

Had a broken windshield from a truck throwing up a rock on the interstate; they responded and sent someone immediately with no hassle
5
October 9, 2020

Christinewashere

Best option

Great company! I am lucky to have found this company. They have been doing good job and helping me with my insurance. Keep it up!
5
October 9, 2020

SPR5036

Good Car Claim

Had an automobile claim two months ago. The service agent was helpful on getting a windshield replaced fast.
5
October 8, 2020

GQ

Great Value

Travelers has been a great company. Great customer service and fair prices. I like that I can bundle my homeowners, auto and umbrella policies to get a discount.
4
October 8, 2020

ShawnTaylor

"Travelers" is a great insurance company

"Travelers" is a great insurance company. I feel lucky to be their customer. They really care about their customers. They offers great deals and services. They are also helping community.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption