The General Car Insurance Review

High-risk drivers can turn to The General for car insurance, but drivers with clean records will find better insurance elsewhere.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.6
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The General

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Affordable coverage for high-risk drivers
  • Easy-to-use mobile app
  • Files SR-22 forms
  • Plenty of discount opportunities

Cons

  • High number of complaints
  • Penalty for canceling early
  • Rates are higher than competitors
  • Limited coverage options

High-risk drivers often struggle to find affordable insurance, especially with DUI infractions. Since many companies refuse to cover drivers with bad driving histories, finding cheap, high-risk auto insurance can be challenging.

The General can probably meet your insurance needs if you’re a high-risk driver. From your state’s minimum insurance requirements to full coverage, The General sells everything you need to protect your car.

However, The General doesn’t offer as many options as other companies. Rates with The General also tend to be higher than competitors due to a large number of high-risk customers, and people with clean driving records will probably find better coverage elsewhere.

Read on to explore what The General can provide you, then compare rates with other companies to ensure you get the best price possible.

Is The General Auto Insurance a Good Choice?

The General is a reputable car insurance company you can trust to provide solid coverage for your vehicle. However, while it’s a good company, The General auto insurance isn’t the best choice for every driver.

The General is one of the best insurance companies for high-risk auto insurance, though drivers with clean driving records will probably find cheaper rates elsewhere.

While The General offers affordable insurance to high-risk drivers, it lags behind competitors in key areas. For example, The General only sells car insurance — it doesn’t provide homeowners insurance or other popular policies.

However, you can use The General Labs to find provider options for various insurance products. The General won’t write the policies, but it can point you toward homeowners, motorcycle, and even pet insurance providers.

Auto insurance from The General is available in all states except Alaska, Maryland, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Hawaii, and Michigan. The General redirects you to Progressive if you enter a ZIP code from one of these states into the online quote form.

You have several options for filing claims with The General. The most popular choice is to use the mobile app, but you can also log into the website. If you prefer to speak with someone, you can call the 24/7 claims hotline and speak with a representative.

The General Customer Service

Unfortunately, The General doesn’t have a good reputation for its customer service.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) ranks insurance companies by how many complaints it receives compared to its size. The national average for complaints is 1.0 — anything higher means it receives higher complaints than similarly sized companies.

The General’s NAIC rating for 2021 is 3.28, meaning it receives more than three times as many complaints as other companies. While that number is high, it’s an improvement — The General’s rating in 2020 was 5.63.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies’ ability to resolve customer complaints. The General has a rating of A+, but the BBB website lists hundreds of complaints.

Many customers complain that insurance representatives are rude, unknowledgeable, and unhelpful. A complaint commonly appearing in The General’s reviews is that representatives don’t return calls or follow up on inquiries.

The General’s Financial Strength

A company’s financial strength represents its ability to pay claims — you want to shop from a company with a solid strength rating.

The General auto insurance review from A.M. Best is an A-, signifying the company is financially healthy. It also received an A+ for its long-term issuer rating, which indicates that The General is in excellent shape to meet its financial obligations.

The General Auto Insurance Rates

Most insurance companies charge drivers with bad records, low credit scores, or coverage lapses more because they’re at higher risk. When an insurance company considers you high risk, your rates will be much higher, and you might get denied coverage altogether.

The General provides affordable coverage to drivers that other companies hesitate to insure. However, The General’s insurance quotes are much higher than its competitors because it insures many high-risk drivers.

Drivers with clean records and good credit scores should probably avoid The General because they’ll likely find more extensive coverage at a better price than other companies.

While The General is a solid choice for high-risk insurance, you should compare quotes with multiple companies if you’re a high-risk driver.

Average Car Insurance Rates by State

ZIP codes are one of the most significant factors insurance companies use to determine rates. Take a look below to see the average General insurance quote in your state.

Remember that these numbers are averages, and you might see higher or lower rates. Also, insurance companies keep track of claims filed by ZIP code, so some areas cost more than others.

Another factor that influences rates is the level of coverage you carry. Here's a look at how The General's average annual rates for full coverage compare to minimum coverage.

Now let's look at some specific factors that can affect your auto insurance rates.

The General Rates by Age

Another significant factor affecting insurance rates is your age. Finding cheap rates for teen drivers can be tricky since young drivers are statistically more likely to cause accidents and engage in reckless behavior. Older adults also tend to pay more for insurance due to an increased likelihood of driving problems.

Check the rates below to see how The General charges drivers by age.

Although The General is happy to offer insurance to young drivers, you’ll probably find cheaper rates for teens and young adults elsewhere.

Here's a look at The General's average annual auto insureance rates for teenagers.

The General Rates After an Accident

Many people looking for car insurance from The General have several accidents on their driving record. A single at-fault accident causes your rates to increase at any company, but insurers can mark you as a high-risk driver if you have several.

The General Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates with an Accident
Driver Age and GenderNational AverageThe GeneralAllstateState FarmNationwideFarmersProgressive
45 y/o male with a clean record$1,431.27$2,784.07$1,919.05$1,031.63$1,375.74$1,662.68$1,260.81
45 y/o female with a clean record$1,433.60$2,797.26$1,941.14$1,031.63$1,355.26$1,669.49$1,340.05
45 y/o male with an accident$2,072.14$3,926.34$2,700.48$1,227.58$1,937.39$2,370.56$2,229.76
45 y/o female with an accident$2,079.29$3,960.16$2,732.89$1,227.58$1,910.54$2,376.60$2,346.48
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, The General has higher rates than competitors even after an accident. You’ll probably find cheaper insurance with a different company if your application doesn't get denied.

The General Rates After a DUI

DUIs are one of the worst indicators of riskiness to insurance companies, and many providers will drop you after your first. Car insurance after a DUI will always be expensive, but you can check how much The General charges below.

The General Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates with a DUI
Driver Age and GenderNational AverageThe GeneralAllstateState FarmNationwideFarmersProgressive
45 y/o male with a clean record$1,431.27$2,784.07$1,919.05$1,031.63$1,375.74$1,662.68$1,260.81
45 y/o female with a clean record$1,433.60$2,797.26$1,941.14$1,031.63$1,355.26$1,669.49$1,340.05
45 y/o male with a DUI$2,507.31$5,106.30$3,236.91$1,344.15$2,840.09$2,312.52$1,680.24
45 y/o female with a DUI$2,513.28$5,161.64$3,269.89$1,344.15$2,812.55$2,318.98$1,772.90
Get Your Rates Quote Now

While The General’s auto insurance quotes are usually high, people with a DUI can rest assured they can still get the coverage they need to keep driving.

The General Rates for Drivers With Poor Credit

Insurance companies use your credit score to evaluate how risky you are to insure. Not every U.S. state allows the practice — California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, and Washington prohibit credit checks for car insurance.

If you live in a state where companies can check your credit, you’ll pay more the lower your score is. 

Rates vary significantly based on your credit score. However, if a low credit score impacts your rates, you’re not stuck with that price forever — raising your credit score is an excellent way to lower your rates.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The General Auto Insurance Discounts Available

Taking advantage of discounts is one of the best ways to save on car insurance. Although some high-risk companies fail to deliver many opportunities for savings, The General does relatively well. 

For example, consider the following auto insurance discounts offered by The General:

  • Double deductible. If you choose this option when initiating a policy, your comprehensive and collision deductible doubles for the first 45 days of your policy. In exchange, you earn a discount.
  • New customer. You can earn this discount if you’ve had auto insurance with another company for the last five years.
  • Pay in full. You’ll pay a little less for your policy if you pay for six months upfront rather than splitting it into monthly payments.
  • Good student. Full-time students who maintain good academic standing earn this discount.
  • Military. Active duty military members can earn a discount on their car insurance, but only in Louisiana.
  • Homeowners. You can earn this discount simply by owning your home. Your homeowners insurance doesn’t have to be with The General since it only sells auto insurance.
  • Multi-car. If you have more than one car in your household, you can earn a discount by including them on a single policy.
  • Driver education. Drivers who take an approved driving course could earn this discount if the class wasn’t court-ordered.
  • Safe driver. The General will discount your insurance if you maintain a clean driving record. While the length of time isn’t specified, most companies require no accidents or infractions for three years.
  • Passive restraint. You can earn a small discount if your vehicle has passive restraint, like air bags.

Before signing up for insurance, check with a representative. Not all discounts are available in every state — for example, only Louisiana drivers are eligible for a military discount.

The General Car Insurance Perks

The General insurance reviews paint a picture of a bare-bones company, but that’s not entirely fair. The General doesn’t offer many perks, but it has a few worth checking out.

The first is an optional safety equipment deductible. You can choose a $0 deductible for your car’s safety equipment, including your windshield and other glass.

The deductible waiver adds about 15% to your monthly payment, but it might be worth it to people who frequently see windshield damage. You must have comprehensive and collision insurance to select this option.

Another perk is an optional roadside assistance plan with Nation Safe Drivers for about $10 a month. This membership is an upgrade to The General’s towing and labor option, covering battery changes, flat tires, and other mechanical problems.

The General Auto Insurance Coverage Options

The General Insurance company doesn’t offer as many products as competitors, so it can keep rates low. However, it provides everything you need to drive safely and legally.

The General’s car insurance options include the following:

  • Liability. Liability insurance helps pay for damages or injuries you cause in an accident but doesn’t cover your vehicle. Most states require drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorists. Although most states require insurance, not all drivers follow the law. This coverage pays for damage to your car or yourself if a driver with inadequate insurance hits you.
  • Collision. Collision insurance helps repair your car after an accident, regardless of fault. You’ll need collision insurance if you don’t own your vehicle outright.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive insurance covers damage from weather, fire, theft, animal contact, and vandalism — you’ll need it if you don’t own your vehicle outright.
  • Medical payments. Health care bills get expensive quickly, especially after a car accident. Medical payments coverage helps cover expenses for hospital stays, physical therapy, and lost wages.
  • Custom equipment. You’ll need extra coverage if you have custom equipment like stereos, rims, or skirt kits because a standard plan won’t cover them. You need collision and comprehensive insurance to buy this add-on.
  • Rental reimbursement. The General will reimburse you for a rental car if your vehicle gets stuck at the mechanic’s shop after an accident. Check your policy limits, so you don’t go over them.
  • Towing and labor. Towing and labor — another add-on requiring comprehensive and collision insurance — tow your vehicle when you’re stuck on the side of the road.
  • GAP coverage. If you get in an accident after buying a car, you might owe more on your loan than the car is worth. GAP coverage pays the difference but is only available in Washington and California.

While this list isn’t necessarily impressive, these coverages completely protect your vehicle.

Most states require liability insurance, and 14 require uninsured motorist coverage. If you own your car and can afford to replace it, getting your state’s minimum will help you save money.

You’ll probably need full coverage if you don’t own your car outright. Full coverage includes liability, collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist, and medical payments.

Whatever your situation, The General can ensure you have everything you need.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is The General good insurance?

The General offers legitimate car insurance for high-risk drivers. While it has more complaints compared to other companies, it has an A- from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau.

Who should get The General insurance?

The General’s car insurance is best suited for people with poor credit scores, a history of coverage lapses, or high-risk drivers. 

Although high-risk drivers can find solid coverage, rates with The General tend to be much higher than competitors. Drivers with clean records will probably find better rates elsewhere.

Does The General have full coverage?

Yes, The General sells everything you need for full coverage, including collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist, medical payments, and liability. You can also buy GAP coverage, custom equipment, and towing and labor, though availability varies by state.

How does The General compare to other companies?

While The General is a good choice for high-risk drivers, people with clean records will find better coverage at other companies. The General’s rates are higher than the national average. The General also lacks the variety other companies have as it only sells car insurance.

Who owns The General?

PGC Holdings, an affiliate of American Family Insurance, owns The General. The General sells insurance through various companies, including Permanent General Assurance Corporation, The General Automobile Insurance Company, Inc., and Permanent General Assurance Corporation of Ohio.

How can I file a claim with The General?

You have several options to file a claim with The General. You can use the mobile app, log into the website, or call a representative.

How do I get a car insurance quote from The General?

You can obtain The General car insurance quotes on its website. Simply enter your ZIP code into the quote request form, and The General will guide you through the process. Alternatively, you can call The General, and an insurance representative will help you.

Where is The General car insurance available?

The General sells car insurance in every state except for Alaska, Maryland, Michigan, Rhode Island, Hawaii, and New Jersey. It also doesn’t sell in Washington D.C. Some of The General’s products aren’t available in every state, so check with an insurance representative.

What is a high-risk driver?

High-risk drivers are people with multiple accidents or moving violations, including running red lights, speeding tickets, or reckless driving. Drivers with a DUI on their record are also high risk. Since high-risk drivers are more likely to file claims, they usually see higher insurance rates.

What are the payment options with The General?

You have several options to pay for your insurance. The General accepts credit, debit, and electronic checks in some states. You can also sign up for auto-pay and use the mobile app or website to pay your bill.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for The General Auto Insurance

3.58 (823 reviews)
5
February 16, 2022

Glarison

Great company I'm riding with shack

Great customer service. Very helpful they explained everything in detail and had the best rate I would recommend them to anyone
5
December 30, 2021

HWalla

Quick and thorough

I did the entire process online and received my quote within minutes. The company was quick to respond and provided me with my policy documents immediately
5
October 8, 2021

Kasarah90

Quick and affordable would recommend

My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made th...
My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made the payment over the phone and bam the car was insured before the tow truck arrived. the quote was cheaper than I thought and the monthly payments were reasonable. When I turned down roadside assistance and life insurance the representative was not pushy. I would 100% recommend The General car insurance.
5
March 17, 2021

mcgowanjr60_henry_yahoo_com

The Lion of the Jungle

I’m just gonna be honest I don’t think there is a better company out there that can completely understand what you need and offer you simply a caring agent and just what need and nothing more except a perfect price to match only the General
5
February 26, 2021

Bentot

Lower monthly rate

This is the only insurance company can lower my monthly premium compare to all insurance company. Like others general easy to deal with.
1
January 17, 2021

Junglezx_3

High Insurance

Their price was very high. We shopped around for other insurance after a month and the price increased.
4
January 8, 2021

bwaryasz2012

You get what you buy!

This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, whic...
This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, which meant having to call in and have the entire profile reset and redoing the process all again. Mind you my insurance was still good. (loss of 1/5 star) Then when my app was fully set up and ready to go again I can't add the other vehicle to the policy as a means of simplifying the bill. When I attempted to contact the company the virtual assistant wouldn't transfer me to a real agent and didn't have the ability to understand my request. (loss of 1/5 star)
5
January 7, 2021

goog39826_

Thank you for great service!

I am very pleased with my Geico premium. Out of ALL the 12 quotes I received Geico was by far the best. I searched for several days and I could not find any better rate then Geico.. What I think is even better is that it was all done without talking to anyone on the phone. Thank you Geico
3
January 7, 2021

Jessbell19

Poor customer service

Poor customer service while reviewing terms and conditions of policy. Lack of knowledge of the policy changes and updates.
1
December 29, 2020

counterstrike1911

The general will generally treat you like crap and rip u off

The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in...
The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in all they were the worst insurance company ever!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption