FREE Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!
|Connecticut Statistics Summary|
|Road Miles||Total in State: 21,512|
Vehicle Miles Driven (in millions): 31,592
Total Stolen: 6,338
|Most Popular Vehicle||Rogue|
|Percent of Motorists Uninsured||9.4%|
State Rank: 36th
|Driving Deaths||Speeding – 88|
Drunk Driving – 120
|Average Premiums (Annual)||Liability – $650.94|
Collision – $368.51
Comprehensive – $131.62
Combined Premiums – $1,151.07
|Cheapest Provider||State Farm|
Connecticut residents are good drivers despite being stuck between Massachusetts and New York State – drivers young and old complete extensive driver’s education!
Are you ready to learn even more about your car insurance options and make an informed decision?
While you gather your study materials, review the following guide we put together that includes all you need to know about Connecticut car insurance including coverage and rates, car insurance providers, state laws, and so much more.
The following will be discussed in this article:
- Minimum Coverage Requirements
- Required Forms of Financial Responsibility
- Premiums as a Percentage of Income
- Core Car Insurance
- Additional Liability Coverage in Connecticut
- Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
- Male vs Female Car Insurance Rates
- 10 Largest Car Insurance Companies
- Car Insurance Company Complaints
- Insurance Rates by Provider
- Connecticut’s Car Insurance Laws
- Vehicle Licensing Laws
- Comparative Negligence
- Rules of the Road
- Safety Laws in Connecticut
- Vehicle Theft in Connecticut
- Risky/Harmful Driving Behavior
You may already know comparing car insurance rates is a great way to save money! Start today with just your zip code.
Connecticut Car Insurance Coverage and Rates
Before you decide to move to Connecticut or even just visit, consider your options in car insurance coverage.
– Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Connecticut
|Insurance Required||Minimum Limits (Effective January 2019): 25/50/20|
|Bodily Injury Liability Coverage||$25,000 per one person|
$50,000 per accident
|Property Damage Liability Coverage||$20,000 minimum|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist||$25,000 per person|
$50,000 per accident
A new law in Connecticut increased the minimum car insurance requirements, so if you recently noticed your rates increased, that’s why. The state previously required only 20/40/10. Effective January 1, 2019, the minimum requirements are 25/50/20, as described below.
These increases are effective for uninsured and underinsured motorists as well.
Liability insurance pays all individuals — drivers, passengers, pedestrians, bicyclists, etc — who are owed compensation for property damage and/or injuries resulting from a car accident that you or anyone under your policy causes.
Connecticut is an “at-fault” accident state. This means, if you are the at-fault driver during an accident, you will be held liable for any personal injury or property claims.
As such, liability insurance is required in the state of Connecticut at these minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 – to cover Injury or death of one person in an accident you caused
- $50,000 – to cover total injuries or death of more than one person in an accident you caused
- $20,000 – to cover property damage in an accident you caused
You may be asking, how can uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage help me?
In the words of Connecticut’s DMV, uninsured and underinsured motorist covers, “you, your relatives who live with you, and your passengers if they are injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, a motorist whose bodily injury liability limits are less than your uninsured/underinsured motorist limits, or a hit-and-run driver.”
Remember, these amounts are minimum requirements and may not fully cover injury, death, or damage to yourself or your own passengers! That will require additional coverage.
– Required Forms of Financial Responsibility in Connecticut
When pulled over or involved in an accident, Connecticut motorists can now present auto insurance proof electronically on a cell phone or other device to law enforcement. The information is generally accessible via an insurer’s app.
There may be “an app for that,” but not when you run out of data or your phone dies!
The laws in Connecticut require you to carry proof of insurance whether it’s digital or good, old fashioned paper.
So, to be on the safe side…
Keep your insurance card either in your wallet or in your vehicle whenever you drive.
Although a ticket may or may not be issued to you at the scene of an accident, the possibility of a judgment being entered against you can still exist, requiring that you show financial responsibility.
– Premiums as Percentage of Income in Connecticut
In 2014, the annual per capita disposable personal income in Connecticut was $56,186. That’s not bad considering the only other state with a higher DPI is District of Columbia.
Disposable personal income (DPI) is the total amount of money available for an individual to spend (or save) after their taxes have been paid.
On top of the stellar DPI, the average annual cost of car insurance in Connecticut is $1,133 which is only two percent of the average disposable personal income.
The average Connecticut resident has $4,682 each month to buy food, pay bills etc. The car insurance bill will deduct about $94 out of that, which is one of the lowest amounts in the nation as compared to DPI.
Despite the higher income, Connecticut residents pay pretty reasonable rates for car insurance.
Way to go, Connecticut!
Now, you can put those extra dollars where it really matters – savings! American Consumer Credit Counseling suggests saving 20 percent of every paycheck. With Connecticut’s DPI, that’s $936 each month! How much are you putting aside for savings?
– Core Car Insurance Coverage in Connecticut
|Coverage Type:||Annual Costs in 2015:|
The above table illustrates the most recent data provided by the leading source on the matter, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Expect car insurance rates in Connecticut to be significantly higher for 2019 and on.
Don’t forget: Connecticut has minimum requirements for liability coverage, but experts suggest drivers purchase more than what state law requires, especially when the state is an “at-fault” state like Connecticut is.
Why get more coverage than required?
About 49 deer are killed per day on Connecticut roads (18,000 deer per year).
Oh, dear! That is a lot of deer!
The massive urban population of deer is not due to hunting bans – hunting deer is completely legal in Connecticut; in fact, some cities are coordinating efforts for private landowners to partner with local hunters to hunt on their land alone.
“Personal Hunter” has a nice ring to it, huh?
If you think a deer hitting your vehicle may not cause much damage, watch this video.
The average repair cost for a deer-car accident is $1,577, or about $28 million in Connecticut per year.
Even if a deer does not hit your vehicle, they can certainly still cause accidents if drivers are not alert.
Don’t lose $1,600! Consider adding comprehensive coverage to your policy which covers occurrences that many would call “out of our control” such as a cracked windshield, hitting an animal, or other events besides collisions.
Why stop at comprehensive?
Let’s dig into some of the most popular coverage options to add to a basic auto insurance policy.
– Additional Liability Coverage in Connecticut
A loss ratio shows how much a company spends on claims to how much money they take in on premiums. For example, a loss ratio of 60 percent indicates that companies are spending $60 on claims out of every $100 earned in premiums. A loss ratio of over 100 percent means the company is losing money. If the loss ratio is too low, the company isn’t paying claims.
|Personal Injury Protection||85.46%||95.14%||74.69%|
|Medical Payments (Med Pay)||87.46%||83.32%||78.91%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist |
(9.4% and ranked 36th in the nation)
As of July 2018, two states required Medical Payments coverage (Maine and Wisconsin), three states (plus D.C.) required Uninsured Motorist coverage (South Carolina, Montana and Wisconsin), and 17 states required both Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Connecticut lawmakers have established that uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage is important with the recent change in minimum coverage requirements. It seems Connecticut residents were one step ahead of lawmakers based on a pretty even 50/50 loss ratio for uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage claims.
Based on the high loss ratios, it appears that Connecticut residents are also taking good advantage of personal injury protection (PIP), otherwise known as no-fault insurance, for medical bills incurred because of a wreck, regardless of who is at fault, who is driving, or who owns the vehicle.
It’s obvious by the above high loss ratios that Connecticut residents are taking good advantage of Med Pay, Underinsured Motorist/Uninsured Motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP). PIP covers medical bills incurred because of a wreck, regardless of who is at fault, who is driving, or who owns the vehicle.
Again, way to go, Connecticut! You have killer income, great rates, AND you are fully aware of the benefits of extra coverage!
And the stats show how incredibly smart you are…
You have only three percent to go to outrank your neighbor, Massachusetts and make it to the top three in the nation! How ‘Bout Them Whalers???
Don’t get thrown in the penalty box by high car insurance premiums! Start comparison shopping today using our FREE online tool. Enter your zip code below to get started!
– Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
We know getting the complete coverage you need for an affordable price is your goal.
Good news: there are lots of powerful but cheap extras you can add to your policy.
Here’s a list of other useful coverage available to you in Connecticut.
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Rental Reimbursement
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Car Insurance
- Modified Car Insurance Coverage
- Classic Car Insurance
- Pay-as-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
—Male vs Female Annual Car Insurance Rates in Connecticut
Most people are under the impression that men pay higher car insurance rates than women. That is typically the case in the state of Connecticut with a few instances otherwise.
Our researchers came to a surprising conclusion. They learned that age and the actual insurance carrier seem to be the most significant contributing factors in cost variance.
Case in point, Travelers charges 17-year-old male and female drivers between $13,000 and $23,000 annually, which is $11,000-21,000 higher when compared to their averaged $1,907 yearly premiums for insureds over the age of 18! USAA, however, charges only about three to four thousand more in annual premiums based on age difference.
Let’s dig deeper!
—Demographic and Insurance Carrier
|Company||Married 35-year old female||Married 35-year old male||Married 60-year old female||Married 60-year old male||Single 17-year old female||Single 17-year old male||Single 25-year old female||Single 25-year old male|
|Safeco Ins Co of IL||$3,516.76||$3,825.92||$2,706.04||$3,337.15||$17,597.17||$19,837.39||$3,558.72||$3,883.84|
|Nationwide Discover Agency||$2,343.37||$2,370.04||$2,105.93||$2,209.18||$6,485.04||$8,226.75||$2,717.04||$2,921.42|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,815.86||$1,815.86||$1,670.41||$1,670.41||$5,517.07||$6,936.22||$2,041.38||$2,342.71|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$1,810.97||$1,837.61||$1,806.15||$1,800.54||$13,987.79||$22,605.07||$1,970.21||$2,216.01|
—Highest and Lowest Rates in Connecticut by Zip Code
|Highest Average Rate by Zip Code||Rate||Lowest Average Rate by Zip Code||Rate|
—Most Expensive/Least Expensive Carrier Rates by City
|Top 25 Most Expensive Cities||Rate||Top 25 Least Expensive Cities||Rate|
|WEST HAVEN||$5,574.19||NORTH STONINGTON||$4,068.88|
|NORTH HAVEN||$5,079.93||OLD LYME||$4,087.72|
|NORTH BRANFORD||$4,989.45||DEEP RIVER||$4,103.33|
Take a look at the table above, listing the most/least expensive carrier rates according to the city. As you can see, your location is a significant factor in the rates you can expect to pay.
Connecticut Car Insurance Companies
There are so many car insurance carriers vying for your business these days, it’s hard to know which ones actually come through on their promises.
No need to worry, we’ve got you covered! Keep scrolling to find out who the 10 best providers are across the state.
Ready to go? Let’s get this show on the road…
—The 10 Largest Connecticut Car Insurance Companies’ Financial Rating
AM Best gives insurance companies financial ratings. A good score means they are highly likely to stay solvent and have the ability to pay customer claims.
|Company||AM Best Rating||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share||Loss Ratio|
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+||$304,028||54.93%||10.36%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A||$297,602||64.66%||10.14%|
|State Farm Group||A++||$192,401||61.48%||6.55%|
|Nationwide Corp Group||A+||$123,130||63.22%||4.19%|
|Amica Mutual Group||A+||$111,152||60.16%||3.79%|
Besides premiums, one of the other components that should factor into your decision when picking an insurance carrier is customer ratings. Want to find out what customers really think about the top Connecticut car insurance carriers?
Here we go…
—Car Insurance Company Complaints
The complaint index of each company calculates how much larger a company’s share of complaints is compared to its share of profits across the state. Companies that have a complaint index higher than one are worse than the average insurer in Connecticut, and those with an index below one are better than average.
|Auto Insurance Companies in Connecticut||Total Premiums Underwritten||Complaint Index|
|Middlesex Mutual Assurance Company||$47,923,184||0|
|Ohio Mutual Insurance Company||186,415,619||0.02|
|Arbella Mutual Insurance Company||27,559,136||0.23|
|Great Northern Insurance||21,767,845||0.29|
|Zurich Insurance Group||17,576,080||0.36|
|Michael Karfunkel Grantor Annuity Trust||25,675,383||0.37|
Bear in mind, some complaints are based on general customer satisfaction, so factor that into your final decision.
—Car Insurance Rates by Provider in Connecticut
We understand that rates are one of the biggest, if not the biggest factor when you pick Connecticut car insurance. The below chart shows nine of the top carriers in the state, along with their average rates compared to the overarching state average.
|Company||Average||Compared to State Average||Percent over/under State Average|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,976.24||-$1,642.68||-55.19%|
|Nationwide Discover Agency||$3,672.34||-$946.58||-25.78%|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$6,004.29||$1,385.37||+23.07%|
|Safeco Ins Co of IL||$7,282.87||$2,663.95||+36.58%|
Our researchers discovered that Safeco charges the most in average premiums, with Travelers coming in at 2nd place for the highest annual rates. Meanwhile, State Farm comes in number one for the most affordable average rates.
The table below compares the rates of top carriers in the state against average commute times. Interestingly enough, Liberty Mutual comes out over Travelers with the highest premium ratio to annual mileage.
|Group||10 miles commute|
6,000 annual mileage
|25 miles commute|
12,000 annual mileage
—Coverage Level Rates
|Company||High Coverage Rate||Medium Coverage Level Rate||Low Coverage Level Rate|
—Credit History Rates
|Group||Annual Rate Poor Credit||Annual Rate Fair Credit||Annual Rate Good Credit|
According to a study conducted by Experian, the average resident of Connecticut has a credit card VantageScore of 690 and around 3.23 credit cards in their name. The average Connecticut consumer has a credit card balance of $7,258.
If you think that your credit card debt and car insurance rates have no correlation, think again. Insurance carriers run credit checks on their insureds to assess the likelihood of them filing a claim at any point. If your credit score doesn’t meet their standards, you might just see a spike in your rates, regardless if you’ve had an accident or not.
—Driving Record Rates
|Group||Clean Record||One Speeding Violation||One Accident||One DUI|
As you’ll note in the table above, your driving history has a direct effect on the premiums you can expect to pay. If you look at the rates listed for Geico, for example, you’ll notice that the rate difference for a clean record vs. one DUI is over a $3,500 premium jump which is a 64 percent increase!
—The 10 Largest Car Insurance Companies in Connecticut
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$304,028||54.93%||10.36%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||$297,602||64.66%||10.14%|
|State Farm Group||$192,401||61.48%||6.55%|
|Nationwide Corp Group||$123,130||63.22%||4.19%|
|Amica Mutual Group||$111,152||60.16%||3.79%|
—Number of Car Insurance Providers in Connecticut
|Property & Casualty Insurance||Number|
Laws in Connecticut
In order to keep your car insurance rates low, you have to know the laws in your state so you’re not blindsided by a fine.
Don’t worry! We’re here to help.
Keep reading to learn about the laws specific to the state of Connecticut.
FREE Auto Insurance Comparison
Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
—Car Insurance Laws in Connecticut
Car insurance laws vary from state to state, and Connecticut is no different, but they are certainly more straight forward than other states’ laws – CT takes it seriously.
Connecticut has an all driver ban on any handheld device. They even clarify no blue-tooth conversations for those under 18 with an “all cell phone ban” …and it is primarily enforced.
Lawmakers in Connecticut keep it simple. It’s “10 and 2” for you, Connecticut residents!
Primary enforcement means that you don’t have to be pulled over for anything else to get a citation for using any type of communication device.
Maybe lawmakers saw this video made by two entertaining scientists that put our assumptions about safe driving to the test.
Jamie and Adam always know what’s empirically best!
The bad news?
No driver in Connecticut, no matter the age, is ever required to take a vision test to renew his or her license.
The only time a vision test is required is when teens first get their license and new residents to Connecticut.
Getting the right coverage at the right price doesn’t take excellent vision.
For drivers with a history of accidents or traffic violations, they may find themselves unable to purchase coverage from an auto insurance carrier. This is where a type of insurance known as high-risk insurance comes into play.
But, don’t fret!
If you are having trouble finding a car insurance carrier, you may apply for insurance through the Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan (CT AIARP or the “Plan”).
All insurance companies in Connecticut must be certified by the Governing Committee in order to sign you up for AIARP. You must verify that you have tried and failed to get reasonable rates within 60 days of serving the consequences for your conviction.
The state of Connecticut currently does not provide any special low-cost insurance programs. Connecticut law requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Penalties for not having insurance can be severe. You can’t afford not to have insurance.
While some states mandate a waived deductible for windshield repairs, and others specify the use of only manufacturer replacement parts, Connecticut does permit replacement with aftermarket parts with written notice.
The consumer has the right to choose the repair vendor; however, you may have to pay the difference in price. There is not a law that mandates insurance companies in Connecticut to offer a zero deductible with comprehensive coverage, but it is an option.
If windshield coverage is something you desire, you will need to have comprehensive coverage and you will have to carefully examine how the different insurance providers handle windshield claims.
—Automobile Insurance Fraud in Connecticut
Insurance fraud is a criminal offense in the state of Connecticut, occurring when an individual attempts to deceive an insurer to receive benefits or payouts they are not qualified to obtain.
There are three ways in which insurance fraud is committed:
- Knowingly misreporting or hiding facts to get benefits, coverage, or compensation
- Aiding someone in misreporting or altering the facts to receive benefits
- Knowingly making false claims or statements on someone else’s behalf at an official proceeding
Insurance fraud is considered a:
- Class B felony if the value in question is over $20,000, punishable by as much as 10 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine
- Class C felony if the value in question is over $300, punishable by as much as five years imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine
- A misdemeanor if the value in question is $300 or under, punishable by as much as one year’s imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine
The state of Connecticut has a fraud bureau, but it does not apply to automobile insurance.
Simply put, don’t commit insurance fraud, and you’re good to go.
—Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is the limit on the amount of time you have to bring a lawsuit to court. Different states have different statutes of limitations for personal injury and property damage matters.
If you are ever in an auto accident involving extensive injuries and damages, you need to know your rights in the matter.
Connecticut Chapter 926 provides two years for any personal injury and three years for damage to personal property from the time of the accident.
—Vehicle Licensing Laws in Connecticut
Now, we all know that you can’t drive a car without a license. Let’s find out what mandatory vehicle licensing laws are in Connecticut.
—Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
- First Offense – Fine: $100-$1000; suspended registration/license for one month (show proof of insurance) with $175 reinstatement fee
- Second Offense – Fine: $100-$1000; suspended registration/license for six months (show proof of insurance) with $175 reinstatement fee
—Teen Driver Laws
|Young Driver Licensing Laws||Age Restrictions||Passenger Restrictions||Time Restrictions|
|Learner's Permit:||16 years||first 6 months—no passengers other than parents or a driving instructor; second 6 months—no passengers other than parents, driving instructor or members of the immediate family||11 p.m. - 5 a.m.|
|Provisional License||12 months or until age 18, whichever occurs first (min. age: 17, 4 mos.)||first 6 months—no passengers other than parents or a driving instructor; second 6 months—no passengers other than parents, driving instructor or members of the immediate family||Nighttime restrictions will be lifted at age 18.|
|Full License||16 and 4 months; have a mandatory holding period of 6 months; (4 months with driver education); have a minimum supervised driving time of 40 hours||None.||None.|
To further engage teens in responsible driving, the Connecticut DMV has the Center for Teen Safe Driving which hosts a teen safe driving video content and sample knowledge tests.
Connecticut not only holds teens responsible but also parents! Before a teen may take the driver’s test, parents or guardians must attend two hours of instruction regarding teen driving laws.
Connecticut lawmakers are so supportive of responsible driving for teens, they even make a small curfew exception for prom night.
—Older Driver and General Population License Renewal Procedure
|Renewal Procedures||Gen Pop||Older Pop|
|License renewal cycle||General population: 6 years||Older Population:2 years or 6 years for people 65 and older, personal option|
|Mail or online renewal permitted||General Population: no||Older Population: no|
|Proof of adequate vision required at renewal||General population: no||Older population: no|
Connecticut also provides an incentive for individuals over the age of 60 who complete an accident prevention course. They are entitled by law to receive a minimum 5 percent discount regardless of driving history, for a period of two years of automobile insurance.
If you are about to make the move to Connecticut, here’s what you need to know:
- Once you have established residency in Connecticut, you have 30 days to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut.
- The State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles handles all matters related to vehicle licensing.
- With your current driver’s license, the completion of a form, acceptable forms of identification, and payment for two fees, you will be licensed to drive in CT.
- Read about special situations for new residents.
Connecticut’s negligence laws err on the side of 51 percent comparative negligence.
What does this mean?
If you wish to pursue a case against the at-fault driver for additional damages, you must prove negligence on behalf of the other party as direct causation to your injuries.
However, the injured individual must be less than 51 percent at fault to claim damages. If it is discovered that you were 51 percent or more at fault, you would not be able to proceed with a claim against the other driver.
Furthermore, if you bear less than 51 percent of fault in the accident, the percentage of fault you carry will be subtracted from any damages you do recover.
—Rules of the Road in Connecticut
Now, before you get out on the open road in the Nutmeg State, you need to know the rules so you can stay safe and keep your rates down.
—Fault vs. No-Fault
The first thing to know is that Connecticut follows a traditional fault-based system when it comes to financial responsibility for losses stemming from a crash: that includes car accident injuries, lost income, vehicle damage, and so on.
—Keep Right and Move Over Laws
Connecticut chapter 248 section 14-230 states that you should keep right if you are you are moving more slowly than traffic with five exceptions.
Section 14-283b requires drivers to move over for emergency vehicles with fines of $2,500 if an emergency vehicle operator is injured and $10,000 death results.
Maximum posted speed limits are 65 mph on rural interstates, 55 mph on urban interstates, 65 mph on limited access roads and 55 mph on all other roads.
—Seatbelt, Carseat, and Cargo Area Laws
Seatbelt use in Connecticut is standard enforcement and requires anyone in the front seat to be eights years or older with a fine of $50 if violated.
Child safety seat laws in Connecticut are very specific based on age, weight, and type of seat.
Violation of the child seat law in Connecticut may not only put the child in danger, but could result in a base fine of $50, additional fees, and a mandatory child restraint education program for the first or second violation.
An adult belt is permissible for children 8-15 years old and over 60 pounds with no preference for the rear seat.
Connecticut law permits transport in the cargo area of a vehicle for people 16 and older; people 15 and younger if belted; parades; farming operations; and hayrides August through December.
Rideshare services like Uber and Lyft mandate that all their drivers carry personal car insurance policies that align or exceed the minimum coverages dictated by state law. Drivers rarely carry their own commercial insurance coverage; however, Geico, Liberty Mutual, and State Farm do provide rideshare insurance in Connecticut.
—Automation on the Road
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS),
“Automation is the use of a machine or technology to perform a task or function that was previously carried out by a human. In driving, automation involves using radar, camera and other sensors to gather information about a vehicle’s surroundings, which is then used by computer programs to perform parts or all of the driving task on a sustained basis.”
Currently, Connecticut is testing the various types of driving automation on public roads. State law requires that a licensed operator be in the vehicle and have five million dollars in liability coverage.
—Safety Laws in Connecticut
But wait, there’s more! Let’s dig deeper into the safety laws in Connecticut to protect you on the open road.
|DUI Offenses||DUI Details|
|HIGH BAC Limit||N/A|
|Criminal Status by Offense||1st misdemeanor, 2+ within 10 years felonies.|
|Formal Name for Offense||Driving Under the Influence (DUI)|
|Look Back Period/Washout Period||10 years|
|1st Offense-ALS or Revocation||45 days +1 year with IID|
|1st Offense Imprisonment||Either 1) up to 6 months w/mandatory 2 day min or 2) up to six months suspended with probation requiring 100 hours community service|
|2nd Offense-DL Revocation||45 days +3 years with IID, first year limited to travel to and from work, school and substance abuse treatment program, IID service center or probation appointment|
|2nd Offense-Imprisonment||up to 2 years with mandatory min of 120 consecutive days and probation with 100 hours community service|
|3rd Offense-DL Revocation||license revoked, but eligible for reinstatment after two years. if reinstated, must only drive IID vehicle. This requirement may be lifted after 15 years by DMV commissioner.|
|3rd Offense-Imprisonment||up to 3 years. mandatory min of one year and probation with 100 hours community service|
|4th Offense-DL Revocation||same as third|
|4th Offense-Imprisonment||same as third|
|4th Offense-Fine||same as third|
|Mandatory Interlock||all offenders|
—Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
Connecticut currently has no marijuana-specific impaired driving laws.
—Distracted Driving Laws
The state of Connecticut currently has strict laws regarding hand-held device usage, cellphone usage, and texting.
Connecticut Fascinating Facts You Need to Know
Do you want to know how safe it really is for drivers in Connecticut? Well, the data our researchers found might surprise you.
Let’s take a look…
—Vehicle Theft in Connecticut
In 2016 alone, there were just over 6,700 motor vehicle thefts in the state of Connecticut. Be especially careful in Waterbury, Bridgeport, New Haven, and Hartford because these four cities outnumber all other cities in the state by nearly 300 reported thefts.
Here are the top 10 stolen cars in Connecticut. If you own a Honda Accord or Civic, take extra precaution!
|Make/Model||Year of Vehicle||Year||Thefts|
|Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||2000||2000||110|
—Risky/Harmful Driving Behavior
The best way to stay safe while driving is to always keep your eyes on the road and stay aware of common risky driving issues in your state. In 2017, there were 59 traffic incident-related fatalities in Fairfield County alone, comprising a 6.21 percent fatality rate per 100,000 of the population.
Let’s delve into this a bit further…
—2017 Traffic Fatalities
|Type||Number of Fatalities|
|Passenger Vehicle Occupant Fatalities (All Seat Positions)||162|
|Drivers Involved in Fatal Crashes||376|
|Bicyclist and other Cyclist Fatalities||3|
—Fatalities by Person Type
|Occupants (Enclosed Vehicles)||170|
—Fatalities by Crash Type
|Involving a Large Truck||23|
|Involving a Rollover||38|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||144|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||71|
—Five Year Trend by County
|County||Fatalities 2013||Fatalities 2014||Fatalities 2015||Fatalities 2016||Fatalities 2017|
|New Haven County||63||52||65||82||75|
|New London County||29||31||29||27||28|
—Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
|County Name||Speeding Fatalities 2013||Speeding Fatalities 2014||Speeding Fatalities 2015||Speeding Fatalities 2016||Speeding Fatalities 2017||Speeding Fatalities |
Per 100K 2013
|Speeding Fatalities |
Per 100K 2014
|Speeding Fatalities |
Per 100K 2015
|Speeding Fatalities |
Per 100K 2016
|Speeding Fatalities |
Per 100K 2017
|New Haven County||25||11||21||28||20||2.89||1.27||2.44||3.26||2.32|
|New London County||4||7||10||5||10||1.46||2.57||3.7||1.86||3.72|
—Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County
|County Name||DUI Fatalities 2013||DUI Fatalities 2014||DUI Fatalities 2015||DUI Fatalities 2016||DUI Fatalities 2017||DUI Fatalities Per 100K 2013||DUI Fatalities Per 100K 2014||DUI Fatalities Per 100K 2015||DUI Fatalities Per 100K 2016||DUI Fatalities Per 100K 2017|
|New Haven County||29||19||21||34||29||3.35||2.2||2.44||3.95||3.37|
|New London County||9||15||13||11||12||3.29||5.52||4.81||4.08||4.46|
—Teen Drinking and Driving
|Teens and Drunk Driving||Laws|
|Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Per 100K Population||0.9|
|Higher/Lower Than National Average (1.2)||lower|
|DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)||41|
|DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million People||54.43|
—EMS Response Time
|Type of Crash||Time of Crash to EMS|
|EMS Notification to|
|EMS Arrival at Scene|
to Hospital Arrival
| Time of Crash to Hospital|
|Rural Fatal Crashes||2.17||9.47||39.67||48.60|
|Urban Fatal Crashes||2.27||6.44||26.61||34.55|
If you live in Connecticut, chances are you live in a household with two or more cars, drive alone to work, and spend at least 10-30 minutes of your day commuting!
With an average commute time of 24.9 minutes, Connecticut ranks just a hair below the national average (25.3 minutes), and with over 77 percent of the population driving alone, that commute doesn’t exactly rank Connecticut as the greenest option when it comes to carbon emissions.
– Car Ownership
– Commute Time
– Commuter Transportation
Some residents of Connecticut (3.39 percent to be exact) even suffer through a “super commute” — spending in excess of 90 minutes in the car!
Now, you have the facts! You’ve also been able to see what kind of car insurance you need and how much it costs from the largest companies. Because you’re an individual, your rates will be unique to you.
It’s very important to compare rates for yourself so you can get the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your zip code below to get started!