USAA Auto Insurance Review (2022)

USAA auto insurance rates are lower than average, but only military members and their families qualify.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 22, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 22, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$753

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Offers multiple products including financial services and banking
  • High customer satisfaction and financial ratings
  • Rates are lower than average
  • Coverage is available in all 50 states
  • Easy-to-use mobile app

Cons

  • Coverage isn’t available to everyone
  • DUIs drastically increase rates
  • SafePilot isn’t available in every state
  • Customer complaints are higher than competitors

The Bottom Line

USAA is a highly-rated insurance company offering various insurance options and other products to military members and their families. Drivers can also find life and health insurance, auto loans, and investment products like annuities.

In addition to various offerings, USAA has the lowest auto insurance rates. Although teens and drivers with DUIs pay higher rates, USAA rates are still the lowest out of the top insurers in the nation.

USAA’s numerous products, excellent ratings, and low rates make it a great choice for military members looking for one company to meet various needs.

While many auto insurance companies offer discounts and lower rates to service members, USAA is the only company specializing in insurance and products for the military.

USAA auto insurance isn’t available to everyone, but the company offers cheap coverage and consistently earns very high ratings across the board, both in customer satisfaction and financial stability. 

Only military members and their families are eligible for the numerous USAA insurance coverages and products, such as auto loans and life insurance. Even while deployed, USAA provides inexpensive insurance options to help you avoid a coverage lapse.

While you should always shop around to find the best auto insurance company for you, there’s a good chance USAA fits your needs.

Keep reading to learn more about USAA auto insurance and determine if it’s the right company for you.

Is USAA a Good Choice?

USAA has been in the insurance business for 100 years, specializing in affordable auto insurance for the military. The company offers excellent service and coverages specific to military members, such as a deployment discount.

USAA offers military members and their families various coverage options at the lowest rates. That’s why it’s considered one of the best insurance providers for veterans and the military.

USAA also ranks high in customer satisfaction with J.D. Power and financial stability through A.M. Best. So, drivers with USAA insurance are confident the company will be there when needed. 

While coverage is only available to military members and their families, it’s available in all 50 states and Washington, D.C.

In addition to auto insurance, USAA offers insurance products such as homeowners, renters, boat, RV, and motorcycle coverage. Drivers can also take advantage of life and health insurance, auto loans, and investment opportunities through USAA. 

USAA’s low rates, high ratings, and various coverage options make it a great fit for military members.

USAA Rates

Many factors affect auto insurance rates, including age, driving history, and credit score. Therefore, USAA auto insurance quotes are different for each driver. To get an idea of auto insurance rates across the country, take a look at the map below.

USAA auto insurance rates are the lowest, but you’re only eligible if you’re a military member or family member. Other drivers don’t qualify for coverage.

Most states require at least a minimum amount of liability coverage. However, liability coverage only pays for damages to others. Therefore, drivers should add collision and comprehensive coverages to protect their vehicles.

Full coverage includes liability, collision, comprehensive, and other required coverages. While more coverage equals higher rates, you’re better protected and pay less out of pocket if your vehicle gets damaged.

This table shows average rates based on full coverage from USAA and other top insurers.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
USAA$753
Average$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

In addition, we’ve put together a table showing annual rates based on minimum coverage.

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
USAA$238
Average$541
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As you can see, USAA rates are the cheapest regardless of coverage. Considering full coverage is only around $11 a month more than liability-only coverage, it makes sense to choose the most protection available.

How does driving history affect USAA auto insurance rates?

Your driving record is one of the most significant factors affecting your USAA insurance quote. Drivers with accidents, tickets, and DUIs see the highest rates since they’re more likely to cost the insurance company money.

This table shows how having one accident on your driving record affects USAA car insurance rates.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,848$1,993
American Family$2,000$1,386
Farmers$2,383$1,674
GEICO$1,595$984
Liberty Mutual$2,840$2,120
Nationwide$1,983$1,445
Progressive$2,284$1,310
State Farm$1,285$1,091
Travelers$1,888$1,287
USAA$996$753
Average$2,123$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can expect your rates to increase after a speeding ticket as well.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,342$1,993
American Family$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,108$1,674
GEICO$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,227$1,091
Travelers$1,780$1,287
USAA$859$753
Average$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

While USAA rates increase with speeding tickets or accidents, they almost double with a DUI.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$1,993
American Family$2,124$1,386
Farmers$2,296$1,674
GEICO$2,566$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,445
Progressive$1,760$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,287
USAA$1,335$753
Average$2,619$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Drivers with multiple dings on their driving record see extremely high rates. Additionally, drivers with multiple infractions may be considered high-risk and require costly special coverage.

Does your credit score affect USSA rates?

Your credit score affects many aspects of your life, such as loan rates, credit card interest rates, and qualifying for an apartment.

However, many drivers aren’t aware their credit score can affect their insurance rates. While some states like California don’t allow insurance companies to use credit to determine rates, most states allow it.

Most insurance companies believe that drivers with good credit are more likely to avoid filing a claim and will pay for damages themselves. On the other hand, drivers with poor credit are more likely to file a claim and possibly miss payments.

USAA uses credit scores to calculate insurance rates. This table shows how much more drivers with fair or poor credit pay for USAA coverage.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$2,432$1,635$1,386
Farmers$3,233$1,926$1,674
GEICO$1,781$1,197$984
Liberty Mutual$4,256$2,712$2,120
Nationwide$1,988$1,595$1,445
Progressive$2,471$1,655$1,310
State Farm$2,398$1,411$1,091
Travelers$2,323$1,534$1,287
USAA$1,545$910$753
Allstate$3,551$2,362$1,993
Average$2,715$1,781$1,477

USAA drivers with poor credit pay double compared to drivers with good credit. The good news is that you can raise your credit score by making on-time payments and using credit responsibly.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA Discounts Available

We’ve already shown that USAA auto insurance is the cheapest out there. However, there are ways to get even lower rates.

The easiest way to lower rates is to take advantage of car insurance discounts. USAA offers various discounts based on the driver, policy, and vehicle. In addition, drivers can bundle eligible discounts for the most significant savings.

Drivers can also participate in the USAA SafePilot program to earn additional savings. SafePilot is a telematics program that monitors your driving habits, such as speed and hard braking. As a result, drivers who exhibit safe driving can save up to 30% on their auto insurance.

Lastly, look closely at your policy. Lower coverage amounts and raised deductibles to lower your rates. However, doing so means higher out-of-pocket costs if your vehicle gets damaged.

USAA Coverage Options

USAA offers various auto insurance coverages and other insurance products. Since USAA provides many products, drivers may find the company meets all their needs.

Typical auto insurance offerings from USAA include the following:

  • Liability
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages
  • Personal injury protection

In addition, USAA offers roadside assistance, rental reimbursement, and accident forgiveness. Hard-to-find coverage, such as rideshare and classic car insurance, is also available. Drivers can bundle their auto insurance policy with numerous coverages and services, making USAA a one-stop shop for insurance.

Other USAA coverages and products include:

  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Recreational vehicles such as motorcycles, boats, and RVs
  • Health
  • Life
  • Pet
  • Travel
  • Auto loans
  • Annuities

USAA rates are typically lower than other insurance companies, so using the company for multiple needs saves money.

USAA vs. Competitors

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is USAA car insurance available?

USAA insurance is available in all 50 states, but SafePilot is only available in 25 states.

How can you get a USAA car insurance quote?

Get a USAA auto insurance quote by calling customer service at 1-800-531-USAA. The fastest way to get a quote is to request one through the USAA website.

Does USAA offer SR-22 coverage?

Yes, USAA offers SR-22 coverage to high-risk drivers whose state requires them to file the SR-22 form. The form states that you have the mandatory coverage to drive legally.

Does USAA offer GAP coverage?

Unfortunately, drivers who need GAP coverage can’t get it through USAA. GAP coverage pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and what it’s worth. If you already have USAA insurance, you’ll need to get GAP coverage elsewhere.

How do you file a USAA car insurance claim?

You may file a car insurance claim with USAA through the app or by calling customer service. If you use the USAA app to file a claim, upload your photos to speed up the estimate process.

How can you contact USAA?

Drivers can contact USAA in multiple ways. The easiest way is to call customer service at 1-800-531-USAA. However, drivers can also make contact through the website, Twitter, or by mail at 9800 Fredericksburg Rd., San Antonio, TX 78288.

Who can get USAA car insurance?

USAA auto insurance is only available to veterans, members of the military, and their families.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for USAA

4.72 (6,414 reviews)
1
March 4, 2022

Josh_B

Zero faith or trust in USAA

I have zero faith or trust in USAA taking care of me as a customer. I was in an auto accident that was caused by the other party's drive shaft coming off on the highway in front of me. I took pictures of the party's truck along with a picture showing that his drive shaft was missing and had my passenger as a witness of what happened. USAA took this matter and did an arbitration with the other party's insurance. The outcome was that the other part...
I have zero faith or trust in USAA taking care of me as a customer. I was in an auto accident that was caused by the other party's drive shaft coming off on the highway in front of me. I took pictures of the party's truck along with a picture showing that his drive shaft was missing and had my passenger as a witness of what happened. USAA took this matter and did an arbitration with the other party's insurance. The outcome was that the other party was not at fault. I requested documentation regarding the arbitration and was told "The decision is considered work product and we are unable to release this documentation." How can I trust that USAA has my back if they will not release this info to me? [REDACTED]
1
January 3, 2022

Rich_A

USAA has lost its way

As a 52 year CUSTOMER (legitimately there are NO members!), my first 25 years ranged from excellent to good. After that period of time, customer service, pricing, employee credibility and product offering deteriorated to a barely acceptable level, at best, and made USAA indistinguishable from the other big insurance companies. It is my firm belief USAA in the past 20 years has operated solely for the betterment and welfare of its upper managem...
As a 52 year CUSTOMER (legitimately there are NO members!), my first 25 years ranged from excellent to good. After that period of time, customer service, pricing, employee credibility and product offering deteriorated to a barely acceptable level, at best, and made USAA indistinguishable from the other big insurance companies. It is my firm belief USAA in the past 20 years has operated solely for the betterment and welfare of its upper management. The primary corporate focus is the ever increasing of the customer base to increase management bonuses and salary levels. USAA has truly has lost its original purpose, focus and direction it had in its early years. Too bad. I remember what it was when I joined in 1970. Would I recommend USAA to those "eligible", absolutely not!
1
October 4, 2021

djsnyder79_gmail_com

Crap insurance stay away

These people lie to get your money. They absolutely don't care about customers and will cover their own [REDACTED WORD] in order do whatever they want. Might as well go with someone else.
1
July 25, 2021

K_c

This insurance company sucks

They have absolutely no communication skills and dont even let you know when they pay out claims. They dont care about their drivers at all and pay people to shut them up which makes your own rates sky rocket. They paid multiple claims without even a single email to let me know about it so I could fight them. I feel violated by the company I was paying to have my back. Do yourself a favor and choose elsewhere or they will screw you over too.
1
May 14, 2021

CDawn

Awful Customer Service and Incompetence

USAA touts itself as an insurance company for families of Military and Veterans. They are not. First, they could not even do their job and submit the right forms to my state when I had an accident causing my license to be suspended. A form that should have been submitted first thing after the accident. Through an odd circumstance, I found out I had been driving on a suspended license and had no clue! This was 4 months after the accident and I was...
USAA touts itself as an insurance company for families of Military and Veterans. They are not. First, they could not even do their job and submit the right forms to my state when I had an accident causing my license to be suspended. A form that should have been submitted first thing after the accident. Through an odd circumstance, I found out I had been driving on a suspended license and had no clue! This was 4 months after the accident and I was now having to follow up with them because of their incompetence! Not only that but it took them 4 months to get a check issued for the vehicle in the accident and I was stuck dealing with the lender! Also, they dropped my family when my husband got in trouble with the law and had to do time. I might understand not servicing my husband any longer...even though he is an Army Veteran who put his life on the line for our country... However, to drop a whole family while they are already dealing with something this life-changing I believe is unacceptable! They are already dealing with so much, even beyond the loss of a father and now being a single-parent home. I would have expected a little support from a company that touts themselves as being for families, specifically military and veteran families. I would not recommend them and will not do business with them again.
5
February 3, 2021

FAMILY

USAA IS GREAT

I AM SO GLAD WE WENT WITH USAA CAR INSURANCE COMPANY. IT HAS BETTER RATES AND COVERAGE OUT OF ALL THE OTHER COMPANIES WE HAVE HAD CAR INSURANCE COVER WITH. I THINK THEY ARE THE BEST ALL AROUND.
4
February 2, 2021

nityagarg

nice experince

To be honest is a great experience that deserves to be remembered. Quality, service and quality are great
5
February 2, 2021

YNJrDNEk57K79dU

USAA's

low rates and good customer service make it a sound choice for those who are eligible for USAA membership. It typically offers low rates for both auto and home insurance, despite the lack of available discounts. Overall, USAA is a great choice for your insurance needs
5
February 2, 2021

samo

a reliable company

it is a very good experience and i feel safe and secure with this company , and i advice the other one to register with
4
January 17, 2021

9876543211

trustworthy

I like this company, they are very reliable and they are well known of their prompt replies on clients questions
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption