New Mexico Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]
New Mexico requires 25/50/10 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. The average cost of auto insurance in NM is $78.13/mo.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Apr 29, 2022
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
|New Mexico Statistics Summary||Details|
|Road Miles in State||68,452|
|Most Popular Vehicle||F150|
|Uninsured % / Underinsured %||20%|
|Total Driving Related Deaths||Speeding: 141
|Full Coverage Average Premiums||Liability: $488.03
Hola, y bienvenidos a Nuevo MÃ©xico!
New Mexico, also known as “The Land of Enchantment”, has plenty of things to be enchanted by. This state is home to five national forests, 35 state parks, over 300 days of sunshine out of the 365 days a year, and harbors the fourth-longest river in the United States, the Rio Grande.
Don’t get so enchanted by the beauty of nature that you forget about one important topic: auto insurance!
We have put together this guide, full of every piece of auto insurance information: coverage and rates, auto insurance providers, state laws, and lots, lots more.
Bake yourself some bizcochitos and settle in to find out anything and everything you’d want to know about auto insurance in New Mexico.
Want to start comparing rates and saving money?
New Mexico Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates
Are you the type who doesn’t like to eat their dessert before supper?
New Mexican cuisine is a unique blend of Native American and Spanish spices, as seen in recipes such as the carne adovada and stuffed sopapillas.
Don’t go rushing off to make this food just yet!
First, let’s talk about the basic requirements of auto insurance in New Mexico and what it will cost you.
New Mexico Minimum Coverage
The Insurance Information Institute, or III, reports that New Mexico ranks third in the United States for the number of people not insured. While this number is lower than it was in 2006 (29.8 percent), this still equates to 20 percent of the entire state as of 2015!
Even though a law was passed on December 2, 2002, called the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB) many still choose to drive without insurance. Full coverage in the state of New Mexico is cheap, totaling on average to about $937.59 a year. So why aren’t more people insured? Research into this question did not turn up any definite answers.
Please pay attention so you know all about insurance and why it is important to have.
The minimum coverage for auto insurance in New Mexico require you to have liability insurance. Liability insurance covers you in the event you are in an accident and there is bodily injuries or property damage. It pays all the individuals involved.
New Mexico is what is called an at-fault state. This means that the person who was at fault in the accident is the one who has to pay for any damage or injuries sustained.
The mandatory minimum you must carry in New Mexico, according to New Mexico insurance law:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage per accident.
This minimum liability coverage is known as 25/50/10.
Also important to know: out-of-state coverage is acceptable in New Mexico, as long as it meets the minimum requirements of 25/50/10.
Experts recommend if at all possible to purchase more than the minimum amount for your state.
Required Forms of Financial Responsibility in New Mexico
Financial responsibility is so important in New Mexico that they have made it mandatory, by law.
Otherwise known as the Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act (MFRA), New Mexico law states you must have the following to register your vehicle under the MFRA:
- Application for Vehicle Title and Registration.
- Proof of Insurance, with Vehicle ID Number.
Thereafter, your vehicle will be kept in an electronic database and tracked to ensure compliance with the MFRA.
If you choose to be non-compliant with the MFRA, the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) will give you 30 days to supply proof of insurance and financial responsibility. Once the 30 days has passed, you will have your registration suspended and have to pay a $30 reinstatement fee each time it lapses.
If you are caught driving without auto insurance in New Mexico, you will face a $100 fine!
Long story short: it’s better to have insurance than to drive without it.
Premiums as Percentage of Income in New Mexico
First off, you will want to know what the term disposable personal income means.
That is the amount you have left to spend after you have taken care of your necessary expenses and after taxes have been paid.
Over the course of three years, from 2012 to 2014, the disposable income in New Mexico has had minimal ups and downs but has stayed in the range between $31,000 to $33,000. As compared to the other states in what is known as the Four Corners (New Mexico, Colorado, Utah, and Arizona), Colorado has the highest disposable income (ranging up to $44,000), where Arizona and Utah are about the same as New Mexico.
American Consumer Credit Counseling suggests saving 20 percent of every paycheck. Use the calculator above to find out how much DPI you would have each month, and then times that amount by 20 percent to know how much you would need to save each month.
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in NM (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
|Core Auto Insurance Coverage in New Mexico||Annual Average|
The above table illustrates the most recent data provided by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners as of 2015. Rates in 2019 will be a bit higher.
Donât forget: New Mexico has minimum requirements for liability coverage, but experts suggest drivers purchase more than what the state law requires, especially when the state is an “at-fault” state like New Mexico.
Additional Liability Coverage in New Mexico
The data from the table below is from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners and spans the course of three years (from 2012-2014).
|Additional Liability Coverage in New Mexico - Loss Ratios||2012||2013||2014|
|Medical Pay (Med Pay)||72%||77%||73%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||79%||71%||67%|
A loss ratio means that a company is paying out a certain percentage of claims. Over 100 percent and the company is losing money. Too low, and the company isn’t paying claims.
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is optional in New Mexico, as is Medical Pay (Med Pay). And for the coverage being optional the loss ratio is high, meaning insurance companies in New Mexico pay a decent amount of claims.
New Mexico, remember, is third in the nation for people not being insured. About 20 percent of the state does not carry auto insurance!
Remember: If you can afford more insurance, carrying more than the mandatory minimum requirement is recommended.
Auto Insurance Coverage in Mexico
If you wish to drive across the border, know that U.S. auto insurance is not valid in Mexico. The U.S. State Department recommends that if you are traveling to Mexico, that you buy a policy that will protect you in the event you are in an accident in Mexico and are found to be at fault.
On January 1, 2019, Mexico made it law that ” all vehicles traveling on federal highways have a minimum of third party liability insurance coverage.”
Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders
Getting complete coverage at an affordable price is your main goal when it comes to auto insurance, right?
Good news: there are lots of powerful but cheap extras you can add to your policy.
Hereâs a list of useful coverage available to you in New Mexico:
- Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
- Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
- Rental Reimbursement
- Emergency Roadside Assistance
- Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
- Non-Owner Auto Insurance
- Modified Auto Insurance Coverage
- Classic Auto Insurance
- Pay-as-You-Drive or Usage-Based Insurance
New Mexico Motor Vehicle Insurance Plan (NMMVIP)
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Insurance Plan, or NMMVIP, helps provide insurance to drivers who cannot get it through the usual channels (especially if they are considered a high-risk driver). NMMVIP is not an insurance company, but it is a way that you can receive insurance if you are having trouble finding it on your own.
And while the NMMVIP helps you if you are having trouble finding auto insurance, what might not sound so attractive are the unfair prices in terms of auto insurance.
Average Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in NM
The chart below shows the states where women and men pay more for auto insurance. New Mexico is one of the states where men pay more than women for auto insurance, though it depends on your marital status. For instance, a single 25-year-old male will pay more for auto insurance than a married 35-year-old male.
For a more detailed breakdown, see the table below:
|Company||Married 35-year old female Annual Rate||Married 35-year old male Annual Rate||Married 60-year old female Annual Rate||Married 60-year old male Annual Rate||Single 17-year old female Annual Rate||Single 17-year old male Annual Rate||Single 25-year old female Annual Rate||Single 25-year old male Annual Rate|
|Farmers Ins Co Of AZ||$2,404.81||$2,396.01||$2,152.83||$2,295.21||$9,750.62||$10,025.51||$2,703.37||$2,790.84|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,523.13||$1,523.13||$1,383.93||$1,383.93||$4,131.10||$5,189.28||$1,704.41||$1,881.32|
New Mexico Auto Insurance Rates by Zip Code
Below are the 25 ZIP codes with the cheapest rates.
|ZIP Code||Average Annual Rate|
Compare how these rates measure up to the most expensive ZIP codes below.
|ZIP code||Average Annual Rate|
Use the search feature in the table to search for your ZIP code!
New Mexico Auto Insurance Rates by City
|City||Zip code||Average Annual Rate|
Use the search feature in the table to search for your city and/or specific zip code!
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Best New Mexico Auto Insurance Companies
So many auto insurance providers out there to choose from, and so little time.
Want to save time?
Let us help you save it!
Find out what is the best auto insurance companyÂ in the state of New Mexico.
New Mexico Companies’ Financial Ratings
A little something called the A.M. Best Financial Rating lets people know how well a company is doing financially, and what their financial strength is.
|Hartford Fire & Casualty||A+|
|Iowa Farm Bureau Group||Not Rated|
Sometimes it’s more important to know what people say about these companies instead of the financial data. You’re the customer, after all, and you need to be treated well!
Read on to find out about customer reviews.
Companies with the Best Customer Ratings
A company known as J.D. Power and Associates gave a study to auto insurance customers in multiple U.S. Regions in 2018 asking them: how would you rank auto insurance companies?
When it comes to the Southwest Region (which includes New Mexico), CSAA ranks 839 on a 1,000 point scale, which means it is “among the best”.
|Companies||Ranking||J.D. Power Circle Rating™|
Companies with the Most Complaints in New Mexico
A business has a few bad reviews?
That’s life in the business world.
When a business has multiple bad reviews and complaints, it’s time to pay attention!
Here are the companies, according to customers in New Mexico, that customers believe are the worst:
|Company||Total Complaints in 2017|
|Hartford Fire & Casualty||9|
|Iowa Farm Bureau Group||32|
The Office of the Superintendent of Insurance in New Mexico will work with you to resolve any insurance complaints you might have.
Cheapest Companies in New Mexico
|Farmers Ins Co Of AZ||$4,314.90|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,340.03|
When it comes to getting the most money for your dollar yearly, USAA has the cheapest annual rates, with $2,297.13. Geico is the most expensive, with a rate of $4,457.62.
Commute Rates in New Mexico
|Company||10-Mile commute. |
6,000 annual mileage.
12,000 annual mileage.
No matter the length of your commute, USAA is the cheapest, once again.
Coverage Rates in New Mexico
USAA seems to be coming out on top when it comes to good deals. For a high level of coverage, USAA offers the best annual average.
Credit History Rates in New Mexico
Credit history can either help you or hurt you when it comes to insurance.
For those with poor credit, USAA offers the best annual average. If your credit is middle-of-the-road, State Farm offers the best annual rate. If your credit is good, again, State Farm offers the best annual rate.
Driving Record Rates in New Mexico
Geico is not as forgiving if you have a DUI violation on your record. They are the most expensive in that regard. Farmers is not the most forgiving when it comes to an accident on your record. They are the most expensive when it comes to that.
|Company||Clean record||With one speeding violation||With one accident||With One DUI|
Some insurance companies are a little more forgiving. USAA has the best rates if you have minimal speeding violations or minimal accidents; State Farm offers the cheapest rates if you have a DUI violation on your record.
Largest Auto Insurance Companies in New Mexico
|Company||Premiums Written||Market Share|
|Hartford Fire & Casualty||$41,760||3.01%|
|Iowa Farm Bureau Group||$30,209||2.18%|
Number of Insurers in New Mexico: Domestic vs. Foreign
What is the difference between a domestic insurer and a foreign insurer?
Domestic means that the insurer is in-state, or it may be an insurance company only available in the state of New Mexico.
Foreign means out of state, or a company such as State Farm that is available in multiple states.
In New Mexico, there are 15 domestic insurers and 837 foreign insurers.
Laws in New Mexico
It helps to know the laws in your state, but there are so many of them, right?
We’ve compiled all the auto insurance laws and laws that are important for you to know.
New Mexico’s Auto Insurance Laws
Auto Insurance laws vary from state to state, so it’s important to know the laws for yours.
Read up on some of the New Mexico laws here, and read further on to get the laws in more detail.
New Mexico’s Windshield & Glass Repair Laws
A chip or a crack in a windshield can be annoying. But are insurance companies in New Mexico required to pay for windshield damage? What are the full glass coverage laws in New Mexico? Read more here: New Mexico Windshield Insurance.
According to Car Windshields, “Insurers may use aftermarket parts, if the quality is comparable to the manufacturerâs parts.”
High-Risk Insurance in New Mexico
As previously mentioned, the high-risk auto insurance program in New Mexico is the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Insurance Plan.
Click on the link above to go to that section for more information!
Low-Cost Insurance in New Mexico
There is no state-mandated program in New Mexico for low-cost auto insurance, but ask your insurance provider if they provide discounts for such things as safe driving
Automobile Insurance Fraud in New Mexico
Each state has its own definition of what they consider insurance fraud.
New Mexico defines insurance fraud as “intentionally providing false, incomplete, or misleading information for the purpose of obtaining insurance benefits.”
What is considered insurance fraud in New Mexico?
- Providing false information on an insurance application.
- Filing a false claim.
- Making a false document for support of a claim.
- Making a false statement for a policy in order to maintain any kind of compensation.
There are penalties if you are found guilty of insurance fraud.
- Victim loss of $250 or less: Six months in prison and $500 fine.
- Victim loss of over $250: One year in prison and $1,000 fine.
- Victim loss between $500 – $2,500: 18 months in prison and $5,000 fine.
- Victim loss between $2,500 – $20,000: Three years in prison and $5,000 fine.
- Victim loss over $20,000: Nine years in prison and $10,000 fine.
Learn more about fraud and how to prevent it here.
The Statute of Limitations in New Mexico
The statute of limitations is the set amount of time that either you or the other party have to file charges. It protects both you and the other party by giving each of you a set amount of time. Beyond that time limit, no charges can be filed.
In New Mexico, the statute of limitations is three years for a personal injury case and four years for a property damage case.
New Mexico’s Vehicle Licensing Laws
To drive a car and operate a car in New Mexico, you have to have a license. Keep on reading to find out more about this and about the rules of the road.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
What are the penalties for driving without insurance in New Mexico?
- First offense: $300 fine and/or 90 days in jail. License/registration suspended.
- Second offense: No known penalties.
- Third and subsequent offenses: No known penalties.
If you cause an accident and do not have insurance, you could face civil penalties.
Remember that you must have the required insurance and/or forms of financial responsibility in your vehicle at all times.
Teen Driver Laws in New Mexico
Teen drivers, listen up.
Getting a license in New Mexico is a multi-step, graduated process, meaning that you have to go through three stages to even be able to have a full-fledged license, according to the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department.
What is the process?
For Stage One (The Instructional Permit Stage):
|Learner Permit Requirements to Receive License/Restricted License||Details|
|Mandatory Holding Period||6 months|
|Minimum Supervised Driving Time||50 hours (10 of which must be at night)|
|Minimum Age||15 years, 6 months|
Learnerâs permit holders must follow time and age requirements before they can drive without an adult in the car. Then they can progress to the next stage.
For Stage Two (The Provisional Stage):
|Provisional LICENSE REQUIREMENTS||DETAILS|
|Nighttime Restrictions||Midnight to 5 a.m.|
|Passenger Restrictions (family members excepted unless noted otherwise)||No more than 1 passenger younger than 21|
|When Restrictions can be Lifted||Details|
|Nighttime Restrictions||12 months or until age 18, whichever occurs first (minimum age: 16 years, 6 months)|
|Passenger Restrictions||12 months or until age 18, whichever occurs first (minimum age: 16 years, 6 months)|
Keep in mind that drivers with learnerâs permits or restricted licenses canât text or use a handheld device.
For Stage Three (The Full License):
In order to qualify for a full license, the teen and parent or legal guardian must sign the license application. Teenagers 18 and older don’t need parental consent.
By applying, they are attesting to the following:
- The teen has successfully completed Stage Two.
- The teen has not been convicted of a traffic violation within 90 days of applying.
- The teen has no pending traffic violations at the time of application.
- The teen has not been found guilty of or have pending charges involving alcohol or drug use during the provisional period.
How about for brand spanking new drivers?
You have some things to complete as well. The “None for the Road” course is something we will discuss later.
Important to know: if you are an intermediate driver or you have a learner’s permit, you are banned from using a cellphone to talk or text. The texting ban is primarily enforced for all drivers, no matter your age.
Older Driver Laws in New Mexico
The rules for older drivers in New Mexico?
Pretty straightforward, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
- Older Population License Renewal: you have the choice of renewing either every four or every eight years.
- Proof of vision required: every renewal if 75 years or older.
- Mail or online renewal permitted: Yes, for every other renewal unless a new photo is required. Not permitted for 75 and older.
You can save yourself a trip to the MVD every four or eight years. Now that’s what I call convenience!
New Residents of New Mexico
Welcome to New Mexico, new person!
You must register and title your vehicle within 60 days of moving to the state, and you can even schedule your appointment to do so online!
If you are an immigrant that moved to New Mexico and need a driver’s license, rest assured that the process is easy. New Mexico is one of the best states for immigrant auto insurance and immigrant licensing.
License Renewal Procedures in New Mexico
If you want just a regular ol’ driver’s license, bring one proof of identity and age as well as two proofs of New Mexico residency.
But what’s all this about a REAL ID?
New Mexico REAL ID
Starting October 1, 2020, federal agencies will endorse what is known as the REAL ID Act, which requires you to have a REAL ID U.S. Passport or another federally approved ID to board flights or enter federal buildings.
How do you get a REAL ID?
What is required to get a REAL ID?
New Mexico does not require a REAL ID to drive, but it is recommended if you fly a lot in the United States.
Rules of the Road in New Mexico
Know the rules of the road and be a safer driver. Read on to find out about the rules of the road in New Mexico…
Fault vs. No-Fault
Remember, New Mexico is an at-fault state. This means that the person who was at fault in the accident is the one who has to pay for any damage or injuries sustained.
Seat Belts and Car Seat Laws
Seat belt and car seat laws in New Mexico are primarily enforced. This means if a police officer sees you not wearing your seat belt or doesn’t see a child in a car seat, they will stop you.
According to the IIHS, if your child is “younger than 1 year in a rear-facing child restraint; 1-4 years or less than 40 pounds in a child restraint; 5-6 or less than 60 pounds in a booster seat”, they must be in some form of a booster or car seat. Also, children younger than one year must be in a rear seat.
A $25 fine applies if you are not wearing your seat belt or if your child is not in a car seat.
Keep Right and Move Over Laws
In New Mexico, the laws are as follows according to AAA:
State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle or a recovery or repair vehicle, including tow trucks, to slow down and vacate the lane next to the stopped vehicle, if they are able. If drivers are not able to move over, they are required to slow down and be prepared to stop.
If you are in the left lane, slow driving is not allowed if you are traveling under the speed of the traffic around you.
In New Mexico, the speed limit is 75 miles per hour on rural interstates and urban interstates, 65 miles per hour on other limited access roads, and 55 miles per hour on all other roads.
Want to know the different ridesharing services available in New Mexico?
When it comes to automated vehicles, New Mexico is one of 11 states that have only authorized studies and funding, as well as authorized the defining of key terms when it comes to automated vehicles. This is according to the IIHS.
Safety Laws in New Mexico
New Mexico is a state that has decided to toughen up its DWI laws, putting it a little ways behind such states as North Carolina, a state considered to have some of the toughest DWI laws in the nation.
In New Mexico, you are considered Driving While Intoxicated if you have a BAC of .08 or higher (if you are 21 or older) or .04 if you are a commercial driver. Younger than 21, a BAC of .02 is considered Driving While Intoxicated.
Alcohol is involved in about 40 percent of the traffic crashes in which someone is killed.
How many offenses you have determines the amount of jail time and/or fines:
- First offense: Up to 90 days in jail or one-year probation; $500 fine.
- Second offense: One year in jail or five years probation; $1,000 fine.
- Third offense: One year in jail or five years probation; $1,000 fine.
- Fourth offense: 18 months in jail; $5,000 fine.
- Fifth offense: Two years in jail; $5,000 fine.
- Sixth offense: 30 months in jail; $5,000 fine.
- Seventh or subsequent offense: Three years in jail; $5,000 fine.
Various other penalties can also apply.
If you are caught with a DWI and you are under 21, your license is automatically suspended for one year.
Any level of DWI also must participate in a None For The Road class.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
There is no marijuana-specific law in the state of New Mexico, but it doesn’t mean you won’t get in trouble for driving under the influence.
Distracted Driving Laws
DNTTXT JUST DRIVE.
According to the Safer New Mexico website, “driver distractions have joined alcohol and speeding as leading factors in fatal and serious injury crashes.”
For a safer New Mexico, texting while driving has been outlawed as of July 2014.
New Mexico Can’t-Miss Facts
Just the facts, ma’am. Or sir.
Let’s take a look at what the facts are in New Mexico.
Vehicle Theft in New Mexico
When it comes to the facts, the most stolen cars (according to the National Insurance Crime Bureau and 2016 Data) are as follows:
- 2004 Ford Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 1996 Honda Accord
- 2003 Chevrolet Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 1998 Honda Civic
- 2001 Dodge Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2003 GMC Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 1999 Toyota Camry
- 1993 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- 1994 Ford Pick-Up (Small Size)
- 1997 Chevrolet Pick-Up (Small Size)
Pick-Up Trucks in general take over SIX spots on this list!
Dangers on the Road in New Mexico
The best way to stay out of danger on the roads is to drive defensively and be aware of common issues in New Mexico.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition
Weather and the time of day can contribute to traffic fatalities.
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown||Total|
Crashes tend to occur the most often in New Mexico in the daytime under normal weather conditions.
Always remember to keep your eye on the road!
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
This shows the fatalities over the course of five years.
Traffic Fatalities: Rural vs. Urban
This shows the fatalities over the course of 10 years.
Interestingly, rural areas have a lot more traffic fatalities than in urban areas.
Fatalities by Person Type
|Light Truck - Pickup||55||65||50||73||62|
|Light Truck - Utility||46||38||45||72||59|
|Light Truck - Van||5||20||5||6||9|
|Light Truck - Other||2||2||3||2||1|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||4||5||7||4||2|
This shows the fatalities over the course of five years.
Passenger cars and light pick-ups have a high rate of fatalities in this five-year timespan.
Fatalities by Crash Type
|Involving a Large Truck||54||72||46||40||70|
|Involving a Rollover||128||129||115||169||118|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||137||182||150||207||176|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||63||54||66||75||94|
This shows the fatalities over the course of five years.
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties in New Mexico
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
Fatalities Involving Alcohol-Impaired Driving by County
Teen Drinking and Driving
Remember, the DWI Laws in New Mexico are behind states like North Carolina when it comes to strictness.
Here are the facts when it comes to teens and drunk driving:
- 2.1 deaths per 100,000 residents, which is far above the national average of 1.2.
- 62 DWI arrests in the under 21 group, which makes New Mexico 15th in the nation when it comes to these types of arrests.
EMS Response Time: Rural vs. Urban
|Time of Crash to EMS|
|EMS Notification to|
|EMS Arrival at Scene|
to Hospital Arrival
|Time of Crash to Hospital
|Rural||6 minutes||16 minutes||47 minutes||55 minutes|
|Urban||4 minutes||6 minutes||24 minutes||33 minutes|
The response times in both rural and urban areas seem pretty decent!
Both areas take under an hour from the time of the crash to hospital arrival.
If you live in New Mexico, most likely you live in an overwhelmingly two-car household, drive alone to work, and spend very little time commuting!
The information that follows is from Data USA.
Most people in New Mexico live in a two-car household.
With an average commute time of 20.8 minutes, New Mexico is well below the national average of 25.2. minutes.
1.75 percent of New Mexico residents report a super-commute, which is spending 90 minutes or more of your time commuting.
80 percent of the workforce report driving in to work alone. 9.4 percent carpool, and 5.1 percent work at home.
Top Cities for Traffic Congestion
Taking a left turn at Albuquerque might result in finding yourself in some pretty bad traffic congestion, as it is the city that tends to top most traffic congestion lists.
Want to see further stats?
According to the TomTom Traffic Index, Alburquerque drivers see an increase of 16 percent extra travel time. This amounts to 16 extra minutes per day and 62 extra hours per year. When it’s morning traffic, drivers see an increase of 21 percent extra travel time, and in the evenings, drivers see an increase of 32 percent extra travel time.
Highways seem a bit easier to travel on, as they see a 4 percent increase as opposed to non-highways, which see a 24 percent increase.
Gracias, y adios!
We hope this guide about auto insurance and the rules/laws in New Mexico has helped you!
Don’t waste another minute. Start comparison shopping auto insurance rates today!
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.