Select Page

Oregon Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Oregon Statistics Summary  
Road Miles 2015 Total in State: 73,544
Vehicle Miles Driven: 35,999 Million
Vehicles Registered 3,479,174
State Population 4,190,713
Most Popular Vehicle Outback
Percentage of Motorists Uninsured 12.7%
State Rank: 21st
Driving Deaths Speeding (2008-2017) Total: 1,158
Drunk Driving (2008-2017) Total: 1,150
Average Premiums 2015 (Annual) Liability: $584.13
Collision: $226.83
Comprehensive: $93.87
Combined Premium: $904.83
Cheapest Provider State Farm Mutual Auto

Oregon is a magical state. It’s home to ecological diversity like you’ve never seen and offers its residents and tourists alike access to the great expanse of the Pacific Ocean. When you’re driving through Oregon, you have the chance not only to head down to the beach but to explore lush forests, expansive mountain ranges, and bustling, expansive cities.

Navigating Oregon’s roadways, naturally, can be an entrancing but also stressful experience. Finding the best car insurance as an Oregon resident can also pit you up against all sorts of challenges, be they natural or based in the car insurance industry. When purchasing car insurance coverage in Oregon, you have to consider any potential weather hazards while also parsing through dozens of insurance offers from equally numerous providers.

Never fear, though! It’s easier than you may think to find the right kind of car insurance coverage for your car and lifestyle. In order to take a bit of the stress out of your car insurance quest, we’ve compiled this comprehensive guide to car insurance providers in Oregon that’ll keep you legal and safe on the Beaver State’s roadways.

In this guide, we’ll address Oregon’s required coverage and available provider rates as well as the state-specific laws that you’ll have to abide by as an Oregon resident. You can even take advantage of our FREE online tool in order to start comparing rates in your area!

Are you ready to see what the Beaver State has to offer? Let’s get started.

Table of Contents

Oregon Car Insurance Coverage and Rates

When you’re shopping for car insurance, it can be difficult to know what level of coverage is best for you. What’s the difference between minimal and comprehensive coverage? Should you base your purchase off of a provider’s anticipated rates?

The kind of coverage you choose should fit with your driving style and budget. In this section, we’ll explore how living in Oregon impacts the coverage available to you and what, precisely, you’ll be paying for when you purchase coverage as a resident of the Beaver State.

From core coverage to potential coverage add-ons – we’ve got it all here!

– Oregon Minimum Coverage

No matter what state you live in, as a registered driver you’ll have to comply with that state’s minimum liability coverage policy. What is minimum liability coverage exactly, though? While the ratios will vary by state, minimum liability coverage is the bare minimum of car insurance that your state of residence requires you to have in order to legally drive on the roads.

In Oregon, state minimum liability coverage operates on a 25/50/20 ratio. We’ve broken down what those ratios mean below:

  • 25 = $25,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of a single person
  • 50 – $50,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of more than one person
  • 20 = $20,000 in coverage to repair any property that’s damaged in an accident

In addition to the aforementioned minimum liability coverage, the state of Oregon requires that its drivers have the following:

  • $15,000 in Personal Injury Protection coverage (otherwise known as Medical Payments, MedPay, or PIP)
  • $25,000 per person for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)
  • $50,000 in total for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)

Not all states require you to have these additional points of coverage, but Oregon wants its drivers to remain safe while on the road and to avoid having to dive into personal savings in order to care for anyone or anything injured in an accident.

That said, that amount of coverage sounds like a lot of money, doesn’t it? In actuality, the state minimum liability coverage in Oregon is in place to ensure that while you’re recovering from an accident or helping someone else replace damaged property, you don’t run out of funds. Money goes fast when you’ve been in an accident, and while minimum coverage is useful, it’s always worthwhile to explore more expansive options.

– Forms of Financial Responsibility

No matter what state you live in, you’re required to carry some form of financial responsibility or proof of insurance on your person while you drive in order to prove to law enforcement that you have your state’s required minimum liability coverage.

Forms of financial responsibility in Oregon can include:

  • A valid, up-to-date insurance ID card
  • A copy of your insurance policy
  • A signed letter from your insurance agent or a company official written out on company letterhead
  • A DMV certificate of self-insurance with your name or the name of the vehicle owner listed on it

If you happen to get pulled over in the state of Oregon, you need to be able to show a law enforcement representative proof of insurance. Without one of these forms of financial responsibility, you may face fines or the suspension of your license and registration.

If you happen to get caught driving without insurance in Oregon, you may have to file an SR-22 form in order to verify to law enforcement and the state that you do, in fact, have state minimum liability coverage. An SR-22 serves as another form of financial responsibility and can protect you from unnecessary fines or suspensions.

You may also have to file an SR-22 if you:

  • Were convicted of driving without insurance
  • Owned an uninsured vehicle at the time of a car accident
  • Want to reinstate your driving privileges after a suspension
  • Are applying for a hardship or probationary permit

If you’ve had to file an SR-22, you’ll need to carry it with you in your car or on your person while driving for three years after you’ve received it in order to protect yourself from immediately license suspension.

– Premiums as a Percentage of Income

With all of that cheery information out of the way, let’s get down to brass tax. Your car insurance premium in Oregon will be some percentage of your disposable income per capita.

What precisely is disposable income per capita, though? Effectively, the term applies to the money that you’re able to spend after you’ve paid your taxes for the year.

For example, let’s say you made $80,000 over the course of a year, pre-taxes. After March comes and goes, you’ll have roughly $65,000 to use on every other expense in your life. As such, that $65,000 serves as your disposable income.

The state average of residents’ disposable income serves as a state’s annual per capita disposable income.

In Oregon, the annual per capital disposable income comes to $36,445.

This means that on average, Oregon residents will have $36,445 a year to commit to utilities, rent, groceries, and other forms of insurance. On a monthly basis, that number comes to $3,037.08.

How does your car insurance premium factor into this number? Well, the average premium for annual full coverage in Oregon comes in at about $894.10. This means that over the course of a year, you’ll pay roughly $900 for your car insurance coverage.

On a month by month basis, Oregon residents should expect to pay an average of $74.51 a month in order to secure full car insurance coverage.

That said, Oregon’s state average for car insurance rates is lower than the national average. Across the United States, the average annual rate for car insurance is $981. That means that, as an Oregon resident, you’re getting a deal on your insurance!

 

Free Online Calculator

– Core Coverage

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, core coverage in the state of Oregon rated as follows in 2015.

Coverage Type Annual Costs (2015)
Liability $584.13
Collision $226.83
Comprehensive $93.87
Combined $904.83

These variant forms of coverage may cost your wallet a little more in the long run. However, if you get into an accident that elicits costs which exceed the amount of minimum coverage you have, you’ll likely find that more extensive coverage will keep you from having to dig into your savings.

Want to learn a little more about the additional coverage available to you? Keep reading to find out more!

– Additional Liability Coverage

We’ve already touched on Uninsured/Underinsured coverage and PIP coverage as part of the state of Oregon’s minimum insurance requirements.

As a refresher, though, note that MedPay coverage will cover your personal medical expenses if you happen to get in an accident.

UMM coverage will protect you if you happen to get into an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance or who doesn’t have enough coverage to see to all of your expenses. UMM coverage ensures that you won’t have to dig into your savings should the person at-fault in an accident be unable to see to your financial needs.

– Additional Coverage Loss Ratios

Both PIP and UMM have their own loss ratios. What, though, is a loss ratio?

In short, a loss ratio tells you how much a particular provider is willing to pay out on an insurance claim.

Providers with rates above 100 percent are able to cover all of their clients’ expenses, but they risk going bankrupt in order to do so. Comparatively, providers with lower rates are less likely to entirely cover their clients, but they’re more financially stable.

Oregon, in particular, is home to providers with average UMM loss ratios but higher than average PIP loss ratios. That said, national averages for loss ratios range between 94-112 percent. That range leaves Oregon a little above average but otherwise sitting pretty.

Loss Ratio 2013 2014 2015
Medical Payments (MedPay) 124.89% 116.36% 115.50%
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage 64.68% 72.79% 76.53%

Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders

If you want more options for insurance add-ons, then you’re in luck. There are a variety of ways you can secure additional coverage, so many so that you may end up feeling like a kid in a candy factory.

Don’t let the prospects overwhelm you. We’ve compiled a list of some of the more readily available add-ons that’ll fit into any budget. These forms of coverage will do double-duty to protect you in case of an accident.

Click on any of the additional coverage options to learn more about these opportunities:

– Demographic Rates by Gender

There are additional factors that can impact your car insurance rate, including your gender. Though the myth of gender’s influence on a person’s ability to drive a car responsibility has been challenged multiple times, car insurance providers seem determined to proceed with caution.

Company Married 35-year old female Married 35-year old male Married 60-year old female Married 60-year old male Single 17-year old female Single 17-year old male Single 25-year old female Single 25-year old male
Blank $1,914.64 $1,904.00 $1,723.47 $1,794.06 $5,037.55 $6,279.58 $2,206.08 $2,312.57
Allstate F&C $3,116.60 $2,896.79 $2,841.32 $2,868.61 $9,332.73 $10,401.52 $3,262.94 $3,277.55
American Family Mutual $2,304.32 $2,304.32 $2,054.19 $2,054.19 $5,697.93 $8,930.71 $2,304.32 $2,413.79
Farmers Ins Co Of OR $2,069.68 $2,024.02 $1,829.43 $1,945.91 $8,559.72 $8,752.78 $2,317.92 $2,376.37
Geico Cas $2,392.62 $2,311.56 $2,226.68 $2,240.44 $6,189.22 $5,642.07 $2,548.10 $2,200.85
Safeco Ins Co of OR $2,776.95 $2,928.21 $2,411.66 $2,679.41 $8,850.63 $9,545.05 $2,670.62 $2,692.84
NICOA $2,222.89 $2,212.78 $1,980.76 $2,071.14 $5,087.37 $6,359.30 $2,592.14 $2,729.36
Progressive Universal $1,926.67 $1,745.84 $1,672.83 $1,722.85 $8,277.50 $9,124.21 $2,301.66 $2,177.58
State Farm Mutual Auto $1,618.73 $1,618.73 $1,481.05 $1,481.05 $5,136.09 $6,447.93 $1,836.59 $2,105.82
Standard Fire Insurance Co $1,887.50 $1,902.25 $1,699.83 $1,768.58 $5,296.68 $6,424.93 $1,969.94 $2,002.27
USAA CIC $1,608.07 $1,560.55 $1,590.69 $1,535.96 $4,886.29 $5,247.50 $2,068.24 $2,149.86

You’ll note that the primary difference in rates displayed here doesn’t fall along gender lines, necessarily, but rather along age lines. Teenage boys, as you can see, have much higher insurance rates than their female counterparts. Teenagers are considered to be less experienced drivers than their adult counterparts and, as such, have to pay higher rates in order for car insurance providers to effectively cover any accidents that the driving learning curve may bring about.

Comparatively, middle-aged married women and men have similar car insurance rates.

– Cheapest Rates by Zip Code and City

The city and county you live in also impact your car insurance rates. Oregon’s bigger, urban areas, with their increased amount of traffic, see higher rates than their rural counterparts. Just so you can see the full range of available rates, we’ve compiled the following provider costs next to their applicable city and zip code.

City Zipcode Average   Zipcode Average
PORTLAND 97001 $3,341.74 97266 $4,906.41
PORTLAND 97002 $3,754.10 97233 $4,890.80
PORTLAND 97003 $3,832.00 97236 $4,888.05
PORTLAND 97004 $4,099.41 97216 $4,789.58
PORTLAND 97005 $3,992.00 97230 $4,762.06
PORTLAND 97006 $3,898.84 97220 $4,756.56
PORTLAND 97007 $3,987.52 97218 $4,680.47
PORTLAND 97008 $3,986.70 97206 $4,655.91
PORTLAND 97009 $4,206.88 97211 $4,545.84
PORTLAND 97010 $4,225.28 97215 $4,536.56
GRESHAM 97011 $4,125.62 97080 $4,516.26
GRESHAM 97013 $3,823.49 97030 $4,490.00
PORTLAND 97014 $3,482.57 97213 $4,471.08
PORTLAND 97015 $4,198.50 97217 $4,410.29
PORTLAND 97016 $3,470.88 97203 $4,397.23
HAPPY VALLEY 97017 $4,171.91 97086 $4,388.55
FAIRVIEW 97018 $3,638.40 97024 $4,384.55
PORTLAND 97019 $4,111.74 97212 $4,320.83
TROUTDALE 97020 $3,791.88 97060 $4,299.66
PORTLAND 97021 $3,298.37 97202 $4,290.57
DAMASCUS 97022 $4,148.77 97089 $4,280.75
PORTLAND 97023 $4,135.99 97227 $4,275.88
BRIDAL VEIL 97024 $4,384.55 97010 $4,225.28
SANDY 97026 $3,807.35 97055 $4,209.70
BORING 97027 $3,963.50 97009 $4,206.88
CLACKAMAS 97028 $3,898.73 97015 $4,198.50
PORTLAND 97029 $3,309.19 97204 $4,178.64
COLTON 97030 $4,490.00 97017 $4,171.91
PORTLAND 97031 $3,275.98 97214 $4,163.13
PORTLAND 97032 $3,811.75 97232 $4,150.92
EAGLE CREEK 97033 $3,272.72 97022 $4,148.77
PORTLAND 97034 $3,858.13 97209 $4,141.24
ESTACADA 97035 $3,788.25 97023 $4,135.99
PORTLAND 97036 $3,980.82 97222 $4,131.02
WELCHES 97037 $3,382.30 97067 $4,128.98
BRIGHTWOOD 97038 $4,114.99 97011 $4,125.62
BEAVERTON 97039 $3,124.86 97078 $4,124.83
MOLALLA 97040 $3,288.06 97038 $4,114.99
CORBETT 97041 $3,280.99 97019 $4,111.74
RHODODENDRON 97042 $4,089.60 97049 $4,107.12
BEAVERCREEK 97045 $4,035.75 97004 $4,099.41
MULINO 97048 $3,486.03 97042 $4,089.60
PORTLAND 97049 $4,107.12 97221 $4,072.49
PORTLAND 97050 $3,173.43 97258 $4,057.85
PORTLAND 97051 $3,591.84 97239 $4,048.63
OREGON CITY 97053 $3,609.36 97045 $4,035.75
PORTLAND 97054 $3,573.27 97205 $4,029.65
PORTLAND 97055 $4,209.70 97267 $4,025.52
PORTLAND 97056 $3,694.37 97210 $4,009.31
PORTLAND 97057 $3,605.23 97231 $4,000.66
BEAVERTON 97058 $3,330.28 97005 $3,992.00
PORTLAND 97060 $4,299.66 97201 $3,990.12
BEAVERTON 97062 $3,701.83 97007 $3,987.52
BEAVERTON 97063 $3,330.23 97008 $3,986.70
MARYLHURST 97064 $3,654.42 97036 $3,980.82
PORTLAND 97065 $3,170.06 97225 $3,969.43
GLADSTONE 97067 $4,128.98 97027 $3,963.50
PORTLAND 97068 $3,767.10 97219 $3,945.14
HILLSBORO 97070 $3,685.41 97123 $3,933.34
PORTLAND 97071 $3,912.10 97229 $3,932.12
GASTON 97078 $4,124.83 97119 $3,925.77
PORTLAND 97080 $4,516.26 97223 $3,912.19
WOODBURN 97086 $4,388.55 97071 $3,912.10
NORTH PLAINS 97089 $4,280.75 97133 $3,900.23
CORNELIUS 97101 $3,695.29 97113 $3,899.96
BEAVERTON 97102 $3,513.22 97006 $3,898.84
GOVERNMENT CAMP 97103 $3,451.92 97028 $3,898.73
SAINT PAUL 97106 $3,784.30 97137 $3,873.63
GALES CREEK 97107 $3,533.42 97117 $3,864.98
LAKE OSWEGO 97108 $3,524.17 97034 $3,858.13
BEAVERTON 97109 $3,788.32 97003 $3,832.00
SAINT BENEDICT 97110 $3,479.35 97373 $3,830.06
TIMBER 97111 $3,777.03 97144 $3,823.70
CANBY 97112 $3,526.79 97013 $3,823.49
SALEM 97113 $3,899.96 97301 $3,815.24
HUBBARD 97114 $3,712.98 97032 $3,811.75
DUNDEE 97115 $3,810.50 97115 $3,810.50
GERVAIS 97116 $3,804.32 97026 $3,807.35
NEWBERG 97117 $3,864.98 97132 $3,807.14
FOREST GROVE 97118 $3,551.81 97116 $3,804.32
MANNING 97119 $3,925.77 97125 $3,799.82
DONALD 97121 $3,453.73 97020 $3,791.88
BUXTON 97122 $3,549.15 97109 $3,788.32
LAKE OSWEGO 97123 $3,933.34 97035 $3,788.25
LAFAYETTE 97124 $3,772.98 97127 $3,784.89
BANKS 97125 $3,799.82 97106 $3,784.30
CARLTON 97127 $3,784.89 97111 $3,777.03
YAMHILL 97128 $3,634.93 97148 $3,775.47
HILLSBORO 97130 $3,525.30 97124 $3,772.98
WEST LINN 97131 $3,531.30 97068 $3,767.10
SCOTTS MILLS 97132 $3,807.14 97375 $3,761.01
SALEM 97133 $3,900.23 97305 $3,755.34
AURORA 97134 $3,560.81 97002 $3,754.10
SALEM 97135 $3,513.49 97317 $3,748.93
PORTLAND 97136 $3,533.07 97224 $3,741.29
DAYTON 97137 $3,873.63 97114 $3,712.98
MOUNT ANGEL 97138 $3,452.42 97362 $3,711.82
SALEM 97140 $3,617.36 97302 $3,705.31
TUALATIN 97141 $3,540.99 97062 $3,701.83
AMITY 97144 $3,823.70 97101 $3,695.29
SCAPPOOSE 97145 $3,502.25 97056 $3,694.37
SALEM 97146 $3,438.23 97304 $3,686.12
WILSONVILLE 97147 $3,511.03 97070 $3,685.41
SALEM 97148 $3,775.47 97306 $3,675.56
SALEM 97149 $3,405.74 97303 $3,675.19
VERNONIA 97201 $3,990.12 97064 $3,654.42
MEHAMA 97202 $4,290.57 97384 $3,648.82
RICKREALL 97203 $4,397.23 97371 $3,639.21
COLUMBIA CITY 97204 $4,178.64 97018 $3,638.40
MCMINNVILLE 97205 $4,029.65 97128 $3,634.93
SHERWOOD 97206 $4,655.91 97140 $3,617.36
WARREN 97209 $4,141.24 97053 $3,609.36
SHANIKO 97210 $4,009.31 97057 $3,605.23
SAINT HELENS 97211 $4,545.84 97051 $3,591.84
DEER ISLAND 97212 $4,320.83 97054 $3,573.27
SHERIDAN 97213 $4,471.08 97378 $3,566.42
INDEPENDENCE 97214 $4,163.13 97351 $3,563.50
OCEANSIDE 97215 $4,536.56 97134 $3,560.81
GARIBALDI 97216 $4,789.58 97118 $3,551.81
SILVERTON 97217 $4,410.29 97381 $3,550.39
HEBO 97218 $4,680.47 97122 $3,549.15
FALLS CITY 97219 $3,945.14 97344 $3,544.49
TILLAMOOK 97220 $4,756.56 97141 $3,540.99
BAY CITY 97221 $4,072.49 97107 $3,533.42
ROCKAWAY BEACH 97222 $4,131.02 97136 $3,533.07
NEHALEM 97223 $3,912.19 97131 $3,531.30
CLOVERDALE 97224 $3,741.29 97112 $3,526.79
MANZANITA 97225 $3,969.43 97130 $3,525.30
IDANHA 97227 $4,275.88 97350 $3,525.04
BEAVER 97229 $3,932.12 97108 $3,524.17
WILLAMINA 97230 $4,762.06 97396 $3,518.74
PACIFIC CITY 97231 $4,000.66 97135 $3,513.49
ARCH CAPE 97232 $4,150.92 97102 $3,513.22
WHEELER 97233 $4,890.80 97147 $3,511.03
DETROIT 97236 $4,888.05 97342 $3,508.69
TOLOVANA PARK 97239 $4,048.63 97145 $3,502.25
RAINIER 97258 $4,057.85 97048 $3,486.03
TURNER 97266 $4,906.41 97392 $3,485.23
CASCADE LOCKS 97267 $4,025.52 97014 $3,482.57
DALLAS 97301 $3,815.24 97338 $3,482.23
CANNON BEACH 97302 $3,705.31 97110 $3,479.35
AUMSVILLE 97303 $3,675.19 97325 $3,474.69
CLATSKANIE 97304 $3,686.12 97016 $3,470.88
GLENEDEN BEACH 97305 $3,755.34 97388 $3,461.53
MONMOUTH 97306 $3,675.56 97361 $3,454.47
HAMMOND 97317 $3,748.93 97121 $3,453.73
SEASIDE 97321 $3,080.89 97138 $3,452.42
ASTORIA 97322 $3,208.52 97103 $3,451.92
GATES 97324 $3,230.13 97346 $3,448.11
SUBLIMITY 97325 $3,474.69 97385 $3,444.15
WARRENTON 97326 $3,242.52 97146 $3,438.23
GRAND RONDE 97327 $3,113.61 97347 $3,428.48
JEFFERSON 97329 $3,238.69 97352 $3,408.11
NESKOWIN 97330 $3,013.01 97149 $3,405.74
MILL CITY 97331 $3,158.47 97360 $3,404.24
STAYTON 97333 $3,050.83 97383 $3,404.01
NEOTSU 97335 $3,339.82 97364 $3,402.60
MAUPIN 97336 $3,325.18 97037 $3,382.30
OTIS 97338 $3,482.23 97368 $3,368.26
ANTELOPE 97341 $3,282.22 97001 $3,341.74
CRABTREE 97342 $3,508.69 97335 $3,339.82
LYONS 97343 $3,296.97 97358 $3,330.69
THE DALLES 97344 $3,544.49 97058 $3,330.28
TYGH VALLEY 97345 $3,196.57 97063 $3,330.23
ALLEGANY 97346 $3,448.11 97407 $3,329.52
WARM SPRINGS 97347 $3,428.48 97761 $3,325.39
CRAWFORDSVILLE 97348 $3,102.34 97336 $3,325.18
TOLEDO 97350 $3,525.04 97391 $3,323.40
LOGSDEN 97351 $3,563.50 97357 $3,310.76
GRASS VALLEY 97352 $3,408.11 97029 $3,309.19
LINCOLN CITY 97355 $3,114.59 97367 $3,307.83
OPHIR 97357 $3,310.76 97464 $3,303.12
AROCK 97358 $3,330.69 97902 $3,300.44
DUFUR 97360 $3,404.24 97021 $3,298.37
EDDYVILLE 97361 $3,454.47 97343 $3,296.97
SILETZ 97362 $3,711.82 97380 $3,292.75
MURPHY 97364 $3,402.60 97533 $3,290.62
WILBUR 97365 $3,263.60 97494 $3,290.47
WEDDERBURN 97366 $3,280.55 97491 $3,288.77
MOSIER 97367 $3,307.83 97040 $3,288.06
ALVADORE 97368 $3,368.26 97409 $3,284.08
MERRILL 97369 $3,267.06 97633 $3,282.47
DEPOE BAY 97370 $3,174.57 97341 $3,282.22
MOUNT HOOD PARKDALE 97371 $3,639.21 97041 $3,280.99
SOUTH BEACH 97373 $3,830.06 97366 $3,280.55
TIDEWATER 97374 $3,212.39 97390 $3,278.62
MIDLAND 97375 $3,761.01 97634 $3,277.99
HOOD RIVER 97376 $3,259.84 97031 $3,275.98
KENO 97377 $3,107.53 97627 $3,275.29
KENT 97378 $3,566.42 97033 $3,272.72
FORT KLAMATH 97380 $3,292.75 97626 $3,270.66
CHEMULT 97381 $3,550.39 97731 $3,268.59
OTTER ROCK 97383 $3,404.01 97369 $3,267.06
WALDPORT 97384 $3,648.82 97394 $3,265.96
YACHATS 97385 $3,444.15 97498 $3,265.68
NEWPORT 97386 $3,149.86 97365 $3,263.60
SPRAGUE RIVER 97388 $3,461.53 97639 $3,262.51
DILLARD 97389 $3,061.94 97432 $3,261.59
SEAL ROCK 97390 $3,278.62 97376 $3,259.84
MALIN 97391 $3,323.40 97632 $3,258.62
BONANZA 97392 $3,485.23 97623 $3,256.60
CHILOQUIN 97394 $3,265.96 97624 $3,255.65
CRATER LAKE 97396 $3,518.74 97604 $3,254.95
PROSPECT 97401 $3,031.02 97536 $3,254.63
BEATTY 97402 $3,072.75 97621 $3,250.81
DAIRY 97403 $3,049.56 97625 $3,247.62
KLAMATH FALLS 97404 $3,067.65 97601 $3,245.02
BLODGETT 97405 $3,085.81 97326 $3,242.52
BLY 97406 $3,092.99 97622 $3,241.44
CASCADIA 97407 $3,329.52 97329 $3,238.69
WILLIAMS 97408 $3,074.79 97544 $3,237.22
CRESCENT 97409 $3,284.08 97733 $3,236.36
ALSEA 97410 $3,137.50 97324 $3,230.13
NOTI 97411 $3,120.24 97461 $3,228.80
BLUE RIVER 97412 $3,115.08 97413 $3,226.47
IDLEYLD PARK 97413 $3,226.47 97447 $3,218.09
KLAMATH FALLS 97414 $3,158.79 97603 $3,213.76
SCIO 97415 $3,064.89 97374 $3,212.39
ALBANY 97416 $3,072.61 97322 $3,208.52
VIDA 97417 $3,126.46 97488 $3,204.55
BEND 97419 $3,187.95 97707 $3,201.89
ASHWOOD 97420 $3,138.03 97711 $3,201.03
FOSTER 97423 $3,115.37 97345 $3,196.57
MONUMENT 97424 $3,059.09 97864 $3,195.25
LA PINE 97426 $3,025.55 97739 $3,194.76
CHRISTMAS VALLEY 97429 $3,126.58 97641 $3,194.66
SWISSHOME 97430 $3,054.92 97480 $3,191.64
SISTERS 97431 $3,115.25 97759 $3,191.00
CHESHIRE 97432 $3,261.59 97419 $3,187.95
TRAIL 97434 $3,118.12 97541 $3,181.37
SPRAY 97435 $3,036.08 97874 $3,177.78
CAMP SHERMAN 97436 $3,092.23 97730 $3,177.27
MIKKALO 97437 $3,136.45 97861 $3,175.35
PHILOMATH 97438 $3,161.01 97370 $3,174.57
SHADY COVE 97439 $3,064.56 97539 $3,174.56
RUFUS 97441 $3,144.76 97050 $3,173.43
TILLER 97442 $3,098.02 97484 $3,173.15
SILVER LAKE 97443 $3,112.74 97638 $3,173.06
BUTTE FALLS 97444 $3,061.85 97522 $3,172.91
WASCO 97446 $3,104.29 97065 $3,170.06
VENETA 97447 $3,218.09 97487 $3,169.34
LAKESIDE 97448 $3,126.41 97449 $3,169.22
WALTERVILLE 97449 $3,169.22 97489 $3,168.34
PLUSH 97450 $3,107.86 97637 $3,166.33
MADRAS 97451 $3,121.80 97741 $3,162.81
FALL CREEK 97452 $3,103.95 97438 $3,161.01
TERREBONNE 97453 $3,152.76 97760 $3,160.72
SPRINGFIELD 97454 $3,137.00 97477 $3,160.09
MYRTLE POINT 97455 $3,096.92 97458 $3,159.72
FORT ROCK 97456 $3,065.86 97735 $3,158.88
BROADBENT 97457 $3,104.44 97414 $3,158.79
CORVALLIS 97458 $3,159.72 97331 $3,158.47
SUMMER LAKE 97459 $3,091.21 97640 $3,155.41
MAPLETON 97461 $3,228.80 97453 $3,152.76
CULVER 97462 $3,051.29 97734 $3,151.36
SWEET HOME 97463 $3,147.57 97386 $3,149.86
REDMOND 97464 $3,303.12 97756 $3,148.90
O BRIEN 97465 $3,078.69 97534 $3,147.88
OAKRIDGE 97466 $3,068.31 97463 $3,147.57
WHITE CITY 97467 $3,109.10 97503 $3,146.56
FIELDS 97469 $3,137.17 97710 $3,144.77
GARDINER 97470 $3,057.96 97441 $3,144.76
SIXES 97471 $3,033.63 97476 $3,143.66
GILCHRIST 97473 $3,136.86 97737 $3,142.87
WESTLAKE 97476 $3,143.66 97493 $3,142.06
SPRINGFIELD 97477 $3,160.09 97478 $3,138.08
COOS BAY 97478 $3,138.08 97420 $3,138.03
AZALEA 97479 $3,013.47 97410 $3,137.50
WESTFIR 97480 $3,191.64 97492 $3,137.35
RIDDLE 97481 $3,088.19 97469 $3,137.17
MARCOLA 97484 $3,173.15 97454 $3,137.00
SCOTTSBURG 97486 $3,125.55 97473 $3,136.86
ELMIRA 97487 $3,169.34 97437 $3,136.45
JORDAN VALLEY 97488 $3,204.55 97910 $3,134.60
WOLF CREEK 97489 $3,168.34 97497 $3,130.28
CONDON 97490 $3,110.57 97823 $3,126.76
DAYS CREEK 97491 $3,288.77 97429 $3,126.58
CANYONVILLE 97492 $3,137.35 97417 $3,126.46
JUNCTION CITY 97493 $3,142.06 97448 $3,126.41
UMPQUA 97494 $3,290.47 97486 $3,125.55
NEW PINE CREEK 97495 $3,070.17 97635 $3,124.97
MORO 97496 $3,070.25 97039 $3,124.86
ASHLAND 97497 $3,130.28 97520 $3,121.98
LORANE 97498 $3,265.68 97451 $3,121.80
PAISLEY 97499 $3,044.59 97636 $3,121.57
BANDON 97501 $3,084.42 97411 $3,120.24
DORENA 97502 $3,049.96 97434 $3,118.12
JACKSONVILLE 97503 $3,146.56 97530 $3,117.39
COQUILLE 97504 $3,097.92 97423 $3,115.37
DEXTER 97520 $3,121.98 97431 $3,115.25
BLACHLY 97522 $3,172.91 97412 $3,115.08
LEBANON 97523 $3,078.14 97355 $3,114.59
BROWNSVILLE 97524 $3,099.80 97327 $3,113.61
GLIDE 97525 $3,037.42 97443 $3,112.74
DIAMOND 97526 $3,060.59 97722 $3,110.69
WALTON 97527 $3,055.51 97490 $3,110.57
PHOENIX 97530 $3,117.39 97535 $3,110.45
REEDSPORT 97531 $3,079.49 97467 $3,109.10
LANGLOIS 97532 $3,058.58 97450 $3,107.86
ADEL 97533 $3,290.62 97620 $3,107.61
SHEDD 97534 $3,147.88 97377 $3,107.53
MYRTLE CREEK 97535 $3,110.45 97457 $3,104.44
HARRISBURG 97536 $3,254.63 97446 $3,104.29
LOWELL 97537 $3,061.43 97452 $3,103.95
SELMA 97538 $3,103.70 97538 $3,103.70
FOSSIL 97539 $3,174.56 97830 $3,102.98
TALENT 97540 $3,102.80 97540 $3,102.80
HALSEY 97541 $3,181.37 97348 $3,102.34
KIMBERLY 97543 $3,076.66 97848 $3,101.82
LAKEVIEW 97544 $3,237.22 97630 $3,100.36
EAGLE POINT 97601 $3,245.02 97524 $3,099.80
GLENDALE 97603 $3,213.76 97442 $3,098.02
MEDFORD 97604 $3,254.95 97504 $3,097.92
ARLINGTON 97620 $3,107.61 97812 $3,097.02
PLEASANT HILL 97621 $3,250.81 97455 $3,096.92
SENECA 97622 $3,241.44 97873 $3,095.32
AGNESS 97623 $3,256.60 97406 $3,092.99
ELKTON 97624 $3,255.65 97436 $3,092.23
BEND 97625 $3,247.62 97702 $3,091.99
NORTH BEND 97626 $3,270.66 97459 $3,091.21
HEPPNER 97627 $3,275.29 97836 $3,089.78
FRENCHGLEN 97630 $3,100.36 97736 $3,088.78
TENMILE 97632 $3,258.62 97481 $3,088.19
BROTHERS 97633 $3,282.47 97712 $3,085.98
EUGENE 97634 $3,277.99 97405 $3,085.81
MEDFORD 97635 $3,124.97 97501 $3,084.42
MITCHELL 97636 $3,121.57 97750 $3,083.90
ALBANY 97637 $3,166.33 97321 $3,080.89
RILEY 97638 $3,173.06 97758 $3,080.24
KERBY 97639 $3,262.51 97531 $3,079.49
PRINCETON 97640 $3,155.41 97721 $3,079.20
PORT ORFORD 97641 $3,194.66 97465 $3,078.69
CAVE JUNCTION 97701 $3,060.56 97523 $3,078.14
WILDERVILLE 97702 $3,091.99 97543 $3,076.66
EUGENE 97703 $3,058.35 97408 $3,074.79
JUNTURA 97707 $3,201.89 97911 $3,073.44
LEXINGTON 97710 $3,144.77 97839 $3,072.97
EUGENE 97711 $3,201.03 97402 $3,072.75
CAMAS VALLEY 97712 $3,085.98 97416 $3,072.61
PAULINA 97720 $3,001.13 97751 $3,070.81
LONG CREEK 97721 $3,079.20 97856 $3,070.78
WINSTON 97722 $3,110.69 97496 $3,070.25
WINCHESTER 97730 $3,177.27 97495 $3,070.17
POWERS 97731 $3,268.59 97466 $3,068.31
EUGENE 97732 $3,019.33 97404 $3,067.65
MONROE 97733 $3,236.36 97456 $3,065.86
BROOKINGS 97734 $3,151.36 97415 $3,064.89
FLORENCE 97735 $3,158.88 97439 $3,064.56
POWELL BUTTE 97736 $3,088.78 97753 $3,063.26
TANGENT 97737 $3,142.87 97389 $3,061.94
GOLD BEACH 97738 $2,995.81 97444 $3,061.85
ROGUE RIVER 97739 $3,194.76 97537 $3,061.43
WESTFALL 97741 $3,162.81 97920 $3,061.40
GRANTS PASS 97750 $3,083.90 97526 $3,060.59
BEND 97751 $3,070.81 97701 $3,060.56
COTTAGE GROVE 97752 $3,044.22 97424 $3,059.09
MERLIN 97753 $3,063.26 97532 $3,058.58
BEND 97754 $2,991.64 97703 $3,058.35
IONE 97756 $3,148.90 97843 $3,058.21
ROSEBURG 97758 $3,080.24 97470 $3,057.96
GRANTS PASS 97759 $3,191.00 97527 $3,055.51
DAYVILLE 97760 $3,160.72 97825 $3,055.19
DEADWOOD 97761 $3,325.39 97430 $3,054.92
IMNAHA 97801 $2,957.22 97842 $3,054.42
OAKLAND 97810 $3,008.47 97462 $3,051.29
CORVALLIS 97812 $3,097.02 97333 $3,050.83
CENTRAL POINT 97813 $3,038.86 97502 $3,049.96
EUGENE 97814 $2,948.93 97403 $3,049.56
YONCALLA 97817 $3,018.27 97499 $3,044.59
POST 97818 $2,986.59 97752 $3,044.22
ATHENA 97819 $2,985.44 97813 $3,038.86
HEREFORD 97820 $2,980.99 97837 $3,038.18
GOLD HILL 97823 $3,126.76 97525 $3,037.42
ECHO 97824 $2,956.65 97826 $3,037.23
DRAIN 97825 $3,055.19 97435 $3,036.08
ROSEBURG 97826 $3,037.23 97471 $3,033.63
EUGENE 97827 $2,987.39 97401 $3,031.02
DREWSEY 97828 $3,017.29 97904 $3,029.47
WESTON 97830 $3,102.98 97886 $3,026.97
HARPER 97833 $2,991.36 97906 $3,026.69
CRESWELL 97834 $2,989.34 97426 $3,025.55
MILTON FREEWATER 97835 $3,017.89 97862 $3,020.34
PILOT ROCK 97836 $3,089.78 97868 $3,019.59
CRANE 97837 $3,038.18 97732 $3,019.33
BATES 97838 $3,006.14 97817 $3,018.27
HELIX 97839 $3,072.97 97835 $3,017.89
MOUNT VERNON 97840 $3,013.04 97865 $3,017.38
ENTERPRISE 97841 $2,970.11 97828 $3,017.29
RIVERSIDE 97842 $3,054.42 97917 $3,016.41
IRONSIDE 97843 $3,058.21 97908 $3,016.23
ADRIAN 97844 $2,998.73 97901 $3,015.44
STANFIELD 97845 $3,003.84 97875 $3,014.24
SUTHERLIN 97846 $3,010.06 97479 $3,013.47
OXBOW 97848 $3,101.82 97840 $3,013.04
CORVALLIS 97850 $2,904.97 97330 $3,013.01
HUNTINGTON 97856 $3,070.78 97907 $3,012.44
UNITY 97857 $2,999.29 97884 $3,010.23
JOSEPH 97859 $2,960.84 97846 $3,010.06
ADAMS 97861 $3,175.35 97810 $3,008.47
PRAIRIE CITY 97862 $3,020.34 97869 $3,008.12
BROGAN 97864 $3,195.25 97903 $3,007.85
HERMISTON 97865 $3,017.38 97838 $3,006.14
WALLOWA 97867 $2,975.15 97885 $3,004.92
JOHN DAY 97868 $3,019.59 97845 $3,003.84
BURNS 97869 $3,008.12 97720 $3,001.13
JAMIESON 97870 $2,977.28 97909 $3,000.71
LOSTINE 97873 $3,095.32 97857 $2,999.29
IRRIGON 97874 $3,177.78 97844 $2,998.73
UMATILLA 97875 $3,014.24 97882 $2,996.01
HINES 97876 $2,974.34 97738 $2,995.81
SUMPTER 97877 $2,992.94 97877 $2,992.94
PRINEVILLE 97880 $2,985.70 97754 $2,991.64
HAINES 97882 $2,996.01 97833 $2,991.36
HALFWAY 97883 $2,926.63 97834 $2,989.34
ELGIN 97884 $3,010.23 97827 $2,987.39
BOARDMAN 97885 $3,004.92 97818 $2,986.59
UKIAH 97886 $3,026.97 97880 $2,985.70
BRIDGEPORT 97901 $3,015.44 97819 $2,985.44
DURKEE 97902 $3,300.44 97905 $2,984.02
CANYON CITY 97903 $3,007.85 97820 $2,980.99
RICHLAND 97904 $3,029.47 97870 $2,977.28
NORTH POWDER 97905 $2,984.02 97867 $2,975.15
SUMMERVILLE 97906 $3,026.69 97876 $2,974.34
IMBLER 97907 $3,012.44 97841 $2,970.11
NYSSA 97908 $3,016.23 97913 $2,962.04
MEACHAM 97909 $3,000.71 97859 $2,960.84
PENDLETON 97910 $3,134.60 97801 $2,957.22
COVE 97911 $3,073.44 97824 $2,956.65
VALE 97913 $2,962.04 97918 $2,955.56
ONTARIO 97914 $2,953.72 97914 $2,953.72
BAKER CITY 97917 $3,016.41 97814 $2,948.93
UNION 97918 $2,955.56 97883 $2,926.63
LA GRANDE 97920 $3,061.40 97850 $2,904.97

Best Oregon Car Insurance Companies

One of the best things about shopping for car insurance is that no matter what you need, you have dozens upon dozens of car insurance providers to choose from. However, the kind of diversity of options can get pretty overwhelming, especially when each company is trying to convince you that they have your best interests at heart.

That’s why we’re here to help you weed your way through your available policies. With this comprehensive guide in hand, you’ll be able to figure out exactly what kind of coverage you’re paying for and what kind your lifestyle demands.

First thing’s first, though: what kind of car insurance providers are most active and effective in Oregon? Let’s dive into the company ratings, customer complaints, and financial success of some of Oregon’s biggest car insurance providers.

– Oregon’s Largest Companies’ Financial Ratings

Assessing a provider’s financial health is one of the best ways to determine whether or not that provider is safe to shop with. What is financial health, though? According to the A.M. Best Rating, it’s the ability of a company to provide for those with its coverage and to retain an income.

If you take a look at the table below, you’ll get a good idea of which providers in Oregon can provide you with the most comprehensive coverage while remaining financially secure.

Company Name AM Best Rating Direct Premiums Written Loss Ratio Market Share
State Farm Group A $620,489 59.83% 21.28%
Progressive Group A+ $370,678 62.08% 12.71%
Farmers Insurance Group A $275,252 54.10% 9.44%
Liberty Mutual Group A $261,291 67.77% 8.96%
Geico A++ $260,828 70.56% 8.95%
Allstate Insurance Group A+ $237,418 54.12% 8.14%
USAA Group A++ $164,064 77.08% 5.63%
Country Insurance & Financial Service Group A $104,849 58.75% 3.60%
American Family Insurance Group A+ $91,870 66.64% 3.15%
Nationwide Corp Group A+ $68,651 71.56% 2.35%

– Companies with the Best Ratings

For data that’s a little less financially driven, you can take a look at customer satisfaction with Oregon’s various providers. A 2018 J.D. Power study reveals customer’s satisfaction with individual providers’ care all throughout the Pacific Northwest, as you can see below.

Companies with the Most Complaints in Oregon

On the other hand, which companies in Oregon garner the most customer complaints?

Rank Company 2013 Premiums # Confirmed Complaints Complaint Index
1 Mutual of Enumclaw $24,577,981 0 0.00
2 California Casualty $12,364,357 0 0.00
3 Oregon Automobile Insurance $2,356,977 0 0.00
4 Nationwide $27,621,198 1 0.33
5 Oregon Mutual Group $226,313,718 1 0.33
6 Country Financial Insurance $76,467,503 3 0.35
7 State Farm $458,101,249 23 0.46
8 Allstate $145,845,584 11 0.69
9 Farmers $257,482,967 25 0.89
10 Progressive $233,583,428 23 0.90
11 Geico $105,245,810 12 1.05
12 Safeco $161,089,253 28 1.60
13 American Family $67,474,556 12 1.63
14 USAA $70,876,072 13 1.68
15 Sublimity $9,324,662 2 1.97
16 Liberty Mutual $41,884,111 11 2.41
17 Unitrin $13,016,683 4 2.82

Complaints don’t always determine whether or not a company can provide you with excellent coverage, but the numbers will tell you something about their customer service.

– Car Insurance Rates by Companies in Oregon

Different companies will also offer you different rates, which means there’s some benefit to doing your research prior to committing to a plan. Take a look at the range of rates available to you as an Oregon resident.

Company Average Compared to State Average Percent Compared to State Average
Allstate F&C $4,749.76 $1,352.64 28.48%
American Family Mutual $3,507.97 $110.85 3.16%
Farmers Ins Co Of OR $3,734.48 $337.36 9.03%
Geico Cas $3,218.94 -$178.18 -5.54%
Safeco Ins Co of OR $4,319.42 $922.30 21.35%
NICOA $3,156.97 -$240.15 -7.61%
Progressive Universal $3,618.64 $221.52 6.12%
State Farm Mutual Auto $2,715.75 -$681.37 -25.09%
Standard Fire Insurance Co $2,869.00 -$528.12 -18.41%
USAA CIC $2,580.90 -$816.22 -31.63%

– Commute Rates by Company

The distance you travel while driving to and from work does, in fact, contribute to your car insurance rate. Drivers with more significant commutes tend to be charged more for their coverage due to the greater amount of time they spend on the road.

Group Commute_And_Annual_Mileage Annual Average
Allstate 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $4,749.76
Allstate 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $4,749.76
American Family 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $3,562.34
American Family 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $3,453.60
Farmers 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $3,734.48
Farmers 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $3,734.48
Geico 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $3,272.06
Geico 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $3,165.82
Liberty Mutual 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $4,319.42
Liberty Mutual 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $4,319.42
Nationwide 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $3,156.97
Nationwide 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $3,156.97
Progressive 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $3,618.64
Progressive 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $3,618.64
State Farm 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $2,785.80
State Farm 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $2,645.69
Travelers 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $2,983.68
Travelers 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $2,754.32
USAA 25 miles commute. 12000 annual mileage. $2,654.80
USAA 10 miles commute. 6000 annual mileage. $2,506.99

That said, there’s not always a difference in rate based on a person’s commute. If your commute is a little bit longer than average, though, you may want to factor it into your rate comparisons.

– Coverage Rates by Company

Likewise, the amount of coverage you want protecting your car while you drive will vary the rates that you’re offered by providers throughout Oregon. You may be tempted to take on a less expensive plan simply to save money, but remember: being underinsured can lead to greater expenses in the long run.

Group Coverage Type Annual Average
Allstate High $4,940.50
Allstate Low $4,569.25
Allstate Medium $4,739.52
American Family High $3,323.69
American Family Low $3,490.82
American Family Medium $3,709.39
Farmers High $4,017.90
Farmers Low $3,499.81
Farmers Medium $3,685.73
Geico High $3,465.92
Geico Low $2,956.17
Geico Medium $3,234.73
Liberty Mutual High $4,598.16
Liberty Mutual Low $4,052.06
Liberty Mutual Medium $4,308.05
Nationwide High $3,220.33
Nationwide Low $3,008.89
Nationwide Medium $3,241.68
Progressive High $3,763.21
Progressive Low $3,491.04
Progressive Medium $3,601.67
State Farm High $2,863.31
State Farm Low $2,564.14
State Farm Medium $2,719.79
Travelers High $3,063.38
Travelers Low $2,690.23
Travelers Medium $2,853.40
USAA High $2,690.90
USAA Low $2,468.39
USAA Medium $2,583.40

– Credit History Rates by Company

You won’t be too surprised to learn that your credit history will impact your insurance rate. Your credit history reflects your ability to pay back the money you owe, and car insurance providers want to ensure that you’ll be able to stay on top of your rates for as long as you’re partnered with them.

Group Credit History Annual Average
Allstate Poor $6,237.94
Allstate Fair $4,389.68
Allstate Good $3,621.66
American Family Poor $4,455.98
American Family Fair $3,288.44
American Family Good $2,779.49
Farmers Poor $4,316.37
Farmers Fair $3,535.79
Farmers Good $3,351.28
Geico Poor $3,883.45
Geico Fair $3,218.94
Geico Good $2,554.43
Liberty Mutual Poor $6,333.87
Liberty Mutual Fair $3,737.43
Liberty Mutual Good $2,886.97
Nationwide Poor $3,817.24
Nationwide Fair $3,028.06
Nationwide Good $2,625.62
Progressive Poor $4,065.88
Progressive Fair $3,515.16
Progressive Good $3,274.88
State Farm Poor $3,793.17
State Farm Fair $2,419.05
State Farm Good $1,935.03
Travelers Poor $3,586.68
Travelers Fair $2,810.04
Travelers Good $2,210.28
USAA Poor $3,865.69
USAA Fair $2,157.98
USAA Good $1,719.01

As you can see, drivers with lower credit scores are charged more for their coverage than those with fair or good scores.

The average credit score throughout the state of Oregon is 688. Compared to the national average of 675, Oregon is sitting pretty with an above average state credit!

– Driving Record Rates by Companies

Last but not least, your driving history will without a doubt impact the kind of rates and coverage that you’re offered by Oregon’s car insurance providers. If you’re prone to traffic violations or car accidents, then your provider of choice will need you to be paying for a greater amount of coverage than a driver with a clean record.

Group Driving Record Annual Average
Allstate With 1 DUI $5,337.70
Allstate With 1 accident $5,162.22
Allstate With 1 speeding violation $4,670.30
Allstate Clean record $3,828.80
American Family With 1 DUI $4,719.97
American Family With 1 accident $3,743.66
American Family With 1 speeding violation $3,127.99
American Family Clean record $2,440.25
Farmers With 1 accident $4,057.67
Farmers With 1 DUI $3,968.02
Farmers With 1 speeding violation $3,763.01
Farmers Clean record $3,149.22
Geico With 1 DUI $4,447.98
Geico With 1 accident $3,378.95
Geico With 1 speeding violation $2,928.42
Geico Clean record $2,120.41
Liberty Mutual With 1 DUI $4,914.58
Liberty Mutual With 1 accident $4,282.10
Liberty Mutual With 1 speeding violation $4,254.32
Liberty Mutual Clean record $3,826.69
Nationwide With 1 DUI $4,056.64
Nationwide With 1 speeding violation $3,027.83
Nationwide With 1 accident $2,866.59
Nationwide Clean record $2,676.81
Progressive With 1 accident $4,977.18
Progressive With 1 DUI $3,516.70
Progressive With 1 speeding violation $3,251.19
Progressive Clean record $2,729.50
State Farm With 1 accident $3,145.65
State Farm With 1 DUI $2,654.33
State Farm With 1 speeding violation $2,654.33
State Farm Clean record $2,408.68
Travelers With 1 DUI $3,341.03
Travelers With 1 accident $2,973.80
Travelers With 1 speeding violation $2,836.34
Travelers Clean record $2,324.83
USAA With 1 DUI $3,638.37
USAA With 1 accident $2,616.67
USAA With 1 speeding violation $2,194.01
USAA Clean record $1,874.54

As you can see, even a single speeding violation can significantly increase the car insurance rate you have to pay.

– Number of Insurers in Oregon

When you move to Oregon, you’ll have the option to choose to purchase coverage from domestic insurers and foreign insurers. What’s the difference?

Domestic insurers are providers who are state-local. You won’t find branches for these insurers outside of the state of Oregon, and their policies comply solely with Oregon’s driving laws.

Foreign insurers are providers who operate on a national level and whose policies aren’t state-specific.

This difference shouldn’t necessarily impact your car insurer provider search, but you will want to think about the ways that foreign insurer’s policies may or may not fall short of Oregon’s minimum liability coverage.

Oregon Laws and Legalities

Driving laws vary from state to state. If you’re just moving to Oregon, it may be difficult for you to keep your previous state’s laws and Oregon’s driver laws straight in your mind. Keeping track of Oregon’s state laws, though, can prevent you from getting pulled over for violating a law you weren’t even aware of.

As part of this comprehensive guide to car insurance and road operations in Oregon, we’ve compiled a list of the state’s driver-oriented laws. You can reference this guide at any time to make sure that you’ve got all of the most important driving laws under your belt.

Take a look through this section before you hit the road, and you’ll be among the safest drivers in the Beaver State.

– Car Insurance Laws

We’ve already mentioned the minimum liability coverage that the state of Oregon requires all of its registered drivers to have. Ensuring that you have the basic amount of car insurance that the state requires not only keeps you safe in case you get in an accident, but proof of that insurance will prevent you from having your license suspended by the state.

Just as a refresher, Oregon requires the following minimum liability coverage:

  • 25 = $25,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of a single person
  • 50 – $50,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of more than one person
  • 20 = $20,000 in coverage to repair any property that’s damaged in an accident
  • $15,000 in Personal Injury Protection coverage (otherwise known as Medical Payments, MedPay, or PIP)
  • $25,000 per person for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)
  • $50,000 in total for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)

Windshield Coverage

The last thing you want to end up doing is driving down an interstate and BAM! A rock hits and fractures your windshield. If that experience isn’t bad enough, a number of states would require you to go through hyper-specific procedures in order to replace your broken windshield.

Oregon is not one of these states.

While, on one hand, this means that car insurance providers in Oregon are not required to include windshield coverage in their comprehensive plans, it also means that you won’t have to dig into your savings in order to afford newly-minted windshield glass.

Instead, insurers in Oregon can provide you with after-market windshields – so long as they’re of the same quality, fit, finish, and function as your original windshield – to save you money and time.

Now, if you do want coverage from a provider who’ll include windshield replacement in your plan, you can shop around through the state of Oregon to find the best provider for you.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

– High-Risk Insurance

Similarly, Oregon’s car insurance providers are not required by law to provide every driver in the state with coverage. If you or someone you know has a poor history of driving, you may be considered a “high-risk driver.”

What precisely is a high-risk driver? It’s someone who’s driving history reflects a number of accidents, DUIs, tickets, or other traffic violations and who insurance companies may believe that they’ll need to provide significant coverage for.

The state of Oregon has a plan in place to see to it that high-risk drivers registered with the state receive the state’s minimum liability coverage. This plan is known as the Automobile Insurance Plan of Oregon, or OR AIP.

It’s worth noting that you have to apply to be covered by OR AIP. In order to be considered for coverage through the program, you have to meet the following requirements:

  • Be a licensed driver
  • Register your vehicle of choice with the state of Oregon
  • Certify on your application that, as of its submission, you were unable to find voluntary insurance coverage within the last 60 days

You may be rejected from the plan if you:

  • Have an unpaid insurance premium
  • Fail to present your vehicle for inspection
  • If your vehicle is considered an “antique” or is over 25 years old

If you are accepted to the plan, your coverage will be allocated to one of the state’s many providers. That said, you’ll have the state minimum coverage, but you may be covered by a company you’re not particularly interested in. Without any other coverage options, though, you’ll have to work within the bounds of the plan the state allocates for you.

– Low-Cost Insurance

Unfortunately, low-income families do not have access to any government-sponsored insurance programs at this point in time. Low-income families without a poor driving history are also unable to apply for OR AIP.

That said, there are still things you can do in order to find affordable car insurance coverage in the state of Oregon. Ask your preferred insurance provider if they have any discounts available that you could be awarded for a clean driving record, strong credit history, or any of the common themes below:

  • Homeowner’s Discount
  • Military Discount
  • Good Driver / Accident-Free Discount
  • Good Student Discount
  • Multi-Car Discount
  • “Green” Discount (for either having a ‘green’ vehicle or opting for a paperless policy)
  • Employee Discount (some companies offer their employees discounts for things such as car insurance)
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount

– Automobile Insurance Fraud in Oregon

Auto insurance fraud is kind of a big deal. That said, it’s also a crime that’s extremely hard to commit unintentionally.

In order to commit insurance fraud, you’ll have had to:

  • Deliberately faked an accident in order to issue a claim for false property damage or personal injuries
  • Padded a legitimate claim for property damage or injuries that never occurred

The consequences of automobile fraud range from hefty fines to jail time. Don’t bother making a false claim because you think it’ll bring you some extra dough. The price isn’t worth the crime.

– Statute of Limitations

If you’ve been in an accident, there’s a limited amount of time in which you’re able to make a car insurance claim regarding any injuries or property damage sustained. This time period is referred to as the statute of limitations.

In Oregon, you’ll have:

  • Two years to file a claim regarding personal injuries
  • Six years to file a claim regarding property damage

Note that while that may seem like a lot of time, overcoming the consequences of an accident can eat into your statute of limitations. As such, do what you can to file a claim for personal injuries or property damage as quickly as you can after a car accident in order to get all of the coverage that you deserve.

– Failure to Obey a Traffic Control Device

Oregon, specifically, has a law in place designed to ensure that no one in the state speeds up and runs a yellow light. While this behavior may be acceptable in other states, Oregon has ORS 811.265 in place in order to limit the number of intersection fatalities that arise over the course of a year.

In Oregon, you are only able to drive through a yellow light if you were otherwise unable to stop your vehicle safely at the intersection in question.

– Vehicle Licensing Laws

We’ve already briefly touched on the driver requirements that’ll keep you legal on Oregon’s roadways. Just as a refresher, though, in order to maintain your vehicle license in Oregon, you have to have one of the following forms of financial responsibility – otherwise known as “proof of insurance” – on you at all times while you’re driving:

  • A valid, up-to-date insurance ID card
  • A copy of your insurance policy
  • A signed letter from your insurance agent or a company official written out on company letterhead
  • A DMV certificate of self-insurance with your name or the name of the vehicle owner listed on it

For some more specific Oregon requirements, keep on reading and arm yourself with the knowledge that’ll make you a safer driver.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

If you get caught driving without insurance, you could be in some serious trouble. In Oregon, the first time you’re pulled over and found not to have one of the aforementioned forms of financial responsibility on your person, you’ll be facing fines and penalties alike.

A first-time offense for driving without insurance in Oregon results in:

  • Your vehicle registration’s suspension for three months – unless, that is, your insurance expired fewer than 31 days prior to your assessment and the vehicle attached to your name was not driven over that period of time.
  • An $88 restoration fee submitted with proof of insurance which, upon its arrival, will reinstate your vehicle registration.
  • A $500 civil penalty fee. This fee can stand in for the suspension of your registration, but you can only use this “get out of jail free” card once every 12 months. Even then, it’s not so much a “get out of jail free” card as it is a pretty hefty financial slap on the wrist.

– Teen Driver Laws

If you are or have a teenager who’s raring to get on the road, you’re in luck. Oregon allows young drivers to apply for their learner’s permits at the age of 15!

That said, there are restrictions placed on learner’s permits that are designed to keep younger drivers safe on the road. These restrictions will be slowly peeled back over time as the young driver in question receives her full license or a restricted license.

Teen Driving Requirements  
Minimum Age (Learner's Permit) 15 years old
Minimum Age (Driver's License) 16 years old
Mandatory Holding Period 6 months
Minimum Supervised Driving Time 50 hours (100 hours without driver education)
Nighttime Restrictions During Intermediate/Restricted License Stage: Midnight - 5 a.m.

Restrictions Lifted: 12 months or age 18 (whichever comes first)
Passenger Restrictions During Intermediate/Restricted License Stage: first 6 months–no passengers younger than 20; second 6 months–no more than 3 passengers younger than 20

Restrictions Lifted: 12 months or age 18 (whichever comes first)

Unlike a number of other states, driver’s education is required in Oregon so long as the driver in question is younger than 18 years old.

However, if a young driver has 50 hours of supervised driving recorded, she’ll be able to take her driver’s test without having to go through driver’s education.

– Older Driver License Renewal Procedures

On the other end of the spectrum, drivers 50 years old or older also have restrictions placed on their ability to renew their licenses.

Older Driver Requirements  
License Renewal Cycle 8 years
Proof of Adequate Vision (required at renewal) 50 and older, every renewal
Mail or Online Renewal Permitted No

Everyone in Oregon has to go to the DMV every eight years in order to get their license renewed. However, any driver over 50 years old also has to have a vision test upon the renewal of their license.

Unfortunately, you can’t avoid the line at the DMV by submitting a renewal application online or through the mail. No matter what your age, you’ll have to renew your license in person.

– New Residents

Have the mountains, ocean, and general beauty of Oregon won you over? Then you’re going to have to take a few steps to make sure that you properly register your car with your new home state.

Once you’ve settled in as a resident of the Beaver State, you’ll have 30 days to title and register your car with the state. All you’ll need to do is swing by your local DMV in order to get all of your information in order.

From there, you’ll need to make sure that your pre-existing insurance policy complies with Oregon’s state minimum liability coverage requirements. Just as a refresher, the ratio for insurance in Oregon is 25/50/20 with an additional 15/20/50 set aside for UMM and PIP. Let’s break those ratios down one more time:

  • 25 = $25,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of a single person
  • 50 – $50,000 in coverage to pay for the injuries and medical treatment of more than one person
  • 20 = $20,000 in coverage to repair any property that’s damaged in an accident
  • 15 = $15,000 in Personal Injury Protection coverage (otherwise known as Medical Payments, MedPay, or PIP)
  • 25 = $25,000 per person for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)
  • 50 = $50,000 in total for Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMM)

– License Renewal Procedures

Like we’ve mentioned, renewing your license in Oregon is a fairly straightforward process. While you’re not doing to be able to avoid the line at the DMV, you can avoid an eye exam so long as you’re under 50 years of age.

The state of Oregon requires you to renew your license in person at the DMV every eight years in order to drive legally on the road.

Rules of the Road in Oregon

Want to stay safe and legal on Oregon’s roadways? We address move over laws, seat belt legislation, speed limits, and more so you can avoid unnecessary fines and drive with more confidence.

– Fault vs. No-Fault

Oregon is an at-fault state. This means that when an accident occurs, one driver is determined to be at-fault.

This driver then must take on the financial responsibility of paying for the other driver’s medical and property damage in addition to any damage they themselves may have sustained.

This “at-fault” policy is what makes having the right kind of coverage so essential in Oregon. If you’re not protected, you may find yourself having to use our savings in order to pay for someone else’s medical bills. Of course, because Oregon requires PIP and UMM, you’ll likely be a little safer than you would be otherwise.

All the same, it’s worth it to consider what kind of add-ons will make your car insurance policy more comprehensive.

– Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws

Seat belts and car seats are designed to keep all passengers in a car as safe as possible. As such, Oregon’s laws regarding seat belt and car seat usage are exceptionally strict.

Oregon Seat Belt Laws  
Effective Date 12/07/1990
Primary Enforcement Yes ; Effective 12/07/1990
Age/Seats Applicable 16+ years in all seats
1st Offense Max Fine $115
Oregon Car Seat Laws  
Must be in child safety seat younger than 2 years must be in a rear facing child restraint; 7 or younger: 40 pounds or less must be in a child restraint; more than 40 pounds but 4 feet and 9 inches or less must be in a booster seat
Adult belt permissible
taller than 4 feet and 9 inches; 8 through 15
Max Base Fines for 1st Offense $75
Preference for Rear Seat Law states no preference for rear seats

Because the seat belt and car seat policies listed above are subject to primary enforcement, an officer doesn’t need any other reason to pull your car over if she notices that you’re driving without a seat belt on.

These seat belt restrictions do not apply to the cargo area of trucks. However, these spaces have their own set of legalities.

The only people who can ride in the cargo area of a truck are:

  • Passengers 18 years old or older
  • Minors secured with a safety belt or harness
  • Parade participants
  • Minors when all other seats in the vehicle are occupied by other minors, the tailgate is closed, and the destination of the vehicle is either to the place of the minor’s employment, a hunting camp, or hunting site.

Seem specific? It is on purpose. Once again, seat belt, car seat, and cargo area laws are in place to keep all of the passengers in a vehicle as safe as possible.

– Keep Right and Move Over Laws

Keep Right laws in Oregon dictate that if you’re driving at a speed that’s slower than the posted speed limit, you need to stay in the right-hand lane of the road you’re on.

Move Over laws in Oregon require you to move out of the way of an oncoming vehicle with flashing lights that happens to be moving in the same direction you are. This ensures that emergency vehicles can make it to their destinations without delay.

Some examples of other vehicles you’ll want to move over for include the following:

  • Law Enforcement
  • Ambulances
  • Fire Trucks
  • Utility Service Trucks
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Tow Vehicles

– Speed Limits

Even though you may want to be, you’re no Speed Racer. Speeding, in fact, is the source of the majority of fines across the United States. If you’re looking to avoid unnecessary tickets, keep Oregon’s posted speed limits in mind.

Oregon Speed Limits  
Rural Interstates cars: 65 mph; 70 mph on specified segments of road

trucks: 55 mph; 65 mphon specified segments of road
Urban Interstates 55 mph
Other Limited Access Roads 65 mph
Other Roads 65 mph

You’ll note that these listed limits are the maximum speed for their road types. Rural interstates may see less traffic than urban interstates, but that doesn’t mean that your speedometer can start creeping upward.

– Ridesharing

These days, Lyft and Uber are more than just ridesharing services. They’re also job opportunities. If you use your car as part of a ridesharing or delivery position, you’ll need ridesharing insurance in addition to Oregon’s state minimum coverage.

State Farm and USAA are the only two providers in the state of Oregon who offer ridesharing coverage.

You can always check with your superior to see if you can make use of company insurance while working in the rideshare industry. If you can’t, you’ll want to do some additional shopping in order to find the best policy for you.

– Safety Laws

You can also make behavioral decisions that’ll keep you and your fellow drivers safer on Oregon’s roadways. These rules apply to things like drinking and driving and the use of hand-held devices while you’re behind the wheel.

– Impaired Driving Laws

It’s fun to go out drinking with friends, no question. What isn’t fun is attempting to drive home and having someone – maybe you, maybe another driver – getting injured in the process.

As of 2017, 137 of Oregon’s fatalities were attributed to alcohol-impaired driving. In order to combat this trend, the state has strict DUI policies in place.

Formal Name for Offense BAC Limit High BAC Limit Criminal Status Look Back Period
Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants 0.08 0.15 1st-3rd class A misdemeanors, 4th+ class C felonies 10 years

As you can see, while an initial DUI offense will result in a misdemeanor, your fourth will result in a felony and can land you jail time. Take a look at our breakdown of the consequences of driving while intoxicated.

Number of Offense License Revocation Jail Time Fine Other
1st 1 year 2 days - 1 year OR 80 hours community service min $1000 for BAC; min $2000 for HBAC; up $10000 if child in car drug and alcohol program, participation in victim impact panel, IID for 1 year after license suspension
2nd 3 years minimum 2 days, but up to 1 year min $1500; HBAC min $2000; up to $10000 if child in car IID for 2 years after suspenion, treatment program and victim impact panel
3rd mandatory lifetime, not elegible for hardship license, may apply for reinstatement after 10 years 90 day minimum $2000 min, additional $2000 for HBAC
4th FELONY

Drinking and driving is an expensive misdemeanor. Not only will you have to pay out to repay the state for your offense, but if you get caught drinking and driving for a third time, you risk losing your license for the rest of your life.

There are simple ways to avoid driving while intoxicated. Ridesharing programs like Lyft and Uber are ideal for getting you home safely, and electing a designated driver at the beginning of the night is a great way to make sure that no one intoxicated gets behind a steering wheel.

– Distracted Driving Laws

With innovations in today’s technology, it seems like there isn’t a single person alive who doesn’t have access to a smartphone. With this increased connectivity comes the urge to text or call someone while you’re on the road.

Don’t do this. Staying in touch with a friend or loved one may feel important, but you can’t focus on the road and send a message without compromising your focus.

In order to limit the number of hand-held related fatalities that Oregon sees over the course of a year, the state government has implemented an all-encompassing hand-held ban throughout the state.

Hand-held ban Young driver cell phone ban Texting ban Enforcement
All drivers drivers younger than 18 All drivers Primary

According to the IIHS, drivers in Oregon are not allowed to use any electronic devices in one or both hands while driving a vehicle on a public highway. This means that if you’re in the driver’s seat, you legally cannot touch your phone – not while you’re at stoplights, not while you’re stuck in traffic, nada.

It’s also worth noting that getting caught using a cellphone or other hand-held device if a first-string offense, meaning that you can receive a ticket for this and no other reason if an officer spots you.

Oregon’s Can’t-Miss Facts

With laws and legalities out of the way, you may feel as though you know everything there is to know about driving safely in Oregon. Not so! We’re here to help you explore the ways those laws and legalities translate into your everyday driving experience in the Beaver State.

Here we’ll address the fatality and vehicle facts that you need to know in order to be a more conscientious driver.

– Vehicle Theft in Oregon

It’s not always sports cars that are the first to be stolen by car thieves. In Oregon, in fact, Honda Accords and Civics go significantly faster than their flashy cousins.

Rank Make/Model Year of Vehicle Year Thefts
1 Honda Accord 1994 1994 1,491
2 Honda Civic 1998 1998 1,276
3 Subaru Legacy 1998 1998 377
4 Ford Pickup (Full Size) 2004 2004 295
5 Toyota Camry 1990 1990 221
6 Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size) 1999 1999 217
7 Acura Integra 1994 1994 209
8 Subaru Impreza 1999 1999 171
9 Honda CR-V 1999 1999 158
10 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee 1994 1994 141

It’s not just the make and model that catches a person’s eye, though. The place where a person lives, works, and drives can impact the likelihood of their car getting stolen. The FBI has compiled a list of Oregon’s vehicle thefts by city, as you can see below.

City Population Motor Vehicle Theft
Albany 51,645 142
Amity 1,624 0
Ashland 20,455 13
Astoria 9,543 32
Athena 1,144 1
Aumsville 3,738 3
Baker City 9,660 9
Bandon 3,039 5
Banks 1,862 4
Beaverton 93,551 83
Bend 79,926 87
Black Butte Unknown 0
Boardman 3,369 4
Brookings 6,313 6
Burns 2,706 4
Canby 16,031 9
Cannon Beach 1,692 2
Carlton 2,022 0
Central Point 17,485 24
Clatskanie 1,726 4
Coburg 1,043 1
Columbia City 1,938 1
Condon 722 0
Coos Bay 15,816 54
Coquille 3,826 4
Cornelius 12,231 14
Corvallis 55,218 38
Cottage Grove 9,795 21
Dallas 14,803 10
Eagle Point 8,669 7
Enterprise 1,870 0
Estacada 2,919 4
Eugene 158,499 608
Fairview 9,225 31
Florence 8,489 10
Forest Grove 22,239 29
Gaston 665 1
Gearhart 1,485 0
Gervais 2,573 15
Gladstone 11,699 34
Gold Beach 2,239 2
Grants Pass 34,865 236
Gresham 109,965 510
Hermiston 17,214 75
Hillsboro 96,313 126
Hines 1,508 0
Hubbard 3,203 1
Independence 8,661 5
Jacksonville 2,813 1
John Day 1,702 2
Junction City 5,605 9
Keizer 37,018 50
King City 3,389 3
Klamath Falls 21,043 78
La Grande 13,034 9
Lake Oswego 37,428 24
Lakeview 2,252 6
Lebanon 15,810 54
Lincoln City 7,976 11
Malin 791 0
Manzanita 607 1
McMinnville 32,642 32
Medford 76,949 163
Milton-Freewater 7,126 21
Milwaukie 20,480 62
Molalla 8,282 9
Monmouth 9,792 5
Mount Angel 3,405 3
Newberg-Dundee 25,647 25
Newport 10,029 15
North Bend 9,605 19
North Plains 2,033 3
Ontario 11,069 22
Oregon City 33,025 55
Pendleton 16,902 44
Philomath 4,598 3
Phoenix 4,600 7
Pilot Rock 1,518 1
Portland 609,136 3,289
Prineville 9,161 1
Rainier 1,887 4
Redmond 27,153 43
Rockaway Beach 1,313 0
Rogue River 2,173 5
Salem 158,234 656
Scappoose 6,677 2
Seaside 6,475 15
Sherwood 18,932 10
Silverton 9,380 6
Springfield 60,024 270
Stanfield 2,058 4
Stayton 7,733 13
St. Helens 12,917 16
Sunriver Unknown 4
Sweet Home 9,035 21
Talent 6,191 4
The Dalles 13,831 38
Tigard 50,311 69
Tillamook 4,932 12
Toledo 3,461 5
Troutdale 16,566 49
Tualatin 26,925 37
Turner 1,896 2
Umatilla 7,040 12
Warrenton 5,146 8
West Linn 25,744 9
Wilsonville 20,819 36
Woodburn 24,263 47
Yamhill 1,040 0

– Road Dangers in Oregon

Theft isn’t the only thing Oregon drivers have to worry about. Let’s touch on all of the major causes of traffic fatalities across the state so you can drive more carefully.

– Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition

It won’t surprise you to learn that weather and light contribute to a significant number of traffic fatalities a year. We’ve touched on the ways that different conditions impact people’s ability to drive in the table below.

Weather Condition Daylight Dark, but Lighted Dark Dawn or Dusk Other / Unknown Total
Normal 180 42 61 12 3 298
Rain 17 14 24 1 0 56
Snow/Sleet 10 0 3 0 0 13
Other 4 2 5 1 0 12
Unknown 9 0 9 0 3 21
TOTAL 220 58 102 14 6 400

Oregon isn’t exactly the sunshine state, so when a sunny afternoon gives way to an Oregon downpour, make sure that you’re taking things a little bit slower than you normally would.

– Road Type Fatalities

The type of road that you’re driving on will also contribute to the likelihood of your getting into an accident.

Road Type 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Rural 300 292 216 217 229 199 237 282 309 284
Urban 116 85 101 114 108 114 120 163 189 153
Unknown 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0

Even though urban roads see more traffic than rural ones, rural roads in Oregon see more fatalities over the course of a year than those in the cities.

– Fatalities by Person Type

A person’s relationship to the cars on the road – be they passenger, occupant, or pedestrian – also impacts the likelihood that they’ll be involved in an accident. Even the car a person is driving can increase or decrease their likelihood of a fatality. Take a look at the data below.

Oregon Fatalities by Person Type          
2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Passenger Car Occupants 134 128 152 182 155
Light Pickup Truck Occupants 37 56 60 68 60
Light Utility Truck Occupants 33 43 56 68 47
Large Truck Occupants 5 7 8 9 10
Other/Unknown Occupants 3 8 5 7 5
Van Occupants 11 5 20 24 14
Bus Occupants 0 0 1 0 0
Motorcyclists 34 46 61 55 57
Pedestrians 48 57 69 71 69
Bicyclists and Other Cyclists 3 7 8 10 10
Other/Unknown Non-occupants 4 0 5 3 4
State Total 313 357 446 498 437

As you can see, passenger cars see the most accidents by far in Oregon.

– Fatalities by Crash Type

Crashes aren’t all one and the same, though. Fatality commonality will vary based on the number of cars and types of vehicles that were involved in individual crashes.

Crash Type and Fatality Totals 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Single Vehicle 190 220 280 266 252
Involving a Large Truck 33 32 53 53 54
Involving Speeding 95 105 119 143 119
Involving a Rollover 67 90 109 95 92
Involving a Roadway Departure 187 228 278 309 280
Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related) 69 71 90 87 66
Total Fatalities (All Crashes) 313 357 446 498 437

– Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties in Oregon

There are also a number of individual counties that are more likely to see a higher fatality rate than others. Our collected data shows that the following Oregon counties see the most fatalities over the course of a single year.

Rank County Name 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
1 Multnomah County 52 28 41 55 58
2 Marion County 14 25 24 37 40
3 Lane County 33 45 57 45 32
4 Clackamas County 16 38 27 44 29
5 Jackson County 15 17 25 34 24
6 Douglas County 13 27 31 16 23
7 Deschutes County 7 13 13 24 21
8 Washington County 21 16 28 30 21
9 Josephine County 12 13 24 24 19
10 Klamath County 14 11 15 14 17
Total All Counties 313 357 446 498 437

We’re not saying that a higher fatality rate in your county means that you need to move. Rather, the fatality rate of your area should impact your car insurance considerations and encourage you to drive a little more cautiously.

– Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

As we briefly touched on before, speeding causes a significant number of driving fatalities both in Oregon and across the United States.

County Name 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Baker 0 1 0 0 0
Benton 0 2 0 1 0
Clackamas 7 9 5 17 12
Clatsop 2 1 0 8 7
Columbia 3 1 2 3 0
Coos 2 3 0 3 6
Crook 0 1 2 1 3
Curry 2 1 0 1 0
Deschutes 2 7 8 5 5
Douglas 3 5 8 4 5
Gilliam 0 0 0 0 0
Grant 1 0 1 1 1
Harney 1 1 2 0 1
Hood River 2 0 0 1 0
Jackson 6 7 7 11 8
Jefferson 2 1 1 1 0
Josephine 4 6 9 8 5
Klamath 5 4 8 7 6
Lake 0 0 0 1 0
Lane 9 12 17 11 5
Lincoln 2 3 2 1 2
Linn 1 3 1 2 2
Malheur 3 3 1 2 3
Marion 5 3 7 13 12
Morrow 1 1 0 0 0
Multnomah 20 12 15 16 18
Polk 1 2 5 3 2
Sherman 0 0 0 0 0
Tillamook 2 1 3 0 1
Umatilla 4 5 3 1 1
Union 0 1 2 3 0
Wallowa 1 3 0 1 1
Wasco 0 2 2 5 6
Washington 3 2 5 9 5
Wheeler 0 0 1 0 0
Yamhill 1 2 2 3 2

As you can see, in 2017, 119 of Oregon’s fatalities involved a driver who was speeding.

– Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver

We’ve already touched on the dangers of drunk driving, but what does the fatality rate of those drivers look like in Oregon?

County Name 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
Baker 1 1 3 1 0
Benton 0 1 0 4 5
Clackamas 8 9 11 18 11
Clatsop 0 0 1 2 6
Columbia 1 1 3 2 1
Coos 0 3 3 2 3
Crook 0 0 3 1 4
Curry 2 2 1 0 0
Deschutes 2 6 2 7 6
Douglas 5 6 5 3 6
Gilliam 0 0 0 0 0
Grant 1 0 1 1 1
Harney 1 3 2 0 0
Hood River 0 0 2 1 0
Jackson 5 8 9 12 9
Jefferson 3 2 4 1 2
Josephine 4 3 15 10 8
Klamath 5 4 7 6 5
Lake 1 0 0 2 0
Lane 10 12 20 13 6
Lincoln 1 2 3 3 2
Linn 4 4 6 5 3
Malheur 2 0 1 4 3
Marion 6 4 9 11 17
Morrow 1 2 2 0 1
Multnomah 22 8 18 15 16
Polk 2 1 8 3 5
Sherman 0 0 1 0 0
Tillamook 3 0 1 0 1
Umatilla 4 4 1 6 1
Union 0 1 2 1 0
Wallowa 1 4 0 1 0
Wasco 1 0 1 3 2
Washington 5 4 6 11 6
Wheeler 0 0 0 0 3
Yamhill 0 1 3 3 5

The numbers aren’t especially positive. You also have to consider the fact that these statistics include a number of teenage drivers who were caught in an accident after drinking.

In 2018, Oregon ranked 15th in a list of the most dangerous states for drunk driving. It ranks 16th among the most dangerous states for teenage drunk drivers.

This high ranking contributes to Oregon’s push back against drinking and driving. The state hopes that with stricter punishments for both DUIs and underage drinking, the state’s percentage of fatalities involving an intoxicated driver can be curbed.

– EMS Response Time

The good news is that if you happen to get in an accident, Oregon’s Emergency Medical Services will quickly become your new best friends. The location of your accident will impact how quickly the EMS will be able to reach your location and get you to a hospital.

Location of Incident Time of Crash to EMS Notification EMS Notification to EMS Arrival EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival Total Fatalities in Crashes
Rural 4.92 min 13.75 min 42.89 min 58.34 min 269
Urban 1.19 min 6.73 min 29.02 min 37.50 min 179

While it takes the EMS a little longer to arrive in rural areas, you’ll note that the response times for both rural and urban areas in Oregon are under an hour. That’s great news! This means that the EMS will be able to get you or a loved one away from the site of an accident quickly and efficiently.

– Transportation

With all of the finer points of Oregon legality out of the way, we can take a final look at some of the traffic statistics the state has to offer. We’ll touch on the average number of cars Oregon residents own and how much time you might expect to spend commuting to work in the morning.

– Car Ownership

On average, Oregon residents keep two cars in their garages. This means that it’s easier for individual family members to travel, but it may also mean that your morning commute is a little more crowded.

– Commute Time

That said, Oregon has an average commute time of 22.3 minutes. That’s not too bad, all things considered. Oregon actually comes in three minutes under the average national commute time of 25.3 minutes, so even though your early mornings may feel long, you’re spending less time in your car than you may think.

– Commuter Transport

While you might be one of the Oregon residents who’s lucky enough to work from home, the vast majority of Oregon’s residents – 72.4 percent, in fact – commute to work every day in individual cars. If you’re the type of person who wants time to wake up in the morning or cool down after work, Oregon’s commute will be perfect for you.

– Traffic Congestion in Oregon

Even with a commute time shorter than the national average, Oregon still threatens to cram your morning with a bit of undue traffic, especially in its more urban areas. Portland, in particular, made it onto the INRIX’s scorecard for global traffic.

City Name 2018 Impact Rank Hours Lost in Congestion Year Over Year Change Cost of Congestion (per driver) Inner City Travel Time (minutes) Inner City Last Mile Speed (MPH)
Portland, OR 70 116 -9% $1,625 5 13

Now, your commute time and traffic congestion will vary based on the time of day you’re driving through the city. Your speed, too, will see some flux based on whether you’re heading into work, heading out to lunch, or driving home.

  • Peak Speed: 21.15 mph
  • Off-Peak Speed: 35.31 mph
  • Free Flow: 42.44 mph

Of all the states in the union, Portland ranks as the 7th most congested, according to SOURCE. Drive slow out there, then, and try not to get too frustrated when the traffic kicks in.

And with all that in mind, you’ve conquered Oregon’s car insurance policies! Hopefully you’ll be able to use the data in this comprehensive guide to car insurance in order to better choose the policies and rates that suit your lifestyle.

If you want to move ahead and compare rates in your area, you can use our FREE online tool to start contrasting rates in your area.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]