Auto-Owners Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Auto-Owners car insurance rates are below average, but coverage is only available in 26 states.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 31, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 31, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 31, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,046

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Below average rates in most states
  • Favorable customer reviews
  • Superior financial ratings
  • Additional coverages, such as roadside assistance
  • Numerous insurance products and discounts
  • Uncommon coverages, such as modified vehicle coverage

Cons

  • Only available in 26 states
  • Must use a local agent for most needs
  • Limited app and online services
  • Some negative claims and customer service reviews

The Bottom Line

Auto-Owners provides car insurance in 26 states, with rates typically lower than average. The company also offers multiple insurance products so drivers can bundle multiple policies.

Auto-Owners is a one-stop shop for drivers needing auto and other coverages, such as home and boat insurance.

However, the company wants drivers to get a quote and manage their policies with a local agent. Auto-Owners is a good fit for drivers who prefer to deal with one agent, but it isn’t suitable for drivers looking for streamlined online features.

Auto-Owners insurance provides below-average car insurance rates for drivers in 26 states. The company also offers numerous insurance products and discounts to help you save.

However, Auto-Owners requires you to use a local agent for most needs. While you can pay your bill online or through the app, your agent must give you quotes and help with any insurance needs like a policy change.

Auto-Owners has excellent customer interaction and financial stability ratings but slightly below average customer satisfaction ratings. Nevertheless, Auto-Owners offers reliable and inexpensive insurance with low rates and various discounts.

Auto-Owners is a good fit for drivers who like face-to-face service and need multiple insurance products, such as auto and homeowners coverage. However, the company isn’t a good fit for drivers who want to do everything online.

Keep reading to learn more about Auto-Owners insurance and see if it’s a good fit for you.

Is Auto-Owners Insurance Group a Good Choice?

Is Auto-Owners insurance good?

Auto-Owners has offered insurance since 1916 and is now part of a larger group, including Atlantic Casualty Insurance, Concord Group, Capital Insurance Group, and several other companies.

With excellent interactions, financial ratings, and low rates, Auto-Owners is one of the top insurance companies in the country.

However, Auto-Owners sets itself apart by using local agents for most needs, including quotes and policy changes. Many other top insurers allow customers to get quotes and make changes online.

Auto-Owners also offers drivers multiple insurance options and numerous discounts. As a result, many drivers may find the company meets all their insurance needs.

Where is Auto-Owners insurance available?
Auto-Owners is only available in 26 states, and rates vary by driver and state. Here is a list of the states where Auto-Owners insurance is available:

While rates are typically below average, some states like Colorado see higher than average Auto-Owners rates.

How are Auto-Owners ratings?

While insurance rates are vital, so are ratings. It’s important to know your insurer is there when you need it. Fortunately, Auto-Owners has low rates and excellent ratings.

A.M. Best rates insurance companies on financial stability. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating, showing a superior ability to meet financial obligations.

A loss ratio also shows how an insurance company is doing financially — it shows that a company takes in more money than it pays out. The Auto-Owners loss ratio is just over 60%, which is average and means the company isn’t in financial danger.

The Better Business Bureau rates companies on how well the interaction is with its customers. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating and accreditation. However, Auto-Owners customer satisfaction ratings are below average. According to J.D. Power, the company earned a 4.2/5 rating.

As you can see, Auto-Owners has excellent financial and customer interaction ratings, proving the company is reliable and steady.

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Rates

Many factors, like age, driving record, and location, affect your auto insurance rates. Every company weighs your factors differently and offers different rates. Fortunately, Auto-Owners car insurance rates are lower than average but vary by driver.

Coverage amount also affects your rates. While most states only require liability coverage, it doesn’t provide any protection for your vehicle. However, liability-only rates are the lowest.

Here’s a look at the average annual full coverage auto insurance rates by state.

While full coverage is more expensive, it typically includes liability, collision, comprehensive, and other mandatory coverages. In addition, full coverage requires the lowest out-of-pocket expenses if your vehicle gets in an accident.

Remember, your location also plays a part in car insurance rates. Every state creates its own rules and regulations that may cause your rates to be higher than average.

How do age and gender affect Auto-Owners rates?

It’s no secret that young drivers pay much higher auto insurance rates since they lack experience behind the wheel. However, you might not know that married drivers generally have much lower rates since they tend to be less risky to cover.

On the other hand, male drivers statistically are more risky drivers and tend to be in more accidents. Therefore, young male drivers can expect the highest rates of all.

Check out this table to see how your age and gender and affect Auto-Owners car insurance rates.

Even though Auto-Owners rates are low, young drivers still pay almost double what older, more experienced drivers pay.

Does your driving record impact Auto-Owners car insurance?

Your driving record is one of the most significant factors determining your car insurance rates. It lets your auto insurance company predict if you’re a risk to insure and likely to cost it money.

Drivers with tickets, accidents, and DUIs spend significantly more on auto insurance than drivers with a clean record.

For comparison, look at this table showing average Auto-Owners rates based on driving history with a speeding ticket.

In addition, here are the rates for drivers with an accident on their record at Auto-Owners.

And for Auto-Owners drivers with a DUI, take a look at the table below to get a better idea on how much your rates will increase.

Although Auto-Owners rates don’t increase drastically after an accident or ticket, multiple infractions will significantly raise your rates. Additionally, you may be required to buy more expensive high-risk coverage if you’re very risky to insure.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Discounts Available

Car insurance discounts are a great way to lower rates, and Auto-Owners offers multiple discounts based on the driver, policy, and vehicle. For example, drivers may qualify for safe driver, paid in full, and anti-theft device discounts.

Students may also be eligible for a good student discount, away student discount, and other savings if the young driver uses telematics to monitor driving. However, Auto-Owners’ young driver rates aren’t costly, as discounts lower rates significantly.

Since Auto-Owners offers so many insurance products, drivers can bundle multiple policies for the most savings on top of car insurance discounts.

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Coverage Options

Auto-Owners offers all the typical car insurance coverages, allowing drivers to customize their policy with preferred coverages.

Car insurance coverages offered by Auto-Owners include:

  • Liability. Liability pays for bodily injuries and property damage to others.
  • Collision. Collision covers damages to your vehicle from an accident.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive pays for damages to your car unrelated to an accident, like fire, theft, and acts of nature.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Uninsured/underinsured motorist covers damages if the at-fault driver has little or no insurance.
  • Medical payments. Medical payments coverage pays for medical costs, such as doctor bills and prescriptions, after an accident.
  • Personal injury protection. Personal injury protection pays for related expenses after an accident, such as lost wages and child care.

While your state typically only requires liability coverage, you can gain more protection for yourself, your passengers, and your vehicle by adding some of the above coverages.

Does Auto-Owners offer specialty car insurance coverages?

In addition to traditional car insurance, Auto-Owners offers other coverages and features drivers may add to their policy.

Additional coverages include:

  • Roadside assistance. With this coverage, you can get a jump-start, fuel delivery, locksmith services, or towing.
  • Glass and windshield repair. Glass and windshield repair pays for repairs or replacement if the glass in your vehicle gets damaged.
  • GAP coverage. GAP pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and its worth.
  • Additional expense. This coverage pays for a rental car, lodging, and fuel if your vehicle gets damaged on a trip.
  • Diminished value. Diminished value pays the difference between what your car was worth before and after an accident.
  • Personal automobile plus. This package contains 10 coverages, including identity theft protection and rekeying locks.
  • Accident forgiveness. Accident forgiveness won’t raise your rates for your first at-fault accident.
  • Classic car coverage. This coverage takes care of repairs and replacement of classic cars with different needs.
  • Modified vehicle coverage. Modified vehicle coverage insures modifications such as a wheelchair ramp.

While some auto insurance companies offer GAP, roadside assistance, and accident forgiveness, few offer classic car and modified vehicle coverages.

Remember that additional coverages and features come with an added cost, so your rates will increase for each.

Does the Auto-Owners insurance company offer other insurance products?

Despite the name, Auto-Owners offers more than just auto insurance, including other insurance and financial products.

Insurance products offered by Auto-Owners included:

  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Life
  • Pet
  • Motorcycle
  • Boat
  • RV
  • Business

Auto-Owners offers robust coverage, especially for your home. It also covers injuries to anyone on your property, personal possessions, and lodging if policyholders need to stay elsewhere.

Auto-Owners also offers several life insurance products, such as whole, universal, and term life. Policyholders also get discounts for bundling life, home, and auto policies.

In addition, Auto-Owners offers financial products, including annuities and disability income. Drivers looking for multiple policies and financial products may find everything they’re looking for with Auto-Owners.

Methodology

While insurance rates are vital, so are ratings. It’s important to know your insurer is there when you need it. Fortunately, Auto-Owners has low rates and excellent ratings.

A.M. Best rates insurance companies on financial stability. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating, showing a superior ability to meet financial obligations.

A loss ratio also shows how an insurance company is doing financially — it shows that a company takes in more money than it pays out. The Auto-Owners loss ratio is just over 60%, which is average and means the company isn’t in financial danger.

The Better Business Bureau rates companies on how well the interaction is with its customers. Auto-Owners received an A+ rating and accreditation. However, Auto-Owners customer satisfaction ratings are below average. According to J.D. Power, the company earned a 4.2/5 rating.

As you can see, Auto-Owners has excellent financial and customer interaction ratings, proving the company is reliable and steady.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which states offer Auto-Owners insurance?

You’ll be able to get a car insurance policy from Auto-Owners Insurance if you live in one of these states — Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia

Can you get accident forgiveness from Auto-Owners?

Yes, drivers without at-fault accidents or significant violations for at least 36 months may qualify for accident forgiveness. Drivers who add the feature don’t see rate increases after their first at-fault accident.

Is Auto-Owners insurance good?

Auto-Owners has excellent ratings for customer service and financial stability. In addition, the company has fewer than average complaints and many drivers like dealing with a local agent in person.

What is Auto-Owners’ background?

Auto-Owners was founded in Michigan in 1916 and has since acquired nine subsidiaries, including Auto-Owners Life Insurance, Home-Owners Insurance, and Property-Owners Insurance.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Auto-Owners Insurance Group

4.15 (563 reviews)
1
February 1, 2021

helthscreen

Poor service

One of the worse companies I've worked with. They hit me with a bill 6 months after canceling. A cancelled in 2020 hit me with the bill in 2021 due to a "system issue" doesn't seem legal to hit someone with a bill 8 months later. I couldn't even log into my account to pay the bill because I am not longer a member there. How to chase them down online.
5
December 28, 2020

Vic_the_man

Good Enough

The company provided me with a good insurance coverage which came of good help when my car has a scratch on it
5
October 2, 2020

ellenamcd2

Well done Auto Owners Insurance

This is the first time I have had to file a claim with my Auto Insurance Company and both the agents and the auto insurance company Auto Owners Insurance did everything possible to make this as easy as possible. The Auto Body Shop a friend recommended were also wonderful...my car was show room ready in a very short time.
5
July 8, 2020

josechepe2001

Great policies and great road assistance

They provide great assitance when involved in an accident or having issues with your car specially for road assistance which is great
5
March 14, 2020

jessman1128

We love Auto Owners Insurance!

We have been very happy with our Auto Owners Insurance policy, agent, and company. We get very good rates and the service has always been excellent.
4
March 5, 2020

64061

Try auto owners.

They are very easy to work with and compete price wise with the others out there. I have full coverage for the same price I paid for liability only before.
5
February 24, 2020

VSchmitt

Good company from longtime customer

Auto Owners has always been a fair company to us. We have hit deer with vehicles and had one accident. I have had a policy with them for over 10 years. I continue to buy insurance from them because they continue to support me when needed.
5
February 24, 2020

pallam

Great policy for all our family needs

Great customer service. No significant rate increases. Prompt claims attention. Lowest pricing in the area. Can speak to a customer service rep easily, have not experienced long holds.
5
February 24, 2020

Tricia987654

Easy to love

Very easy to deal with and rates are some of the best in the area. The assessment time was quick and agents are responsive
4
February 23, 2020

db404

Agent mistakenly did not put comp on my oldest vehicle.

Reasonable prices considering Michigan auto insurance is very expensive. But unfortunately a newer agent neglected to put Comp on my oldest vehicle which I added last summer.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption