American Family Auto Insurance Review (2022)

American Family Insurance offers numerous coverage options and discounts on auto insurance. The company has an A rating from A.M. Best, but there have been customer complaints about the claims process.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,386

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Lower-than-average rates in your area
  • Lower-than-average rates based on your driving record
  • A variety of discounts
  • Multiple coverage options

Cons

  • Poor customer service reviews
  • Poor reviews for handling claims
  • Lack of availability in certain states

The Bottom Line

American Family Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

American Family offers several different options for car insurance. If you’re looking for a new policy, you may find that rates with American Family are lower than rates with other top providers in your area.

Customer reviews suggest AmFam may need to improve its customer service and claims handling process. Take this into account before committing to an insurance policy with American Family.

As you search for the best car insurance company in your area, you may want to consider American Family auto insurance. American Family offers multiple options for car insurance coverage, and the company also provides opportunities for discounts to help lower monthly or annual auto insurance rates.

American Family auto insurance rates are competitive, and the company often offers cheaper rates than many other top-rated car insurance providers. However, auto insurance with American Family (AmFam) is not available in every state, so check with a representative to learn more about the options for coverage in your area.

Is American Family Insurance a Good Choice?

As you search for the best car insurance company in your area, you may want to consider American Family auto insurance. American Family offers multiple options for car insurance coverage, and the company also provides opportunities for discounts to help lower monthly or annual auto insurance rates.

American Family auto insurance rates are competitive, and the company often offers cheaper rates than many other top-rated car insurance providers. However, auto insurance with American Family (AmFam) is not available in every state, so check with a representative to learn more about the options for coverage in your area.

Does American Family have good ratings and reviews?

American Family has an A (Excellent) financial strength rating and a stable outlook with A.M. Best. Additionally, the company garners an A rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). However, while the company’s professional ratings are high, American Family Insurance company reviews by customers suggest the company has room for improvement. 

Many reviews state that the American Family insurance claims process is not as straightforward as it should be. In addition, policyholders often say that American Family Insurance’s customer service is not always helpful.

Policyholders should be able to call the American Family Insurance claims phone number to file a claim or check the status of a claim. But some clients find that reaching the claims department does not always mean they will get the help they need.

For American Family customers, the biggest complaints are that claims took too long to be paid out or were denied when they should have been approved. The company has a higher-than-average number of customer complaints based on the overall claims process.

While AmFam offers competitive car insurance rates, you should consider the company’s reviews before purchasing a policy.

How can I cancel an American Family insurance policy?

The most convenient way to cancel an AmFam insurance policy is to contact a company agent. The American Family website has a tool policyholders can use to locate and contact an agent near them. 

Policyholders can also call the American Family insurance customer service center to learn more about how to cancel a policy and explore options that could make a policy more appealing or affordable.

American Family Insurance Rates

How much is car insurance with American Family?

Your American Family insurance payment will depend on several different factors. Insurance companies assess policyholders’ risk to determine how much they will have to pay for coverage. Here are some of the most common factors that impact a person’s car insurance rates:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • ZIP code
  • Car make and model
  • Coverage type

American Family tends to offer rates for coverage that are lower than most other well-known competitors. For example, the company often provides lower-than-average rates for people with DUIs, individuals with poor credit, teen drivers, and others who may be considered high-risk drivers.

Below is a table comparing AmFam to other top companies based on driving record.

Top 10 Companies' Auto Insurance Average Annual Rates Based on Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with an AccidentRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$2,848$2,342$1,993
American Family$2,124$2,000$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,296$2,383$2,108$1,674
GEICO$2,566$1,595$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,840$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,983$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,760$2,284$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,285$1,227$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,888$1,780$1,287
USAA$1,335$996$859$753
Average$2,619$2,123$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

In addition, the table below compares American Family rates for a full coverage policy with rates from other top-rated insurance companies.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

And AmFam rates for a liability-only policy are over $100 less per year than the national average. Teen drivers can pay rates up to 21% lower than the national average with AmFam.

American Family’s rates for young adult drivers are typically around 4% lower than the national average.

Top Auto Insurance Companies' Monthly Rates for Parent and Teen Drivers
Insurance CompanyRates for Teen DriversRates for Parents with Teen Driver
Allstate$602.08$667.08
American Family$431.41N/A
Farmers$729.50$525.83
GEICO$282.58$339.16
Liberty Mutual$728.66N/A
Nationwide$467.33$293.83
Progressive$753$540.25
State Farm$337.91$307.25
Travelers$834.08N/A
Get Your Rates Quote Now

AmFam auto insurance rates for adult drivers are nearly $200 less annually than the national average.

Average Annual Rates by Coverage for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance
Company
Average Minimum
Coverage Rates
Average Full
Coverage Rates
Allstate$605$1,993
American Family$582$1,386
Farmers$674$1,674
GEICO$290$984
Liberty Mutual$771$2,120
Nationwide$588$1,445
Progressive$484$1,310
State Farm$408$1,091
Travelers$471$1,287
Average$541$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

And senior drivers are anywhere from 5% to 7% lower than the national average, though they are higher than some competitors like USAA.

Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Seniors
Insurance Company55-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record55-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$1,820$1,841$1,847$1,797$1,878$1,900
American Family$1,251$1,237$1,190$1,175$1,291$1,276
Farmers$1,513$1,519$1,474$1,383$1,561$1,568
GEICO$912$909$892$872$941$938
Liberty Mutual$1,959$1,929$1,890$1,758$2,022$1,991
Nationwide$1,305$1,285$1,253$1,189$1,347$1,327
Progressive$1,196$1,271$1,143$1,105$1,234$1,312
State Farm$978$978$912$912$1,010$1,010
Travelers$1,109$1,095$1,065$1,052$1,145$1,130
National Average$1,338$1,341$1,296$1,249$1,381$1,383

Auto insurance rates for individuals who have received a speeding ticket are around 16% (or $300 annually) lower than the national average.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$188$160
American Family$136$117
Farmers$173$139
GEICO$106$80
Liberty Mutual$212$173
Nationwide$137$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$96$86
Travelers$134$99
Average$147$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Rates following a car accident are nearly $500 cheaper than the national average with AmFam.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$176$117
Farmers$198$139
GEICO$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Average$172$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

And rates after a DUI conviction are as much as 33% lower than the national average, which is great for most high-risk drivers.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$270$160
American Family$194$117
Farmers$192$139
GEICO$216$80
Liberty Mutual$313$173
Nationwide$234$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$112$86
Travelers$206$99
Average$209$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If you have poor credit, getting a policy with American Family could help you save around $520 per year on coverage. 

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating

Auto insurance rates are based on 45-year-old drivers with clean driving records.
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Geico$148$100$82
State Farm$200$118$91
Travelers$194$128$107
Progressive$206$138$109
American Family$203$136$116
Nationwide$166$133$120
Farmers$269$161$140
Allstate$296$197$166
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Average$226$148$123
Get Your Rates Quote Now
It can be helpful to see and compare average rates from different companies. Still, the best way to get affordable coverage is to compare car insurance quotes from multiple companies based on your personal information. Comparing quotes will help you know how much you can expect to pay for your coverage.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance Discounts Available

Does American Family offer discounts on car insurance?

American Family offers discounts to policyholders to help them save even more on coverage. Some of the company’s discounts include the following:

  • Multi-vehicle
  • Loyalty
  • Early bird
  • Multi-product
  • Steer into savings
  • Auto safety equipment
  • Defensive driver
  • Good driving
  • Low mileage
  • KnowYourDrive
  • Good student
  • TeenSafeDriver
  • Away at school
  • Young volunteer
  • Generational
  • Autopay
  • Customer full pay
  • Paperless

Some of AmFam’s discount options could help you save as much as 20% on your car insurance premium. You can contact a company representative to learn more about the discount options and learn whether you’re eligible for savings.

What is AmFam’s KnowYourDrive program?

KnowYourDrive with American Family is a usage-based insurance option that offers customers the potential to save on their insurance rates based on their driving habits.

With KnowYourDrive, policyholders use a smartphone app that monitors different driving behaviors to assess how safe you are behind the wheel. Some behaviors that American Family monitors include vehicle usage, braking, acceleration, speed, the time of day you typically drive, and any distracted driving habits.

American Family states on its website that it will honor drivers’ privacy with the KnowYourDrive app by never sharing personal information unless the company is required to by law. Additionally, while some usage-based options allow policyholders’ rates to increase based on their driving behavior, American Family states its customers’ rates will never go up.

American Family Insurance Coverage Options

What types of car insurance does American Family offer?

American Family offers several different options for car insurance, including the following:

If you live in a state where AmFam offers auto insurance coverage, you can find the coverage required by your state’s minimum liability laws. You can also purchase a full coverage policy for added protection.

Below are the states where American Family is offered and the average rates for each state.

Lowest Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by State
StateAmerican Family
CO$1,457
IA$1,169
ID$1,148
IL$1,405
IN$1,328
KS$1,408
MN$1,156
MO$1,313
ND$1,793
NE$1,381
NV$1,734
OH$764
OR$1,313
SD$1,867
TX$2,171
UT$1,296
WA$1,130
WI$774
Get Your Rates Quote Now

If you live in one of these states, American Family insurance options for auto coverage include GAP insurance, which helps ensure you will not end up upside down on a car loan if your vehicle is damaged or totaled.

American Family auto insurance allows policyholders to customize their policies and choose the coverage that will help them feel safe and secure on the road.

If you’re interested in American Family car insurance but are curious about how much you would pay for coverage, you can get a quote from the AmFam insurance website. A quote for auto insurance coverage can help you see what your rates would be based on your unique situation.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I cancel an AmFam policy online?

You have to call and speak with a company representative to cancel your American Family auto insurance policy.

Does American Family cover car rentals?

With rental reimbursement coverage, your car rental costs will be covered by American Family. Reimbursements also cover Ride-shares, taxis, buses, and commuter trains.

Does AmFam offer accident forgiveness?

If you’ve been accident-free for five or more years, you will qualify for accident forgiveness with AmFam and will avoid any rate increases after an at-fault accident.

Where can I buy American Family car insurance?

American Family auto insurance is available in 19 states, including: 

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Georgia 
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana 
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Dakota 
  • Ohio
  • Oregon 
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

Will AmFam car insurance pay for a car tow?

American Family will pay for a car tow if you have roadside assistance with the company.

Does AmFam offer GAP insurance?

GAP coverage is available with American Family, which is also referred to as auto loan or lease assistance coverage.

How much will AmFam auto insurance rates increase after an accident?

American Family insurance rates increase around 24% after an accident, though the exact amount a person’s auto insurance rates increase will depend on several factors. With accident forgiveness, a person’s rates will not increase, even after an at-fault accident.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for American Family Insurance

4.04 (2,180 reviews)
5
September 6, 2022

TammyNelson

Great auto insurance for Costco Members through Connect

I like working direct with insurance companies for simple coverage like auto insurance. They make it easy. They're professional and knowledgeable and fast. Great discounts for Costco members too.
5
January 15, 2021

Doggy

Awesome

Awesome, highly recommend using this company. Best I’ve ever dealt with thus far, great costumer service
4
January 14, 2021

flip2score7

am fam review

for the most part, there have been no issues in the years I have been on their insurance with family and then subsequently purchasing my own with them. however, they are sometimes slow to send things out.
2
October 15, 2020

timtone

Unexpected charges

They charged me a fee to use my card instead of a check what is this 1965? I left for a more 2020 provider esurance!
5
October 15, 2020

ely135

American Family tops any other insurance company

This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals a...
This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals actually received a quote that did not have at least one discount on it! When a company has amazing customer service and really cares about saving you money, it's hard to believe that the coverage you are provided could really be anything other than terrible. American Family strives to leave you flabbergasted. My auto insurance is everything I want/need, and I'm paying a premium that is $200 below what any and all other companies quoted me!
5
October 12, 2020

snoopyhugs18

When a 90-minute Meeting Saved Us $596!

Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we s...
Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we switched from our former insurer! The new policy was underwritten and ready for us to sign in less than 24 hours. American Family's online tools are easy and efficient to use, yet they look and feel secure. After a 6-year break from American Family because there was no local agent where we previously lived, I am so glad to be back!
5
October 2, 2020

DomMar35

Boss

American Family Insurance is an amazing company that acts quickly on claims and works to ensure customer satisfaction
5
October 2, 2020

ruthjahncoz

a bright point in a dark time

We were in a bad car crash. The other car was at fault, but we had car replacement coverage. We had the money to buy a new to us car in less than three weeks. We covered our new to us car with them. We had to talk to several departments during this time and everyone was helpful.
5
June 12, 2020

LillyM

Young but excited about Insurance!

I think they are good so far, I can't wait to get the decrease in insurance payment at the age of 25. Just 6 more years to go!
5
May 5, 2020

KatieM

My AMFAM experience

Good service always! very friendly, easy to work with, available to anser all my quesitions, very profesional .
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption