Conseco Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Conseco auto insurance is part of Amica. They offer auto, home, farm, umbrella, umbrella, and general liability insurance to residential and business clients.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 30, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Conseco Auto Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Conseco Auto Insurance partners with Amica to offer car insurance.
  • The company offers a range of discounts.
  • Amica’s Better Business Bureau rating is an A-.

Cons

  • None to mention

The Bottom Line

CNO Financial Group, which owns Conseco Insurance Company and Conseco Health Insurance Company, is currently in the process of merging those two subsidiaries with Washington National Insurance Company.

If you go to Conseco’s website it will direct you to go to the CNO website, which does show all five companies it owns on the screen, including Conseco, but in the drop-down menu, Conseco is not listed.

Moreover, if you try to click on more information about Conseco nothing happens.

This is a way to gradually phase out the brand name of Conseco and let people know that now Washington National Insurance Company is the only health insurance option in the CNO Financial Group family.

In regards to Conseco Auto Insurance branch, they have merged with Amica.  And so you should be going to the Amica website if you were originally interested in purchasing a car insurance policy from Conseco.

In 1979, CNO was incorporated under the name Security Life of Indiana. It began operations in 1982 and then transitioned into a public company as Conseco, Inc. in 1985. In 2010, the company once again changed its name to CNO Financial Group, Inc.

Today, the company serves over four million medium-income working American citizens and retirees. Recently, Conseco has joined forces with Amica to provide its auto insurance coverage from this point forward.

Amica Mutual Insurance Company is the country’s oldest mutual insurer of vehicles and was started in 1907. The company is based in Lincoln, Rhode Island.

Along with auto insurance, the company is a national writer of marine, personal umbrella liability insurance, and homeowners.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Amica Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Conseco offers a range of available policy discounts:

  • Multi-line discounts if you have both your home and auto insured by Amica
  • Multi-car
  • Accident prevention or defensive driver classes for young drivers and mature drivers
  • Individuals who have completed driver training programs
  • Airbag and passive restraint
  • Good students discounts
  • Anti-lock brakes
  • Vehicle tracking system
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Students away from school

Amica Mutual Insurance Company vs. Competitors

Amica’s Better Business Bureau rating is an A-. The BBB has decided that Amica Mutual Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards.

The company made a concerted effort to make good or come to a fair resolution with consumers on any issues or complaints they had with Amica.

There were a total of 35 complaints noted to the BBB, five advertising/sales, 10 billing/collection issues, one delivery issue, and 19 problems with products/services. All 35 were resolved to the BBB’s satisfaction.

There have not been any government actions brought to BBB’s attention regarding Amica auto Insurance. The BBB has had an open file on Amica since 1957.

Amica Life Insurance Company has over 3,200 employees in 40 offices across the United States.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Amica Mutual Insurance Company

4.22 (767 reviews)
1
January 11, 2022

Rnbowens_

Discussed and Hurt

We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and ins...
We have been a loyal customer of Amica auto insurance for at least 13 yrs. Our First and only claim happened in Dec 2021. The accident happened out of state so we are made arrangements to get our personal belongings ($1800+). And some sentimental items out of the vehicle. On at least 3 separate calls the Amica representatives told my wife not to go because of the distance and they will send a Rep to the vehicle and everything in the trunk and inside the vehicle will be placed in boxes and mailed to us. They assured us that they have done this for customers for years and we had nothing to worry about and we will be getting our belongings. Well one month later we got an envelope with 5 minor items. We have been lied to over and over and have taken another major lost. We are beyond discussed and hurt.
1
October 1, 2021

ACustomer

Reprehensible, criminal practices

This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The cu...
This company’s business practices are beyond reprehensible and criminal. My husband, having been a loyal customer, for much over a decade, with both cars and home ensured by Amica, called to understand what it might cost in the future, if he were to insure his teenage boy, once he gets a license. We knew the child may be insured through either one of the parents, and we didn’t decide at this point in time how we would want to proceed. The customer rep, without prior notice, proceeded to ask some information about the child, then quoted 3000 dollars for the yearly insurance. He then proceeded to tell us that once the child gets a license, he will be automatically added to the insurance policy, without prior consent from the policy owner. We explain that we explicitly prohibit him from adding the child to the policy, since there will be other ways we are looking at ensuring him. The clerk proceeded to tell us that there was nothing we could do about this, and that we will be charged and the child will automatically be put on the existing policy - since the clerk was able to get a hold of identification information for the child, from us. Of course my husband lost it. And the clerk simply hang up. Needless to say, they are now losing our business, and hopefully additional business in the future. I don’t know in what world, an organization is legally able to force someone to pay 3000 dollars for services they refuse to buy from them, while also stripping them of any human dignity, by telling them there’s nothing they could do about it. The call was recorded. This has got to make a great case for litigation.
2
August 9, 2021

Dale549

Don't trust Amica to give you good rates.

In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jee...
In Nov. of 2020 I received a notice of cancellation on my Home Owners and Umbrella policy. Both these policies were on auto pay from a bank that I have had an account with for more than 30 years. The account never has a balance less than $70,000. To date Amica has not been able to explain how this happened. In July of this year I decided I had better make a complete review of all my accounts to see what what going on. I found that my new Jeep was showing a load from some outfit in NC. I live in KS and purchased and paid cash for the vehicle. Again no explanation from the agent as to how this happened. I also found that when Amica changed their policies from 12 months to 6 months they increased the premium on one of my vehicles 54%. Since the other vehicle was new I could not make a direct comparison but noticed that it was 16% higher than what I was paying for the 3 vehicles previously on the policy plus that was with 3 drivers on the policy. All conversations with the agent about these issues net no explanation as to why these this were happening. Brief shopping around with other reputable insurance companies resulted in annual policy savings in the $3,000 and $4,000 range. I would not consider Amica to be a reputable insurance company an proves the point that you should check rates with other companies regularly. You can't trust any of them, let alone Amica.
5
January 5, 2021

dreammmm123

great service

They were the best price by far but also the most comprehensive. The coverage was better at a lower rate. The agents were wonderfully personal and responsive.
3
January 2, 2021

Jacjyyyyyy

positive stuff

nothing out of the ordinary just the usual stuff but I would recommend them anyway because I kinda liked them
4
December 16, 2020

KDPlazed123

Review of Amica

The overall customer experience with the insurance has been fantastic overall, as I was able to come my claims and issues with the my vehicle.
5
October 17, 2020

Basketref

Great Company

Awesome company, great prices, and customer service are great. I have always received great service and the people are very friendly and understand me all the time.
5
October 4, 2020

shanjoybud

Amica is a great company...

I have had only great experiences with Amica. Their customer service was excellent and they helped me right away after I had my car accident, giving me a rental car without question of fault. Very affordable, even for full coverage. They've been an awesome insurance company to have for my vehicle, and as soon as I start driving again, I'll be sure to call them first!
5
October 2, 2020

loochiesimba

customer service

great customer serice and easy to work with. Talked to someone over the phone and they couldn't be more knowledgable or friendly
5
July 17, 2020

lguluv3eb

Perfect customer service and fair prices

All policies that I own, home and auto, are from Amica. They came recommended to me by my parents, grandparents, and aunts/uncles alike. Literally, my entire extended family adores Amica--and I can see why. What other insurance company is so memorable that they become a conversation topic at every Thanksgiving dinner. Shouts of "Can you believe they helped me handle {XYZ]" or "They made it possible for me to fix my entire bathroom!" Absolutely p...
All policies that I own, home and auto, are from Amica. They came recommended to me by my parents, grandparents, and aunts/uncles alike. Literally, my entire extended family adores Amica--and I can see why. What other insurance company is so memorable that they become a conversation topic at every Thanksgiving dinner. Shouts of "Can you believe they helped me handle {XYZ]" or "They made it possible for me to fix my entire bathroom!" Absolutely perfect customer service (friendly and responsive) and very fast claims processing. When the COVID pandemic hit, they proactively refunded me several months' worth of car premums, too.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption