American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive Review (2024)

Interested in saving up to 30% on your auto insurance? Our American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive review details the best ways to get the full savings and how to download the American Family Know Your Drive app, track your driving habits, and qualify for American Family roadside assistance with Travel Peace of Mind.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Michael Vereecke

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Michael Vereecke is the president of Customers First Insurance Group. He has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. He also carries a Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist (CLCS) Designation, providing him the expertise to spot holes in businesses’ coverage.  Since 2009, he has worked with many insurance providers, giving him unique insight into the insurance market, differences i...

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

On This Page

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$117

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • KnowYourDrive can save you up to 20% based on safe driving
  • You can earn a 10% discount just for participating in the program
  • American Family won’t raise your rates if you score poorly

Cons

  • KnowYourDrive runs continuously in the background on your smartphone, so it records personal data, including your location
  • It uses your phone battery and data to record and download information
If you're looking at usage-based insurance as a way to save money on your rates or find cheap auto insurance, you may be wondering about American Family KnowYourDrive. What is American Family Insurance with KnowYourDrive? Is it worth it? Will you save on your American Family coverage? Can you find affordable American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance? Read this review to find out.

What is American Family KnowYouDrive, and how does it work?

American Family insurance company's KnowYourDrive program is a usage-based insurance program that allows you to save on your rates by tracking your driving habits and providing a commensurate discount (up to 20 percent), similar to competitor company programs like Allstate Drivewise and Liberty Mutual's RightTrack. https://youtu.be/kcKqzAYTdyk How do you get KnowYourDrive? If you're insured by American Family, all you have to do is download the free KnowYourDrive App to get started. Once you've downloaded the app and enrolled, KnowYourDrive tracks your driving habits. Specifically, it tracks your:
  • Driving speed
  • Braking habits
  • Driving times
  • Driving duration
  • Distracted driving (though this isn't used when calculating your discount)
This information (minus the distracted driving data) is used to calculate between a 2 and 20 percent discount on your rates (though American Family claims the data will not negatively affect your rates, even if you don't drive safely). Sounds great, right? So what's the downside? The Insurance Information Institute reports that privacy concerns have resulted from the data tracked through telematic apps like KnowYourDrive. Ultimately this has led to laws in some states requiring companies to disclose what is being tracked, exactly how the data is being used, etc. If you're looking to buy American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance, you're in luck because it is available in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

What's the best way to save with KnowYourDrive?

As you might guess, since rates and discounts are based on individual driving habits, you won't find published American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance quotes or American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance rates. The best way to maximize your KnowYourDrive savings and obtain the full 20 percent discount is to focus on your driving habits. Specifically, follow all posted speed limits, avoid driving late at night, and try to reduce your overall mileage.

If you’re looking at usage-based insurance as a way to save money on your rates or find cheap auto insurance, you may be wondering about American Family KnowYourDrive.

What is American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive app? Is it worth it? Will you save on your American Family coverage? Can you find affordable American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance? Read this review to find out.

Before we get started on this American Family car insurance review of the KnowYourDrive program, why not use your ZIP code in the tool on this page to get free quotes from insurance companies in your area.

The American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive program offers drivers a way to save by allowing its app to track their driving habits. Only you can decide if the data collection (and resulting potential lack of privacy) is worth the discounts, which can be as much as 20%.

In addition to discounts, when you sign up for KnowYourDrive, you may qualify for free coverage through American Family’s Travel Peace of Mind package, which includes emergency roadside assistance for American Family Insurance customers, rental reimbursement, and other benefits.

If you’re wondering about American Family as an insurance company (not to be confused with American Family Care, which is an urgent care provider), take a look at our American Family auto insurance review for details.

Now that you’ve read our American Family KnowYourDrive review, are you ready to start saving? Use your ZIP code in our free tool to compare quotes from insurance companies in your area today.

What You Should Know About American Family Insurance

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

KnowYourDrive Program From American Family

American Family offers several safe driver discounts, such as claims-free and defensive driver auto insurance discounts, but drivers can save even more by bundling those savings opportunities with KnowYourDrive from AmFam.

KnowYourDrive is a usage-based telematics program from American Family. The program encourages safe driving by monitoring specific habits and offering a discount based on how well you drive. Drivers can earn up to a 20% discount at renewal, depending on how and when they drive.

Fortunately, American Family doesn’t raise your rates if you exhibit risky driving behaviors. While other factors, such as getting a speeding ticket, might increase your rates, participating in the program won’t cost you anything.

How Does the KnowYourDrive Auto Insurance Discount Program Work

The KnowYourDrive setup is easy. Simply let your agent or a customer service representative know that you want to enroll. You receive a 10% initial discount for signing up.

Then, download the American Family app. The app runs continuously in the background of your smartphone, monitoring driving behaviors.

American Fam Insurance KnowYourDrive monitors driving habits, including:

  • Distracted driving: Texting, making handheld phone calls, playing games, or anything that takes your attention away from the road is considered distracted driving. In addition, the app doesn’t distinguish between you and your passenger using your phone.
  • Speed: Speeding leads to accidents and tickets, which also raise your rates. KnowYourDrive aims to make you more aware of risky behaviors.
  • Hard braking and acceleration: Hard braking and fast acceleration indicate either aggressive driving or a lack of attention to the traffic around you. These habits also lead to more accidents.
  • Mileage: Drivers who spend more time on the road are more likely to be in an accident. American Family rewards low-mileage drivers by increasing their scores for fewer miles, so this is one way to get a low-mileage auto insurance discount.
  • Time of day: If you drive late at night or very early in the morning, you’re statistically more likely to be in an accident.

The American Family Insurance app shows the current discount amount and how each person on your policy drives. For example, it shows instances of hard braking and speeding, and also how you can improve your safe driving skills.

Keep in mind that there may be some privacy concerns since the app is always recording. In addition, it impacts your phone’s battery life and data plan. American Family recommends leaving your phone plugged in while driving because the app uses more battery power while you’re moving.

How to Qualify for the KnowYourDrive Insurance Discount

Current American Family policyholders can participate in the KnowYourDrive program. Contact your agent or customer service to enroll, then download the app. You can opt out anytime by letting your agent know or selecting the opt-out feature in the app.

If you don’t have American Family car insurance, you can still try the KnowYourDrive program for 30 days to see how much of a discount you could earn. After 30 days, you can get an American Family insurance quote so you can decide if the company is right for you.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Family Insurance Discounts Available

Benefits of Participating in KnowYourDrive

The most apparent benefit of KnowYourDrive is the savings you can earn. While you get a 10% discount for participating, you can earn up to 20% if you score well.

Since KnowYourDrive makes you more aware of your driving habits and points out areas where you can improve, it also makes you a safer driver. Many drivers participating in telematics programs are more conscious of their driving and more likely to avoid accidents.

Drivers may also qualify for the Travel Peace of Mind Package from American Family, which includes American Family emergency roadside service, road trip accident reimbursement, and accidental death and dismemberment benefits.

Participation in KnowYourDrive can also help you qualify for more auto insurance discounts. For example, American Family offers a claims-free discount that you may be eligible for since the program enables you to drive safer and avoid accidents.

You may also find you qualify for an American Family low-mileage auto insurance discount. Since KnowYourDrive monitors mileage, you may discover you don’t spend much time behind the wheel.

American Family allows you to bundle any other auto insurance discounts you’re eligible for with the KnowYourDrive discount.

The Best Way to Save With KnowYourDrive

As you might guess, since rates and discounts are based on individual driving habits, you won’t find published American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance quotes or American Family KnowYourDrive auto insurance rates.

The best way to maximize your KnowYourDrive savings and obtain the full 20% discount is to focus on your driving habits. Specifically, follow all posted speed limits, avoid driving late at night, and try to reduce your overall mileage.

The best way to make sure you’re getting the best deal on your auto insurance is to go comparison shopping. Do that quickly and easily by entering your ZIP code into our free quote comparison tool.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Know Your Drive from American Family?

American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive (also known as American Family Know Your Drive) is a telematics program offered by American Family Insurance. It utilizes a mobile app or a plug-in device to monitor your driving habits and provide personalized feedback.

The program aims to promote safe driving and potentially reward policyholders with discounts on their auto insurance premiums.

How does KnowYourDrive work?

American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive uses telematics technology to track aspects of your driving behavior, such as speed, acceleration, braking, and mileage. You can participate in the program by installing a mobile app on your smartphone or by using a plug-in device that connects to your vehicle’s diagnostic port.

The automatic Know Your Drive collected data is then analyzed to assess your driving habits and determine your eligibility for discounts. Read more about mobile apps in our article Best Mobile Apps for Auto Insurance.

What kind of information does American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive collect?

American Family Insurance Know Your Drive collects data related to your driving behavior, including but not limited to speed, acceleration, braking, mileage, and the time of day when you drive. It may also gather information about your location while driving. The program doesn’t collect personal information unless explicitly authorized by the user.

Is my privacy protected with American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive?

Yes, American Family Insurance takes privacy seriously and has measures in place to protect your personal information. The program adheres to strict privacy policies and only collects data necessary for evaluating your driving habits. Additionally, American Family Insurance will not sell your personal data to third parties without your consent.

Does KnowYourDrive drain battery?

American Family Know Your Drive reviews found that while the KnowYourDrive app (also sometimes written as the Know Your Drive app) doesn’t use much battery while running in the background, usage increases during drives. So long road trips can significantly use your battery.

My KnowYourDrive app by American Family is not working. Why?

American Family troubleshoots a half-dozen reasons why the KnowYourDrive app may not be working. See details here.

Can participation in American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive affect my insurance premiums?

Yes, participation in American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive can potentially result in discounts on your auto insurance premiums. By consistently demonstrating safe driving habits, such as avoiding harsh braking and maintaining appropriate speeds, you may qualify for premium reductions.

However, if your driving behavior is deemed risky, it could potentially lead to increased premiums. Read more: Has the pandemic ruined our safe driving practices?

What good driving habits does KnowYourDrive reward?

KnowYourDrive monitors specific driving behaviors and offers a discount based on how safely you drive. Low-mileage drivers who don’t play with their phones while behind the wheel, don’t work late at night, and avoid risky habits like speeding earn the biggest discount.

How much is the KnowYourDrive discount?

Drivers get a 10% discount for enrolling in KnowYourDrive. Then, they can earn up to a 20% discount based on how they score. The app keeps track of the discount amount so drivers can see how they’re doing. The discount is applied when the policy is renewed.

Are there any fees or additional costs associated with American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive?

American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive is typically offered as a complimentary program to policyholders. There are no additional fees or costs associated with participating in the program.

However, it’s always a good idea to check with your insurance agent or American Family Insurance directly to confirm the details specific to your policy.

Will American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive affect my policy renewal?

American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive alone will not directly impact your policy renewal.

However, your driving habits and the data collected through the program may influence the insurance company’s assessment of your risk profile during the renewal process. Safe driving behaviors can be beneficial and potentially lead to more favorable renewal terms.

How do you qualify for AmFam KnowYourDrive?

Only current American Family policyholders can participate in KnowYourDrive. They must enroll through their agent or customer service and download the app.

If you are an American Family policyholder, contact customer service or your agent to enroll in KnowYourDrive. Once you download it, the American Family driving app monitors driving habits, including speed, mileage, time of day you drive, distracted driving, and hard braking.

How can I enroll in American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive?

To enroll in American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive,  contact your American Family Insurance agent or visit their official website. They will guide you through the enrollment process and provide you with the necessary information and instructions on how to download the mobile app or request a plug-in device.

Can I opt out of American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive?

Yes, you have the option to opt out of American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive if you no longer wish to participate in the program. However, keep in mind that by opting out, you may forfeit any potential discounts that could have been applied to your insurance premiums based on your driving habits.

If you’re thinking about opting out and want to compare auto insurance rates, enter your ZIP code into our free online quote tool to quickly and easily receive quotes from multiple top auto insurance providers.

Can I use American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive for multiple vehicles?

Yes, American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive can be used for multiple vehicles covered under your American Family Insurance policy. You can install the mobile app on multiple smartphones or request additional plug-in devices for each vehicle.

This allows you to monitor the driving behavior and potentially earn discounts for all the eligible vehicles on your policy. See our article How to Save on Auto Insurance With Three Vehicles.

Can American Family KnowYourDrive be used for all types of vehicles?

American Family KnowYourDrive is primarily designed for personal vehicles such as cars and light trucks. It may not apply to commercial vehicles or specialized vehicles used for specific purposes. Consult an American Family Insurance agent to determine if your vehicle is eligible for KnowYourDrive.

How does DriveMyWay from American Family work?

DriveMyWay app is another American Family Insurance driving app that personalizes your auto insurance rate based on your safe driving behaviors. In other words, with American Family DriveMyWay app, you pay how you drive. The safer you drive, the more you can save — between 5% and 20%.

Now that you’ve read American Family DriveMyWay reviews and Know Your Drive app reviews, if you’re interested in more about American Family and American Family Insurance reviews, see our American Family Auto Insurance Review.

What do American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive reviews say?

The American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive program generally receives positive reviews for its ability to help customers save money on their auto insurance premiums by promoting safe driving habits.

How does my phone know if I’m driving or a passenger?

Your phone determines whether you’re driving or a passenger primarily through a combination of sensors and data, including GPS, accelerometer, and gyroscope, which track movement and orientation.

How does the American Family roadside service help?

American Family Insurance has a 24-hour roadside assistance to help drivers who encounter problems while on the road. Here’s what’s covered:

  • Battery jump
  • Gas and oil delivery
  • Locksmiths
  • Roadside repairs
  • Tire servicing
  • Towing

How to login to American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive?

To log in to the American Family Insurance program, you must first install the KnowYourDrive app on your smartphone. Open the app and use your account credentials to log in. If you haven’t set up an account yet, you’ll need to create one. You can do this by visiting the American Family Insurance provider portal and following the instructions to register.

Is American Family insurance good?

American Family auto insurance reviews are generally positive. American Family receives fewer than expected customer complaints for its size, and its overall customer satisfaction ratings are above average.

What do American Family car insurance reviews suggest?

American Family has received fewer claims and complaints than most competitors.

What insurance company does Costco use?

Costco is powered by American Family Insurance, while members can get an insurance policy through CONNECT.

What is American Family roadside assistance phone number?

The phone number for AmFam roadside assistance is 1-800-MYAMFAM (1-800-692-6326).

What’s American Family Insurance KnowYourDrive phone number?

The phone number for assistance with your AmFam drive app is 1-800-692-6326.

What’s DriveMyWay by American Family?

DriveMyWay is a usage-based insurance program that adjusts your rates based on your driving behavior. It can potentially save between 5% and 20% on your auto insurance premiums, depending on how safely you drive.

How to connect the AmFam KnowYourDrive app?

First, you must be enrolled in the program through your American Family Insurance agent.

Once enrolled, download the KnowYourDrive app from the App Store for iOS devices or Google Play Store for Android devices.

How to make an American Family insurance claim?

You can file a claim through the website or mobile app. Or you can call American Family Insurance directly to report a claim.

What is American Family MilesMyWay?

American Family Insurance offers a mileage-based program, called MilesMyWay.

AmFam MilesMyWay is for drivers who don’t use their car very often or have vehicles that aren’t driven regularly. The program typically operates on a pay-per-mile basis, meaning the less you drive, the less you pay.

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Michael Vereecke

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Michael Vereecke is the president of Customers First Insurance Group. He has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. He also carries a Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist (CLCS) Designation, providing him the expertise to spot holes in businesses’ coverage.  Since 2009, he has worked with many insurance providers, giving him unique insight into the insurance market, differences i...

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for American Family Insurance

4.04 (2,180 reviews)
5
September 6, 2022

TammyNelson

Great auto insurance for Costco Members through Connect

I like working direct with insurance companies for simple coverage like auto insurance. They make it easy. They're professional and knowledgeable and fast. Great discounts for Costco members too.
5
January 15, 2021

Doggy

Awesome

Awesome, highly recommend using this company. Best I’ve ever dealt with thus far, great costumer service
4
January 14, 2021

flip2score7

am fam review

for the most part, there have been no issues in the years I have been on their insurance with family and then subsequently purchasing my own with them. however, they are sometimes slow to send things out.
2
October 15, 2020

timtone

Unexpected charges

They charged me a fee to use my card instead of a check what is this 1965? I left for a more 2020 provider esurance!
5
October 15, 2020

ely135

American Family tops any other insurance company

This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals a...
This insurance company really goes the extra mile. They are always willing to walk you through anything you need help with and explain things you may not quite understand. They even have check-ins every 6 months or so to make sure your policy is still suited for your current needs and that you aren't missing out on any applicable discounts. Moreover, American Family offers an incredible amount of discounts. I would be shocked if any individuals actually received a quote that did not have at least one discount on it! When a company has amazing customer service and really cares about saving you money, it's hard to believe that the coverage you are provided could really be anything other than terrible. American Family strives to leave you flabbergasted. My auto insurance is everything I want/need, and I'm paying a premium that is $200 below what any and all other companies quoted me!
5
October 12, 2020

snoopyhugs18

When a 90-minute Meeting Saved Us $596!

Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we s...
Because we have our Condo Insurance with American Family, our local agent reached out to my husband and me to review that policy at the time of its annual renewal. I appreciated the ability to do this--in person (with proper precautions taken) even in spite of COVID-19. During this meeting, we requested an Auto Insurance quote, and we were thrilled to discover that American Family could save us approx. $596 annually for identical coverage if we switched from our former insurer! The new policy was underwritten and ready for us to sign in less than 24 hours. American Family's online tools are easy and efficient to use, yet they look and feel secure. After a 6-year break from American Family because there was no local agent where we previously lived, I am so glad to be back!
5
October 2, 2020

DomMar35

Boss

American Family Insurance is an amazing company that acts quickly on claims and works to ensure customer satisfaction
5
October 2, 2020

ruthjahncoz

a bright point in a dark time

We were in a bad car crash. The other car was at fault, but we had car replacement coverage. We had the money to buy a new to us car in less than three weeks. We covered our new to us car with them. We had to talk to several departments during this time and everyone was helpful.
5
June 12, 2020

LillyM

Young but excited about Insurance!

I think they are good so far, I can't wait to get the decrease in insurance payment at the age of 25. Just 6 more years to go!
5
May 5, 2020

KatieM

My AMFAM experience

Good service always! very friendly, easy to work with, available to anser all my quesitions, very profesional .
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption