Progressive Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Our Progressive auto insurance review found that Progressive insurance rating from A.M. Best is A+. Progressive insurance rates average $39 per month for minimum coverage and $105 per month for a full coverage policy. The Progressive Snapshot app can help safe drivers save an average of $146 per year.

UPDATED: Feb 17, 2024Fact Checked

Luke Williams

Insurance and Finance Writer

Luke Williams is a finance, insurance, real estate, and home improvement expert based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, specializing in writing and researching for consumers. He studied finance, economics, and communications at Pennsylvania State University and graduated with a degree in Corporate Communications.  His insurance and finance writing has been featured on Spoxor, The Good Men Project...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Joel Ohman

Certified Financial Planner

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Joe...

Certified Financial Planner

UPDATED: Feb 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 17, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$109

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordable rates for high-risk drivers
  • It’s easy to get a Progressive auto insurance quote online
  • Snapshot can help low-mileage, safe drivers save money

Cons

  • Expensive rates for teen drivers
  • Customer service ratings aren’t as good as competitors

Final Verdict: Review of Progressive Insurance

The Progressive Corporation is one of America’s most well-known insurance companies due partly to its charming spokesperson Flo. Progressive is also popular for its low prices, plentiful insurance options, and extensive discounts.

In reality, rates aren’t always cheaper at Progressive than at other companies. Progressive does particularly well with high-risk drivers with a DUI on their record, but it can be challenging to find cheap auto insurance for teens.

While the Progressive Insurance company receives high marks for its rates and insurance availability, it struggles with customer service satisfaction. Progressive consistently ranks at the bottom of the pack of all the major insurance providers.

Despite some hiccups with Progressive Insurance customer service, the company has everything you need to protect your car. In our Progressive Auto Insurance Review, you can explore if the company is a good fit for you and compare rates with other companies to find the best policy possible.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Rates at Progressive tend to be slightly lower than the national average, though teens typically see higher prices
  • Progressive has an excellent selection of car insurance discounts, including the popular usage-based program Snapshot
  • A.M. Best gives Progressive an A+, and the Better Business Bureau gave an F, but many customers express dissatisfaction with their insurance
[/su_box] The Progressive Corporation is one of America’s most well-known insurance companies, due in part to its charming spokesperson Flo. Progressive is also popular for its low prices, plentiful insurance options, and extensive discounts. In reality, rates aren’t always cheaper at Progressive than companies. Progressive does particularly well with high-risk drivers with a DUI on their record, but it can be challenging to find cheap auto insurance for teens. While the Progressive Insurance company receives high marks for its rates and insurance availability, it struggles with customer service satisfaction. Progressive consistently ranks at the bottom of the pack of all the major insurance providers. Despite some hiccups with Progressive Insurance customer service, the company has everything you need to protect your car. You can explore if Progressive is a good fit for you below and compare rates with other companies to find the best policy possible.

What You Should Know About Progressive Insurance

Progressive is a trusted name among car insurance providers and one of the largest companies in America. It provides affordable rates for high-risk auto insurance and drivers with clean records. Progressive rates aren’t usually the cheapest but tend to be lower than the national average.

Progressive competes well with other large insurance providers in several ways, including an easy quote system, plentiful coverage options, and many discounts. You can also buy car insurance through Progressive in all 50 states and Washington D.C.

One feature customers appreciate the most is Progressive’s robust digital toolbox. From filing claims to updating your policy, you can manage nearly every aspect of your coverage without speaking to a single person.

Progressive Ratings and Financial Information

Not only does Progressive offer a modern take on insurance, but it also receives high ratings. For example, A.M. Best rates companies by their financial strength. Progressive has an A+, meaning it’ll have no problem paying your claims.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies on their ability to resolve customer complaints, with Progressive earning an F. However, it’s not all good news — there are hundreds of customer complaints on the BBB site.

Progressive’s revenues, unlike those of some competitors, come from insurance policy premiums (or payments on auto insurance billed monthly, quarterly, or annually). Progressive is one of a group of large auto insurance providers (including Allstate and State Farm) that makes most of its money from auto insurance premiums.

The company doesn’t earn a significant amount of corporate revenues from investments. Unfortunately, Progressive did own some subprime investments and took a loss because of the investment portfolio in 2008. The company’s 26-year string of gains was broken that year.

If you’re considering changing auto insurance companies, check out the company with your state’s Department of Insurance. You’ll obtain free information about the customer complaint and remediation process offered by that company in your state.

Checking out the company’s financial history is also important. If your insurance company reports a declining rating from A.M. Best or Standard & Poor’s, the company may not have the assets on hand to pay customer claims. Progressive is rated A+ and stable with A.M. Best.

Progressive’s insurance operations remained profitable during the global financial crisis. The company opened new geographic areas for the distribution of its personal insurance products. In 2009, Progressive launched the sales auto insurance policies in Australia. Australian consumers, like Americans, sign up for Progressive auto insurance online.

Progressive Customer Service

One area that Progressive consistently struggles with is its customer service. Although most customers are happy with their rates and coverage, there are numerous complaints about how Progressive randomly raises rates.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates companies based on the number of complaints they receive compared to their size. The national average is 1.0 — anything lower means a company gets fewer complaints, while higher numbers mean more grievances.

Progressive customer service does reasonably well with a 1.70. It has room for improvement, but you can expect that representatives will usually handle your problems professionally and helpfully.

Progressive Claims Handling

There are several ways to file a car insurance claim with Progressive. You can open Progressive claims online through the mobile app or website or call the Progressive insurance number 24/7 for help filing a claim

Progressive resolves claims in one of two ways. First, you can elect to have your car repaired at any mechanic in Progressive’s network. If you don’t mind living with the car damage, Progressive will also send you a check for the value of the repairs instead.

When it comes to how well Progressive handles claims, reviews are mixed. Some customers say that claims are resolved quickly and efficiently without problems, while others are not as impressed.

One of the most common complaints about Progressive claims handling is that it takes weeks to resolve a claim.

Progressive App

Once you decide that Progressive is the company for you, you’ll be able to track your policy through the Progressive app. With the app, you can do things like:

  • Make payments
  • Download insurance cards
  • Access important policy documents
  • Report a claim
  • Request roadside assistance
  • Start quotes on other Progressive products

While the app has some complaints about being slow or logging users out randomly, most customers leave positive reviews.

The Progressive app is not the same as the Progressive Snapshot app. You can download both, but the Snapshot app is only helpful to Progressive customers taking advantage of the usage-based program.

Progressive Insurance Coverage Options

Although many factors affect your insurance, one of the biggest is how much insurance you want to buy.

For example, the cheapest rates you can find come with your state’s minimum coverage requirements. Alternatively, you can buy full coverage to ensure your car is always protected, but you’ll see much higher rates.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level and Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$68$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

There is a significant difference between minimum and full coverage, but Progressive tends to do well with both. It doesn’t offer the lowest prices, but rates are affordable.

Choosing how much insurance you need is vital in shopping for coverage. Minimum coverage is a good option for people on a tight budget with older cars they can afford to replace.

On the other hand, full coverage is usually required when you have a car lease or loan. In general, full coverage is a good idea for any driver, as long as it’s within your budget.

Car insurance can be confusing, but there’s no need to stress — an insurance representative will help you determine how much coverage you need when you sign up for a policy.

What car insurance types does Progressive sell?

Progressive is known for offering a wide variety of insurance products. From basic insurance plans to comprehensive coverage, Progressive probably has what you need.

Progressive offers the following car insurance types:

  • Liability insurance. Liability coverage protects you from paying for damage you cause to people and property in an accident. It doesn’t help pay for your car; most states require a minimum amount.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. While most states require liability insurance, not all drivers follow the law. Uninsured/underinsured motorist protects you from drivers with inadequate or no insurance.
  • Collision insurance. Collision coverage pays for repairs to your car after an accident, even if you’re the driver at fault. Progressive’s collision insurance will pay vet bills if your pet gets injured.
  • Comprehensive insurance. To cover damage caused outside of accidents, you’ll need comprehensive insurance. Comprehensive insurance covers fire, theft, vandalism, animal contact, and weather damage.
  • Medical payments coverage. Being injured in an accident typically comes with expensive medical bills, but medical payment coverage can help. This coverage pays for hospital stays, lost wages, and physical therapy.
  • Custom parts and equipment coverage. Standard insurance doesn’t pay for parts you add to your car, including stereos, paint jobs, or navigation systems. Progressive offers up to $5,000 in coverage.
  • Rental car reimbursement. If your car is awaiting repairs after an accident, Progressive will cover your rental car. Most policies include between $40 and $60 a day for coverage.
  • Roadside assistance. Progressive’s roadside assistance covers towing, flat tire changes, fuel delivery, lock-out services, and other mechanical issues.
  • GAP insurance. Also called Loan/lease payoff, this insurance pays the remainder of your car loan if your car gets totaled and you owe more than it’s worth.

So, how do you know which insurance you need? A Progressive customer service representative can help you determine what’s best for you, but you can get an idea by looking at your car.

If your car is older, you own it outright, and you can afford to replace it, buying the minimum insurance required by your state will give you the cheapest rates. Most states require liability insurance, while 14 require uninsured motorist. A Progressive agent will know your state’s requirements.

Most lenders require full coverage auto insurance on a car you don’t own, which includes liability, comprehensive, collision, and uninsured motorist. Whichever you need, Progressive can help.

Progressive Usage-Based Insurance

Usage-based car insurance is an alternative to standard coverage plans. Rather than giving you a flat rate, a usage-based program determines your rates by how much you drive. For example, you might save money with a usage-based plan if you drive less than 10,000 miles yearly.

Progressive doesn’t have a specific usage-based plan. Instead, Progressive offers Snapshot, a monitoring program that tracks how many miles you drive, when you drive, and how you drive.

If you're driving less and you have good driving habits -- or want to improve them -- try Progressive Snapshot. You can get a 5% discount for enrolling and up to 20% off your rate, which could really help younger drivers.

Eric Stauffer Licensed Insurance Agent

Progressive claims drivers who use Snapshot save an average of $146 per year, but only if they have good driving habits. If you speed, make hard stops, or drive late at night, Progressive Snapshot might raise your rates.

Many Progressive insurance reviews mention their rates went up after agreeing to use Snapshot, but Progressive claims the increase was due to unsafe driving habits.

Other Progressive Car Insurance Products

There are several additional products you can buy with a Progressive insurance quote.

For starters, Progressive offers rideshare insurance as an add-on policy. Progressive’s rideshare policy isn’t as expensive as a separate policy and provides valuable coverage if you drive for companies like Uber or Lyft.

You can also sign up for a disappearing deductible on collision and comprehensive insurance. For every six-month period you spend claims-free, Progressive will decrease your deductible by $50. You can accumulate these decreases until your deductible reaches $0.

Other benefits include access to Mexico travel coverage, online car shopping tools, and mechanical breakdown insurance in some states.

What other insurance types does Progressive sell?

Progressive might struggle with some customer complaints, but there’s no denying it offers a great selection of insurance. You can bundle your auto insurance with the following products:

  • Boat and other personal watercrafts
  • Classic car
  • ATV/UTV
  • Homeowners, condos, or renters
  • Motorcycle
  • RV/Trailer
  • Flood
  • Snowmobile
  • Commercial

Progressive quotes for these products are as easy as car insurance quotes. You can also earn a discount on both when you buy another policy from Progressive, and you can manage your coverages easily online.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Insurance Rates Breakdown

In general, Progressive rates are mid-level compared to other companies. However, the rates you might see from Progressive depend on various factors.

Several factors affect your car insurance rates. Insurance companies look at your location, age, gender, driving history, and car’s make and model to set rates. Then, companies use unique formulas to determine what you’ll pay for insurance.

The difference in formulas is why comparing companies is vital — you might see much higher rates at one company than at another.

Progressive offers affordable rates for older people and drivers with a DUI. Teens will probably see much higher rates than other companies. However, the only way to see what a Progressive auto quote might look like for you is to request one.

Progressive Rates by Coverage

Although many factors affect your insurance, one of the biggest is how much insurance you want to buy.

For example, the cheapest rates you can find come with your state’s minimum auto insurance requirements. Alternatively, you can buy full coverage to ensure your car is always protected, but you’ll see much higher rates.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level and Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$68$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

There is a significant difference between minimum and full coverage, but Progressive tends to do well with both. It doesn’t offer the lowest prices, but rates are affordable.

Choosing how much insurance you need is vital in shopping for coverage. Minimum coverage is a good option for people on a tight budget with older cars they can afford to replace.

On the other hand, full coverage is usually required when you have a car lease or loan. In general, full coverage is a good idea for any driver, as long as it’s within your budget.

Car insurance can be confusing, but there’s no need to stress — an insurance representative will help you determine how much coverage you need when you sign up for a policy.

Progressive Rates by Age

Age is one of the most significant factors affecting your car insurance rates. Auto insurance costs more for young drivers because they’re more likely to engage in risky driving behaviors. because they’re more likely to engage in risky driving behaviors.

Similarly, older drivers tend to pay more for their insurance because of an increased risk of accidents.

You can check how Progressive treats drivers by age below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age and Gender
Insurance Company18-Year-Old Female18-Year-Old Male30-Year-Old Female30-Year-Old Male45-Year-Old Female45-Year-Old Male55-Year-Old Female55-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female65-Year-Old Male
AAA$328$378$99$103$88$86$83$81$86$84
Allstate$180$203$74$79$59$59$56$56$58$57
American Family$305$414$116$137$115$117$109$111$113$114
Cure$405$461$125$128$114$111$108$105$111$109
Farmers$597$629$160$167$139$139$132$131$136$136
Geico$220$254$90$87$80$80$76$76$78$78
Hartford$407$469$126$133$115$113$109$107$112$109
Liberty Mutual$626$626$174$200$171$174$162$165$96$170
Nationwide$303$387$124$136$113$115$107$109$113$114
Progressive$591$662$131$136$112$105$106$100$109$103
State Farm$229$284$94$103$86$86$82$82$84$84
Travelers$530$740$99$108$98$99$93$94$96$97
U.S. Average$416$501$128$139$119$119$113$113$117$117

Progressive doesn’t exclude young drivers from insurance policies, but teens will probably find cheaper rates with a different company. Here’s a look at how Progressive’s annual rates for teenagers compare to other companies.

However, Progressive car insurance quotes for older drivers might be more affordable.

Progressive Rates After an Accident

Having an at-fault accident on your driving record can increase your rates dramatically. Whether you already have an insurance policy or you’re looking for a new plan, you’ll see much higher rates until the accident falls off your record. Find out how long an accident stays on your record.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentClean Record
AAA$220$180
Allstate$225$166
American Family$176$116
Farmers$198$140
Geico$132$95
Hartford$230$175
Liberty Mutual$234$177
Nationwide$161$140
Progressive$186$120
State Farm$150$105
Travelers$200$160
U.S. Average$172$123

Drivers with accidents on their record typically see rates around the national average with Progressive.

Progressive Rates After a DUI

A DUI on your record is one of the worst indicators of the risk you present to an insurance company. Many insurers will drop a driver after a DUI, particularly if it’s not the first offense.

You’ll always see insurance rates increase after a DUI, but some companies are more forgiving than others. Compare how Progressive handles DUI rates below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyOne AccidentOne DUIOne TicketClean Record
AAA$220$240$220$180
Allstate$225$225$195$166
American Family$176$176$131$116
Farmers$198$198$176$140
Geico$132$132$125$95
Hartford$230$250$215$175
Liberty Mutual$234$234$217$177
Nationwide$161$161$175$140
Progressive$186$186$160$120
State Farm$150$102$138$105
Travelers$200$139$205$160
U.S. Average$172$173$152$123

If you have one on your record, you should consider Progressive, as it offers some of the best auto insurance for drivers with DUIs. Progressive’s DUI rates are much lower than many other companies.

Progressive Rates for Drivers With Poor Credit

Many drivers don’t realize credit checks also determine your rates. Some states don’t allow insurance companies to factor credit checks, but most do. Consequently, car insurance will cost more with a low credit score.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score
Insurance CompanyPoor CreditFair CreditGood Credit
AAA$245$165$135
Allstate$296$197$166
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$161$140
Geico$148$100$82
Hartford$230$155$120
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Nationwide$166$133$120
Progressive$206$138$109
State Farm$200$118$91
Travelers$194$128$107
U.S. Average$226$148$123

As you can see, Progressive runs a little higher for drivers with lower credit scores. However, the difference is negligible enough that other factors might make your overall rate more appealing.

You can also lower your rates by increasing your credit score.

Read more: How Credit Scores Affect Auto Insurance Rates

Progressive Insurance Discounts Available

Progressive goes beyond common auto insurance discounts with PerkShare, offering savings opportunities on everything from mortgages to restaurants to health services.

Laura Gunn Insurance and Finance Expert

Car insurance discounts are one of the best ways to save money on your bill. Drivers interested in Progressive are lucky regarding discounts — Progressive offers many ways to save. Consider the following options:

  • Bundling. Progressive offers more than car insurance. You can save about 5% if you buy two or more policies from Progressive.
  • Continuous coverage. All insurance companies frown upon coverage lapses. Progressive discounts you based on how long you’ve had coverage, even with another company.
  • Teen driver. Earn this discount by adding a driver under 18 to your policy.
  • Good student. If you’re a full-time student under 23 who maintains a B average or better, you’ll get about 10% off your insurance.
  • Student away from home. Any full-time student who lives more than 100 miles from home and leaves their car behind will save.
  • Multi-car. If you have multiple cars in your household, you can save about 4% by insuring them on the same policy.
  • Online quote. If you get a quote from Progressive online, you’ll save about 7%. You only have to start the quote online — the discount is active even if a representative finishes it.
  • Sign online. You can save about 9% on your policy if you sign your documents online.
  • Homeowners. People who own their homes and have insurance can save up to 10%, even if the coverage isn’t with Progressive.
  • Paperless. Skipping paper documents saves Progressive money, and those savings get passed on to you. To get this discount, you also need to sign your documents online.
  • Automatic payment. Progressive makes it easy to set up automatic payments. Not only is auto-pay convenient, but you also get a discount.
  • Pay in full. You’ll save a little if you pay for your entire policy upfront rather than monthly payments.

If you decide that Progressive is the right company, your discount eligibility gets checked during your application. Whether through the online form or with a representative, Progressive ensures you get every discount possible.

How Progressive Insurance Ranks Among Providers

When it comes to its competitors, Progressive auto insurance rates are not bad. It’s not the cheapest auto insurance company on the block, but it’s not the most expensive either. Progressive’s average annual rates for an adult with a clean driving record are about mid-range when compared to the other top insurance companies in the U.S.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who should buy Progressive insurance?

Progressive is a solid choice for most drivers but is especially suited for high-risk drivers with a DUI on their record. Regardless of your situation, it’s worth getting a quote from Progressive.

How do you get a quote from Progressive?

Getting a car insurance quote from Progressive is simple — you can get a quote on the mobile app, online, or by phone.

How do you pay for your insurance with Progressive?

There are six easy ways to make a Progressive insurance payment: through the app, online, by text, mail, automatic payments, or phone.

Can you cancel your Progressive car insurance online?

No, but you can cancel by speaking with a representative by phone, email, or mail.

Does Progressive cover rental cars?

While Progressive won’t pay for it, your personal insurance policy applies to any car you rent. So, for example, if you have collision and comprehensive insurance on your standard policy, you’ll have the same coverage on your rental car.

 

Additionally, you can buy rental reimbursement, and Progressive will cover up to $60 a day for a temporary vehicle.

Is Snapshot worth it?

It depends on how you drive. If you’re a safe, low-mileage driver, you might get a sizable discount on your insurance. However, if you drive late at night, spend a lot of time behind the wheel, or have unsafe driving habits, Snapshot might end up costing you instead.

How does Progressive compare to other companies?

Progressive is an average company compared to its competitors. Progressive’s rates are similar to the national average but might be cheaper for some drivers. Progressive auto insurance customer service falls behind, though.

What is Progressive Auto Insurance?

Progressive Auto Insurance is an insurance company that provides coverage for automobiles. They offer a wide range of auto insurance policies to meet the needs of their customers, including liability coverage, comprehensive coverage, collision coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and more.

How can I contact Progressive Auto Insurance?

You can contact Progressive Auto Insurance by visiting their website and accessing their contact information. They provide a customer service phone number, email address, and live chat option to assist you with your inquiries. Additionally, you can find local Progressive agents who can help you with your insurance needs.

What factors can affect the cost of my auto insurance with Progressive?

Several factors can influence the cost of your auto insurance policy with Progressive. Common factors include your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, your age and gender, your location, your credit history, and the coverage options you select.

 

Progressive utilizes its own rating system, so it’s best to contact Progressive Auto Insurance directly or obtain a quote to get accurate pricing based on your specific circumstances.

Who is better Geico or Progressive?

Geico and Progressive are pretty evenly matched when it comes to overall quality, so it depends on the cost and type of coverage you’re looking for. For example, Geico is your best bet if getting the cheapest rate is your priority, while Progressive is better when it comes to discount programs and rates for high-risk drivers.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Luke Williams

Insurance and Finance Writer

Luke Williams is a finance, insurance, real estate, and home improvement expert based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, specializing in writing and researching for consumers. He studied finance, economics, and communications at Pennsylvania State University and graduated with a degree in Corporate Communications.  His insurance and finance writing has been featured on Spoxor, The Good Men Project...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Joel Ohman

Certified Financial Planner

Joel Ohman is the CEO of a private equity backed digital media company. He is a CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes. He has an MBA from the University of South Florida. Joe...

Certified Financial Planner

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Progressive Insurance

4.06 (13,126 reviews)
1
January 10, 2024

fedoria7

DO NOT HONOR CLAIMS WILL DENY YOU INSTANTLY

Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO B...
Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO BEGIN THE NEW YEAR, ALSO THE CLIAMS REPRESENTIVES ARE VERY RUDE AND TWIST FACTS TO COVER THEMSELVES... DO NOT RECOMMEND PROGRESSIVE TO ANYONE!!!
1
January 14, 2023

FlyntRock78

Horrible customer service

It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace m...
It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace my vehicle. I sent him local market evidence of similar vehicles that are selling for more than double his offer. This was 3pm on a Friday. He had all the info he needed to make a phone call if he even needed to and then call me back with a real offer on my totaled vehicle so we could just settle and move forward. He simply replied that he would get back to me in a week!!! I could hear the frustration in his voice. For not accepting his low ball offer, I'm now being punished by him personally by getting put off yet another week without a vehicle. He couldn't care less about what I'm going through and it showed with his extremely poor customer service and lack of remorse over my situation which he only made worse. I only wish there was an option for zero stars because that's what Progressive really deserves.
1
November 28, 2022

Leah_p

The worst

Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert Wh...
Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert While it was stolen And i am talking about a brand new vehicle so it wasn't like it was an old car That might have mechanical issues Please don't use this insurance company It's nothing but my A headache if you actually have to use your insurance
1
July 10, 2021

RFK

Get lost Flo

Never again will I use progressive. You can’t hardly talk to anyone with any knowledge and if you try to sign up with the company on the phone they charge you extra money because you used a person.
1
May 24, 2021

Ace_1

This insurance [REDACTED WORD]

I will never go through this insurance company again they the sorry company I will never give them my money again their communication skills are off they giving you a run for your money I give their [REDACTED WORD] 0 stars whoever is [REDACTED NAME] they need to let him go making their company look bad and don’t know how to talk to anybody never give this company won’t get none of my money
1
May 18, 2021

KobuSosho

Random charge after I already paid premium in full

They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ?...
They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ? After I upload the proofs, it takes them almost a week to review but they are giving you so little time between the confirmation request and the due date for the extra premium. They shove the new charge in your face so quickly and actively with emails and multiple mails but when they reject your proofs, you are only notified by mail, which I am under the impression that they intentionally to make things slow for you to hard to get out of the extra charge. They are very nit picking about the proofs you provided also. When you called them, they say only certain information is needed but after they are sent, they will say they can't accept it, making the whole process such a hassle. Do not use them, as they will throw extra charges at you for no reason, or a made up reason in my case, since they already trapped you with the insurance that you already paid for. Either pay for the random bills or no insurance coverage for you
1
April 8, 2021

Suegoo

Worst insurance company and customer service.

My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with ...
My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with the bank. Thieves. Who goes into someone's wallet without asking?
4
March 24, 2021

Joseph02

Roadside assistance- waste of money

The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some rea...
The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some reassurance it would be there in the morning and went to bed. I woke at 5AM, still no truck!!!!! I call again and they tell me ETA is 4 hours! In addition to my monthly fee, I paid for this tow!! I am livid and say I want a refund. They just keep telling me they are sorry for the inconvenience and the truck will be the in 4 hours until I'm so [REDACTED WORD] I hang up! Don't waste your money, find your own tow company and save yourself the monthly fee and over 12 hours of stress and waiting!!!
1
March 22, 2021

as92808

$50 cancellation fee!?!?

I have had several Progressive insurance policies in the past and I had auto coverage on two of my cars recently. I moved out of state and went to change the policy to my new state and saw that the new rate just wasn't competitive, so I switched to AllState. I got my final bill from Progressive and they added a $50 cancellation fee. I called them to tell them I wanted to pay the remaining balance, but I refused to pay a cancellation fee of $50...
I have had several Progressive insurance policies in the past and I had auto coverage on two of my cars recently. I moved out of state and went to change the policy to my new state and saw that the new rate just wasn't competitive, so I switched to AllState. I got my final bill from Progressive and they added a $50 cancellation fee. I called them to tell them I wanted to pay the remaining balance, but I refused to pay a cancellation fee of $50. They told me that was mandated by the state (which is a total lie). I had insurance with another company and cancelled it mid term and was never charged a $50 fee previously. They told me they would not remove the fee so that I could pay the remaining balance that I actually owed and if I did not pay the cancellation fee they were going to send it to collections. Be aware of this before ever considering this company for anything. They have lost a customer for life over $50 and will be bad mouthed on every platform available to me for as long as I live.
5
February 3, 2021

agm_

You should get progressive

Progressive is a great company! It helps me save money on auto insurance, and the better you drive the more you save.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption