Foremost Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Need insurance for your RV? Foremost auto insurance offers coverage for mobile homes, fifth wheels, popups, travel trailers, and Class A & C motorhomes.

UPDATED: Nov 27, 2023Fact Checked

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage. Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywrite...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Nov 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 27, 2023Fact Checked
3.5
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Foremost Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$114

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Final Verdict: Review of Foremost Insurance Company

Foremost Insurance Company, the topic of this Foremost auto insurance review, is a specialty insurance company that is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance Group of Companies.

Foremost also has several subsidiaries of their own, making them a rather large company.

If you are considering this insurer, then you will want to know what companies they are associated with, how and where products are sold, and the opinions of current customers.

Enter your ZIP code below to get your free online auto insurance quotes today!

[su_box title="Things to Remember..." style="default”]
  • Foremost Insurance Company is a specialty insurance company that is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance Group of Companies
  • Foremost is available in 49 states and they currently have over 1.3M customers
  • Foremost is often complimented on how quickly they pay their claims
[/su_box] Foremost Insurance Company, the topic of this Foremost auto insurance review, is a specialty insurance company that is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance Group of Companies. Foremost also has several subsidiaries of their own, making them a rather large company. If you are considering this insurer, then you will want to know what companies they are associated with, how and where products are sold, and the opinions of current customers. Enter your ZIP code below to get your free online auto insurance quotes today!  

What You Should Know About Foremost Insurance Group

Foremost insurance agents are independent, which means that you can find a local independent agent to see if they sell Foremost insurance.

They have a find an agent option on their website. Foremost also sells insurance products directly to their customers if they call into the company.

Although someone has to be a licensed agent in order to do this, you would actually be calling the customer service line if you want to purchase from Foremost directly.

You should keep in mind that using an independent agent means that you will be able to get quotes from multiple insurance agencies, not just Foremost alone.

This may go a long way towards saving you money on your auto insurance policy.

Foremost claims that there are over 2000 agents that represent their company in every state but Hawaii.

Foremost Insurance Group Locations

Foremost’s corporate office is located at:

5600 Beech Tree Lane
Caledonia, MI 49316

This office is near Grand Rapids Michigan, where the company was originally founded.

Foremost also has regional claims offices in:

  • Pennsylvania
  • Florida
  • Texas
  • California

Foremost Insurance Group Reviews

The reviews about Foremost are very positive.

People who use Foremost for their insurance needs like that the customer service people are easy to work with. It is also easy to file a claim on their website.

They have such a wide variety of insurance products and that the company has very friendly employees.

In addition, Foremost is often complimented on how quickly they pay their claims.

In the case of claims for this company, you can file claims directly with Foremost; however, they do recommend that you contact your independent agent to file your claim.

The exception here is if you purchased your products directly from the company rather than through an independent agent.

Foremost Insurance Group Careers

If you want a job with Foremost, you will have to visit the Farmers Insurance Group website. Their careers are separated in a number of categories including:

  • Administration
  • Accounting
  • Actuarial
  • Agents
  • Auditing
  • Claims
  • Customer Service
  • Product Management
  • eBusiness
  • Facilities
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • IT
  • Legal
  • Marketing
  • Operations
  • Communications
  • Underwriting

Full-time employees of Foremost/Farmers also qualify for a myriad of benefits including:

  • Health insurance
  • Vision insurance
  • Dental insurance
  • Paid vacations
  • Retirement plans
  • Production bonuses

Foremost Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Some of the companies that are part of Foremost are:

  • Foremost
  • County Mutual Insurance Company
  • Insurance Company
  • Signature Insurance Company
  • Lloyds of Texas
  • Property and Casualty Insurance Company
  • The American Federation Insurance Company

Foremost does specialize in insurance for mobile home, travel trailers, fifth wheels and so on; however, they also offer all of the standard auto insurance types and solutions that most major insurance companies offer.

Foremost is available in 49 states and they currently have over 1.3M customers.

Foremost’s claim to fame, as it were, is that they were the first insurance company that provided insurance specifically for travel trailers.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Foremost Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

There are two things that you need to know about getting a quote from Foremost.

You can get a quote from their website.  There is a tab where you can go to get an auto insurance quote.

Foremost sells auto insurance in the 43 states, including the following states:

  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania

If you live in any other state, you are going to have to find other alternatives to foremost for your auto insurance needs.

As mentioned above, you can go to the Farmers website to determine if Farmers has a policy for your state and if it is affordable, or, you could try another option which will give you more choices.

If you enter your ZIP code below, you will have the opportunity to compare auto insurance rates of several top companies, all of which sell insurance products in your state. Try it now!

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I get auto insurance coverage for my RV or other recreational vehicles from Foremost?

Yes, Foremost Auto Insurance offers coverage for various recreational vehicles, including mobile homes, fifth wheels, popups, travel trailers, and Class A & C motorhomes. They specialize in providing insurance solutions for these types of vehicles.

What makes Foremost unique in the insurance industry?

Foremost is recognized for being the first insurance company to provide insurance specifically for travel trailers. They have a strong focus on recreational vehicle insurance and have subsidiaries like County Mutual Insurance Company, Signature Insurance Company, Lloyds of Texas, and more. With over 1.3 million customers, Foremost is available in 49 states and offers a range of insurance solutions for various vehicles.

Can I bundle my auto insurance policy with other insurance products from Foremost?

Yes, Foremost offers bundling options that allow you to combine your auto insurance policy with other insurance products they offer. Bundling policies with the same insurance provider can often lead to discounts and cost savings.

Does Foremost offer roadside assistance coverage?

Yes, Foremost provides optional roadside assistance coverage that can be added to your auto insurance policy. This coverage typically includes services such as towing, fuel delivery, lockout assistance, and tire changes in case of emergencies.

Can I customize my coverage limits and deductibles with Foremost Auto Insurance?

Yes, Foremost allows policyholders to customize their coverage limits and deductibles based on their specific needs and preferences. You can work with your insurance agent to determine the appropriate coverage levels that suit your situation.

Can I make changes to my policy or add additional coverage during the policy term?

Yes, you can typically make changes to your Foremost Auto Insurance policy during the policy term. If you want to add or modify coverage, adjust deductibles, or make any other changes, reach out to your insurance agent or contact Foremost directly to discuss your options.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage. Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywrite...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Foremost Insurance Group

3.53 (185 reviews)
1
September 8, 2023

Dubious_Millennial

Stay away if you want a vaguely 21st century experience

Guess what I had in my car until today? An insurance card from Farmers stating I had a policy with them as of 02/03/2023 good maximum a year. Guess when my policy was canceled with them, as I JUST FOUND OUT TODAY (Sept. 2023)? 02/03/2023. Yes, this is a massive adulting fail on my part and I m not proud of it (and am also insured with a company other than Farmers/Foremost/AAA as of today). <-- PLEASE note that if you are confused about why I am t...
Guess what I had in my car until today? An insurance card from Farmers stating I had a policy with them as of 02/03/2023 good maximum a year. Guess when my policy was canceled with them, as I JUST FOUND OUT TODAY (Sept. 2023)? 02/03/2023. Yes, this is a massive adulting fail on my part and I m not proud of it (and am also insured with a company other than Farmers/Foremost/AAA as of today). <-- PLEASE note that if you are confused about why I am talking about Farmers and writing a review for Foremost, well, join the club. HOWEVER I have it on good intelligence that I was in fact insured by Foremost, and Foremost's portal was the last one that worked for me; please see below; if this hurts your brain rest assured it hurts mine too. How does this come about your say. Well gather round and I shall tell ye the tale. I move in early 2023 and try to contact AAA, who I initially contacted to get insurance, to advise them of this to update my policy. The AAA rep is after all prominently listed on the Farmers/Foremost portal (when I can get access to it). But he informs me to inform them. Farmers or Foremost? I have no clue, as I once had access to an online portal through Farmers, until I got a cryptic message and didn’t. I think it’s been transferred to a Foremost portal (who is Foremost? No one has explained anything), which I accessed once I think?? I manage to log in and inform them of the move. Okey dokey they say. They quote me a slightly higher rate. Righty ho I say. I log out. I print out my shiny new insurance card. I don’t check my bank account which is linked to AutoPay (my fatal error). I just assume all is well. I get a few emails from them saying “Billing documents available” and I go, well alrighty, that is how they tell me they’re doing AutoPay, leastways that’s how it’s always been in the past. I continue my prudent driving habits until I need to share my auto ins card and decide to give pay my old portal friends a visit. Oh no. Oh NO. I call a Farmers lady who tells me I haven’t had insurance since 02/03/23 and... how did I not know? I tell her I never got any notices? She says yes you did? I said they all looked like the generic Autopay notices. Also what is Foremost? She says they were giving you insurance actually. Not Farmers. Farmers is just the name on your card. But you could have logged into both portals. I say you are very nice but actually, no I very much could not, I could not log into Farmers it was very unceremonious about a year ago, and confusing. The last portal I could get into was Foremost. I say I am an adult in 2023 and have tons of things on Autopay. I did not check my bank statement for the roughly $50/month charge from Farmers/Foremost/whoever. Yes I should have done this. I did not. Adulting fail. However your systems are also BADLY designed. She is clearly preparing to take this to her boss (she cares! she's a darling!) and says, if this were a month or so late I could have done something. But then she starts going on about how she has to Demonstrate that I haven't known and Gather evidence and I'm like, lady you seem nice but I need to go get me some actual insurance. And given I've been derelict for over half a year now, I'm not going to find anything worthwhile from your reputable establishment, so kindly I must take my leave kthxbye. Have I mentioned the charge that caused me to lose insurance back on 02/03/23 (again despite the fact that I also was able to print out a card good 02/03/23 that very day)? THREE. DOLLARS. THAT was the rub and it couldn’t go through on Autopay because Reasons and they sent me a notice about it to my email (I opted into paperless billing like a fool) and it looked just like their notices saying hey we’re doing the Autopay thing and have I mentioned their portal was a nightmare. Anyway I am still ultimately the one responsible to carry auto insurance (which I have consistently done since licensed and driving a vehicle) and had I had an accident, my ignorance here would not have been an excuse. Very much aware of this and not proud. Easily the biggest adulting fault of my 30s, or the second biggest after marrying my ex. (Are you happy, Foremost/Farmers/AAA? You are being compared to highly unfortunate ex spousal units. NOT A GOOD LOOK.) So tldr, PLEASE stay away from these people if you a) want to know who you actually are getting your insurance from; b) want a vaguely 21st century billing and payment experience; c) want the space time continuum to make some sort of kind of sense. Again. Not saying this wasn't also a major fail on my part. It absolutely was. Over and out.
5
February 16, 2020

Soooonz

Saved me and my wife $70 on a bundled plan.

I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my question...
I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my questions when I called them. My wife is also on the same plan and we were bundled and saved around $70. Overall I'm very happy with them.
2.5
January 31, 2020

fuckYou

Foremost review

foremost insurance is a fraud overcharge customers for cars will never use them again a recommend people not to use them at all
3
June 11, 2019

SamanthaLynne

Mostly Good, Little bad to say!

My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the ...
My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the only incentive is to cancel my policy with them and find something else. I know the answer they're going to give me when I ask why they raise my rates every few months they're going to answer "Oh, everyone does in your area. All the insurance companies do it!
4.5
January 15, 2019

AN

Foremost review

My claim Adjuster is very helpful and quick. Good customer services that help me go through very step to finish to repair to my car.
5
December 13, 2018

AllBowl7

Great people and coverage but pricey

It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying th...
It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying the insurance ourselves.
5
November 20, 2018

Goodgirl49

Great Service

My agent takes the time to explain my coverage and options to me. Gives me the opportunity to shop around prior to committing
5
September 26, 2018

Hearty

Reliable company

Very reliable company. Agents always answer the phone with good manners and friendly tone of voice.
2
September 15, 2018

Reivers

Foremost raised by insurance premium by 40%

Are used to be a 21st century insurance customer and Foremost bought them out. When I received my first bill from Foremost my insurance went up 40% ! I will seek new insurance clothes and hopefully reduce my premium!
4
August 15, 2018

YEETYEET69

Highly Recommend

My rates have been the same since I've started and the company has helped me get as many discounts as I can
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption