Foremost Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Need insurance for your RV? Foremost auto insurance offers coverage for mobile homes, fifth wheels, popups, travel trailers, and Class A & C motorhomes.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.6
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Foremost Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Foremost Insurance Company, the topic of this Foremost auto insurance review, is a specialty insurance company that is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance Group of Companies.

Foremost also has several subsidiaries of their own, making them a rather large company.

If you are considering this insurer, then you will want to know what companies they are associated with, how and where products are sold, and the opinions of current customers.

 

Is Foremost Insurance Group a Good Choice?

Some of the companies that are part of Foremost are:

  • Foremost
  • County Mutual Insurance Company
  • Insurance Company
  • Signature Insurance Company
  • Lloyds of Texas
  • Property and Casualty Insurance Company
  • The American Federation Insurance Company

Foremost does specialize in insurance for mobile home, travel trailers, fifth wheels and so on; however, they also offer all of the standard auto insurance types and solutions that most major insurance companies offer.

Foremost is available in 49 states and they currently have over 1.3M customers.

Foremost’s claim to fame, as it were, is that they were the first insurance company that provided insurance specifically for travel trailers.

 

Foremost Auto Insurance Group Agents

Foremost insurance agents are independent, which means that you can find a local independent agent to see if they sell Foremost insurance.

They have a find an agent option on their website. Foremost also sells insurance products directly to their customers if they call into the company.

Although someone has to be a licensed agent in order to do this, you would actually be calling the customer service line if you want to purchase from Foremost directly.

You should keep in mind that using an independent agent means that you will be able to get quotes from multiple insurance agencies, not just Foremost alone.

This may go a long way towards saving you money on your auto insurance policy.

Foremost claims that there are over 2000 agents that represent their company in every state but Hawaii.

Foremost Insurance Group Locations

Foremost’s corporate office is located at:

5600 Beech Tree Lane
Caledonia, MI 49316

This office is near Grand Rapids Michigan, where the company was originally founded.

Foremost also has regional claims offices in:

  • Pennsylvania
  • Florida
  • Texas
  • California

Foremost Insurance Group Reviews

The reviews about Foremost are very positive.

People who use Foremost for their insurance needs like that the customer service people are easy to work with. It is also easy to file a claim on their website.

They have such a wide variety of insurance products and that the company has very friendly employees.

In addition, Foremost is often complimented on how quickly they pay their claims.

In the case of claims for this company, you can file claims directly with Foremost; however, they do recommend that you contact your independent agent to file your claim.

The exception here is if you purchased your products directly from the company rather than through an independent agent.

Foremost Insurance Group Careers

If you want a job with Foremost, you will have to visit the Farmers Insurance Group website. Their careers are separated in a number of categories including:

  • Administration
  • Accounting
  • Actuarial
  • Agents
  • Auditing
  • Claims
  • Customer Service
  • Product Management
  • eBusiness
  • Facilities
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • IT
  • Legal
  • Marketing
  • Operations
  • Communications
  • Underwriting

Full-time employees of Foremost/Farmers also qualify for a myriad of benefits including:

  • Health insurance
  • Vision insurance
  • Dental insurance
  • Paid vacations
  • Retirement plans
  • Production bonuses

Foremost Insurance Group Quotes

There are two things that you need to know about getting a quote from Foremost.

You can get a quote from their website.  There is a tab where you can go to get an auto insurance quote.

Foremost sells auto insurance in the 43 states, including the following states:

  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania

If you live in any other state, you are going to have to find other alternatives to foremost for your auto insurance needs.

As mentioned above, you can go to the Farmers website to determine if Farmers has a policy for your state and if it is affordable, or, you could try another option which will give you more choices.

If you enter your ZIP code below, you will have the opportunity to compare auto insurance rates of several top companies, all of which sell insurance products in your state. Try it now!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Foremost Insurance Group

3.57 (181 reviews)
5
February 16, 2020

Soooonz

Saved me and my wife $70 on a bundled plan.

I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my question...
I've been with them for 3 years and have been extremely happy with their company. They helped me manage my internet billing which was new to me so I don't even have to get a money order to send payment. This saves me a bunch of time. They managed to cut my rate by around $70 compared to my last provider and were able to get me the same coverage as well as towing for 50 miles. They were a smooth company to work with and always answered my questions when I called them. My wife is also on the same plan and we were bundled and saved around $70. Overall I'm very happy with them.
2.5
January 31, 2020

fuckYou

Foremost review

foremost insurance is a fraud overcharge customers for cars will never use them again a recommend people not to use them at all
3
June 11, 2019

SamanthaLynne

Mostly Good, Little bad to say!

My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the ...
My experience so far with Foremost has been pretty good. It just seems that every 6 months maybe even sooner, but I know every six months my policy renews and the rates go up! So I don't understand, why I have yet to call them and ask. So it's a little frustrating especially when you're a good driver you know, like Progressive says, Safe Driver discount a good driver discount. No accidents no tickets no incentive to stay with that company?, the only incentive is to cancel my policy with them and find something else. I know the answer they're going to give me when I ask why they raise my rates every few months they're going to answer "Oh, everyone does in your area. All the insurance companies do it!
4.5
January 15, 2019

AN

Foremost review

My claim Adjuster is very helpful and quick. Good customer services that help me go through very step to finish to repair to my car.
5
December 13, 2018

AllBowl7

Great people and coverage but pricey

It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying th...
It was a great policy that covered everything. My husband got hit by another car and we had no problems with the insurance company, they were easy to deal with and he got a rental while the car was in the shop. However we switched to another company because after years with them the rates went up too much and we found the same policy for half the price somewhere else. It may have been because we switched from buying through an agency to buying the insurance ourselves.
5
November 20, 2018

Goodgirl49

Great Service

My agent takes the time to explain my coverage and options to me. Gives me the opportunity to shop around prior to committing
5
September 26, 2018

Hearty

Reliable company

Very reliable company. Agents always answer the phone with good manners and friendly tone of voice.
2
September 15, 2018

Reivers

Foremost raised by insurance premium by 40%

Are used to be a 21st century insurance customer and Foremost bought them out. When I received my first bill from Foremost my insurance went up 40% ! I will seek new insurance clothes and hopefully reduce my premium!
4
August 15, 2018

YEETYEET69

Highly Recommend

My rates have been the same since I've started and the company has helped me get as many discounts as I can
4
August 14, 2018

Nle1882

Foremost Review

Foremost is an excellent insurance company because they are reliable, and trustworthy with helpful customer service.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption