Armed Forces Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Armed Forces auto Insurance is a reciprocal exchange insurance company. Each insured member contributes to the exchange, thus lowering overall premiums for policyholders.

UPDATED: Dec 20, 2023Fact Checked

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage. Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywrite...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 20, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 20, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 20, 2023Fact Checked
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Armed Forces Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$142

A.M. Best rating:

B+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Armed Forces Insurance is a reciprocal exchange insurance company.
  • Armed Forces is led by former military leaders who understand the many challenges that armed services personnel face being away from home for extended periods of time.
  • Armed Forces Insurance has a BBB rating of A+ with only two registered complaints in the past three years.

Cons

  • Armed Forces Insurance is an insurance company with a focus on former and current military personnel only.

Final Verdict: Review of Armed Forces Insurance

Armed Forces Insurance is an insurance company with a focus on former and current military personnel and is one of the best insurance providers for veterans and military personnel.

Armed Forces is run by former military leaders who understand the many challenges that armed services personnel face being away from home for extended periods of time.

Don’t wait until it’s too late! Start comparing affordable auto insurance quotes by entering your ZIP code above!

[su_box title="Things to remember..." style="default"]
  • Armed Forces Insurance is a reciprocal exchange insurance company
  • Armed Forces is led by former military leaders who understand the many challenges that armed services personnel face being away from home for extended periods of time
  • Armed Forces Insurance has a BBB rating of A+ with only two registered complaints in the past three years
[/su_box] Armed Forces Insurance is an insurance company with a focus on former and current military personnel and is one of the best insurance providers for veterans and military personnel. Armed Forces is run by former military leaders who understand the many challenges that armed services personnel face being away from home for extended periods of time.

What You Should Know About Armed Forces Insurance

Armed Forces received good reviews for their customer service and their products. In addition, they have a BBB rating of A+ and have had only two registered complaints with the BBB in the past three years.

In fact, a search online only yielded two total complaints against the company while we found dozens of compliments.

The two complaints were in regards to a breach of contract. In one case, the person complained that even his state’s Department of Insurance wouldn’t help him, which suggests that he didn’t have a legal complaint.

The most common compliment paid to the Armed Forces Insurance Company is that they have an excellent and friendly customer service department. Other compliments were in regards to their quick claim payments as well as their inexpensive prices.

Armed Forces Careers

At the time of this posting, Armed Forces Insurance did not have any positions available with the company, although they are accepting applications for potential future openings.

In order to become part of the Armed Forces Insurance team, you do have to be a former military or be a former government worker. Essentially, if you qualify for their insurance, then you have the basic qualifications to work for the company.

Armed Forces Agents

Armed Forces Insurance has an interesting way of issuing their insurance policies. They have their own licensed agents, however, these agents aren’t licensed in every state, although the company is.

When you apply for auto insurance through a state where there are no agents licensed, instead of sending you to an independent agent, Armed Forces Insurance sells their policies through Progressive Insurance.

You will find the Progressive options in 37 of the 50 states and in Washington, DC.

You will find that the only states that Armed Forces Insurance sells auto insurance under their own name in California and New York, despite the fact that they have a physical location in Leavenworth, KS.

Armed Forces Customer Services

Armed Forces Insurance has somewhat standard business hours for their customer service department, which is Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. CST. After that, you will have to leave a message if you want to make any changes to your policy.

On their website, you will find that you can also directly email specific areas if you have a specific subject you want to talk about, such as sales, customer service, billing, claims or employment.

Their claims service is also based on the above mentioned hours. In addition, you cannot file a claim online, you do have to submit it to a representative via the phone.

How do I get a quote from Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

You can get a quick quote from Armed Forces Insurance for most of their products.

The quote process is similar to those that you find on more general quote tools, however, you do have to provide proof that you are eligible for their insurance products as well before you can get a quote.

You will have to provide the name of the person who qualifies for the policy, their branch of service, their status as well as their rank for the company to check on. Once this is entered, then you can move on to your quote.

If you don’t qualify for this type of insurance, or if you are curious if their rates are the lowest for your situation, then you should take the time to get a quote from a less specific quote tool so that you can compare auto insurance quotes from multiple insurance companies.

Armed Forces Insurance Coverage Options

Armed Forces Insurance is a reciprocal exchange insurance company. Each insured person is actually a part-owner, of sorts, of the insurance company, during the time they carry insurance there.

The insured person makes a deposit into the exchange and that money is managed by an attorney in fact. The money is invested and hopefully grows to provide protection for all of its members.

The downside to this type of insurance is that you are liable for any lawsuits that may come your way.

A major benefit of this type of insurance is that the insurance premiums are much more affordable and allows for some flexibility for the insurance holder, such as reducing coverage when the driver is overseas or on an extended tour of duty.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

Armed Forces Auto Insurance is a specialized insurance program designed for military personnel, veterans, and their families. It provides coverage for vehicles owned or operated by members of the armed forces and offers unique benefits tailored to the needs of military personnel.

What types of coverage does Armed Forces Auto Insurance offer?

Armed Forces Auto Insurance typically offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection, and roadside assistance. The specific coverage options may vary depending on the insurance provider and policy chosen.

Are there any special benefits for military personnel with Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

Yes, Armed Forces Auto Insurance often includes special benefits for military personnel. These benefits may include discounts, flexible payment options, deployment suspension options (to temporarily suspend coverage during deployments), and coverage for personal belongings or equipment used in the military.

Can I get Armed Forces Auto Insurance if I’m a veteran or retired from the military?

Yes, Armed Forces Auto Insurance is typically available to both active-duty military personnel and veterans, as well as their families. It’s important to check with the insurance provider to confirm eligibility requirements and the specific documentation needed to apply for coverage.

How do I apply for Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

To apply for Armed Forces Auto Insurance, you can typically visit the website of an insurance provider that offers this specialized coverage. There, you will find an application process similar to other auto insurance policies. You will need to provide personal information, details about your vehicle, and any necessary military documentation to verify your eligibility.

Are there any discounts available with Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

Yes, Armed Forces Auto Insurance often offers discounts specifically for military personnel. These discounts may include lower rates for active-duty service members, veterans, and military families, as well as discounts for safe driving records, bundling multiple policies, and completing defensive driving courses. The availability and eligibility of discounts may vary depending on the insurance provider.

Can I add additional drivers to my Armed Forces Auto Insurance policy?

Yes, you can typically add additional drivers to your Armed Forces Auto Insurance policy. This may include your spouse, children, or other family members living in the same household. However, it’s important to disclose all drivers and their driving history to ensure accurate coverage and pricing.

What should I do if I need to file a claim with Armed Forces Auto Insurance?

If you need to file a claim with Armed Forces Auto Insurance, you should contact your insurance provider’s claims department as soon as possible. They will guide you through the claims process, provide the necessary forms and instructions, and help you gather any supporting documentation required to process your claim efficiently.

Can I cancel my Armed Forces Auto Insurance policy?

Yes, you can generally cancel your Armed Forces Auto Insurance policy. However, the cancellation process and any associated fees or refunds may vary depending on the insurance provider and the specific policy terms. It’s recommended to contact your insurance provider directly to discuss the cancellation process and any potential implications.

How can I contact Armed Forces Auto Insurance for more information?

To obtain more information about Armed Forces Auto Insurance, you can typically visit the insurance provider’s website or contact their customer service department directly. They will be able to address your questions, provide specific policy details, and assist you in choosing the coverage that best suits your needs.

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage. Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywrite...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Armed Forces Insurance

3.71 (16 reviews)
3
January 7, 2021

MICrOFT

7/10

good company but there is a lot better than this one so I'd always prefer to choose another one 7/10
4
August 6, 2018

Rahifi777

Getting better benefits

My experience was a great one, having been given true quality. However more benefits was needed as other companies were offering more.
5
June 14, 2018

lolmao

Very good

pretty good, little to no issues. I've only had to deal with problems 2 times in 4 years, while with my other company, it was 4 times in one year.
4
February 11, 2018

mnny

Pretty good

i believe that this is definitely a pretty good insurance however it was hard to communicate and stuff
4.5
August 28, 2017

Carlicia

Very Good!

My experience has been very wonderful, my insurance broker is like family. When i first started i thought it would be way too expensive to get insurance on my car. As i talked with my broker we looked at my income and found a payment plan that was the best for me and my situation. Love this agency!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption