AARP Auto Insurance Review (2023)

AARP is an established auto insurer that caters to retired persons. AARP offers discounts to its members, such as locked-in rates. Enter your ZIP code and receive free quotes.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AARP

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • AARP Auto offers a variety of additional benefits to policyholders
  • AARP membership is available to those aged 50 and above
  • Older drivers with AARP membership privileges may have access to auto insurance throughout a healthy lifespan

Cons

  • AARP membership is only available to those aged 50 and above

The Bottom Line

AARP membership is available to those aged 50 and above. The AARP has approximately 40 million existing members. The AARP has definite political and lobbying strength.

The association strives to help older Americans maintain important lifestyle privileges, such as the ability to drive a car. AARP members receive the AARP Bulletin, published each month, along with AARP The Magazine, published twice per month.

AARP offers a variety of discounts on products and services to members including providing auto insurance for seniors. As the baby boomers enter their elder years, AARP’s agenda includes a campaign focused on Americans turning age 65 in 2011.

Auto insurance and the ability to drive safely are just one of the many ways AARP fights for the rights of senior Americans. AARP maintains other insurance partnerships with UnitedHealth Group, New York Life Insurance, and Aetna.

AARP membership is available to those aged 50 and above. The AARP has approximately 40 million existing members. The AARP has definite political and lobbying strength.

The association strives to help older Americans maintain important lifestyle privileges, such as the ability to drive a car. AARP members receive the AARP Bulletin, published each month, along with AARP The Magazine, published twice per month.

AARP offers a variety of discounts on products and services to members. As the baby boomers enter their elder years, AARP’s agenda includes a campaign focused on Americans turning age 65 in 2011.

Auto insurance and the ability to drive safely are just one of the many ways AARP fights for the rights of senior Americans. AARP maintains other insurance partnerships with UnitedHealth Group, New York Life Insurance, and Aetna.

Is AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford a Good Choice?

This AARP auto insurance review explores the insurance programs offered to members of the Washington, DC-based AARP, formerly known as the American Association of Retired Persons. AARP membership affords access to the AARP® Auto Insurance Program.

If you’ve purchased AARP® Auto Insurance for at least a year, you owe it to yourself to compare your AARP auto insurance rates with those of other auto insurance providers.

Older Americans may have difficulty in obtaining or renewing auto insurance. One of the most important benefits offered by AARP auto insurance is Lifetime Renewability.

That is, according to conditions outlined by the AARP, older drivers with AARP membership privileges may have access to auto insurance throughout a healthy lifespan.

Enter your zip code above to get started comparing cheap auto insurance quotes now!

AARP Auto Insurance Program

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnChEfrf5yY

AARP maintains partner relationships with Hartford, Connecticut-headquartered The Hartford Fire Insurance Company and affiliated companies of The Hartford.

Though the auto insurance program is branded as an AARP benefit, the association doesn’t underwrite auto insurance policies for its members.

In the state of Texas, Southern County Mutual Insurance Company, via Hartford Fire General Agency, underwrites AARP auto insurance policies. The Hartford doesn’t provide financial backing for Southern County Mutual Insurance Agency.

The AARP Auto Insurance Program is closed to members living in Massachusetts, the U.S. Territories and Possessions, and Canada.

Check out our The Hartford auto insurance review for more information.

AARP Membership

AARP membership is available to those aged 50 and above. The AARP has approximately 40 million existing members. The AARP has definite political and lobbying strength.

The association strives to help older Americans maintain important lifestyle privileges, such as the ability to drive a car. AARP members receive the AARP Bulletin, published each month, along with AARP The Magazine, published twice per month.

AARP offers a variety of auto insurance discounts on products and services to members. As the baby boomers enter their elder years, AARP’s agenda includes a campaign focused on Americans turning age 65 in 2011.

Auto insurance and the ability to drive safely is just one of the many ways AARP fights for the rights of senior Americans. AARP maintains other insurance partnerships with UnitedHealth Group, New York Life Insurance, and Aetna.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford Discounts Available

According to the AARP Financial website, AARP Auto offers a variety of additional benefits to policyholders.

The Hartford offers accident forgiveness and waives auto insurance premium increases relating to a car accident when the driver or any named drivers on the policy are accident and violation-free for at least five years.

Auto insurance rates are locked in for at least a 12-month policy period, according to The Hartford. That’s six months longer than most auto insurance contracts.

AARP Customer Service

AARP Auto Insurance customers receive 24 hour/7 days a week access to customer service and assistance filing an auto insurance claim, according to the company website.

To reach customer service or claims help, call 1-888-OUR-AARP any time. Contact AARP headquarters at 601 E Street NW, Washington, DC 20049. Telephone AARP at 1-202-434-7700, or toll-free at 1-888-687-2277.

To request an AARP auto insurance quote, contact The Hartford at 1-888-489-8631.

Reach The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. at One Hartford Plaza, Hartford, Connecticut 06155, or telephone the company’s corporate headquarters, at 860-547-5000.

AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford Coverage Options

The Hartford Financial Services Group owns The Hartford’s property & casualty operations. The company offers insurance for autos, homes, and businesses.

As one of the oldest insurance companies in the United States (founded in 1810), The Hartford distributes insurance products through more than 100,000 broker-dealers and an independent insurance network of more than 11,000 insurance agents and brokers.

Partnering with the AARP is a sound and effective business development strategy for The Hartford. As new members join AARP, they have immediate access to insurance programs for auto, home, and business through The Hartford.

In the midst of the global financial downturn in 2008, German insurer Allianz invested approximately $2.5 billion in the company. The capital infusion made by Allianz helped The Hartford avoid a credit downgrade by Standard & Poor’s and A.M. Best.

The Hartford held investments of companies such as:

  • Lehman Brothers
  • Freddie Mac
  • Fannie Mae

The investments of these companies declined in value, and Lehman Brothers’ securities were eventually worthless when the company went out of business.

The U.S. Treasury and the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) helped insurance companies like The Hartford ride out the financial crisis.

The Hartford borrowed approximately $3.4 billion from TARP. In 2010, The Hartford repaid the TARP loan and generated enough revenues to add $21.7 million to shareholder dividend payments.

In order to qualify for federal funds prior to the availability of TARP via the Treasury Capital Purchase Program, The Hartford acquired a bank. In 2009, the company bought Federal Trust Corporation for about $10 million.

The Hartford has withdrawn from its international property & casualty business. Prior to 2007, the company sold a mutual fund firm in Canada and an annuity business in Japan.

In 2011, The Hartford sold its Specialty Risk Services business to Sedgwick Claims Services for approximately $278 million. SRS previously acted as an administration arm for clients of The Hartford.

The Hartford was ranked #117 in the most recent Fortune 500. The company reports total assets of about $318.35 billion and a market value of $12.28 billion.

The company reported $22.38 billion in sales in 2010, and a negative 9.38 percent sales growth during the 2010 fiscal year. The company is considered a low-risk vendor, according to Dun & Bradstreet.

AARP and Southern Mutual Insurance Company

AARP Auto Insurance Program offers auto insurance policies for Texas auto insurance through Southern Mutual Insurance Company. Founded in Georgia in 1847, the company maintains an “A” (Excellent) A.M. Best rating.

AARP Auto insurance customers receive 24-hour customer service and claim filing access by calling 1-800-226-1919. Contact the company at 360 Alps Road, Athens, Georgia 30606, or contact the company’s headquarters at 1-706-549-7855 for more information.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for AARP Auto Insurance Program from The Hartford

4.09 (122 reviews)
1
December 22, 2021

Dunja_

This insurance company called the hartford is no good

They don't pay out on claims they want your money the hartford insurance is no good they don't pay out on auto claims
5
October 13, 2020

memawing

saved $600 a year !

great savings on auto insurance through AARP , simple and easy to join both was very impressed with the 600 dollar savings a year .
5
October 8, 2020

Lily4life

Very reliable customer service

I liked their rates but I found a better deal with a different compant. Very reliable and customer service was helpful.
5
September 29, 2020

SareeBorington

I would highly recommend this insurance agency

I obtained insurance through the AARP Auto Insurance Program just under a year ago. I had one car accident back in October of last year and had quite an easy time submitting my claim. The claims process was handled very quickly and thoroughly and the customer service was outstanding as they were able to answer all the questions I had regarding the process. I would highly recommend this insurance agency.
5
July 29, 2020

eioncassissogreat

AMAZING SERVICE

Great service and amazing rates, when I first contacted them they were very eager to help me. I saved a ton of money compared to my last provider
4
May 4, 2020

johnjack-hirsh

Good job guys

I really liked the customer service, it made me feel noticed. I'm definitely going to continue with my policy and even suggest it to other people.
5
May 4, 2020

1147662728

Great Insurance

It’s a good experience very helpful people. Aarp has helped me in so many ways they have helped me save money and my cars.
4
May 2, 2020

Insuranc3

Summary of AARP

They have great reliability from what I can tell. They have an easy-to-use website, they explain coverage well, and they have transparent pricing. They do not reward loyal customers though.
5
May 1, 2020

Melissa20

Get The Best rates during these times

Recently due to the covid 19 they company has reached out to allow me to schedule payment plan for emergency like experience today.
5
April 30, 2020

JamesMarslowDad

Good Company

This company has treated me very well over the last few years. I love it and would highly recommend to anyone.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption