Unigard Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Unigard auto insurance is available in eight states and sold by more than 600 independent agents. As part of QBE Insurance, they offer home, commercial, farm, and other products in addition to car insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 27, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 27, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Unigard Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Unigard is one of the best at explaining how their claims service works
  • Unigard dates back to 1901 and was acquired by QBE in 2007

Cons

  • It’s not clear whether or not the company is licensed in all 50 states or just those in which it has insurance agents
  • According to the NAIC complaint data, Unigard does have some room for improvement with regard to customer relations

The Bottom Line

Small insurers tend to offer customized policies and attentive customer service. While we don’t know much about Unigard’s rates, the company has been in the game for quite some time and has great financial strength as an organization.

Unigard Insurance is part of QBE’s North American division, which was established in 1991.

Unigard dates back to 1901 when founder Frank Martin established the Northwestern Mutual Fire Association. The company continued to grow and expand throughout the United States until its acquisition by QBE in 2007.

Unigard Insurance Company Rates

Unigard Insurance Company partners with individual local agents in eight states: California, Arizona, Indiana, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

To give you an idea of what you may pay, here’s a look at the average annual auto insurance rates in those eight states:

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates in States Served by Unigard Insurance
StatesAverage Liability RatesAverage Collision RatesAverage Comprehensive RatesAverage Full Coverage Rates
Indiana$382.68$250.29$122.06$755.03
Montana$386.29$265.32$211.91$863.52
Utah$497.53$265.90$109.50$872.93
Oregon$584.13$226.83$93.87$904.83
Washington$596.67$265.74$106.38$968.80
Arizona$508.76$277.96$186.12$972.85
California$489.66$396.55$100.54$986.75
Nevada$681.56$303.86$117.63$1,103.05
Get Your Rates Quote Now

It’s not clear whether or not the company is licensed in all 50 states or just those in which it has insurance agents.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Unigard Insurance Company Coverage Options

Unigard is one of QBE Insurance Group’s most productive divisions, offering insurance products under the following six brands:

  • Farmers Union Insurance
  • General Casualty
  • QBE Agri
  • QBE Reinsurance
  • QBE Specialty
  • Unigard

All combined brands include personal insurance for things like home, auto, and life, as well as specialty insurance, reinsurance products, and more.

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – How can I get in contact with Unigard Insurance Company?

To get in contact with Unigard, you can call 1-800-456-1626. There, you can request to speak to a representative of the company and ask them whatever you’d like to know.

#2 – How can I contact the claims department for Unigard Insurance Company?

You can call the same phone number, 1-800-456-1626. You can then select the option for claims. Be sure to have all of your information ready prior to speaking with a claims representative for faster service.

#3 – How can I find careers at Unigard?

Like most large insurance providers, Unigard does have job openings that are accessible through its website. All inquiries and applications go through QBE’s North American division headquarters at this time. Just navigate to the careers section of the website and you can browse postings and submit your resume.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Unigard Insurance Company

4.18 (2 reviews)
1
January 7, 2018

Lisa Clemenhagen

Unigard review

Worst company ever! Steer clear of this company at all costs. Find yourselves a good, honest, reputable company that stands behind their word and their clients!!
5
November 11, 2017

HdnofJne

unigard

I've had unigard for more than 15 years now and have had no problems whatsoever. My rates remain consistent and I can count on what I have to pay each renewal.
1
June 1, 2017

Patsy Powell

Unigard review

This is the worst handling of claims I've ever seen!was given an adjuster by the name of CHRIS KELTON who works at UNIGARD said he would call back never did 4 days later!! Needless to say, JOKE was given JOE PENNEY as manager would never get on the phone!! You would be better off with no insurance !! PATSY POWELL 509-406-8504 if you have any Questions regarding this post!
1
May 19, 2017

Hillary

Unigard review

Rudest people I have ever dealt with. Their adjusters are rude on the phone and don't call you back. They refused to restore my vehicle to the condition it was in before their customer hit me.
1
March 20, 2017

John Walls

Unigard review

The worst company I have ever dealt with and I am 64 years old. them and their front company QBE. Had to wait a month to even get an estimate from their adjuster" and then it was depreciated 60% over all!! and some items
1
September 18, 2015

Melissa

Unigard review

The worst company ever!
1
April 24, 2012

NEVER UNIGARD

Unigard review

STAY AWAY FROM UNIGARD AKA QBE INSURANCE COMPANY!! They are the worst we have ever had!!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption