Unigard Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Unigard auto insurance is available in eight states and sold by more than 600 independent agents. As part of QBE Insurance, they offer home, commercial, farm, and other products in addition to car insurance.

UPDATED: Mar 18, 2024Fact Checked

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Mar 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Mar 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Mar 18, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Unigard Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$69

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Unigard is one of the best at explaining how their claims service works
  • Unigard dates back to 1901 and was acquired by QBE in 2007

Cons

  • It’s not clear whether or not the company is licensed in all 50 states or just those in which it has insurance agents
  • According to the NAIC complaint data, Unigard does have some room for improvement with regard to customer relations

Final Verdict: Review of Unigard Insurance Company

Unigard Insurance Company provides property and casualty insurance to both individual consumers and businesses in North America.

A network of nearly 600 independent insurance agencies in eight states sells Unigard car insurance, as well as homeowners, commercial multi-peril, commercial auto, and farm insurance.

We know that finding the right type of auto insurance coverage can be extremely difficult — that’s why we’re here to help. In this guide, we’ll be exploring Unigard Insurance Company, delving into its financial and consumer ratings, coverage types, claims, and more.

So stick around. And if you’re interested in comparing car insurance rates from different companies, enter your ZIP code into our free tool. Keep reading to learn more about Unigard auto insurance.

[su_box title="Things to remember..." style="default"]
  • Unigard Insurance is part of QBE’s North American division
  • Unigard dates back to 1901 and was acquired by QBE in 2007
  • The best wayt to contact Unigard is customer service at 1-800-456-1626
[/su_box] Unigard Insurance Company provides property and casualty insurance to both individual consumers and businesses in North America. A network of nearly 600 independent insurance agencies in eight states sells Unigard car insurance, as well as homeowners, commercial multi-peril, commercial auto, and farm insurance. We know that finding the right type of auto insurance coverage can be extremely difficult — that's why we're here to help. In this guide, we'll be exploring Unigard Insurance Company, delving into its financial and consumer ratings, coverage types, claims, and more. So stick around. And if you're interested in comparing car insurance rates from different companies, enter your ZIP code into our free tool. Keep reading to learn more about Unigard auto insurance.

What You Should Know About Unigard Insurance Company

The ratings we’re going to look at below are significant, as they illustrate Unigard’s ability to remain stable and to meet its financial obligations. Simply put, these types of ratings give us an unbiased look at how a company is doing financially and how well it performs on a customer service level

Let’s see what some of the top risk-assessing organizations had to say about Unigard — we’ll start with A.M. Best.

A.M. Best

A.M. Best was founded in 1899 and has since become an institution, providing thorough investigations of the financial capabilities of numerous organizations. So, what do they think of Unigard?

Unigard received an “A” or “excellent” rating from A.M. Best. 

The “A” grade is the second-best rating. A.M. Best believes that Unigard has an excellent ability to meet its ongoing insurance financial obligations.

Standard & Poors

Standard & Poor’s (S&P) is another risk-assessing agency, and they have also weighed in on Unigard’s financial situation.

S&P gave Unigard an “A+” rating.

This rating suggests that the company has a strong capacity to meet its financial commitments despite susceptibility to adverse economic conditions and alterations in circumstances.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners

Customer satisfaction is an important measure of one’s success as well. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) publishes complaint data on various organizations. Through this data, we can get a sense of how customers feel about Unigard Insurance.

Unigard Private Passenger Auto Insurance Policy Complaint Ratio History
Complaint Data201720182019
Total Complaints155
Complaint Index (Better or Worse Than National Index)0.612.030.81
National Complaint Index1.21.151.17
U.S. Market Share0.02%0.02%0.00%
Total Premiums$6,441,166$39,785,474$2,887,609

The index is a measure of complaints compared to the national average, with the average being set at one.

Unigard Insurance performed worse than average on the national complaint index in 2018 and 2019 after performing better than average in 2017.

Furthermore, total complaints increased from 2017 to 2018, then remained the same from 2018 to 2019.

Overall, Unigard has performed pretty well as an organization. They’ve been vetted by some of the best agencies and appear to be very stable. However, according to the NAIC complaint data, Unigard does have some room for improvement with regard to customer relations.

Unigard: Auto Insurance History

Unigard Insurance is part of QBE’s North American division, which was established in 1991.

Unigard dates back to 1901, when founder Frank Martin established the Northwestern Mutual Fire Association. The company continued to grow and expand throughout the United States until its acquisition by QBE in 2007.

To date, Unigard has approximately 600 independent insurance agencies operating in eight states.

How is Unigard’s online presence?

The ability to conduct business online is important to a lot of customers, and insurance companies are increasingly expanding their digital offerings to stay competitive in the market.

That being said, Unigard has a minimal online presence. The website has since transitioned into a QBE website, and the Unigard portion has been upgraded to reflect that of its parent segment only — this, in turn, has made it difficult to locate Unigard-related content.

Unlike some of its competitors, Unigard Insurance doesn’t provide an automated quote tool on its website. What they do offer is an extensive amount of information about the individual products and services they provide, along with the type of coverage each one affords.

Without an official online Unigard presence, the company focuses primarily on acquiring business through its agents.

On its website, QBE provides its ratings to show that it is a quality company worth doing business with, along with some basic information about its insurance offerings. these include QBE auto insurance, QBE general insurance, and general casualty insurance. You’ll also find contact information for other products, such as the QBE home insurance phone number. Although the website does offer QBE’s Covid-19 information, it doesn’t list any information on Unigard mask requirements.

Unigard Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Uingard is one of QBE Insurance Group’s most productive divisions, offering insurance products under the following six brands:

  • Farmers Union Insurance
  • General Casualty
  • QBE Agri
  • QBE Reinsurance
  • QBE Specialty
  • Unigard

All combined brands include personal insurance for things like home, auto, and life, as well as specialty insurance, reinsurance products, and more. If you’re not sure what reinsurance is, take a look at the video below.

Next, let’s lets go over the claims process with Unigard.

How to Make a Unigard Auto Insurance Claim

When you’re dealing with the headache of a car accident or other damage-causing event, you want to know that your insurance company will make it is easy to file an auto insurance claim. Always make sure you file your claim as soon as possible after the incident happens, while the details are still fresh in your mind.

You can file a claim by phone with someone from the claims department by calling the Unigard customer service number at 1-800-456-1626. 

When you call this number, Unigard will either begin the claims process immediately or put you in touch with someone local who will be responsible for helping you.

The claims process may differ depending on the policy, so speaking with a customer service representative or an agent will be your best bet for getting the most accurate information. The next video will tell you a little more about filing a claim.

https://youtu.be/4Ofv8WlnIH8

Unigard goes to great lengths to make sure customers understand the claims process and what their rights and responsibilities are.

Of all the insurance companies we’ve reviewed, Unigard is one of the best at explaining how their claims service works.

How to Get a Unigard Auto Insurance Quote Online

Unigard Insurance Company partners with individual local agents in eight states: California, Arizona, Indiana, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. Again, it’s not clear whether the company is licensed in all 50 states or just these eight.

If Unigard is licensed in every state, customer service would be taken care of in a direct-to-consumer model in the remaining 42 states.

You can find an agent by calling the Unigard customer service number at 1-800-456-1626. You can also call the agents’ department directly at 1-888-543-6179.

When you speak to a Unigard agent, they’ll ask you about the type of auto insurance coverage you’re looking for and provide you with a quote.

Getting quotes from multiple companies can be time-consuming. Feel free to use our free quote tool below to start comparing rates today.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Unigard Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Despite their acquisition by QBE Insurance, Unigard still manages to craft and tailor its coverage to meet the needs of the individuals that they serve.

Why choose Unigard? A small auto insurance company may offer the best rates – or just better value than a major insurance company. You’re more likely to get customized coverage and good customer service with a smaller company, for instance, compared to a major corporation. You might even see cheaper insurance rates, as they don’t have heavy demands on overhead and other additional costs that the bigger companies have to account for.

But keep reading — next we’ll talk about which parts of the country Unigard serves.

What is Unigard’s availability by state?

Unigard Insurance Company partners with individual local agents in eight states: California, Arizona, Indiana, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

To give you an idea of what you may pay, here’s a look at the average annual auto insurance rates in those eight states:

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates in States Served by Unigard Insurance

States Average Liability Rates Average Collision Rates Average Comprehensive Rates Average Full Coverage Rates
Indiana $382.68 $250.29 $122.06 $755.03
Montana $386.29 $265.32 $211.91 $863.52
Utah $497.53 $265.90 $109.50 $872.93
Oregon $584.13 $226.83 $93.87 $904.83
Washington $596.67 $265.74 $106.38 $968.80
Arizona $508.76 $277.96 $186.12 $972.85
California $489.66 $396.55 $100.54 $986.75
Nevada $681.56 $303.86 $117.63 $1,103.05

It’s not clear whether or not the company is licensed in all 50 states or just those in which it has insurance agents.

That being said, even if you don’t live in the one the states listed above, you may still be eligible for coverage. We’ll talk about how to get a quote from Unigard Insurance Company soon.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get in contact with Unigard Insurance Company?

To get in contact with Unigard, you can call 1-800-456-1626. There, you can request to speak to a representative of the company and ask them whatever you’d like to know.

How can I contact the claims department for Unigard Insurance Company?

You can call the same phone number, 1-800-456-1626. You can then select the option for claims. Be sure to have all of your information ready prior to speaking with a claims representative for faster service.

How can I find careers at Unigard?

Like most large insurance providers, Unigard does have job openings that are accessible through its website. All inquiries and applications go through QBE’s North American division headquarters at this time. Just navigate to the careers section of the website and you can browse postings and submit your resume.

What types of auto insurance coverage does Unigard offer?

Unigard Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection, and medical payments coverage.

What is medical payments coverage?

Medical payments coverage, sometimes called MedPay, helps cover medical expenses for you and your passengers resulting from a car accident, regardless of who is at fault.

What factors determine the cost of my Unigard Auto Insurance premium?

The cost of your Unigard Auto Insurance premium depends on various factors such as your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, your location, your age, and your chosen coverage options.

Can I customize my Unigard Auto Insurance coverage?

Yes, Unigard Auto Insurance allows you to customize your coverage based on your specific needs. You can select the types and amounts of coverage that best suit your requirements.

Are there any discounts available for Unigard Auto Insurance?

Unigard Insurance offers various discounts that can help reduce the cost of your auto insurance premium. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, and discounts for certain safety features in your vehicle.

What does liability coverage include?

Liability coverage helps protect you financially if you are found responsible for causing injuries or property damage to others in a car accident. It typically includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability.

What is collision coverage?

Collision coverage helps pay for repairs or replacement of your vehicle if it’s damaged due to a collision with another vehicle or object, regardless of who is at fault.

What is comprehensive coverage?

Comprehensive coverage provides protection for damage to your vehicle caused by non-collision incidents such as theft, vandalism, fire, natural disasters, or hitting an animal.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Unigard Insurance Company

4.18 (2 reviews)
1
January 7, 2018

Lisa Clemenhagen

Unigard review

Worst company ever! Steer clear of this company at all costs. Find yourselves a good, honest, reputable company that stands behind their word and their clients!!
5
November 11, 2017

HdnofJne

unigard

I've had unigard for more than 15 years now and have had no problems whatsoever. My rates remain consistent and I can count on what I have to pay each renewal.
1
June 1, 2017

Patsy Powell

Unigard review

This is the worst handling of claims I've ever seen!was given an adjuster by the name of CHRIS KELTON who works at UNIGARD said he would call back never did 4 days later!! Needless to say, JOKE was given JOE PENNEY as manager would never get on the phone!! You would be better off with no insurance !! PATSY POWELL 509-406-8504 if you have any Questions regarding this post!
1
May 19, 2017

Hillary

Unigard review

Rudest people I have ever dealt with. Their adjusters are rude on the phone and don't call you back. They refused to restore my vehicle to the condition it was in before their customer hit me.
1
March 20, 2017

John Walls

Unigard review

The worst company I have ever dealt with and I am 64 years old. them and their front company QBE. Had to wait a month to even get an estimate from their adjuster" and then it was depreciated 60% over all!! and some items
1
September 18, 2015

Melissa

Unigard review

The worst company ever!
1
April 24, 2012

NEVER UNIGARD

Unigard review

STAY AWAY FROM UNIGARD AKA QBE INSURANCE COMPANY!! They are the worst we have ever had!!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption