21st Century Auto Insurance Review (2024)

21st Century Auto Insurance offers different car insurance cost options in California. Here’s everything you need to know about 21st Century including the company’s policy options, average costs, and ratings.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024Fact Checked

D. Gilson, PhD

Professor & Published Author

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from S...

Professor & Published Author

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 8, 2024Fact Checked
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

21st Century Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$111

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • SR-22 insurance filings
  • Complimentary roadside assistance
  • Antique and classic car insurance
  • Coverage discounts
  • Access to policy information with a 21st Century Insurance login

Cons

  • Coverage only available in California
  • No GAP coverage
  • No rideshare insurance
  • Few coverage options

Final Verdict: Review of 21st Century Auto Insurance

If you need auto insurance in California, you may want to consider 21st Century Insurance. The company offers liability and full coverage options, including roadside assistance.

Anyone looking for a more robust coverage plan may want to look elsewhere, as 21st Century doesn’t include as many options as its competitors. Additionally, if you live outside of California, you’ll want to find and compare quotes from multiple companies to get coverage that works best for you.

[su_box title="Things to remember..." style="default"]
  • 21st Century Insurance offers car insurance options in California
  • 21st Century provides SR-22 insurance filings and specific coverage for classic vehicles
  • The company has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau
[/su_box] If you live in California and need car insurance, you may want to consider 21st Century Insurance. The company offers multiple options for car insurance coverage, allowing policyholders to customize their policies to feel safe and secure behind the wheel. If you live elsewhere and still need coverage, compare car insurance quotes from the best car insurance companies in your area. Comparing auto insurance quotes is a great way to find the coverage you need at a price that works for your budget.

What You Should Know About 21st century insurance

21st Century Insurance has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). However, the BBB website also shows that 21st Century closed 25 complaints in the last three years.

Still, 21st Century has a one out of five-star rating on the BBB website, suggesting the company has room to improve customer service and satisfaction. Customer complaints range from hidden policy fees to poor claims handling.

21st Century had more than the expected number of complaints based on its size, and according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the number of auto insurance complaints against 21st Century is significantly high when compared to some of the best auto insurance companies.

If you’re considering doing business with 21st Century Insurance, you may want to read some customer reviews online before purchasing a policy.

How can I contact 21st Century?

You can contact 21st Century by calling 877-401-8181 or by visiting their website. If you know you will need to file an auto insurance claim, there are different ways of getting in touch with the company.

How can I make a car insurance claim with 21st Century?

You can make a car insurance claim through the company’s app or by calling the company’s 24-hour phone line at 888-244-6163.

Does 21st Century have a mobile app?

The 21st Century mobile app allows policyholders to pay their bills, view policy information, request roadside assistance, and acquire insurance ID cards when they need them. Reviews for the 21st Century app are anywhere from 2.3 to 3.8 out of five.

Who is 21st Century car insurance a good fit for?

21st Century auto insurance is good for drivers who have a fairly clean driving record, and may also be helpful to anyone who considers making changes to their policy. People who are looking for a one-on-one connection with an agent, or those looking for auto insurance with a bad driving record, may not find 21st Century to be a good fit.

21st century insurance Insurance Coverage Options

21st Century doesn’t have as much coverage as other companies, but it offers proper liability auto insurance coverage and the option to build a full coverage auto insurance policy. Coverage options with 21st Century Insurance company include:

Though 21st Century car insurance offers coverage to various client types, the company specializes in high-risk auto insurance coverage for individuals and offers SR-22 filings. So if you have a less-than-ideal driving record and need liability coverage, 21st Century may work well for you.

The company doesn’t offer other popular types of optional coverage, like rideshare insurance coverage or Gap insurance. However, the company offers complimentary roadside assistance to its policyholders. So if you’re in the market for a robust policy, 21st Century may not be the best fit.

More Car Insurance Options with 21st Century

In addition to the options listed above, 21st Century also offers the following:

Each option listed above is likely to make your auto insurance policy a bit more expensive, but you may find that the coverage helps you feel safe and allows you to have peace of mind when you are driving.

What is SR-22 insurance?

If you have a DUI conviction or several traffic violations in a short period, you may need an SR-22 form. SR-22 forms prove to your state’s department of motor vehicles that you have proper insurance and can take financial responsibility if you’re in a car accident.

If you live in California and need affordable SR-22 insurance, you may find that certain companies are unable or unwilling to provide coverage. However, 21st Century offers SR-22 filings and coverage throughout the state.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

21st century insurance Insurance Rates Breakdown

Several factors affect your auto insurance rates. Some of the most common factors affecting car insurance include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • ZIP code
  • Car make and model
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Marital status
  • Coverage type

The table below shows average rates for coverage with 21st Century car insurance compared to similar coverage with insurers in California.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Coverage Level and Provider
Insurance CompanyMinimum CoverageFull Coverage
Allstate$61$160
American Family$44$117
Farmers$53$139
Geico$30$80
Liberty Mutual$68$174
Nationwide$44$115
Progressive$39$105
State Farm$33$86
Travelers$37$99
U.S. Average$45$119

21st Century Auto Insurance Rates by Age

The following table shows the average 21st Century rates for auto insurance compared to the national average based on a person’s age. Auto insurance for teens comes with the highest rates.

Rates with 21st Century Based on Driving History

Lastly, the next table shows average rates for auto insurance with 21st Century based on a person’s driving history.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Company and Driving Record
Insurance CompanyOne DUIOne AccidentOne TicketClean Record
Allstate$270$225$188$160
American Family$194$176$136$116
Farmers$193$198$173$139
Geico$250$133$106$105
Liberty Mutual$313$234$212$174
Nationwide$237$161$137$115
Progressive$140$186$140$105
State Farm$112$102$96$86
Travelers$206$139$134$99
USAA$108$78$67$59
U.S. Average$146$173$147$119

You’ll never know how much you’ll pay for coverage with 21st Century Insurance until you get a quote from the company. The company website allows you to get a quote for car insurance coverage, or you can call the 21st Century insurance phone number for more information.

How are 21st Century auto insurance rates for drivers with an accident?

If you need auto insurance after an accident, you can expect to pay more for coverage with 21st Century. Full coverage costs with an accident are around 16% higher than the average, which could end up costing more than $600 annually.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyClean RecordOne Accident
AAA$180$220
Allstate$166$225
American Family$116$176
Farmers$140$198
Geico$95$132
Hartford$175$230
Liberty Mutual$177$234
Nationwide$140$161
Progressive$120$186
State Farm$105$150
Travelers$160$200
U.S. Average$123$172

Minimum coverage was similar, with clients paying 11% more for liability coverage if they had an accident on their record.

21st century insurance Discounts Available

Depending on your unique situation, you may qualify for one or more auto insurance discounts with 21st Century auto insurance. Some of the discount options include:

21st Century discounts can help policyholders save as much as 20% on their policies. In most cases, you’ll automatically receive a discount with 21st Century if you qualify. However, if you want to ensure you get the best rates possible, you can speak to a representative with the company to inquire further.

What is 21st Century’s Refer a Good Friend program?

With the 21st Century Refer a Good Friend program, you can earn gift cards when you refer family and friends to 21st Century for their insurance needs. For example, you could earn a $25 gift card to a favorite store or restaurant if you recommend a friend to the company and that individual receives a free quote.

How 21st century insurance Ranks Among Providers

21st Century’s full coverage auto insurance rates are slightly lower than average when compared to other competitors. The company’s full coverage rates were $76 cheaper than the state average in California.

However, liability-only policies or auto insurance for drivers with a DUI are often more expensive with 21st Century than they are with other competing companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I cancel my 21st Century auto insurance?

You can call the company and speak with a representative to cancel your insurance policy. If you need to make any changes to your policy, you can do so by following the same steps.

Does 21st Century offer broad or unique coverage?

21st Century offers more than what is required to legally drive in your state, allowing policyholders to customize their policies to a certain extent. Additionally, the company offers a custom parts add-on that policyholders can add to their insurance coverage. Still, the company does not offer accident forgiveness, new car replacement, GAP coverage, or deductible modification.

What coverage options does 21st Century Insurance offer?

21st Century offers liability auto insurance coverage and the option to build a full coverage auto insurance policy. However, they do not offer certain types of optional coverage, such as rideshare insurance or GAP coverage. They specialize in high-risk auto insurance coverage and offer SR-22 filings.

Does 21st Century offer online car insurance tools?

The company offers 24-hour customer assistance, options for discounts, the ability to alter your policy, and tools on the company’s mobile app.

What discounts are available with 21st Century auto insurance?

21st Century offers various auto insurance discounts, such as safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, and good student discounts. The company also has a “Refer a Good Friend” program.

Is 21st Century Insurance a good choice?

21st Century Insurance has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), but customer reviews indicate room for improvement in customer service and satisfaction. It’s recommended to read customer reviews online before purchasing a policy.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

D. Gilson, PhD

Professor & Published Author

D. Gilson is a writer and author of essays, poetry, and scholarship that explore the relationship between popular culture, literature, sexuality, and memoir. His latest book is Jesus Freak, with Will Stockton, part of Bloomsbury’s 33 1/3 Series. His other books include I Will Say This Exactly One Time and Crush. His first chapbook, Catch & Release, won the 2012 Robin Becker Prize from S...

Professor & Published Author

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Producer

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for 21st century insurance

3.71 (311 reviews)
1
September 6, 2023

Crisssy_

Horrible insurance carrier

Horrible company. There is none picking up the calls in time of need. They keep billing but none is available to talk. Do not get this insurance or you will be left hanging.
1
June 16, 2023

Andie_Alcantar

Crapy n expensive

This insurance is horrible , good luck ever getting a representative, it takes hours n I'm not exaggerating 2 speak 2 some n majority of the time they hang up on u, been wth them 4 10 years, no tickets or accidents n every year it goes up $100 or more its time 2 go
1
April 6, 2023

BruP

Not Responsive at all.

I had 21st-century insurance for some time. Everything was great, up until about 3 years ago. Apparently, the company got sold to another Insurance company. Since I purchased my car, I've tried calling and sending numerous emails about changing my policy. I was on hold for almost an hour every time, and no one answered. I didn't receive a single response via email. I have been trying to reach them for months and there was no cancelation section ...
I had 21st-century insurance for some time. Everything was great, up until about 3 years ago. Apparently, the company got sold to another Insurance company. Since I purchased my car, I've tried calling and sending numerous emails about changing my policy. I was on hold for almost an hour every time, and no one answered. I didn't receive a single response via email. I have been trying to reach them for months and there was no cancelation section on their website. I finally got fed up and sent them a cancelation email and along with removing my auto-pay option. They got back to me imminently, approving my cancelation. This shows that they were not responsive when I was trying to change my policy for a cheaper rate, but ok w/ me canceling my plan after being a customer for more than +6 years. The moral of this review is that they are not responsive at all.
1
February 7, 2023

acalord

No the same company it was now that Farmers has taken it ove

Having been with 21st Century car insurance for over 4 years now it's not what it used to be as of when Farmers Insurance took it over. Claims are a joke and you will be cheated out of the worth of your car when it comes to payment for damages or loss. First you are no longer dealing with the good old folks from the real 21st century co. instead you are now forwarded to Farmers which has a terrible reputation, lousy staff and adjusters. I have be...
Having been with 21st Century car insurance for over 4 years now it's not what it used to be as of when Farmers Insurance took it over. Claims are a joke and you will be cheated out of the worth of your car when it comes to payment for damages or loss. First you are no longer dealing with the good old folks from the real 21st century co. instead you are now forwarded to Farmers which has a terrible reputation, lousy staff and adjusters. I have been appalled with the service. The only site has gone cheap and useless, most of the options don't work like changing a credit card for autopay. Resetting your password is a nightmare. forcing you to change your password is done without notice, they will make you try your password many time till you finally figure out they demand changing it and don't inform you. Calling to fix problems online they will charge you account $3 calling fee. Can you bevel that? Plus the robot call will ask so many useless questions wasting time then tell you no one is available and hang up. Its time to dump 21st century all Farmers did was take a good company over and destroy everything
5
December 15, 2020

hmegens1941

HM 21st Century review

I have been with this company since 2013. They were there to help me through a tough time when I had my accident. Service was superb.
2
August 25, 2020

naq71

No price matching/Nothing for loyal customers

This is a great company who has helped me every single time I’ve needed them. For that, 4.5 stars. However, this month I got a quote from AAA. I then back to 21st and they said they don’t price match so I changed insurances. I’m deeply disappointed and a bit saddened. I’ve had 21st.com for around 30 years, and in the time of COVID-19, they are willing to let a good customer go after 30 years of loyalty? Wow! I guess that’s ok with them...
This is a great company who has helped me every single time I’ve needed them. For that, 4.5 stars. However, this month I got a quote from AAA. I then back to 21st and they said they don’t price match so I changed insurances. I’m deeply disappointed and a bit saddened. I’ve had 21st.com for around 30 years, and in the time of COVID-19, they are willing to let a good customer go after 30 years of loyalty? Wow! I guess that’s ok with them because they had no care that I wanted to change companies after my insurance went up $100+. Yes, I added a new car, but even when I added a 2006 Lexus the price went up $100 then as well. My total was $414 per month, and that was low-medium coverage! I helped AAA will treat me as well, but I am so disappointed. 😢😤
1
December 13, 2019

Mometh bousso

21st Century Insurance review

This insurance not good never put your car there bad costumer service I have a accident and I was paying full coverage but they never pay me
2
December 9, 2019

spicy77

Incessant rate increase make 21st Century a poor choice.

In general this company is known for having the lowest rates in town but over the last five years I have noticed my rates going up over time. I have never had an accident and the company is supposed to reward you for this, but my rates keep going up. I am at the point that if I get another rate increase in the next six months, I am going to bail and go with another provider.
5
October 1, 2019

mikedupont

21s century company review

i actually enjoyed the experience but since i found a better alternative i canceled it, but it is really a good company they deserve their good reputation.
5
August 18, 2019

hong7879

Fair and easy

Very knowledgeable about services. Gave me option and help me find the best needed policy. Friendly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

<h3>Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates from the Top Companies by Age and Gender</h3>