SafeAuto’s Car Insurance Review (2022)

SafeAuto car insurance meets state minimums for high-risk drivers who can’t get coverage elsewhere.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 30, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.6
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

SafeAuto

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Nonstandard coverage for high-risk drivers
  • SR-22 filing available
  • Various car insurance discounts
  • High BBB rating
  • Online bill pay
  • Partners with other insurers for other coverages

Cons

  • High rates
  • More complaints than average
  • Only available in 28 states
  • Limited coverages
  • You can’t file a claim through the app

The Bottom Line

Due to significantly higher-than-average car insurance rates, the lack of additional coverage, and few discounts, SafeAuto isn’t a good fit for every driver. In addition, the number of SafeAuto complaints is above average, and coverage is only available in 28 states. 

However, it is a good fit for high-risk drivers who only want to meet their state’s minimum requirements. In addition, SafeAuto caters to drivers who may not be eligible for insurance with more traditional insurers.

Drivers should shop around before buying SafeAuto car insurance. Compare rates, ratings, and discounts from multiple insurance companies to find the best deal.

SafeAuto provides car insurance to drivers who might not otherwise qualify for coverage, such as drivers with DUIs or multiple accidents. However, since the company caters to high-risk drivers, rates tend to be more expensive than average.

Anyone can get SafeAuto coverage, but rates will be higher than with a traditional insurer. In addition, SafeAuto coverage is only available in 28 states.

SafeAuto offers many types of car insurance coverages and other insurance products on its website. However, SafeAuto doesn’t provide all types of insurance and partners with other insurers for coverages other than auto insurance.

In addition, SafeAuto insurance reviews leave a lot to be desired. Complaints range from high rates and poor customer service to dissatisfaction with the claims process. However, the company does have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

SafeAuto is a good alternative for high-risk drivers who might not be able to get coverage with a standard insurer. However, drivers who can get coverage elsewhere may find SafeAuto too expensive.

Keep reading to learn more about SafeAuto car insurance and if it’s a good fit for you.

Is Safe Auto Insurance Company a Good Choice?

Most insurance companies are rated by A.M. Best on financial stability. However, there is no SafeAuto insurance rating, so drivers can’t decide if the company can meet its financial obligations. In addition, J.D. Power hasn’t rated the company on customer satisfaction.

On the other hand, SafeAuto has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), which rates companies on customer interaction. However, the company is not accredited.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) tracks customer complaints and scores companies on how many complaints they receive. While the average rating is 1.0, SafeAuto has a 4.29 NAIC score, showing significantly more complaints than normal. Many of the complaints revolve around the claims process.

Although SafeAuto offers high-risk drivers coverage, other drivers may not find what they are looking for with this insurer. 

Safe Auto Insurance Company Rates

Most states require auto insurance, and SafeAuto helps high-risk drivers meet those minimums. While liability coverage is usually required, experts suggest full coverage, including liability, collision, comprehensive, and other coverages.

SafeAuto offers full car insurance coverage, but rates are higher than average. Although SafeAuto caters to drivers looking for the minimum amount of coverage required, you can increase coverage when getting a SafeAuto insurance quote.

This table compares SafeAuto rates for low and high coverage.

The national average for low or liability-only car insurance is $1,463, and the average for full coverage is $1,621. SafeAuto is more expensive than the national average for both.

Drivers who aren’t high-risk will pay much higher rates with SafeAuto than with a traditional insurer.

Do age and gender affect SafeAuto rates?

Young drivers have less experience behind the wheel and see much higher car insurance rates. Additionally, male drivers are considered riskier and have higher rates. Older and female drivers typically have lower rates.

This table compares average SafeAuto car insurance rates based on age and gender with the national average.

SafeAuto auto insurance rates for young drivers are around 30% more expensive than the national average. While rates decrease with age, they are still above the national average for all age groups.

How does your driving record impact SafeAuto car insurance rates?

Since SafeAuto caters to high-risk drivers, it’s no surprise your driving record significantly impacts your rates. Drivers with accidents, tickets, and DUIs see much higher rates than drivers with a clean record.

First let's look at DUIs. This table shows the average annual SafeAuto car insurance rates based on driving records compared to the national average for drivers with clean records and with a ticket.

Having a ticket on your record can also cause your auto insurance rates to go up.

And finally, if you are found at-fault in an accident, you can expect to pay more for auto insurance. Here's how having an accident on your record may affect your SafeAuto insurance rates.

SafeAuto insurance rates for drivers with an accident are around $42 a month more than the national average. Drivers with a speeding ticket pay around $50 a month more, but drivers with a DUI pay only about $5 a month more.

Does your credit score affect SafeAuto rates?

Your credit score affects everything from your interest rates to your car insurance. Insurers believe that drivers with poor credit are more likely to file a claim and lack the funds to pay out of pocket in an accident.

Although drivers with bad credit scores pay the highest rates, drivers can improve their credit scores by making on-time payments and carefully using their available credit.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safe Auto Insurance Company Discounts Available

Car insurance discounts are an excellent way to lower rates. Most insurance companies offer various discounts based on the driver, policy, and vehicle. And most drivers qualify for multiple discounts to increase savings.

However, SafeAuto doesn’t offer as many discounts as other top insurance companies. Although the company offers specialized savings like the new business transfer discount, the list of available discounts is short.

Some discounts are only available to specific drivers. For example, SafeAuto offers a defensive driver discount, but it’s only available to drivers aged 55 and older. 

Discounts vary by state and may not be automatically applied to your policy. Once you learn which discounts are available, ask for every discount you qualify for. Then, bundle all of your discounts for the most significant savings.

Safe Auto Insurance Company Coverage Options

Unlike many other top insurance companies, SafeAuto’s list of car insurance coverages is pretty short. While SafeAuto coverage will meet your state’s minimum car insurance requirements, the company offers only a handful of other coverages.

SafeAuto car insurance coverages include the following:

  • Liability. Covers property damage and bodily injuries to others in an accident
  • Collision. Pays for damages to your vehicle from an accident
  • Comprehensive. Covers damages unrelated to an accident, like fire, theft, and vandalism
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Helps pay for damages if the at-fault driver has little or no car insurance
  • Medical payments. Pays for medical bills related to an accident
  • Personal injury protection. Covers other expenses from an accident, like lost wages and childcare
  • SR-22. Form required by states to show that high-risk drivers have at least the minimum required car insurance
  • Rental car reimbursement. Helps pay for a rental car while your damaged vehicle is repaired
  • Roadside assistance. Includes locksmith services, fuel delivery, towing, and jump starts

SafeAuto has also partnered with ForeverCar, a program that offers benefits SafeAuto lacks. Through this partnership, ForeverCar and SafeAuto provide discounted roadside assistance, mechanical breakdown coverage, rental car reimbursement, and emergency travel expense reimbursement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is SafeAuto insurance available?

SafeAuto car insurance is available in only 28 states: Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

How do you get a SafeAuto car insurance quote?

You can get a free quote for SafeAuto through the website, phone, or app. In fact, you can use the SafeAuto app to get information even if you aren’t a customer.

Drivers who wish to speak with a customer service representative can call 1-800-723-3288. Have your vehicle and driver information available to get the most reliable quote.

How do you file SafeAuto insurance claims?

Drivers can file a claim through the SafeAuto website, by calling customer service, or by mailing in their documentation.

The SafeAuto claims department is available 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on weekdays and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekends, and the phone number is 1-800 SAFE AUTO or 1-614-944-7927.

The SafeAuto website doesn’t require you to log in to file a claim. If you log into the website, you can also manage your SafeAuto insurance policy.

Once your claim is settled, you can receive payment the same day.

What is the SafeAuto cancellation policy?

You can cancel SafeAuto insurance at any time for any reason, but you may have to pay a $25 cancellation fee. However, you may be entitled to a refund if you paid in full for your policy.

You’ll need your SafeAuto policy number and the date you wish to end coverage to cancel. It’s crucial that you have new car insurance in place before you finalize your SafeAuto coverage. A lapse in coverage means higher rates and legal penalties.

Does SafeAuto offer roadside assistance?

You can get SafeAuto roadside assistance as part of full coverage. Roadside assistance includes towing, winching, jump starts, tire changes, lockouts, and fluid delivery.

Does SafeAuto car insurance cover rental cars?

Yes, SafeAuto rental car coverage pays for a rental if your vehicle is damaged in a covered accident. Typically, the company reimburses you for renting a car while yours is in the shop. You can also use your daily allowance for services like Lyft or Uber.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Safe Auto Insurance Company

3.55 (402 reviews)
1
February 28, 2021

tttt10

Horrible company

Canceled insurance waiting for refund check. Over a month later. Called to verify address had the correct one.
5
January 17, 2021

TRE21

Affordable car insurance

They're affordable and send frequent reminders of your bills due date. Safe Auto keeps you safe for less!
5
January 17, 2021

Bonza

Great company

Great company, good customer service and answer the phones properly and good rates. I would recommend them to anyone searching.
5
January 5, 2021

Tarza

Really good company

I have been with Safe Auto for about 5 years and have never had a problem. The customer support is great! Really good company.
1
November 5, 2020

rstriegel

Stay Away From Safeauto Insurance Company

I chose Safteauto after my insurance rate went through the roof. I signed up for insurance based on the rate and the coverage. They accepted my application. I cancelled my other coverage. When I received my insurance packet, the rate was much higher than the quote. This is a bait and switch insurance company in my opinion. I found auto insurance through Progressive that is 1/2 the cost. I called Safeauto and cancelled the policy. Shortly afte...
I chose Safteauto after my insurance rate went through the roof. I signed up for insurance based on the rate and the coverage. They accepted my application. I cancelled my other coverage. When I received my insurance packet, the rate was much higher than the quote. This is a bait and switch insurance company in my opinion. I found auto insurance through Progressive that is 1/2 the cost. I called Safeauto and cancelled the policy. Shortly afterwards I received a bill for $37, a "cancellation fee". Consumer be warned...this is not a company to select for your insurance needs...in my opinion.
4
October 17, 2020

catehartman

Good for SR-22

When I needed SR-22 insurance they were the cheapest place I could find. The rates were decent at the time.
5
October 8, 2020

Tabycat1113

Great company for new drivers

I like this company because they give you the very basic requirements for your states so you spend less, they don't care about credit scores, and they have a very understanding team that helps when you have issues, I recommend them to all new drivers.
1
June 12, 2020

Jayb30853

Problems with company

I felt they didn't hold up their end of the agreement. I had some problems with them. When I went to call them I was put on hold for a very very long time and once a representative answers I was given no respect for being a customer. They seemed to be very annoyed because of my calling and the issue was not resolved. I ended up cancelling with them shortly after the phone conversation.
5
May 4, 2020

lisagaetano13

Safe auto a safe decision

I was amazed at how much lower the payments are than other companies I shopped.the phone agent was excellent and very helpful
4
May 4, 2020

Zuka

Auto insurance

I am very setisfied with the company. I had auto insurance 2 years ago but i am planning to visit the company again
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption