Nationwide Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Everything you need to know about Nationwide car insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 31, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 31, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 31, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,376

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Great rates for teen drivers
  • Great rates for people with bad credit
  • Usage-based savings options
  • A+ ratings with A.M. Best and the BBB
  • Discounts options
  • Various coverages
  • Excellent customer service options
  • Excellent claims handling
  • Many options for bundling services
  • Good rates when adding a teen driver to a policy
  • A pay-per-mile insurance option
  • Coverage in 46 states
  • Customizable policies

Cons

  • Pricey policies
  • Low customer satisfaction with the claims process
  • No option for rideshare coverage
  • High premiums for individuals with a DUI
  • High premiums for individuals with accidents on their record
  • Low overall customer satisfaction ratings

The Bottom Line

Nationwide Car Insurance: The Bottom Line

Nationwide offers various options for car insurance. If you’re looking for a customizable policy with a well-known and financially stable insurance provider, Nationwide could be an excellent fit for you.

However, the company has higher-than-average rates, and you may find that customers aren’t pleased with the company’s claims process. So, shopping online for quotes from multiple providers is important before deciding on a coverage.

Things to Remember

  • Nationwide offers several options for car insurance throughout the U.S.
  • The company has coverage add-ons and allows policyholders to save money on coverage through discounts
  • Nationwide has an A+ (superior) rating with A.M. Best and an A+ with the Better Business Bureau

If you’re looking for the best car insurance company, you’ve likely heard of Nationwide. Nationwide offers car insurance throughout the U.S., with options to customize your policy and save money with different discounts.

Nationwide is a well-known insurance provider, and the company has excellent ratings from professional organizations. However, you should still compare quotes from Nationwide to other providers to ensure you’re getting the policy you want at a price that works with your budget.

Is Nationwide a Good Choice?

Does Nationwide have good ratings?

Nationwide has an A+ (superior) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. The company also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). However, customer complaints about Nationwide claims on the BBB website suggest the company has room for improvement.

How is Nationwide’s claims process?

Customers can call the Nationwide insurance phone number or the Nationwide claims number directly to start the claims process. Still, many policyholders say calling the Nationwide insurance claims phone number to file a claim isn’t as straightforward as it sounds.

Most complaints concerning Nationwide’s car insurance center around the fact that specific car insurance claims take too long to finish while other claims get denied when they shouldn’t be. So if you’re planning to purchase an auto insurance policy with Nationwide, you may want to consider what policyholders say about the claims process.

Nationwide Rates

How much is Nationwide car insurance?

The amount you’ll pay for car insurance depends on several factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage type

Nationwide insurance quotes tend to be high compared to competitors, but premiums with Nationwide still rest below the national average in most instances.

The table below shows annual auto insurance rates with Nationwide compared to other well-known insurance providers.

Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Age is one of the most influential factors in determining auto insurance rates. Because of their lack of experience behind the wheel, teenage drivers tend to have the highest auto insurance rates.

As drivers age, and gain experience, their auto insurance rates may start going down as long as they keep their driving records fairly clean. Compare the teenage rates above with the rates for adult drivers in this chart.

Senior drivers may see a slight bump in their average annual auto insurance rates, but not much.

Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Score

Another factor in determining auto insurance rates is your credit score. As you will see below, a higher credit score will help keep your auto insurance rates low.

Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates by Driving History

If you are a safe driver and keep your driving record clean, you have a good chance of keeping your car insurance rates low. Take a look at how your annual rates can change if you get a DUI or ticket or if you are found at-fault in an accident.

Find and compare Nationwide quotes with quotes from other insurance companies to ensure you get the coverage you want at the best price.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Discounts Available

Does Nationwide offer discounts?

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company offers several discount options to its policyholders, including:

  • Multi-policy
  • Defensive driving
  • SmartRide
  • Anti-theft
  • SmartMiles
  • Safe driver
  • Accident-free
  • Automatic payments
  • Good student
  • Paperless

According to the Nationwide website, discounts may help policyholders save up to 25% on their insurance rates. Nationwide’s SmartRide discount is one of the best options for saving money on coverage.

Before committing to auto insurance with Nationwide, compare quotes from multiple providers to ensure you get the best deal on coverage.

What is SmartRide with Nationwide?

Nationwide’s SmartRide is a usage-based driving program allowing policyholders to save money by sharing some driving statistics with the company.

Policyholders can download the app to take advantage of the discounts available with SmartRide. Nationwide then monitors certain driving habits, like:

  • Miles driven
  • Braking patterns
  • Acceleration patterns
  • Idle time
  • How often you drive between midnight and 5 a.m.

Regardless of your driving patterns, enrolling in SmartRide will never cause an increase in your insurance rates. However, you could save money on your car insurance premium by enrolling in the SmartRide program. Take a look at how Nationwide’s rates vary compared to other top companies based on driving record:

Top 10 Companies' Auto Insurance Average Annual Rates Based on Driving Record
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with an AccidentRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$2,848$2,342$1,993
American Family$2,124$2,000$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,296$2,383$2,108$1,674
GEICO$2,566$1,595$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,840$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,983$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,760$2,284$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,285$1,227$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,888$1,780$1,287
USAA$1,335$996$859$753
Average$2,619$2,123$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Nationwide Coverage Options

What does Nationwide offer for car insurance?

Nationwide offers several coverage options. Depending on what you’re looking for, you may find that Nationwide car insurance fits your needs. Nationwide auto insurance coverage options include:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Personal injury protection
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist
  • Medical payments
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Towing and labor
  • Rental car expense
  • GAP coverage
  • Accident forgiveness
  • Roadside assistance
  • Vanishing deductible
  • Total loss deductible waiver

Nationwide auto insurance coverages allow policyholders to customize their coverage to ensure they feel safe behind the wheel. The company also offers extensive opportunities for discounts so individuals can save money on their insurance rates. Take a look at how their cheapest rates compare to other top insurance companies:

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
Average$541

Does Nationwide have add-on coverage options?

There are several add-on options customers can purchase with a Nationwide policy, including: 

  • Roadside assistance
  • Rental reimbursement coverage
  • GAP coverage
  • Accident forgiveness
  • Vanishing deductibles
  • Total loss deductible waiver

The add-ons listed above will likely make an insurance policy with Nationwide more expensive, but they could also give you peace of mind when you’re driving.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Nationwide a good car insurance company?

Yes, Nationwide is a highly-rated car insurance company that insures millions of drivers every year. The policies are reliable, and the company’s financial strength is superb.

Who should purchase a car insurance policy with Nationwide?

Nebraska drivers should consider Nationwide as it offers the cheapest rates in their state. Additionally, anyone with poor credit scores may also want to consider Nationwide because of its reasonably-priced insurance options. Otherwise, individuals should compare rates from Nationwide to those from other companies to find what might work best for them.

Where can I get Nationwide insurance?

You can visit the Nationwide website or call a local representative to learn more about purchasing an auto insurance policy.

How do I contact Nationwide insurance?

You can visit the company website or call 877-669-6877 at any time to contact a Nationwide representative.

How does Nationwide compare to other car insurance companies?

USAA is the only company that beats Nationwide in terms of customer loyalty. Rates with the company are often in the middle of the pack, but in certain scenarios, Nationwide does offer more competitive rates on coverage.

Is Nationwide dependable?

Nationwide has a low NAIC index concerning customer complaints, meaning Nationwide customers are less likely to complain about the company than policyholders with other insurance companies. The company also has an exceptional financial strength rating.

Is Nationwide cheap?

Nationwide’s insurance rates are average. You may be able to find cheaper rates with other companies, but the company has a lot to offer in terms of coverage options and overall customer care.

Who owns Nationwide?

Because Nationwide is a mutual insurance company, it is technically owned by the people who carry Nationwide insurance policies.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Nationwide

4.02 (3,017 reviews)
1
December 7, 2021

brycelefevre

Long phone wait times

Had to call in a few times now for the same auto claim. The first time was nearly 1.5 hours before anyone picked up. Today I have been waiting over 2 hours for an answer and still nothing. Nationwide should learn to take care of their customers and answer the phones so they can provide the service they are being paid to provide!
5
January 16, 2021

Wareagle256205

Is Nationwide REALLY on your side?

Happy with Nationwide so far. Premiums are not too shabby. The agent and customer service has been more than helpful. This is good after having horrible experience with another provider.
5
January 16, 2021

Danielle202

Best Insurance Company

its best insurance company for me. i like this company. this companies policy suit every person. so anyone like it.
5
January 5, 2021

Purple1992_

Great service and worth the money

I enjoyed their service and think that they really do put their customer first by accommodating them as much possible
4
December 24, 2020

Lawanda

Delighted to have auto insurance and roadside assistance.

It was wintertime and I wasn't thinking clearly. I started my car to let it warm up and locked my keys inside. I had to go to a neighbor's house and call for a lock out. I had to wait at my neighbors until they came, but had to keep an eye on my car at the same time. I was so happy to have insurance to cover this experience. It could have been a lot worse. They were there within 30 minutes or so.
5
December 22, 2020

Anna5N

Nationwide is the best

They have fantastic rates and good quality coverage for the price. The staff are very knowledgeable and always help me with my auto insurance needs.
5
December 15, 2020

Jencorbin

Nationwide really is on your side

I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discoun...
I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discount. I have no plan switching insurance providers anytime soon because I am so satisfied.
4
November 26, 2020

Adelbert

In Nationwide I Trust

My experience with nationwide is really fascinating. They vaule their customers very much. They care about their customers. Their service is up to the mark. I am really happy to be with them.
2
October 21, 2020

RD2371

Misleading adice

I was quoted 1 price but every time interest rate went up so did my payment and I got to where I come afford payment
5
October 21, 2020

JealousGull

Staying with another 10+ years

I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out...
I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out and had a tow truck on the way arriving in 15 minutes. I also like my yearly calendar!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption