Root Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Root auto insurance uses telematics technology to track driving habits and set rates based on how safe you drive. Root car insurance reviews find the company offers various coverages, ranging from full coverage to roadside assistance and SR-22 insurance. Below, you can compare Root insurance rates.

UPDATED: May 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 29, 2024Fact Checked

Aremu Adams Adebisi

Feature Writer

Aremu Adams Adebisi graduated from college with a B.Sc in Economics. He's currently pursuing his MBA while writing insurance features covering trending topics in the car insurance industry. He's fascinated by the surges of insurtech in an era of decentralized finance (DeFi). Aremu has written for several insurance agencies and companies. He profiles startups on Insideropedia and serves as a con...

Feature Writer

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 29, 2024Fact Checked
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Root

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$82

A.M. Best rating:

NR

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Affordable rates for low-mileage drivers
  • Customizable policies
  • User-friendly app

Cons

  • Frequently rejects applications
  • Limited Support

What You Should Know About Root Insurance

Things to Remember

  • Root Insurance issues a custom auto insurance rate based on driving habits
  • The company monitors your driving habits through an app on your smartphone
  • Root offers low rates, but there are some customer complaints and other drawbacks

Root auto insurance may be a good fit if you’re a safe driver searching for cheap auto insurance coverage. Root Insurance offers auto insurance coverage in several U.S. states, and the company keeps customers’ rates low by assessing their driving styles.

To get a Root insurance quote, drivers allow the Root car insurance app to monitor specific driving habits and tendencies for a few days to a few weeks. During this process, the company assesses the person’s safety behind the wheel and determines a rate that matches their driving style.

Read our Root car insurance review to compare rates and learn how to get affordable usage-based auto insurance.

Root Auto Insurance Customer Reviews and Complaints

Root has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), but Root car insurance reviews from customers suggest the company has room for improvement.

Root insurance reviews with the BBB show customers filed 115 complaints in the last year and over 350 in the last three years. Many Root insurance complaints mention poor claims handling alongside unauthorized bills and charges.

If you’re considering applying for Root, read through some customer complaints before committing to a Root car insurance policy.

Pros and Cons of Root Auto Insurance

Some of the benefits of a car insurance policy with Root include:

  • Low rates
  • SR-22 filings
  • Extensive app functions
  • Discounts for safe drivers
  • Roadside assistance

Still, there are some drawbacks to Root auto insurance, including:

  • A possibility you won’t receive coverage
  • Only available in certain states
  • Numerous customer complaints
  • No options for new car replacement or vanishing deductibles

Depending on where you live, you may be unable to purchase a Root car insurance policy. However, even if it’s available in your state, you should consider other options before committing to Root as your insurance provider. For example, compare Root vs. State Farm auto insurance to see which offers the best rates, coverage types, and discounts.

How Root Usage-Based Auto Insurance Works

Root may seem similar to other car insurance companies in many ways. For example, the company offers standard auto insurance options, allows policyholders to customize their policies, and ascribes lower auto insurance rates to individuals considered safe drivers.

Still, one thing sets Root apart from competitors — your driving habits primarily determine your Root auto insurance rates.

While Root considers other factors when determining a driver’s insurance rates, the company pays more attention to your driving habits than any other factor. For example, most companies consider driving history when setting rates, but Root evaluates driving habits before potentially offering coverage. Read more about the factors that affect auto insurance rates.

The company may deny you coverage if you drive poorly during the Root insurance evaluation period. Additionally, if Root Insurance Company decides you’re not a safe driver, you can’t reapply for coverage.

How to Sign Up for Root Auto Insurance

To get a Root car insurance quote, you must complete a two or three-week test drive. You can sign up for the test drive via the Root website or by downloading the company app. Once you’ve signed up, Root will monitor your driving before potentially offering you coverage.

Below is a list of driving habits monitored by the Root auto insurance app:

  • Hard braking
  • Time of day you drive
  • Speed during turns
  • Miles driven
  • Driving routes
  • Acceleration patterns

The app uses your smartphone to track your driving habits before Root agents decide whether you’re eligible for coverage.

After the monitoring period ends, Root insurance will decide whether to approve you for coverage. Root’s website says it only insures good drivers, meaning people who get a Root auto insurance quote will likely enjoy low rates.

Compare Different Types of Root Auto Insurance Coverage

Root coverage options vary by state, so call the Root Insurance phone number to learn more about your options. Generally, Root offers the following coverages to its policyholders:

Root may not offer gap insurance or other optional coverages in your state, but speaking with a Root insurance representative could help you better understand whether the company would work for you.

Keep reading this Root car insurance review to compare average rates and find the best deal in your area.

Compare Root Auto Insurance Rates

Interested individuals must complete the Root insurance driving evaluation process before getting an online quote. The company tends to offer fairly low rates for coverage, but your driving habits will determine your potential rates and whether the company is willing to cover you.

To get started, let’s look at the full coverage car insurance rates across the U.S.

Root vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
Insurance CompanyFull Coverage
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
Root$82
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
USAA$59
U.S. Average$119

Root vs. Competitors in Minimum Coverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates

Explore the landscape of auto insurance affordability with our detailed comparison of minimum coverage rates from leading insurers. Discover how Root stands out as a cost-effective choice, challenging the norms in this overview of monthly premiums. The table below shows the minimum coverage rates from top insurance companies.

Root vs. Competitors: Minimum Coverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
Insurance CompanyMinimum Coverage
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$30
Liberty Mutual$68
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
Root$31
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
USAA$22
U.S. Average$45

If you’re interested in Root auto insurance, you can always call the Root car insurance phone number in your state to speak with Root insurance customer service. However, a representative will likely tell you that your driving evaluation will impact your rates.

In addition to monitoring your driving habits, Root auto insurance also considers the following factors when determining your auto insurance rates:

  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving record
  • Marital status
  • Vehicle make and model
  • Age
  • Prior insurance information

If you believe you’re a good driver and your evaluation would reflect that, it’s a good idea to consider pursuing a policy with Root to get cheap car insurance rates.

Compare Root Auto Insurance Discounts

Root insurance offers its policyholders a few discount options on coverage, including multi-policy, paid-in-full, safe driving, and autosteer (for Tesla drivers) discounts.

Root Auto Insurance Discounts
DiscountDescription
Bundling DiscountCustomers who choose to bundle different insurance policies, such as auto and home insurance, can enjoy cost savings for their loyalty.
Good Student DiscountHigh school or college students who maintain good grades may be eligible for a discount as a recognition of their academic achievement.
Green or Hybrid Vehicle DiscountOwners of environmentally friendly vehicles, such as hybrids or electric cars, may receive discounts for contributing to a cleaner environment.
Low Mileage DiscountPolicyholders who drive fewer miles than average may be eligible for a discount, as lower mileage often correlates with a lower risk of accidents.
Multi-Vehicle DiscountFamilies or individuals with multiple vehicles insured on the same policy often receive a discount on the overall premium.
Occupation-Based DiscountsSome insurers offer discounts based on the policyholder's occupation, assuming certain professions are associated with lower risk.
Paid in Full DiscountPolicyholders who pay their entire premium upfront, rather than in monthly installments, may receive a discount as an incentive for full payment commitment.
Renewal or Loyalty DiscountCustomers who stay with the same insurance provider for an extended period may receive discounts as a reward for their loyalty during policy renewals.
Safe Driver DiscountPolicyholders with a history of safe driving, free from accidents or violations, may qualify for reduced premiums as a safe driver.
Safety Feature DiscountVehicles equipped with advanced safety features, such as anti-lock brakes or airbags, may qualify for discounts due to the reduced risk of accidents.
Senior Driver DiscountOlder drivers who meet certain age criteria and have a safe driving record may be eligible for discounts designed for senior policyholders.
Telematics or Usage-Based DiscountThis discount is based on the driver's behavior, monitored through telematics devices or mobile apps. Safe driving habits can lead to reduced premiums.

Read More:

Root doesn’t clarify how much policyholders could save with auto insurance discounts. Still, if you have a policy with Root, it’s a good idea to call the Root insurance number and ask a company representative whether you qualify for coverage discounts. You should also read more about how to save money by bundling insurance policies with Root.

Understanding Root Auto Insurance Reviews

Root insurance offers lower-than-average rates to its auto insurance policyholders by monitoring their driving habits and techniques before offering a policy. So if you’re a safe driver who avoids distracted driving and doesn’t mind Root monitoring your driving, Root could be a good fit for you.

If you want more robust coverage, or if you don’t want a company to monitor your driving, you shouldn’t consider Root for your insurance needs. Instead, you can find and compare cheap quotes from the best auto insurance companies in your area.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

In which states is Root auto insurance coverage available?

Root car insurance is available in Alabama, Alaska, the District of Columbia, Idaho, Florida, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Washington, Wyoming, and Vermont.

Is Root insurance legit?

Root is a legitimate auto insurance company, but not all applicants will qualify for coverage with the company.

Can my Root auto insurance rates be impacted if I ride in the car with someone else during my evaluation period?

Since the Root insurance app can recognize when you’re a passenger vs. when you’re a driver, you shouldn’t get penalized if you’re a passenger in someone else’s car.

Who owns Root Insurance?

Alex Timm is the co-founder and CEO of Root Insurance.

Is Root insurance full coverage?

Yes, Root insurance offers full coverage. Full coverage auto insurance with Root includes bodily injury liability, property damage liability, collision, and comprehensive coverages.

How does Root vs. State Farm auto insurance compare?

While Root insurance may be good for low-mileage or safe drivers, State Farm auto insurance offers better customer service ratings alongside cheap rates.

Does Root auto insurance cover rental cars?

Yes, your personal Root insurance coverage will cover rental cars as well. However, roadside assistance with Root doesn’t extend to rental vehicles.

Can I add cars to my Root auto insurance policy?

You can change your Root car insurance policy by opening your app, choosing “Auto Policy,” and clicking on “Profile.”

Why is Root auto insurance so cheap?

Root uses telematics technology, such as smartphone apps or devices, to track your driving habits and determine your insurance premium based on factors like braking, acceleration, rather than focusing on the accident and theft rates in your city.

How long does it take Root insurance to pay auto claims?

According to its website, Root insurance takes about 1-2 weeks to pay out auto insurance claims.

Aremu Adams Adebisi

Feature Writer

Aremu Adams Adebisi graduated from college with a B.Sc in Economics. He's currently pursuing his MBA while writing insurance features covering trending topics in the car insurance industry. He's fascinated by the surges of insurtech in an era of decentralized finance (DeFi). Aremu has written for several insurance agencies and companies. He profiles startups on Insideropedia and serves as a con...

Feature Writer

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Root Insurance

3.34 (731 reviews)
5
March 24, 2024

Max_T_

Easy to set up!

Very easy to pick your desired plan based on your preferences. Needed to get coverage ASAP and they made it very easy to set up!
4
March 24, 2024

Ram1500classic

Route auto insurance was a One-Stop shop for all my needs th

My experience with root insurance has been very good I'm very satisfied and hopefully my rates go down after I'm monitored my driving is monitored after 30 days but all in all I give root your auto insurance and a
5
March 22, 2024

Samaggart3442

Cheaper!!!

Love that my payment is $50-80 cheaper than everyone else! And I was able to customize my policy to what I want!
5
March 16, 2024

SierraN

Easy Insurance

Super easy to navigate and saved me so much money for 2 cars. It’s nice to not have to spend so much for car insurance.
5
March 15, 2024

Millihundo123

Best insurance ever ❗️❗️❗️

Best insurance company so far this my first month and I’m very pleased ! I applied got approved and now I’m doing the test drive
3
March 9, 2024

Ennis_in_Florida

Dooped online

Not real happy, thought I was getting a really good price but didn’t include collision. Web site signing up little confusing. When tried to add collision was ridiculously high not worth it
5
March 9, 2024

Polyg12

So far so good!

They did it effortlessly fast and exactly what I liked! I absolutely love them so far! I like that they have a driver rater experience so they could lower the price in the future.
5
March 6, 2024

hastingsline005

First time car owner, very painless

Cheapest quote and was very painless to get car insurance. I was insured the very same day within 10 minutes of going on their website.
5
March 5, 2024

Ferrarijoshua85_

Easy, quick, and affordable

So far, this was the easiest insurance buy I've ever done. For the first month I am being tested to determine if they want to insure me permanently. I think that is a fantastic way to do insurance to keep costs low. Haven't had to try to talk to a person yet, but I have high hopes. Can't be worse than Progressive. Edit: I gave a 5 star customer service although I have not had to deal with that yet. I trust them until I have a reason not to
5
February 29, 2024

TraciW

Easy! Love it!

Extremely easy to use and purchase from. Quick! Coverage that day! Also covers doordash,uber and lyft.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption