Say Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Say Auto Insurance sets itself apart from other companies by offering transparent pricing. However, the company no longer sells new policies, though it plans to service existing ones.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024Fact Checked

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024Fact Checked
1.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Say Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$135

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Allows policyholders to view their insurance score, a number the company uses to evaluate auto insurance rates
  • Each policy offers roadside assistance
  • Customers receive a loyalty discount at each policy renewal

Cons

  • Doesn’t sell new insurance policies
  • Only in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Montana, and Tennessee
  • Few discount options
  • Lack of additional coverage
  • Doesn’t file SR-22 forms

Final Verdict: Review of Say Insurance

Say Insurance, founded in 2016, is new to the insurance world and offers policyholders various coverage and discount opportunities. It stands apart from competitors by allowing customers to see valuable information about their auto insurance score, which companies use to assess your risk level to insure.

Owned and backed by Shelter Insurance, Say Auto Insurance offers the standard policy options most companies sell but lacks add-on coverage. However, the company recently stopped selling insurance products, though it will continue to service existing policies.

With transparent pricing, the company could be a good fit for first-time insured drivers, so keep reading this Say Insurance review.

Say offers various standard car insurance coverages. In addition, it stands apart from competitors by offering a transparent rating process, which could win over newly insured customers. With its upcoming mobile app and telematics program, Say Insurance seeks to cater to a younger demographic. So, first-time insured young people may find the coverage they need with the company. However, customers with an established insurance history could find better protection and more coverage options with another company.

What You Should Know About Say Insurance

Most customer reviews of Say Insurance are positive, but there’s limited feedback from policyholders since the company is new.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners hasn’t received an official complaint for the company. However, its parent company Shelter Insurance has a positive complaint index of 0.23 from the organization. This score suggests Shelter only receives 23% as many complaints as expected for a company of its size and that customers are satisfied with the company.

Regarding financial stability, A.M. Best gave the company an A, indicating it can pay out its claims to policyholders.

While the Better Business Bureau doesn’t accredit Say, its site shows 4.72 out of 5 stars for customer reviews.

Say Insurance Coverage Options

You can’t purchase new coverage with Say Auto Insurance, but existing policyholders enjoy the standard coverages necessary to drive legally. However, the company lacks additional coverage options. For example, some drivers require add-on coverages for full protection, like GAP insurance, which Say Insurance doesn’t sell.

Also, since the company doesn’t offer other insurance types, you can’t bundle a Say Insurance auto policy with home insurance, for example.

Below is a list of the standard coverages available with Say Insurance:

  • Bodily injury liability. Bodily injury liability insurance covers medical bills, lost wages, and funeral costs for other drivers and passengers involved in a car accident you caused.
  • Property damage liability. Property damage liability covers vehicle and property damages you caused in an at-fault accident.
  • Collision. Collision auto insurance coverage pays to repair or replace your vehicle after an accident, regardless of fault.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive auto coverage covers vehicle damages not caused by a collision, like vandalism, theft, weather, and fire.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Uninsured/underinsured motorist auto insurance coverage pays for damages caused by a driver with inadequate or no insurance or if you’re involved in a hit-and-run.
  • Medical payments. Medical payment coverage pays for medical bills following a covered accident.

Say’s collision and comprehensive coverages come with new car replacement coverage, meaning policyholders who get in an accident within a year of buying a car could get a check for the value of a new car of the same make and model.

Though the company’s add-on coverage options are limited, Say offers two coverages that are common in the car insurance industry:

  • Roadside assistance. Roadside assistance plans cover up to $100 worth of services, including dead batteries, flat tires, lockout services, and towing. Unlike other companies, Say Insurance’s roadside assistance comes with every auto policy.
  • Rental reimbursement. Rental car reimbursement pays for a rental vehicle while your car gets repaired following a claim. However, it only pays for repairs resulting from an accident covered under your collision and comprehensive coverages.

Say’s car insurance rates vary based on personal factors and coverage selection. Most states require liability coverage, but not all drivers need full coverage. See the table below to compare full coverage versus minimum coverage rates from the top auto insurance companies.

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage RatesAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$87$160
American Family$66$116
Farmers$76$138
Geico$50$80
Liberty Mutual$90$173
Nationwide$61$115
Progressive$69$105
State Farm$40$86
Travelers$53$99
Average$69$119

As you can see, you’ll pay more for full coverage than minimum coverage, but you have more protection. However, some drivers could decline full coverage if their car is old or its value is lower than their deductible.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Say Insurance Rates Breakdown

While you won’t know how much you’ll pay for coverage before getting a Say Insurance quote, it’s important to compare Say’s average rates to the national average and its competitors.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates by State
StatesMonthly Rates
Alabama$70
Alaska$88
Arizona$75
Arkansas$79
California$78
Colorado$94
Connecticut$82
Countrywide$101
Delaware$110
District of Columbia$101
Florida$83
Georgia$72
Hawaii$56
Idaho$71
Illinois$61
Indiana$57
Iowa$71
Kansas$76
Kentucky$114
Louisiana$57
Maine$91
Maryland$92
Massachusetts$57
Michigan$105
Minnesota$71
Mississippi$80
Missouri$70
Montana$72
Nebraska$67
Nevada$90
New Hampshire$66
New Jersey$115
New Mexico$77
New York$111
North Carolina$64
North Dakota$64
Ohio$64
Oklahoma$82
Oregon$75
Pennsylvania$79
Rhode Island$105
South Carolina$78
South Dakota$62
Tennessee$71
Texas$89
Utah$71
Vermont$62
Virginia$70
Washington$79
West Virginia$86
Wisconsin$60
Wyoming$70

Various other factors affect auto insurance rates besides company choice, so you should also compare average rates based on various personal characteristics.

Say Insurance Rates for Poor Credit

Auto insurance and your credit score are connected. Many insurance companies consider credit scores when setting rates. Not every state allows the practice, but most do. Check out the table below to see the average auto insurance rates by credit score.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score
CompanyGood CreditFair CreditBad Credit
AAA$135$165$245
Allstate$166$197$296
American Family$116$136$203
Farmers$140$161$269
Geico$82$100$148
Hartford$120$155$230
Liberty Mutual$177$226$355
Nationwide$120$133$166
Progressive$109$138$206
State Farm$91$118$200
Travelers$107$128$194
U.S. Average$123$148$226

As shown, drivers with poor credit can expect to pay more monthly for coverage with poor credit.

Say Insurance Rates With an At-Fault Accident

Expect to pay more for insurance coverage if you have an at-fault accident on your record. Look at the table below to learn what you might pay for car insurance with an at-fault accident.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyClean RecordOne Accident
AAA$180$220
Allstate$166$225
American Family$116$176
Farmers$140$198
Geico$95$132
Hartford$175$230
Liberty Mutual$177$234
Nationwide$140$161
Progressive$120$186
State Farm$105$150
Travelers$160$200
U.S. Average$123$172

If you have an at-fault accident on your record, expect to pay more for Say car insurance.

Say Insurance Rates With a DUI

A DUI is a serious offense to an insurance company, so expect much higher rates. The table below compares the rates of auto insurance for drivers with a DUI to the rates you would pay with a clean record.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyClean RecordOne AccidentOne DUIOne Ticket
AAA$180$220$240$220
Allstate$166$225$225$195
American Family$116$176$176$131
Farmers$140$198$198$176
Geico$95$132$132$125
Hartford$175$230$250$215
Liberty Mutual$177$234$234$217
Nationwide$140$161$161$175
Progressive$120$186$186$160
State Farm$105$150$202$138
Travelers$160$200$239$205
U.S. Average$123$172$173$152

Drivers with a DUI on their record should expect to pay more for Say auto insurance coverage.

Say Insurance’s Transparent Rates for Standard Coverage

One of the ways Say Insurance stands apart from competitors is its transparent rate calculations. Insurance companies rarely offer policyholders details about how they calculate rates, but Say Insurance lets drivers see their insurance scores for free.

Customers who opt to receive their insurance score can better understand it and the steps to improve them. As your score increases, your rates decrease. Say Car Insurance policies renew every six months, allowing policyholders to lower their rates at the beginning of each term potentially.

Additionally, Say Insurance considers customer loyalty when setting rates to help policyholders save on coverage.

Say Insurance Discounts Available

Say offers various auto insurance discounts commonly offered at many insurance companies. For drivers looking to save on coverage, the company’s savings consider the driver, vehicle, and policy.

Say Auto Insurance Discounts
Say Auto Insurance Discounts How to Get Discount Offered in Every Say Insurance State? Percentage Saved
Anti-Theft Device DiscountIncludes car alarms, GPS trackers, and ignition disable devices; Applies to your comprehensive insuranceNo (only offered in Illinois) Up to 15%
Advance Purchase Discount Buy Say Insurance at least seven days before you need your policy to startYes Up to 10%
Continuous Insurance Discount Need to have had insurance up to signing up with Say Insurance (meaning you don't have a gap in coverage)Yes Up to 10%
Defensive Driving Course Discount Must take defensive driving course approved by Secretary of state; Applies to liability, Medpay, and collision coveragesNo (not offered in Missouri) Up to 10% off of each coverage
Paperless Discount Must have documents emailed instead of mailedYes Up to 10%
Pay in Full Discount Pay policy in fullYes Up to 10%

As previously mentioned, Say Insurance doesn’t offer many other policies besides auto, so you can’t receive a discount for bundling coverage with a home policy, for instance. However, the company still offers many ways for customers to save on their auto policy.

How Say Insurance Ranks Among Providers

Though Say offers financial stability, good customer service, and decent rates, comparing quotes with your Say Insurance quote and looking at average company rates is important.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age, Gender, & Provider
Insurance Company18-Year-Old Female18-Year-Old Male30-Year-Old Female30-Year-Old Male45-Year-Old Female45-Year-Old Male55-Year-Old Female55-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female65-Year-Old Male
AAA$328$378$99$103$88$86$83$81$86$84
Allstate$448$519$168$176$162$160$153$152$158$157
American Family$305$414$116$137$115$117$109$111$113$114
Cure$405$461$125$128$114$111$108$105$111$109
Farmers$597$629$160$167$139$139$132$131$136$136
Geico$220$254$90$87$80$80$76$76$78$78
Hartford$407$469$126$133$115$113$109$107$112$109
Liberty Mutual$626$626$174$200$171$174$162$165$167$170
Mercury$283$318$87$91$78$77$74$73$77$76
Nationwide$303$387$124$136$113$115$107$109$111$112
Progressive$591$662$131$136$112$105$106$100$109$103
Safeco$253$292$77$79$72$71$69$67$71$69
State Farm$229$284$94$103$86$86$82$82$84$84
Travelers$530$740$99$108$98$99$93$94$96$97
USAA$180$203$74$79$59$59$56$56$58$57
U.S. Average$416$501$128$139$119$119$113$113$117$117

As you can see, rates vary by company, so it’s important to shop around and compare quotes.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get a Say Insurance quote?

Since the company no longer sells existing policies, you can’t get a quote with Say Insurance. However, Say Insurance plans to service existing policies.

How does Say Auto Insurance set rates?

Say Auto Insurance sets car insurance rates by considering numerous factors like personal characteristics, household information, and coverage choices.

What U.S. states offer Say Insurance?

Say Insurance services existing policies in Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Montana, and Tennessee.

What is Say Auto Insurance?

Say Auto Insurance is an insurance company that specializes in providing auto insurance coverage to drivers. They offer digital-first insurance solutions with a focus on simplifying the insurance process and providing personalized coverage options.

Is Say Auto Insurance a reputable company?

Say Auto Insurance is a relatively new company in the insurance industry. While they may not have an extensive track record, they aim to provide innovative and customer-centric insurance solutions. It’s recommended to research and read customer reviews to gather more information about their reputation and customer experiences.

What types of coverage does Say Auto Insurance offer?

Say Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options to protect you and your vehicle. They provide standard auto insurance coverages such as liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. Additionally, they may offer optional coverage add-ons and benefits that you can customize to fit your needs.

How can I get a quote from Say Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote from Say Auto Insurance, you can visit their official website or download their mobile app. They have a user-friendly quote process where you can provide the necessary information about your vehicle, driving history, and coverage preferences to receive a personalized quote.

Does Say Auto Insurance offer any discounts?

Say Auto Insurance may offer discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums. These discounts can vary but commonly include safe driver discounts, multi-car discounts, and discounts for bundling multiple policies. When obtaining a quote, be sure to inquire about available discounts that you may qualify for.

How can I file a claim with Say Auto Insurance?

If you need to file a claim with Say Auto Insurance, you can do so through their mobile app or by contacting their claims department directly. They provide a streamlined claims process, allowing you to report the incident, submit necessary documentation, and track the progress of your claim.

How is Say Auto Insurance customer service?

Say Auto Insurance aims to provide excellent customer service to policyholders. They offer digital support channels, including live chat and email, to address inquiries and concerns. While their customer service may not be available 24/7, they strive to respond promptly and assist customers effectively.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with the best insurance coverage to meet their needs. His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada.

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Say Insurance

1.88 (8 reviews)
1
February 26, 2022

Hajalie24

Would not recommend

I was with Say Insurance for over 2 years. My autopay was coming up but it was on a canceled credit card so the payment did not go through. I was not notified that my payment failed in any way. No email, phone call, nothing. Instead my policy was just canceled out of the blue and I had to quickly scramble to get insurance from another company. The only email I got was telling me my insurance was canceled. I didn't even get a phone call or lette...
I was with Say Insurance for over 2 years. My autopay was coming up but it was on a canceled credit card so the payment did not go through. I was not notified that my payment failed in any way. No email, phone call, nothing. Instead my policy was just canceled out of the blue and I had to quickly scramble to get insurance from another company. The only email I got was telling me my insurance was canceled. I didn't even get a phone call or letter in the mail so it easily could have been missed and I would have been driving without insurance. Would not recommend.
1
May 2, 2020

Brepanda25

Would never recommend

I purchased my insurance through them and it was low priced and great. Then my debit card was stolen so my bank account had to order me a new one. Since my card was shut off my payment didn’t go through. I got a notice that they were canceling my policy and I needed to make the last payment (even though they cancelled). I called Say attempting to explain to them that I wanted to make my payment so that I could continue my policy. They told me t...
I purchased my insurance through them and it was low priced and great. Then my debit card was stolen so my bank account had to order me a new one. Since my card was shut off my payment didn’t go through. I got a notice that they were canceling my policy and I needed to make the last payment (even though they cancelled). I called Say attempting to explain to them that I wanted to make my payment so that I could continue my policy. They told me there was no way they would continue my policy and that I essentially just needed to pay them. I asked the guy 3 times if I could speak to a manager and he said no the first 2 times and the last time said he would have someone get ahold of me. I agreed to this and got off the phone with them. No one called, they just sent my account to collections. I wanted to continue my business with them and they wouldn’t even give me the chance to! What?! It was so confusing and frustrating, don’t waste you’re time with them. Terrible customer service, and they’ll just shut you down and send you to collections. NOT WORTH IT!
1
February 22, 2020

VZ

how say Ins get rid of clients

I received my driver license right after Christmas 2019 and we decided to buy Say Insurance for our two cars. We paid for a year in advance. But In a month later we received a letter with "Refund Due To Pro Rate Cancellation" with a check inside (refund of rest 11 months). The letter didn't contain any additional information about their one-side decision to cancel our insurance. We called them to ask for the reason and they answered that I have I...
I received my driver license right after Christmas 2019 and we decided to buy Say Insurance for our two cars. We paid for a year in advance. But In a month later we received a letter with "Refund Due To Pro Rate Cancellation" with a check inside (refund of rest 11 months). The letter didn't contain any additional information about their one-side decision to cancel our insurance. We called them to ask for the reason and they answered that I have Invalid driver license and they wouldn't insure us neither together nor separately (they say it in a rude manner). What??? We have never had tickets, violations, points, etc. Of course we double-checked the status of my driver license after that and ... of course, it is Valid! That's how Say Insurance get rid of clients? But what for? Of course after that case we will never respect this company. Only negative reviews will come from my side about this company. They lost payable clients.
2
January 17, 2020

K1

Go elsewhere!!!

Was told when I purchased this policy I was full coverage. Found out my policy did not include collision or rental coverage. Moved about 8 months ago to WY. & notified Say of change of address which was never updated in their system. Went to file a claim & found out WY. is not in their coverage area so I’ve been paying & not even covered. They denied everything including my tow which I’ve also been paying for. The roadside assistance represen...
Was told when I purchased this policy I was full coverage. Found out my policy did not include collision or rental coverage. Moved about 8 months ago to WY. & notified Say of change of address which was never updated in their system. Went to file a claim & found out WY. is not in their coverage area so I’ve been paying & not even covered. They denied everything including my tow which I’ve also been paying for. The roadside assistance representative I spoke to today was extremely rude & unprofessional. Complete rip off.
1
December 3, 2019

Whatever2

What happened to my decent rate

Quote & rate were really good for the first few months & then it just went up significantly without reason.No tickets, violations, etc. I'llbe looking for a better rate elsewhere very soon
1
December 10, 2018

Gortega

Horrible service

Horrible service. I was hit by a non insured driver. The adjuster was easy to talk to and always returned a phone call. The claims department never called or emailed me back. This is going on 5 months. Seems like they don’t care about returning my deductible or customer service.
3
December 4, 2018

Coloradoguy

Claims department unsatisfactory!!!

Was rear ended. Went to the ER just to make sure all was ok. Took my truck for estimates and sent SAY all info. Recieved a check to help with the costs of the repair. Got a check to pay the hospital bill. Deposited it into my account and waited a day or two. Called the hospital and paid the bill out of my personal account. I had also paid a couple other Bill's but then a day later my bank said the check I deposited was stopped. All the Bill's I h...
Was rear ended. Went to the ER just to make sure all was ok. Took my truck for estimates and sent SAY all info. Recieved a check to help with the costs of the repair. Got a check to pay the hospital bill. Deposited it into my account and waited a day or two. Called the hospital and paid the bill out of my personal account. I had also paid a couple other Bill's but then a day later my bank said the check I deposited was stopped. All the Bill's I had paid overdrafted my account. So with the Bill's and the fees from the bank to cover everything now made my account hundreds of dollars in the red. If this isnt resolved very very soon I will take legal action against this company. Insurance is decent ,customer service when you can get ahold of someone is o k. If you have or want this insurance dont ger into an accident or you could be in the same situation. Very unsatisfied.
5
August 25, 2018

Lmurdock

Review

I had a great experience with them they offered roadside assistance and were very friendly and fast with their response
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption