Say Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Reviews of Say auto insurance may also be found under the Shelter Insurance name (its parent company). Say auto insurance operates in Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri, & Tennessee.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 28, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
1.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Say Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

The Bottom Line

Say Insurance is a small company, which can lend a more personal feel to your auto insurance experience. However, it still has not been rated by sites like A.M. Best, Better Business Bureau, or J.D. Power. Reviews are important, especially when you are looking up smaller companies like Say Insurance reviews, Root insurance reviews, or Pretected.com reviews.

The lack of ratings and reviews about Say insurance is understandable because Say Insurance was only founded in 2016 and is still a young company.

Once it grows bigger or has been established longer, more official ratings should come in. However, this means that if you google what are the 10 best insurance companies, Say Insurance won’t pop up on any list.

While there are some reviews on sites like Glassdoor, the Glassdoor rating of Say Insurance is from employees, not customers. So while the Glassdoor review is positive (100 percent of employees would recommend Say Insurance to a friend) and tells us Say Insurance has a good work environment, it doesn’t tell us anything about Say Insurance’s financial standing or customer service.

A good part about Say Insurance, though, is that it has decent coverages and discounts. Applying for a quote will help you decide if the rates are within your price range, so make sure to get a free quote before signing up with Say Insurance.

Looking for a new auto insurance company and want to make sure it is one of the best auto insurance companies? Finding one you trust and that has good rates can be hard, but we are here to help you with our Say Insurance review. If you are on the fence about Say Insurance or simply want to learn more about the company, our Say auto insurance review covers everything you need to know.

In this Say car insurance review, we cover Say Insurance’s rates, coverages, policy cancellations, claims, and more.

Is Say Insurance a Good Choice?

Say Insurance sells insurance in the following states:

  • Colorado
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Missouri
  • Tennessee

What are the average car insurance rates in those states?

View as image

With time, Say Insurance may begin to expand to other states, but for now, it is only in a total of five states. While Say Insurance’s primary location is in Missouri, it sells insurance in all of these states.

Can You Cancel Your Policy With Say Insurance?

If you make the decision to cancel your Say Insurance policy, it’s important to understand the process. Some companies will try to charge cancellation fees. Others will try to change your mind about canceling.

There are also other challenges to navigate, such as refunds, avoiding lapses in coverage, and more. Keep reading to learn how to properly cancel your Say Insurance policy.

Is there a cancellation fee?

Some insurers will charge a cancellation fee if you cancel before your policy is over. Say Insurance doesn’t list a fee on its website, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t one if you cancel early. To find out, send Say Insurance an email or call the company.

Will you receive a refund?

Once again, Say Insurance doesn’t list a refund policy on its website. However, you are well within your rights to request a refund if you prepaid for coverage but cancel before your policy period is up. So if you paid for six months of coverage but canceled in the third month, you should request a refund for the unused months.

How do you cancel?

You can not cancel your Say Insurance policy online. To cancel your policy, you will have to call 1-800-225-5729 and speak to a representative. Make sure you have the following information:

  • Your policy number
  • Reason for canceling (if no longer driving, you need proof of this, such as a bill of sale or proof of returned tags)
  • Name and policy number of the new insurer

Being prepared beforehand with this information will help make the call go faster.

When can I cancel?

You can cancel your policy at any time. However, keep in mind that if you cancel before the policy period is up, you may be charged a small cancellation fee. It is also vital that you have a new insurance policy that starts as soon as you cancel your Say Insurance policy. The last thing you need is a lapse in coverage, as this will raise your rates.

Your cancellation will go into effect immediately or at an end date you specify, so make sure that your new coverage is in place before you cancel.

How Do You File a Say Insurance Auto Insurance Claim?

How do I file an insurance claim? Unfortunately, most drivers will have to make an auto insurance claim at some point in their lives. Some companies make the claims process simple — all you need to do is snap a few pictures and answer basic questions.

At Say Insurance, you can file a claim from your My Say account (accessed through Say Insurance’s website). You can also call 1-800-225-5729 to file a claim.

https://youtu.be/gks4xsSBw7w

What should I say in an auto insurance claim? Before you talk to your insurer, you should try to get all of the following information:

  • Date, time, location, and description of the incident
  • Contact and insurance information of the other driver(s)
  • Contact information of any witnesses
  • Police report (if applicable)
  • Pictures of the incident

The more information, the better. It will help back up the validity of your claim and help insurers determine who was at fault in the accident. Just make sure that you never lie on a claim. According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), common forms of insurance fraud on a claim include adding fake additional costs onto a legitimate claim, filing a claim for injuries/damages that never happened, or faking an accident.

Say Insurance Rates

Say Insurance is a small, local company, which can be a plus when it comes to rates. Are local and state auto insurance companies better than national? While the truth is that it depends, a small, reputable company can be better than a national company like Geico. Because local companies have a smaller customer base, you can get more personalized service.

A smaller company must also stay competitive with rates from larger companies, so Say Insurance may have lower rates than larger companies. Say Insurance does offer sample rate quotes, so you can see what your price would be before you commit to Say Insurance.

Say Insurance will also give you your calculated insurance score when you apply for a quote. This can help you understand how your rates are being calculated.

Another plus is that Say Insurance was created by Shelter Insurance, so it was founded by an already successful insurance company. Because Shelter Insurance has been around since 1946, it has a strong foundation as a parent company and is in a position to help Say Insurance if it flounders.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Say Insurance Discounts Available

Insurance discounts are a great way to bring rates down. Say Insurance offers the following auto insurance discounts for customers.

Say Auto Insurance Discounts
Say Auto Insurance Discounts How to Get Discount Offered in Every Say Insurance State? Percentage Saved
Anti-Theft Device DiscountIncludes car alarms, GPS trackers, and ignition disable devices; Applies to your comprehensive insuranceNo (only offered in Illinois) Up to 15%
Advance Purchase Discount Buy Say Insurance at least seven days before you need your policy to startYes Up to 10%
Continuous Insurance Discount Need to have had insurance up to signing up with Say Insurance (meaning you don't have a gap in coverage)Yes Up to 10%
Defensive Driving Course Discount Must take defensive driving course approved by Secretary of state; Applies to liability, Medpay, and collision coveragesNo (not offered in Missouri) Up to 10% off of each coverage
Paperless Discount Must have documents emailed instead of mailedYes Up to 10%
Pay in Full Discount Pay policy in fullYes Up to 10%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Take advantage of as many discounts as you can. Saving an average of 10 percent per discount could significantly lower your rates.

What programs are available from Say Insurance?

While Say Insurance doesn’t have usage-based apps or accident forgiveness, it does have a learning center on its website. Say Insurance’s blog offers a collection of posts about insurance, Say Insurance news, driving safety tips, driving technology, and much more.

Say Insurance also offers information about its own coverages and discounts. So if you want to learn more about Say Insurance and what it offers, the website is a great place to get more information.

Say Insurance Coverage Options

While rates are an important part of choosing a company in the auto insurance industry, so are the coverages offered. It’s important that Say Insurance has all the basic coverages you need and more. Cheap rates mean nothing if the coverage is skimpy.

According to Say Insurance’s website, it offers the following auto insurance coverages:

  • Collision coverage – If you run into another car or back up into your mailbox, collision coverage will pay for your vehicle repairs.
  • Comprehensive coverage – This coverage is broader than collision coverage. It covers everything outside of vehicle collisions: animal collisions, weather damage, vandalism, and theft.
  • Liability coverage – If you cause an accident and injure someone or damage another vehicle, liability coverage will pay for the bills.
  • Medical payments (MedPay) coverage – MedPay pays for both you and your passenger’s medical bills after an accident.
  • New car replacement coverage – Totaled your car? New car replacement will pay for a new vehicle of equal value if your car is totaled or stolen.
  • Rental reimbursement coverage – If your car is in the shop for more than a day, rental reimbursement will pay for a rental car. However, the accident needs to be covered under collision or comprehensive coverage.
  • Roadside assistance coverage – 24/7 help for running out of gas, dead batteries, flat tires, and more.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage – Hit by an uninsured driver? Uninsured motorist coverage will pay your bills.

Say Insurance has a decent array of coverage options. It has all the basics, plus a few add-on coverages like Say Insurance roadside assistance. However, some of the add-on coverages Say Insurance is missing include modified car insurance, classic car insurance, personal injury protection, and gap insurance. None of these coverages are essential, but it is nice to have them as an option.

Frequently Asked Questions

Before we wrap up our Say Insurance review, let’s go over a few frequently asked questions about the company.

#1 – Who owns Say Insurance?

Say Insurance was created by Shelter Insurance, so it is owned under this corporation.

#2 – Is Say Insurance legitimate?

Yes. Say Insurance is a legitimate company. There is just not much information about it on the web because it is a young company. This is an important question to ask, though, as the last thing you want is to experience a case of identity theft.

The US government recommends that if you are ever unsure of a company’s legitimacy, don’t give out personal information. So if you ever have questions about a company, such as wondering if Provide insurance is legitimate, never give out your personal information.

#3 – What is my Say Insurance login?

Your login is your email you set the account up with. Say Insurance will send you a passcode to sign in once your email is verified.

#4 – Is Say Insurance good?

Say Insurance is reputable, but it is up to you to decide if it is good for you.

#5 – Is Root a good auto insurance choice?

Root often comes up in relation to Say Insurance, as Root insurance is another small insurance company. However, it is not similar to Say Insurance, as Root insurance rates are based mostly on how you drive — not your age, car, or past accidents.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Say Insurance

1.88 (8 reviews)
1
February 26, 2022

Hajalie24

Would not recommend

I was with Say Insurance for over 2 years. My autopay was coming up but it was on a canceled credit card so the payment did not go through. I was not notified that my payment failed in any way. No email, phone call, nothing. Instead my policy was just canceled out of the blue and I had to quickly scramble to get insurance from another company. The only email I got was telling me my insurance was canceled. I didn't even get a phone call or lette...
I was with Say Insurance for over 2 years. My autopay was coming up but it was on a canceled credit card so the payment did not go through. I was not notified that my payment failed in any way. No email, phone call, nothing. Instead my policy was just canceled out of the blue and I had to quickly scramble to get insurance from another company. The only email I got was telling me my insurance was canceled. I didn't even get a phone call or letter in the mail so it easily could have been missed and I would have been driving without insurance. Would not recommend.
1
May 2, 2020

Brepanda25

Would never recommend

I purchased my insurance through them and it was low priced and great. Then my debit card was stolen so my bank account had to order me a new one. Since my card was shut off my payment didn’t go through. I got a notice that they were canceling my policy and I needed to make the last payment (even though they cancelled). I called Say attempting to explain to them that I wanted to make my payment so that I could continue my policy. They told me t...
I purchased my insurance through them and it was low priced and great. Then my debit card was stolen so my bank account had to order me a new one. Since my card was shut off my payment didn’t go through. I got a notice that they were canceling my policy and I needed to make the last payment (even though they cancelled). I called Say attempting to explain to them that I wanted to make my payment so that I could continue my policy. They told me there was no way they would continue my policy and that I essentially just needed to pay them. I asked the guy 3 times if I could speak to a manager and he said no the first 2 times and the last time said he would have someone get ahold of me. I agreed to this and got off the phone with them. No one called, they just sent my account to collections. I wanted to continue my business with them and they wouldn’t even give me the chance to! What?! It was so confusing and frustrating, don’t waste you’re time with them. Terrible customer service, and they’ll just shut you down and send you to collections. NOT WORTH IT!
1
February 22, 2020

VZ

how say Ins get rid of clients

I received my driver license right after Christmas 2019 and we decided to buy Say Insurance for our two cars. We paid for a year in advance. But In a month later we received a letter with "Refund Due To Pro Rate Cancellation" with a check inside (refund of rest 11 months). The letter didn't contain any additional information about their one-side decision to cancel our insurance. We called them to ask for the reason and they answered that I have I...
I received my driver license right after Christmas 2019 and we decided to buy Say Insurance for our two cars. We paid for a year in advance. But In a month later we received a letter with "Refund Due To Pro Rate Cancellation" with a check inside (refund of rest 11 months). The letter didn't contain any additional information about their one-side decision to cancel our insurance. We called them to ask for the reason and they answered that I have Invalid driver license and they wouldn't insure us neither together nor separately (they say it in a rude manner). What??? We have never had tickets, violations, points, etc. Of course we double-checked the status of my driver license after that and ... of course, it is Valid! That's how Say Insurance get rid of clients? But what for? Of course after that case we will never respect this company. Only negative reviews will come from my side about this company. They lost payable clients.
2
January 17, 2020

K1

Go elsewhere!!!

Was told when I purchased this policy I was full coverage. Found out my policy did not include collision or rental coverage. Moved about 8 months ago to WY. & notified Say of change of address which was never updated in their system. Went to file a claim & found out WY. is not in their coverage area so I’ve been paying & not even covered. They denied everything including my tow which I’ve also been paying for. The roadside assistance represen...
Was told when I purchased this policy I was full coverage. Found out my policy did not include collision or rental coverage. Moved about 8 months ago to WY. & notified Say of change of address which was never updated in their system. Went to file a claim & found out WY. is not in their coverage area so I’ve been paying & not even covered. They denied everything including my tow which I’ve also been paying for. The roadside assistance representative I spoke to today was extremely rude & unprofessional. Complete rip off.
1
December 3, 2019

Whatever2

What happened to my decent rate

Quote & rate were really good for the first few months & then it just went up significantly without reason.No tickets, violations, etc. I'llbe looking for a better rate elsewhere very soon
1
December 10, 2018

Gortega

Horrible service

Horrible service. I was hit by a non insured driver. The adjuster was easy to talk to and always returned a phone call. The claims department never called or emailed me back. This is going on 5 months. Seems like they don’t care about returning my deductible or customer service.
3
December 4, 2018

Coloradoguy

Claims department unsatisfactory!!!

Was rear ended. Went to the ER just to make sure all was ok. Took my truck for estimates and sent SAY all info. Recieved a check to help with the costs of the repair. Got a check to pay the hospital bill. Deposited it into my account and waited a day or two. Called the hospital and paid the bill out of my personal account. I had also paid a couple other Bill's but then a day later my bank said the check I deposited was stopped. All the Bill's I h...
Was rear ended. Went to the ER just to make sure all was ok. Took my truck for estimates and sent SAY all info. Recieved a check to help with the costs of the repair. Got a check to pay the hospital bill. Deposited it into my account and waited a day or two. Called the hospital and paid the bill out of my personal account. I had also paid a couple other Bill's but then a day later my bank said the check I deposited was stopped. All the Bill's I had paid overdrafted my account. So with the Bill's and the fees from the bank to cover everything now made my account hundreds of dollars in the red. If this isnt resolved very very soon I will take legal action against this company. Insurance is decent ,customer service when you can get ahold of someone is o k. If you have or want this insurance dont ger into an accident or you could be in the same situation. Very unsatisfied.
5
August 25, 2018

Lmurdock

Review

I had a great experience with them they offered roadside assistance and were very friendly and fast with their response
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State