Kemper Car Insurance Review 2022

Kemper Auto Insurance offers nonstandard insurance to high-risk drivers and various standard coverage options, but the company receives many customer complaints.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 7, 2022Fact Checked
2.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$145

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Offers SR-22 car insurance
  • Various discounts and coverages
  • Annual policies
  • Mobile app
  • Access to a network of local agents
  • Offers diminishing deductible, accident forgiveness, and new car replacement

Cons

  • Certain discounts and coverage options aren’t available in all states
  • No option to request an online quote
  • Doesn’t offer rideshare insurance
  • Doesn’t offer pay-per-mile or usage-based insurance

The Bottom Line

High-risk drivers, like teens and drivers with multiple accidents, can benefit from coverage with Kemper since they are highly likely to get into an accident. So, choosing a car insurance company that doesn’t offer certain coverage could cost them thousands of dollars.

Kemper offers standard car insurance coverage, but its unique add-ons allow drivers to protect themselves financially. Additionally, Kemper offers SR-22 coverage and various discounts to help high-risk drivers save on car insurance.

Kemper Insurance offers non-standard insurance to high-risk drivers. Depending on your car insurance needs, Kemper may be a good fit for you. It offers standard coverage and various add-ons, allowing you to customize your coverage and ensure you’re protected financially in any situation.

If you want to learn more, see our Kemper review below.

Is Kemper Corporation a Good Choice?

Founded in 1990, Kemper offers various insurance products, including auto, life, and health insurance. Its subsidiaries, Kemper Auto and Kemper Personal Insurance, provide auto insurance in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. However, available coverage options vary by state.

Though Kemper works for anyone needing car insurance, high-risk drivers with revoked, suspended, or canceled licenses may find Kemper appealing as it files SR-22 forms. It offers standard coverage and various add-ons, allowing you to customize your coverage and ensure you’re protected financially in any situation.

Kemper Corporation Rates

Here’s how Kemper’s auto insurance rates compare to its competitors.

Monthly Kemper Auto Insurance Rates Compared to Top Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage RatesAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$87$160
American Family$66$116
Farmers$76$138
Geico$50$80
Kemper$54$145
Liberty Mutual$90$173
Nationwide$61$115
Progressive$69$105
State Farm$40$86
Travelers$53$99
Average$69$115
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Similar to other car insurance companies, Kemper offers various discounts to its customers to help them save on coverage.

What factors determine car insurance rates?

Insurance companies use multiple factors to calculate rates. However, rating systems vary, so drivers will see different pricing options.

Here are the factors Kemper may use to set car insurance rates:

  • Age. Younger drivers, specifically anyone under 25, have less experience behind the wheel, so they’re more likely to be involved in an accident and file a claim.
  • Gender. Female drivers are less likely to file a claim because they’re often safer and more responsible than male drivers.
  • Driving record. Drivers with a history of accidents and/or traffic violations are high-risk.
  • Location. Vandalism, theft, and accident rates in your state impact the likelihood of you filing a claim.
  • Type of vehicle. Repair costs, theft rate, and safety features determine how risky it would be to insure a driver.
  • Coverage type. The more coverage a driver has, the higher their car insurance rate will be.
  • Annual mileage. Drivers not on the road often are less likely to file a claim.
  • Credit. Drivers with poor or bad credit are seen as irresponsible, meaning there’s a good chance they’ll file a claim.

Since so many factors impact rates, it’s best to shop around and compare rates between insurance companies to confirm who’s offering the most affordable coverage.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Corporation Discounts Available

Kemper offers the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Advance quote discount. Earn a discount for receiving a Kemper auto insurance quote and purchasing a policy before the effective date.
  • Proof of prior insurance discount. Earn a discount for being previously insured.
  • Paid-in-full discount. Earn a discount for paying for your policy in full.
  • Multi-car discount. Earn a discount for insuring two or more vehicles.
  • Defensive driving course discount. Earn a discount for completing a safe driving course.
  • Good student discount. Earn a discount for being a full-time student with a minimum GPA of 3.0.
  • Military discount. Earn a discount for being an active duty military or National Guard member.
  • Homeowner discount. Earn a discount for purchasing a homeowners insurance policy and auto insurance policy with matching addresses.

Kemper’s car insurance discounts vary based on state and policy type, so not all customers can access every discount.

Kemper Corporation Coverage Options

Kemper offers the following standard auto insurance coverage options:

  • Liability. Covers the cost of property damage and bodily injury for the other driver and passengers involved in an accident you caused.
  • Medical payments. Covers the cost of your and your passengers’ medical payments following an accident.
  • Comprehensive. Covers the cost of property damage to your vehicle resulting from an incident other than a collision, including fire, vandalism, or theft.
  • Collision. Covers the cost of property damage to your vehicle resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Covers the cost of property damage and bodily injury caused by another driver with no insurance or insufficient insurance.

Different add-on coverage options are available through Kemper depending on the type of auto insurance policy you purchase.

When purchasing a Kemper personal insurance auto insurance policy, add-on options include the following:

Kemper Prime Auto Enhanced.

  • First accident or minor traffic violation waived
  • Deductible for vehicles damaged while parked waived
  • Diminishing deductible
  • Personal property protection
  • Trip interruption expenses
  • Replacement of key or entry transmitter device

Kemper Total.

  • New car replacement. Replaces a driver’s totaled vehicle after an accident or theft.
  • Increased rental allotment. Increases rental allotment for your rental vehicle while your vehicle gets repaired. Only available when insuring a brand-new vehicle.

When purchasing a Kemper auto insurance policy, add-on options include the following:

  • Annual policies. A yearly auto insurance policy allows drivers to pay the same car insurance rate for a year.
  • Roadside assistance. Provides 24/7 assistance with roadside emergencies, including lockout, fuel delivery, towing, tire change, and jump-start.
  • Auto loan/lease. Also known as GAP insurance, auto loan/lease coverage pays the difference between the remaining loan or lease balance and the vehicle’s value.
  • Personal umbrella liability coverage. Provides additional liability coverage, which can protect you financially if your standard liability coverage isn’t enough.

Certain add-on options aren’t available in all states.

Does Kemper offer SR-22 car insurance?

Yes, Kemper offers SR-22 car insurance to drivers with revoked, canceled, or suspended licenses.

Does Kemper offer usage-based car insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer usage-based car insurance.

Does Kemper offer pay-per-mile car insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer pay-per-mile car insurance.

Does Kemper offer rideshare insurance?

No, Kemper doesn’t offer rideshare insurance.

Does Kemper have a mobile app?

Kemper’s car insurance policyholders can use the mobile app to complete the following tasks:

  • Make payments
  • View ID cards
  • Locate repair shops
  • Submit claims

The Kemper mobile app is available to auto insurance policyholders with Android or Apple devices.

Additional Kemper Insurance Products

Kemper offers the following additional insurance products: 

  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Umbrella
  • Mobile home
  • Flood
  • Business
  • Supplemental health
  • Life
  • RV
  • Boat
  • Motorcycle
  • ATV

Certain insurance products are available through third parties.

Kemper Corporation vs. Competitors

Kemper has an A- A.M. Best rating and a BBB rating of A+. Similar to other car insurance companies, Kemper offers a range of coverage options, add-ons, and discounts.

Though Kemper works for anyone needing car insurance, high-risk drivers with revoked, suspended, or canceled licenses may find Kemper appealing as it files SR-22 forms.

Is Kemper car insurance good?

According to the J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Auto Insurance Study, Kemper earned 14th place in California. J.D. Power ranks auto insurance companies in 11 geographical regions based on customer satisfaction with policy information, policy offerings, billing, claims, interaction, and price.

In the 2021 J.D. Power Claims Satisfaction Study, which measures customer satisfaction with auto insurance claims settled in the previous six months, Kemper earned the 19th spot.

Pros and Cons of Kemper Car Insurance

Here are the pros of Kemper car insurance: 

  • Offers SR-22 car insurance
  • Various discounts and coverages
  • Annual policies
  • Mobile app
  • Access to a network of local agents
  • Offers diminishing deductible, accident forgiveness, and new car replacement

Here are the cons of Kemper car insurance:

  • Certain discounts and coverage options aren’t available in all states
  • No option to request an online quote
  • Doesn’t offer rideshare insurance
  • Doesn’t offer pay-per-mile or usage-based insurance

Reviewing the pros and cons can help as you determine if Kemper is a good fit for you and your car insurance needs.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I request a Kemper car insurance quote?

To request a quote from Kemper, drivers can contact a local agent or customer service by phone at 877-352-0068 for Kemper Auto or 800-216-6347 for Kemper Personal Insurance.

What states does Kemper offer car insurance?

Kemper offers car insurance in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. However, certain car insurance coverage options aren’t available in all states.

How do I file a car insurance claim with Kemper?

You can file a claim using the mobile app, online form, or by contacting customer service at 800-782-1020 for Kemper Auto & Commercial Vehicle or at 888-252-2799 for Personal Insurance.

When filing a claim, drivers must submit the following information:

  • Policyholder’s name and contact information
  • Policy number
  • Policyholder’s vehicle information
  • Description of incident (date, time, damages, and injuries)
  • Claimant name
  • Claimant vehicle information

If drivers prefer, local agents can also assist them with filing a claim.

Does Kemper offer SR-22 car insurance?

Yes, Kemper offers SR-22 car insurance to drivers with revoked, canceled, or suspended licenses.

How can I contact Kemper auto insurance?

You can contact Kemper by phone at 800-353-6737 for claims and 800-782-1020 for customer service. Kemper is also available by email at [email protected]

Kemper’s address for filing claims is P.O. Box 2843, Clinton, IA 52733, and their general address is P.O. Box 830189, Birmingham, AL 35283-0189

You can also submit a message through its online contact form.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.89 (205 reviews)
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
1
June 17, 2021

RVo

Beware of Kemper crooks.

Simply a bunch of crooks. They WILL STEAL your money with no hesitation. So my catalytic converter was stolen. The Kemper crooks paid only $600+ instead of the $2500. Their adjuster had math problems and stole the money even on taxes. Nobody answers or returns calls. I hope I'll sue them in California.
1
June 16, 2021

Worried_Mom

Buyer Beware!!!

From experience with this insurance company i can tell they are not great. My son was in a car accident with someone who has Kemper as their insurance provider. I could have called my insurance company and had everything paid, however it was the other drivers fault and not my son. So it made sense to me to call Kemper instead. The accident happened on 4/6/2021 it took about a week and half to get the police report but once i had it i contacte...
From experience with this insurance company i can tell they are not great. My son was in a car accident with someone who has Kemper as their insurance provider. I could have called my insurance company and had everything paid, however it was the other drivers fault and not my son. So it made sense to me to call Kemper instead. The accident happened on 4/6/2021 it took about a week and half to get the police report but once i had it i contacted the adjuster [REDACTED NAME] at Kemper. My first phone call was 4/21/2021, i figured and insurance company is busy so i didn't expect a phone call back until Friday or Monday.. I never got a phone call back, as a matter of fact i called 5 times before i heard anything from anyone at Kemper. I have the tow company calling me and asking me what im doing with the car I spoke with the lady at the desk and she basically told me some insurance companies are scams and they will get out of not paying their customers. She also told me to write to the state and tell them about the insurance company so i did that and wouldn't you know, i had three people from the insurance company call me back. [REDACTED NAME] who was one of the people that called me back had the nerve to say she didn't have my information. And i told her i called you more then 5 times and left my information - her response just floured me "oh i haven't checked my messages"... Seriosuly!!!!! My son was in a car accident that left his car totalled and you didn't check your messages!!! I took the liberty to scan an send her all the information that i had, it turns out she no longer was my adjuster as my son was hurt and went to the hospital. Anyway - The accident happened back in April here is is June and i still have not resolved the cases nor have I received a check. My gut should have been to call and get a lawyer.... AND i still have time so i suggest anyone that has an issue with this insurance company get a lawyer.. Save yourself some headach and time.
1
May 19, 2021

Brijames1001

Do not do it

I got this insurance years ago because I needed an SR-22 and they offered affordable rates. Do yourself a favor and just pay a little more for a legitimate insurance company. This company has zero integrity and even less morality. They charge a $73 cancelation fee, which is totally normal for an insurance company to do. However, they won’t tell you that when you cancel. They will just send you to collections a year later without a phone call, w...
I got this insurance years ago because I needed an SR-22 and they offered affordable rates. Do yourself a favor and just pay a little more for a legitimate insurance company. This company has zero integrity and even less morality. They charge a $73 cancelation fee, which is totally normal for an insurance company to do. However, they won’t tell you that when you cancel. They will just send you to collections a year later without a phone call, without an email, nothing. And when I called them to ask why $73 showed up as a delinquency on my credit report, they at that point told me about the cancelation fee. And when I asked why they didn’t tell me that at time of cancelation, she said “because it’s not due at the time of cancelation”. I had to scratch my head over that one because if I’m calling to cancel my policy and no one mentions any fee to do so, even one due at a later date, then why would I ever call them back?! When I asked her why I didn’t get an email or a call or a letter about it, she said “that’s not our policy”... again scratching my head. So, your policy is to not tell someone they owe you money and then hurt their credit later? It’s like this company is a sore loser or a significant other that’s mad they got dumped, so they come after you later. Jokes aside, this company needs a new owner, one that’s not a pos. I’m literally in the process of trying to buy a home and my credit just dropped almost 40 points for a $73 payment.... screw you kemper.
2
April 5, 2021

Andrea_Hernandez

Worst Auto Insurance Company Ever!

It's been two months since the accident, and I call the adjuster of my case ( [REDACTED NAME] Mullady) every other day to inquire about my claim but no answer or call back within the next 24 hours as announced on her answering machine. I (mistakenly) thought that my case escalated when I requested to speak to a supervisor ([REDACTED NAME]) to whom I've been leaving several voice messages as well but no response either. Then, I managed to speak ...
It's been two months since the accident, and I call the adjuster of my case ( [REDACTED NAME] Mullady) every other day to inquire about my claim but no answer or call back within the next 24 hours as announced on her answering machine. I (mistakenly) thought that my case escalated when I requested to speak to a supervisor ([REDACTED NAME]) to whom I've been leaving several voice messages as well but no response either. Then, I managed to speak to a representative who was able to inform me that they were waiting on a letter from the lender, but I later called the bank, and they told me they had sent the letter on March 8. I insisted on trying to contact someone in the claims department, and now they gave me the number of a third person in the command chain but again, another answering machine, this time referring directly to another specialist, which is also not picking up the phone and requesting to leave a message. In summary, it is impossible to get in contact with an adjuster, a supervisor, and a Senior Manager in order to get a proper update of a claim.
1
January 13, 2021

THEROADDOG

KEMPER IS GARBABE!

Put in a towing claim. It took them close to 2 months to get back with me to tell me that they do not cover towing. Then, why am I paying all this money to them? SCREW YOU KEMPER!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption