Home State Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Home State auto insurance reviews cover the company's high-risk auto insurance policies. Home State auto insurance rates will be higher since they cater to high-risk drivers. Home State Mutual Insurance Company is only available in Texas, and Home State auto insurance quotes are not available online.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked
2.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Home State Insurance Group

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$83

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Home State insurance was initially chartered in 1948
  • Home State writes non-standard auto insurance policies for high-risk drivers
  • Home State Insurance Group is now part of Berkshire Hathaway, the parent company of Geico

Cons

  • Home State Insurance rates are not readily available
[su_box title="Things to Remember..." style="default”]
  • Home State insurance was initially chartered in 1948.
  • Home State writes non-standard auto insurance policies for high-risk drivers.
  • Basic liability helps you pay for damage caused by an auto accident in which you are considered “at fault.”
[/su_box] Home State County Mutual insurance reviews cover Home State Insurance Group, Inc., headquartered in Waco, Texas. Home State Insurance Group is now part of Berkshire Hathaway, the parent company of Geico, Gen Re, Nederlandse Reassurantie Group, and Berkshire Hathaway Assurance. Home State auto insurance policies are designed to provide affordable high-risk auto insurance. Although high-risk drivers pay more for auto insurance, there's a way to lower rates. This Home State auto insurance review explains. If you have Home State Insurance Group auto insurance and want to compare to other options, we can help you save money. Start by entering your ZIP code to start looking at completely free, no-obligation auto insurance quotes. Then read this Home State car insurance review.

Home State County Mutual insurance reviews cover Home State Insurance Group, Inc., headquartered in Waco, Texas.

Home State Insurance Group is now part of Berkshire Hathaway, the parent company of Geico, Gen Re, Nederlandse Reassurantie Group, and Berkshire Hathaway Assurance.

Home State auto insurance policies are designed to provide affordable high-risk auto insurance. Although high-risk drivers pay more for auto insurance, there’s a way to lower rates. This Home State auto insurance review explains.

You can look up your Home State County Mutual policy in a few ways. You can connect with your State Auto Managing Support Agent. You can go to the Home State County Mutual website and use the policy prefix lookup function. You can also contact the Home State County Mutual Customer Service team.

To pay online, go to the Home State County Mutual Insurance Company website and use the policy finder tool to pull up your specific policy site.

If you have Home State Insurance auto insurance in the state of Texas and want to compare it to other options, we can help you save money. Start by entering your ZIP code to start looking at completely free, no-obligation auto insurance quotes. Then read this Home State car insurance review.

What You Should Know About Home State County Mutual

Home State Insurance Group wants the opportunity to satisfy its customers, and it offers customers 24-hour claims reporting.

If you’ve done business with any auto insurance company for a year or more, perhaps you already see higher auto insurance rates.

If you haven’t been involved in an auto accident, moving violation, or gotten a ticket, you may ask why you’re being charged pay higher insurance rates.

That’s why comparing your auto insurance rates with quotes offered by other insurance companies can help you save now. Visit a reputable site, like Auto Insurance to check out all of the reviews.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What Is The Home State Insurance Group Company History?

Originally chartered in 1948 during Harry Truman’s presidency, Home State Insurance Group includes the Equity Insurance Company and Home State County Mutual Insurance Company. The Home State Auto Insurance Group is located in Waco, TX.

Home State County Mutual Insurance Company is located in Dallas, TX. The company’s exact address is 17762 Preston Road Suite 200, Dallas, Texas, 75252. Home State Insurance Group focuses on marketing and writing non-standard auto insurance policies.

How Does Home State Insurance Group Work With TexasSure?

Home State County Insurance Company uses the Texas Department of Insurance “TexasSure” customer contact system. TexasSure’s goals include identifying uninsured drivers in the state.

Uninsured or underinsured drivers cost insurance companies (and their insured drivers) money each year.

Home State Insurance Group also cares about its insured policyholders’ privacy. The company outlines the processes used to safeguard client financial information on the website.

Home State County Mutual Insurance Coverage Options

Home State County Mutual Insurance offers multiple types of insurance, including car insurance. Home State County Mutual is owned by Home State Insurance Group, Inc. The Home State County Mutual Auto Insurance Company’s NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) number is 29297.

Writing auto insurance policies for non-standard drivers is the original goal of the Home State  Auto Insurance Group. Home State Insurance rates are not readily available, but we can take a look at some averages below.

Non-standard auto insurance helps high-risk drivers assume financial responsibility in the event of a car accident. Your policy isn’t only to protect your car, passengers, and property. Knowing what coverage you need is just as important as knowing what to do after a car accident.

Basic liability helps you pay for damage caused by an auto accident in which you are considered “at fault.” Watch this video on how property damage liability insurance works.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Home State County Mutual Insurance Rates Breakdown

Let’s take a look at the average rate for auto insurance in Texas.

How Do Texas Auto Insurance Rates Compare to the National Average?

Texas Auto Insurance Rates Compared to National Average
StatesAverage Annual Liability RatesAverage Annual Collision RatesAverage Annual Comprehensive RatesAverage Annual Full Coverage Rates
Texas$550$380$207$1,137
National Average$555$326$148$1,030

Compare RatesStart Now →

These are projections from The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Each year they provide a report of average annual rates for auto insurance.

Texas has cheaper liability rates than the national average, but collision and comprehensive coverage are more expensive.

To get discounts, report anti-theft, and safety features to your auto insurance company. If you happen to have good or fair credit, you can receive a discount.

How Do You File A Claim With Home State Mutual?

You can file a claim with the Home State County Mutual Insurance Company claims department like any other company. Your rates may go up, but the right coverage options can help recover from damages.

If you know your policy prefix, go to the company website to access your account information.

Home State Insurance representatives insist that its customers should use the Home State County Mutual phone number to file a claim. The Home State County Mutual Insurance claims phone number is 254-776-4521. There’s no toll-free number because the company only does business in Texas.

Who Are The Home State Auto Insurance Group Agents?

The company maintains an insurance marketing and distribution network composed of independent insurance sales brokers and agents.

Home State Insurance Group values relationships with independent sales professionals and wants to help its independent sales partners grow a thriving auto insurance sales practice.

Interested auto insurance sales agents and brokers may contact the company for more information about selling Home State auto insurance products and services.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Does Home State Auto Insurance Cover Teen Drivers?

Teenage drivers represent the highest risk category of all drivers in Texas. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, almost a third of teen deaths occur due to traffic or auto accidents.

Drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 are 400 percent more likely to be involved in a fatal car crash. About 350,000 teenagers received hospital emergency room treatment for injuries sustained in traffic accidents.

Of that number, about 3,000 teenagers died as a result of the auto accident. The following are statistics on teen drivers:

  • Teen drivers account for about 14 percent of drivers on the road. This age group is at risk for driving at night while under the influence or impairment
  • Teenage male drivers are more likely to be involved in a severe auto accident than teenaged females.
  • The damage is greater than 30 percent of auto insurance claims paid!

The statistics collected by the best companies like Home State Insurance Group support the reasons for passing on high auto insurance premiums to teenage drivers.

Teenage drivers with teenage passengers bear additional risks, according to auto insurance studies. Teenagers seem less likely to use seatbelts. They break the speed laws with higher frequency than other drivers.

How Home State County Mutual Ranks Among Providers

Home State Mutual Insurance Company is mainly a notable player in the auto insurance industry in Texas. The easiest way to find the  Home State Mutual Insurance Claims phone number is to go to their main website and look up the contact details per your policy.

When you review auto insurance companies, the reviews are very mixed with Home State Mutual being the best auto and home insurance provider. This company only provides auto insurance options. In general, the best auto and home insurance companies combine excellent coverage for both services while offering a great bundled price.

As part of the Home State County Mutual Insurance, they specifically cater to Texas residents. The Home State County Mutual Insurance in Texas showcases their expertise in the needs of their residents.

Overall, Home State Mutual Insurance Agency isn’t a competitive player in the auto insurance industry nationwide but offers some great local options if you live in their service area.

Contact Home State Auto Insurance via phone number to connect more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is State Auto a good insurance company?

State Auto Insurance Google reviews don’t exist yet, but State Auto Insurance reviews on Yelp show the company is rated at two stars. Although State Auto Car Insurance reviews hold an A+ rating on the BBB, the State Auto rating does not reflect the customer’s views directly. Even based off of the information that we found, be sure to do your own research to see if a State Auto Insurance policy is a smart option for you.

 

State Auto’s telemetrics program, Safety360, was rated at 1.8 stars on Google Play. A State Auto Insurance lawsuit back in 2013 accused the company of a home insurance scam.

 

Some consumers will run from a company if it has been under legal scrutiny. Car insurance ratings by state vary, so do thorough research before making a final decision.

Who are the top-rated companies for car and home insurance?

Amica Mutual, Allstate, Geico, Metlife, and USAA are the top five companies for home and auto insurance.

Do you have to have auto insurance in the state you live in?

Your auto insurance must be in the state where your car is registered. Be sure your vehicle is registered and insured in the state of your permanent residence.

What is the most reliable car insurance company?

According to J.D. Power, the most reliable company is Amica Mutual.

Who owns State Auto insurance?

State Auto Financial Corporation is the parent company. The current CEO is Michael E. LaRocco.

What are the worst insurance companies?

According to Consumer Reports, the worst-rated insurance companies are Mercury, Esurance, and Nationwide.

What coverage options does Home State County Mutual offer?

Home State Insurance Group focuses on writing auto insurance policies for non-standard drivers. While specific rates may not be readily available, non-standard auto insurance helps high-risk drivers assume financial responsibility in the event of a car accident. Basic liability coverage is important to pay for damage caused in accidents where the insured driver is considered at fault.

How do you file a claim with Home State Mutual?

To file a claim with Home State County Mutual Insurance Company, use the company’s claims department like you would with any other company. The auto insurance claims phone number for Home State County Mutual Insurance is 254-776-4521. Your Home State Insurance claim can be found on the main website. Use the policy finder tool and go to the specific website correlated with your policy. From there you can access your claim.

To file a new claim with Home State County Mutual Insurance, call the phone number above to start that process.

What are the Rates for Home State County Mutual?

Average auto insurance rates in Texas are projected as follows:

  • Average Annual Liability Rates: $550
  • Average Annual Collision Rates: $380
  • Average Annual Comprehensive Rates: $207
  • Average Annual Full Coverage Rates: $1,137

What types of coverage options does Home State Insurance offer?

Home State Insurance specializes in non-standard auto insurance policies for high-risk drivers. While specific coverage options are not mentioned, typical coverage options such as liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage are likely available. To understand the coverage options in detail, it is recommended to contact a Home State Insurance agent.

How can I get in touch with someone at Home State Auto Insurance?

It depends on what you are trying to get in touch with them for.

The Home State Auto Insurance Customer Service phone number is 1-833-724-3577.

The Home State County Mutual Auto Insurance Claims phone number is 1-254-776-4521.

Home State Insurance Group, Inc., is located in Waco, Texas.

 

Where is Home State County Mutual Insurance located?

Home State County Mutual Insurance Company is located at 807 Brazos Street Suite 714, Austin, TX 78701.

The Home State County Mutual Auto Insurance phone number is 1-254-776-4521.

Who is Home State County Mutual Insurance?

They are an insurance company that has a core community, policy-holder-focused approach to insurance. Home State County Mutual Insurance company is owned by Home State Insurance Group, Inc.

Home State County Mutual Insurance offers affordable and comprehensive insurance options tailored specifically for Texans.

What are some Equity Insurance company reviews?

Equity Auto Insurance Company reviews are hard to find. You can find some on the A.M. Best website. Overall, the company gets mixed reviews and it’s questionable on how healthy their financial base is.

Does Home State Mutual Insurance Group offer renters insurance?

At this time it doesn’t seem that there is information on that service. Home State County Mutual primarily focuses on auto insurance.

If you are looking for renters insurance check out reviews on Auto Insurance.

Does Home County Mutual offer home insurance?

Visit the Auto Insurance website to review some of the best companies and reviews for whatever your needs are.

Sometimes it just takes a search to find the best insurance companies for home and auto. Be sure to check out home and auto insurance reviews.

Does Home County Mutual Insurance allow for bundling services?

There is no information that shows home and car insurance reviews for this company. State Mutual Insurance reviews only provide information about auto insurance. For the best home and auto insurance, be sure to search specially for those bundled services when you are looking around. Reviews have shown that bundling auto and home insurance could save you money.

The best home and auto insurance in Texas, based off of reviews is State Farm. Check out Home State Mutual Auto Insurance Company to see if it’s a option for you in Texas.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kalyn Johnson

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Kalyn grew up in an insurance family with a grandfather, aunt, and uncle leading successful careers as insurance agents. She soon found she has similar interests and followed in their footsteps. After spending about ten years working in the insurance industry as both an appraiser dispatcher and a senior property claims adjuster, she decided to combine her years of insurance experience with another...

Insurance Claims Support & Sr. Adjuster

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Home State County Mutual

2.10 (3 reviews)
1
October 9, 2023

Reed-a

Awful agents

[REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] was absolutely awful to talk with. She made unnecessary comments during the phone call. Had an attitude and snappy while talking. Made me feel like she was taking a bad day out on me. Was very aggressive the entire time.
1
September 30, 2023

axt20004

My experience with this insurance company

I was hit by one of their insurance holders on the way to college. To give a little bit of background at the time of the accident I was 17 years old, paying for my own college through a barista job I had. The adjuster got back to me about my claim a couple days after contacting them through my insurance Geico. Promised me full recovery of my car (as I was hit on the highway and the back of my car was completely bashed through). I never even charg...
I was hit by one of their insurance holders on the way to college. To give a little bit of background at the time of the accident I was 17 years old, paying for my own college through a barista job I had. The adjuster got back to me about my claim a couple days after contacting them through my insurance Geico. Promised me full recovery of my car (as I was hit on the highway and the back of my car was completely bashed through). I never even charged them for my health expenses as I hit my head but it wasn't too expensive to get treatment. After I took my car to my dealership of choice, they argued with that dealership for five months, because they were unwilling to pay the full amount. At first they asked me to pay 3000 dollars out of pocket, then it went down to 2000. Again, I was a teenager college student living off of a minimum wage job. After much argument, they cut me off completely, leaving me with no rental, no car and no money to pay off the car that has been completely taken apart by the dealership. I lost my job as I had no car to travel and ubering was getting very expensive. I remember crying everyday and not knowing how to pay for my broken car. Finally, the dealership people realized just the mental toll that this situation was taking on me, and they fixed my car within the money they had been provided by the insurance. As even they took kindness upon a first generation immigrant student. I never got my job back. I am alright now, got an internship and am doing well in college. But for the people that put me through this, I hope every single one of you and your children feel what it felt like to me during those months. I hope you also suffer this way when you did absolutely nothing wrong.
1
May 3, 2021

Ashley

Home State review

Completely non-existent customer service!! A Home State policy holder hit my car 21 days ago. I filed a claim the same day and still have not had a single conversation with the adjuster, or anyone else who is able to authorize repairs on my car. I have called the adjuster and her supervisor every single day, leaving voicemails, in addition to the main phone # for the insurance company and cannot get a response. I have never experienced such a lac...
Completely non-existent customer service!! A Home State policy holder hit my car 21 days ago. I filed a claim the same day and still have not had a single conversation with the adjuster, or anyone else who is able to authorize repairs on my car. I have called the adjuster and her supervisor every single day, leaving voicemails, in addition to the main phone # for the insurance company and cannot get a response. I have never experienced such a lack of service! Unspeakable!
1
July 13, 2020

ddktexas

Home State review

TERRIBLE COMPANY - will be filing complaint with BBB and talking to a lawyer. 3 weeks ago their customer hit my truck because he was on the phone while leaving work. I FINALLY got an adjuster's name and number. Despite repeated messages he has NOT called me back. Meanwhile my truck is still damaged. TOTAL CROCK!!! God help anyone that gets hit by one of their customers!!!!
5
December 21, 2018

jeweleebug

Speed and Care of Service to myself and others

Recently had an accident and was handled quickly and with care. Very quick settlement despite accident happening right before Thanksgiving.
1
August 22, 2017

Jeff

Home State review

One of their clients hit my car in the rear over a month ago. Even the adjuster who came out said that their client's story was not adding up. Caroline at Equity Insurance at first said the story was not adding up from their client and she was doing everything she could do to get us paid. The police report states that their client's story did not add up but they denied our claim. Do Not Get Hit By Their Clients Because They Do not pay!!
1
May 15, 2017

dave

Home State review

This company is a scam. Their client caused a major accident involved 4 vehicles including mine. I called their number on the police report. They gave the run around and basically refuse to give the claim number so I can get a rental and get my car. They said the adjuster will come out to see me and will give me the claim number and it was 4 weeks ago. I called and called, but they never return my messages. In the meantime, my car is not driva...
This company is a scam. Their client caused a major accident involved 4 vehicles including mine. I called their number on the police report. They gave the run around and basically refuse to give the claim number so I can get a rental and get my car. They said the adjuster will come out to see me and will give me the claim number and it was 4 weeks ago. I called and called, but they never return my messages. In the meantime, my car is not drivable, and I'm on the hook for the rental. They are selling insurance to non-standard drivers, meaning their clients are high risks and not qualify for standard insurance. THIS COMPANY IS NOTHING BUT SCAMMERS. I'd give them negative 5 stars.
1
May 17, 2016

eliete

Home State review

Bad, bad, bad, bad company. Bad customer service, bad adjusters, everything is bad. Their client hit me 3 weeks ago and they say they are not able to contact her. LIE. She called them in front of me and left a message (the only option we have is to leave a message, they NEVER answer the phone) and they do not call us back. when I managed to speak with them, they were very rude. they don't care about your situation. they don't care if it is the...
Bad, bad, bad, bad company. Bad customer service, bad adjusters, everything is bad. Their client hit me 3 weeks ago and they say they are not able to contact her. LIE. She called them in front of me and left a message (the only option we have is to leave a message, they NEVER answer the phone) and they do not call us back. when I managed to speak with them, they were very rude. they don't care about your situation. they don't care if it is their client's fault you don't have a vehicle to drive around. DO NOT MAKE BUSINESS WITH THEM. you will regret so bad.......
1
May 27, 2015

John Griggs

Home State review

When you call and leave a voicemail and then they do not return calls.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption