Home State Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Home State auto insurance reviews cover the company's high-risk auto insurance policies. Home State auto insurance rates will be higher since they cater to high-risk drivers. Home State Mutual Insurance Company is only available in Texas, and Home State auto insurance quotes are not available online.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by Mathew B. Sims
Editor-in-Chief Mathew B. Sims

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Mathew B. SimsReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Home State Insurance Group

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$1,000

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Home State insurance was initially chartered in 1948
  • Home State writes non-standard auto insurance policies for high-risk drivers
  • Home State Insurance Group is now part of Berkshire Hathaway, the parent company of Geico

Cons

  • Home State Insurance rates are not readily available

The Bottom Line

Home State Insurance Group wants the opportunity to satisfy its customers, and they offer customers 24-hour claims reporting.

If you’ve done business with any auto insurance company for a year or more, perhaps you already see higher auto insurance rates.

Originally chartered in 1948 during Harry Truman’s presidency, Home State Insurance Group includes the Equity Insurance Company and Home State County Mutual Insurance Company.

Home State County Insurance Company uses the Texas Department of Insurance “TexasSure” customer contact system. TexasSure’s goals include identifying uninsured drivers in the state.

Home State County Mutual Insurance Company is located in Dallas, TX. The company’s exact address is 17762 Preston Road Suite 200, Dallas, Texas, 75252. Home State Insurance Group focuses on marketing and writing non-standard auto insurance policies.

Home State County Mutual Rates

Let’s take a look at the average rate for auto insurance in Texas.

Texas Auto Insurance Rates Compared to National Average
StatesAverage Annual Liability RatesAverage Annual Collision RatesAverage Annual Comprehensive RatesAverage Annual Full Coverage Rates
Texas$550$380$207$1,137
National Average$555$326$148$1,030
Get Your Rates Quote Now

These are projections from The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Each year they provide a report of average annual rates for auto insurance.

Texas has cheaper liability rates than the national average, but collision and comprehensive coverage are more expensive.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – Is State Auto a good insurance company?

State Auto Insurance Google reviews don’t exist yet, but Yelp’s State Auto insurance reviews show the company is rated two stars.

State Auto’s telemetrics program, Safety360, was rated 1.8 stars on Google Play. A State Auto Insurance lawsuit back in 2013 accused the company of a home insurance scam.

Some consumers will run from a company if it has been under legal scrutiny. Car insurance ratings by state vary, so do thorough research before making a final decision.

#2 – Which insurance company is the best for home and auto?

Amica Mutual, Allstate, Geico, Metlife, and USAA are the top five companies for home and auto insurance.

#3 – Do you have to have auto insurance in the state you live in?

Your auto insurance must be in the state where your car is registered. Be sure your vehicle is registered and insured in the state of your permanent residence.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by Mathew B. Sims
Editor-in-Chief Mathew B. Sims

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Home State County Mutual

4.17 (1 reviews)
1
May 3, 2021

Ashley

Home State review

Completely non-existent customer service!! A Home State policy holder hit my car 21 days ago. I filed a claim the same day and still have not had a single conversation with the adjuster, or anyone else who is able to authorize repairs on my car. I have called the adjuster and her supervisor every single day, leaving voicemails, in addition to the main phone # for the insurance company and cannot get a response. I have never experienced such a lac...
Completely non-existent customer service!! A Home State policy holder hit my car 21 days ago. I filed a claim the same day and still have not had a single conversation with the adjuster, or anyone else who is able to authorize repairs on my car. I have called the adjuster and her supervisor every single day, leaving voicemails, in addition to the main phone # for the insurance company and cannot get a response. I have never experienced such a lack of service! Unspeakable!
1
July 13, 2020

ddktexas

Home State review

TERRIBLE COMPANY - will be filing complaint with BBB and talking to a lawyer. 3 weeks ago their customer hit my truck because he was on the phone while leaving work. I FINALLY got an adjuster's name and number. Despite repeated messages he has NOT called me back. Meanwhile my truck is still damaged. TOTAL CROCK!!! God help anyone that gets hit by one of their customers!!!!
5
December 21, 2018

jeweleebug

Speed and Care of Service to myself and others

Recently had an accident and was handled quickly and with care. Very quick settlement despite accident happening right before Thanksgiving.
1
August 22, 2017

Jeff

Home State review

One of their clients hit my car in the rear over a month ago. Even the adjuster who came out said that their client's story was not adding up. Caroline at Equity Insurance at first said the story was not adding up from their client and she was doing everything she could do to get us paid. The police report states that their client's story did not add up but they denied our claim. Do Not Get Hit By Their Clients Because They Do not pay!!
1
May 15, 2017

dave

Home State review

This company is a scam. Their client caused a major accident involved 4 vehicles including mine. I called their number on the police report. They gave the run around and basically refuse to give the claim number so I can get a rental and get my car. They said the adjuster will come out to see me and will give me the claim number and it was 4 weeks ago. I called and called, but they never return my messages. In the meantime, my car is not driva...
This company is a scam. Their client caused a major accident involved 4 vehicles including mine. I called their number on the police report. They gave the run around and basically refuse to give the claim number so I can get a rental and get my car. They said the adjuster will come out to see me and will give me the claim number and it was 4 weeks ago. I called and called, but they never return my messages. In the meantime, my car is not drivable, and I'm on the hook for the rental. They are selling insurance to non-standard drivers, meaning their clients are high risks and not qualify for standard insurance. THIS COMPANY IS NOTHING BUT SCAMMERS. I'd give them negative 5 stars.
1
May 17, 2016

eliete

Home State review

Bad, bad, bad, bad company. Bad customer service, bad adjusters, everything is bad. Their client hit me 3 weeks ago and they say they are not able to contact her. LIE. She called them in front of me and left a message (the only option we have is to leave a message, they NEVER answer the phone) and they do not call us back. when I managed to speak with them, they were very rude. they don't care about your situation. they don't care if it is the...
Bad, bad, bad, bad company. Bad customer service, bad adjusters, everything is bad. Their client hit me 3 weeks ago and they say they are not able to contact her. LIE. She called them in front of me and left a message (the only option we have is to leave a message, they NEVER answer the phone) and they do not call us back. when I managed to speak with them, they were very rude. they don't care about your situation. they don't care if it is their client's fault you don't have a vehicle to drive around. DO NOT MAKE BUSINESS WITH THEM. you will regret so bad.......
1
May 27, 2015

John Griggs

Home State review

When you call and leave a voicemail and then they do not return calls.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption