State Auto Insurance Review (2023)

The average State Auto insurance quote for full coverage is about $171 per month or $58 for minimum coverage, but there are plenty of discounts to help lower your rates.

UPDATED: Jan 8, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jan 8, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 8, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 8, 2023Fact Checked
3.4
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • State Auto offers unique add-ons, like personal effects coverage and pet insurance
  • A wide variety of insurance options are available
  • Customers have plenty of discount options to take advantage of

Cons

  • State Auto is not available in every state
  • You’ll have to buy insurance packages to access certain coverage options
  • State Auto struggles with customer service

The Bottom Line

State Auto car insurance might not be the most well-known source of coverage, but it offers reliable plans with unique coverage options. Currently owned by Liberty Mutual, State Auto still manages its own policies in 33 states.

State Auto Insurance does not have the cheapest rates and is typically one of the most expensive companies. However, it might be one of the best companies for drivers who have a DUI.

Read on to learn more about State Auto Insurance and whether the extra coverage is right for you. Then, compare quotes with as many companies as possible to find the best prices.

State Auto doesn’t have the cheapest rates on the market, but the unique coverage options you can add to your policy might make the price worth it. Although rates are usually expensive, drivers with a DUI might find affordable quotes from State Auto.

Many customers enjoy the extra coverages available for purchase, but high rates mean you should compare other companies. While State Auto’s unique coverage might be worth the higher prices, you might overpay if you don’t see what other companies are charging.

Is State Auto Insurance Companies a Good Choice?

State Auto Insurance reviews are generally positive, although it receives more customer complaints than similarly sized companies.

Some of the best reviews to start with are from third-party rating companies. For example, A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength. State Auto previously had an excellent rating of A but was recently downgraded to an A-.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies on their ability to resolve customer issues. State Auto Insurance gets an A+ from the BBB, though over a hundred complaints are listed on the site. Customers also report low satisfaction with the company on the BBB site.

A final important third-party rating organization is the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). The NAIC compares the number of complaints a company receives compared to its size, with the national average being 1.0. Anything higher than 1.0 means a company gets more complaints than usual.

State Auto has a score of 1.60, which means it receives a little less than double the complaints of similar companies.

State Auto Insurance Companies Rates

When people buy car insurance from State Auto, it’s usually for the extra coverage available in the Protection Plus or AutoXtended packages. State Auto rates are generally more expensive than other companies, regardless of your situation.

Although State Auto rates are usually higher than other companies, it might be worth it for the extra coverage you can add to your policy. Consider the rates for different demographics below, but keep in mind that your exact State Auto quote will vary depending on a variety of factors.

State Auto Minimum Insurance Rates

Unless you live in Virginia or New Hampshire, you’ll need to meet your state’s minimum auto insurance requirements before driving or registering your car. Most states require liability insurance, while many also include uninsured motorist or personal injury protection coverage.

No matter how much insurance your state requires, minimum coverage is your cheapest option. Minimum insurance is a good option for drivers who need to stick to a budget or have older, less valuable cars.

See below for the average minimum insurance policy costs.

Top Auto Insurance Companies Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$31
Liberty Mutual$68
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$37
Average$45
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto’s minimum insurance rates are 22% higher than the national average, much more than those of cheaper companies like Geico.

Although you’ll save a significant amount by choosing minimum coverage, it comes with a financial risk. Minimum insurance does not cover repairs to your car, so you’ll have to pay from your own pocket.

State requirements usually have low coverage limits, so there’s also a chance that your insurance will run out. If that happens, you’ll be responsible for paying for any leftover damages.

State Auto Full Coverage Rates

You’ll never have to buy full coverage auto insurance to meet state requirements, but you might need it if you have a car loan or lease. Full coverage is a good idea for drivers with new or expensive cars or those who can’t afford to replace their vehicles.

Full coverage is a suite of insurances, including liability, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection coverages. While it doesn’t cover everything, full coverage insurance offers relatively complete protection.

Once again, State Auto is not the cheapest option on the market — check below to compare how it does against its competitors.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$173
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
Average$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto’s rates run a little higher than the cheapest full coverage company. At 27% higher than the national average, you’ll likely pay more for State Auto coverage. However, it’s not the most expensive option — Allstate car insurance typically costs more than State Auto.

State Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Insurance companies look at a variety of factors to determine your rates, and one of the most impactful is your age. Teens and young adults pay some of the highest prices for car insurance, with rates as much as triple what other drivers pay.

Young drivers pay more for car insurance for a few reasons. The most important is that young drivers are statistically more likely to get into accidents, drive recklessly, and engage in other dangerous driving habits.

Insurance companies also consider your driving record to get an idea of how risky you are to cover. Since new drivers don’t have a history, companies charge more to protect themselves financially.

To get an idea of how much drivers of different ages will pay for auto insurance, check below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Age and GenderAllstateFarmersGeicoNationwideProgressiveState FarmNational Average
30 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$177$160$87$139$136$103$137
30 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$168$154$90$127$131$94$127
45 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$160$133$80$115$105$86$118
45 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$162$134$80$113$112$86$118
55 Y/O Male w/a Clean Record$152$126$76$109$100$82$112
55 Y/O Female w/a Clean Record$153$127$76$107$106$82$112

State Auto rates vary significantly between age groups, like most other companies. For example, the average policy for a teen is 27% higher than the national average, while an older adult will see rates that are only 7% higher.

Although young drivers pay more for car insurance, they won’t be stuck with high rates forever. If you keep your driving record clean, your insurance rates will start to go down around age 25. Learn more about the average auto insurance rates by age.

State Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Speeding tickets are one of the most common traffic violations American drivers can get, and even a minor infraction will increase your insurance rates. Unfortunately for State Auto drivers, you’ll pay at least $41 more per month after a speeding ticket than you would at other companies.

To see how State Auto compares for car insurance after a speeding ticket, check below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$188$160
American Family$136$117
Farmers$173$139
Geico$106$80
Liberty Mutual$212$173
Nationwide$137$115
Progressive$140$105
State Farm$96$86
Travelers$134$99
Average$147$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Once again, there are plenty of cheaper options than State Auto, including Geico, Progressive, and State Farm insurance. Although you’ll pay more for insurance, you’ll have the option to buy accident forgiveness, which would ignore your first speeding ticket.

Your car insurance rates will be higher after getting a speeding ticket, but they won’t stay high forever. Companies usually look back three years, meaning your rates will return to normal if you keep your driving record clean. Learn how a speeding ticket can affect your auto insurance rates.

State Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident

Besides speeding tickets, at-fault accidents have one of the most significant impacts on your insurance rates. Insurance companies consider a driver with one at-fault accident more likely to cause another in the future.

The average at-fault accident raises your insurance rates by about 50%, though the exact amount depends on the state you live in. You’ll see even higher spikes if you have multiple at-fault accidents, and you might be dropped as a customer if you get too many.

State Auto tends to have higher rates than other companies after an at-fault accident, but you can see the average rates.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$225$160
American Family$176$117
Average$172$120
Farmers$198$139
Geico$132$80
Liberty Mutual$234$173
Nationwide$161$115
Progressive$186$105
State Farm$102$86
Travelers$139$99
Get Your Rates Quote Now

State Auto is one of the most expensive companies for insurance after an at-fault accident, with only Allstate having higher average rates.

Although you’ll pay higher rates after an at-fault accident, prices eventually drop the same way they do after getting a speeding ticket. Insurance companies look back about three years for accidents, so your rates will be lowered if you avoid additional incidents. Learn how long an accident can stay on your record.

State Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Although speeding tickets or at-fault accidents affect your rates, getting a DUI charge has one of the largest impacts on your insurance. Aside from license suspension, legal fees, and jail, DUIs have long-lasting effects on your insurance rates.

Finding affordable auto insurance for drivers with a DUI, is usually a challenge. You’ll find a few companies that refuse to work with you after a single DUI, and you’ll always see your rates increase. Many drivers need to find high-risk car insurance, especially if they have more than one DUI.

You should expect your rates to double or even triple after a DUI charge, although rates vary by company. However, some companies are more forgiving than others, so it’s critical that you compare quotes after a DUI. If you don’t compare quotes, you could overpay for insurance by thousands every year.

Compare auto insurance rates after a DUI charge with other companies below.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
State Farm$112$86
Progressive$140$105
Farmers$192$139
American Family$194$117
Travelers$206$99
Geico$216$80
Nationwide$234$115
Allstate$270$160
Liberty Mutual$313$173
Average$209$120
Get Your Rates Quote Now

As with most other demographics, State Auto does not have the most affordable rates. However, State Auto’s DUI insurance rates are only 2% higher than the national average. State Auto is actually cheaper than many other companies after a DUI, including Geico, Nationwide, and Allstate.

Similarly to other traffic incidents, DUIs don’t affect your car insurance rates forever. However, DUIs impact your rates for much longer than speeding tickets or at-fault accidents — your insurance quotes will be higher for about seven years. Learn more about what a DUI is here.

State Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers With Low Credit Scores

Some factors that affect your car insurance rates are obvious, such as your age or driving history. One that often catches drivers off-guard is their credit score — drivers with low credit scores pay more for insurance.

There are two reasons why companies charge more for car insurance if you have poor credit. The first is that companies assume people with higher credit scores will pay their monthly bills on time. Companies also have detailed statistics for claims, and the numbers show that people with lower scores file more claims.

Drivers with low credit scores pay about $100 a month more than people with higher scores. However, high prices are not necessarily permanent. If you can improve your credit score, your car insurance rates will drop.

Check below to see if State Auto is a good choice if you have a low credit score.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
American Family$203$136$116
Farmers$269$160$140
Geico$148$99$82
Liberty Mutual$355$226$177
Nationwide$166$133$120
Progressive$206$138$109
State Farm$200$117$91
Travelers$194$128$107
Allstate$296$197$176
Average$226$148$123

Although State Auto’s rates are only 7% higher than the national average, there are plenty of cheaper options. If your credit score is on the low side, you should consider companies like Geico, Progressive, or Farmers. Learn how a credit score can impact your insurance rates.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto Insurance Companies Discounts Available

Insurance companies offer discounts to help customers save money, which you should look at when shopping for coverage. Smaller companies are often lacking in discount selections compared to larger companies, but State Auto doesn’t have this problem.

When you shop at State Auto, you might be eligible for the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Multi-car. If you have more than one vehicle in your household, you can save money by adding them to the same policy.
  • Bundling. State Auto sells several types of insurance. You’ll earn a discount if you buy a home or umbrella policy in addition to car insurance.
  • Paid in full. You can pay for your entire policy at once or split payments into monthly increments. You’ll earn a small discount if you choose to pay in full.
  • Anti-theft devices. If your car has anti-theft devices, State Auto will discount your comprehensive insurance.
  • Driver education. Drivers under the age of 21 — or 25 in South Carolina — can earn a discount for completing a driver education course.
  • Start-up. New customers who had an existing policy with another company for at least six months can earn this discount.
  • Good student. Full-time students under age 21 who maintain a 3.0 GPA can earn an auto insurance discount for good students.
  • Student away. State Auto will lower your rates if you leave your car at home while you attend a college more than 100 miles from home. Learn more about auto insurance for a child at college.
  • Defensive driver. Earn this discount by completing a defensive driving course. Only drivers under 21 are eligible.

You can also take advantage of the State Auto Safety 360 program, which is a usage-based insurance plan that rewards safe driving. You can save up to 50%, which is one of the largest discounts any company offers.

However, the Safety 360 program is one of the only plans of this kind that includes surcharges for bad driving habits, so you should consider if this plan is right for you before signing up.

State Auto Insurance Companies Coverage Options

Although Liberty Mutual purchased State Auto, it still sells policies under its own name. And it’s worth noting that State Auto offers a variety of coverage options, some of which can’t be found with Liberty Mutual auto insurance.

There are two basic types of insurance needs that State Auto covers — minimum insurance and full coverage. State Auto sells car insurance in 33 states, most of which require a minimum amount of coverage to drive legally. State Auto can meet those requirements and knows exactly what you need.

No state law requires full coverage, but you might need it if you have a car lease or loan. Even if it’s not required, full coverage is often a good choice for people with newer, expensive cars they can’t afford to replace.

No matter which type of coverage you need, you can buy the following basic insurance staples from State Auto:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage. As one-half of liability insurance, bodily injury liability insurance pays for damages resulting from injuries to others when you’re at fault in an accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage. Property damage liability insurance pays for damage you cause to cars, buildings, and other property. It does not cover your vehicle.
  • Collision insurance. If you want help paying for your car’s repairs after an accident,  you’ll need collision insurance. Collision coverage also covers you if you strike another vehicle or hit a stationary object, like a tree.
  • Comprehensive insurance. There’s a lot that can damage your car besides a collision. Comprehensive insurance covers unexpected events like theft, vandalism, fire, extreme weather, animal contact, and flooding.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Although most states require insurance, not all drivers obey the law. Uninsured motorist insurance helps cover your injuries or property damage caused by another driver with no insurance, insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver.
  • Personal injury protection coverage. Depending on the state you live in, you can buy either medical payments coverage or personal injury protection insurance to cover your medical expenses after an accident.

Full coverage includes every insurance option listed above. Minimum insurance is your cheapest option if you’re interested in keeping your costs down. State requirements vary, but most at least include liability insurance. Other common requirements are personal injury protection or uninsured motorist insurance.

It can be a little tricky to understand exactly which insurance you need, but you don’t have to figure it out by yourself. A State Auto representative can help you choose the right levels of coverage.

Does State Auto offer car insurance add-ons?

Like most insurance companies, State Auto offers a few add-ons you can purchase to increase the value of your policy. State Auto offers the following add-ons:

  • Rideshare insurance. If you drive for a rideshare app like Uber or Lyft, your personal policy doesn’t cover you while you’re working. Rideshare insurance fills in the gaps in Uber or Lyft insurance, so you’re always covered.
  • Auto replacement cost. No matter what your car is worth, State Auto will completely replace it if it’s totaled. Only cars two years old or newer are eligible.
  • Total loss plus. For cars older than two years, you can choose this add-on. State Auto will either replace your vehicle with a model one year newer or pay you 120% of your car’s total value.

Although it’s not the most comprehensive list of add-ons, there are still a few valuable options. You should carefully consider adding more coverage to your policy, though — add-ons can significantly increase your monthly rates.

What are State Auto insurance packages?

Aside from regular insurance options, State Auto also offers convenient packages. There are three main packages — standard, Protection Plus, and AutoXtended Premier.

All packages include the basic coverage options you’ll need to drive your car, like liability or collision insurance. They also include up to $100 in roadside assistance services.

The standard package offers nothing else beyond roadside assistance. Protection Plus and AutoXtended Premier offer a variety of coverages to choose from, including:

  • Safety glass. As long as your glass isn’t damaged in an accident, State Auto will pay for repairs.
  • Accident forgiveness. If you’ve gone without making a claim, State Auto will forgive your first accident or minor traffic violation. The amount of time you need to be claim-free varies by state.
  • Bail bonds. This endorsement covers bonds related to a car accident where you caused injuries or property damage.
  • Attorney fees. If you’re arrested after causing an accident, State Auto will pay your lawyer fees.
  • Total disability. State Auto will cover your wages if a car accident disables you.
  • Death indemnity. This endorsement acts as a life insurance policy and pays a set amount if you die in an accident.
  • Rented vehicle. This covers rental cars — and repairs if you damage them — if you need a temporary ride while your vehicle is being repaired.
  • Customized equipment. Standard insurance only covers the equipment your car comes with. Auto insurance for custom vehicles covers parts you add to your vehicle, like rims or stereo systems.
  • Cell phone coverage. If your cell phone is damaged in a car accident, State Auto will pay up to $500 to repair or replace it.
  • GPS coverage. If you have a GPS damaged in a car accident, State Auto will pay to replace or repair it.
  • Emergency ambulance. Ambulance rides in the U.S. can cost thousands, but State Auto will cover up to $10,000 after an accident.
  • Locksmith services. State Auto will cover up to $250 in locksmith services if your keys are stolen, damaged, or lost.
  • Pet coverage. State Auto will pay up to $500 in vet bills if your pet is injured or killed in a car accident.

The main difference between the Protection Plus and AutoXtended packages is coverage limits. The AutoXtended package has much higher limits — for example, emergency ambulance covers up to $25,000.

What other types of insurance does State Auto sell?

State Auto sells much more than just car insurance. You can buy the following when choosing to shop at State Auto:

  • Condo
  • Renters
  • Umbrella
  • Business
  • Boat and yacht
  • Farm and ranch

State Auto also offers three packages of homeowners insurance. All packages include the basic coverage you need for your home, including personal liability, dwelling, personal property, and detached physical structures.

The three home insurance packages are the Standard, Protection Plus, and Premier. The standard package includes identity theft protection in case you become the victim of identity theft. It also includes replacement costs coverage, which pays for the brand-new value of your personal belongings rather than their depreciated value.

The Protection Plus package includes golf cart rentals, locksmith services, and $1,000 worth of freezer content coverage. It also includes everything in the standard package.

Finally, the Premier package includes several additional coverages, including:

  • $500 to repair or replace cell phones and GPS equipment
  • $10,000 of identity theft recovery services
  • Fire extinguisher coverage to pay to recharge your fire extinguisher
  • $5,000 worth of coverage for equipment you use for a home business
  • Mortgage expense coverage, which covers fees for appraisals and applications for a new mortgage
  • Computer records coverage, which helps replace or restore lost or corrupted data
  • Volunteer coverage, in case you’re sued for actions you performed as a volunteer
  • Valuable items coverage, for belongings in your home with extra value
  • False alarm coverage, in case the fire or police department responds to a false alarm

The better packages come with higher prices. However, you can save a little by purchasing both home and car insurance from State Auto.

Find State Auto Insurance Quotes Today

State Auto doesn’t have the cheapest rates on the market, but the unique coverage options you can add to your policy might make the price worth it. Although rates are usually expensive, drivers with a DUI might find affordable quotes from State Auto.

Many customers enjoy the extra coverages available for purchase, but high rates mean you should compare other companies. While State Auto’s unique coverage might be worth the higher prices, you might overpay if you don’t see what other companies are charging.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you get a quote from State Auto Insurance?

Getting a quote from State Auto isn’t as easy as it is with some of its competitors. You’ll need to contact an independent representative by phone or in person to get a quote or start an application. Unfortunately, State Auto has no option for online quotes.

How can you start a claim with State Auto?

Although you can’t get a quote online, State Auto has an option on its website to start claims. You can also speak with a representative to file a claim. Either way you choose to file your claim, make sure you have the details of the incident and your policy number ready to go.

Who owns State Auto Insurance?

As of July 2021, Liberty Mutual acquired State Auto Insurance. However, State Auto still writes its own policies and manages its customers.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for State Auto Insurance Companies

3.41 (175 reviews)
1
June 28, 2022

KKing82

Scam Likely

State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle...
State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle"...I was confused. I pulled up all of our insurance cards, and they had the OLD vehicle insured, and not the NEW one. We had been driving the new vehicle since 2019. When I realized what happened, I asked to cancel, to move to another company, and for a refund of the premiums paid on the WRONG vehicle. That type of error, is not ok. After being bounced around from person to person, I FINALLY signed documents to have my policy cancelled, and submitted documentation to prove that we no longer had the vehicle that they wrongfully insured, in order to get a refund. TODAY, I received an UPDATED policy, with NEW premiums. I cancelled yesterday. Why am I receiving new documents, and where is the money I'm owed? Thankfully we weren't pulled over, or in any accidents during this 3 year period, but we'd like our money back. I have every email, and piece of requested documentation. This just isn't right. If this isn't resolved in a timely manner, I will be contacting an attorney.
1
July 3, 2021

Jennporter4

Don’t use State Auto

Trying to switch to someone else because we are being penalized for using our glass coverage that is INCLUDED with our policy!!!!!!!! We used it maybe twice for each vehicle once a year and they said that they considered to be “claims” and that we can’t switch because of how many claims we had aka glass repairs due to rocks hitting the windshield. Absolutely ridiculous!!!!!
1
April 10, 2021

bdom

SCAM ALERT!!!

SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! Do not even consider this company. I cancelled it a year ago, I got a confirmation from them. Yet, the kept taking money from my bank for almost a year, after the cancellation. My bank opened an investigation, and State Auto lied to them and stated that I never cancelled the insurance. Good thing, I kept the email confirming the cancellation and showed it to bank. Stay away from State Auto!
1
March 6, 2021

Daby0729

Read reviews before you purchase

Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my mo...
Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my money back. I had to threaten with a police report and BBB if they did not remove my payment information off of their website I'm still kind of worried I'm thinking of changing my debit card which is what my bank preferred me to do. Every time I contacted State Auto I was told I had to speak to an agent that I couldn't talk to them why would I have to talk to an agent when I'm talking directly to you I was told it's because he's our third party sellers it's not really State Auto insurance that's selling you the insurance these are people at home doing nothing that you are interacting with. Another thing that scared the crap out of me I can't contact the company to cancel I have to call the somebody else that I can't even get in contact with. you should be able to cancel online you should be able to remove your payment information online like every other insurance company allows you to do this is why they don't have a review button on their FB page because they're worried about reviews if you want to stateauto.com you would see them all should have read them The worst experience I've ever had with any insurance company. Be careful
1
February 23, 2021

JStou

Avoid State Auto at all cost!

State Auto is literally the most crooked Insurnace on the market. I have complete and full coverage commerical policy. I requested rental vehicle coverage. My wife slid off the road in a snow storm and State Auto didn’t cover a single thing. I’m stuck with a $9,000 bill. They refuse to actually cover anything but bodily harm. But a normal consumer policy would have covered it. Just not a commercial policy that’s 30% more expensive?!???!
1
August 20, 2020

Susan333

CRIMINALS THAT WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY

THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I ...
THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I said wait I’m in the same home I was in when I received my first policy. There response was “sorry” ARE YOU KIDDING ME PLEASE I BEG YOU DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY WILL ROB YOU ONE WAY OR ANOTHER. THE OWNERS OF THIS COMPANY ARE GREEDY PIGS. I called them once for road side service I was on the tollway with a flat tire. GUESS WHAT NO ONE EVER CAME THEY LEFT ME THERE HELPLESS WAS FORCED TO CALL A FRIEND TO HELP. If you are young or older STAY AWAY FROM THIS JOKE ~ Yeah [REDACTED NAME] it’s time for you to go broke!!!! TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE THE WORST. I’m with a new company charging acceptable rates.. BUYER BEWARE ..
1
July 8, 2020

Disapprove

State Auto is inefficient, should not be in business.

DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no fu...
DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no full coverage, we were told no change can be made over the phone, contact the agent. However immediately at 6:15 pm. they made the change ?(without my agent), because as soon as we hung up I got an email, they charged and extra $2166.88 without the agent doing any change. When I texted my agent he was astonished and didn't get to look at the policy until the next day. When the agent checked his system the coverage showed on his end but State Auto showed 'Error! We are experiencing an issue with our system and are working to resolve the issue. Please try again later. If the issue persists, please refer to the SAHelps link at the top of the screen. Internal Server error, Please contact Administrator. Code 901 Timestamp 2020-01-28T17:28:44Z;CID plozx 3660700'. My agent cancelled the policy. We have been disputing these charges for months and State Auto took me to collections and is insisting I MUST pay.
1
June 17, 2020

Apar

Horrible Insurance Provider!

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I...
WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I cancel my service my agent tells me I will get the refund for the days left refunded by check. Nope they are sending me to collections as they say they refunded me months ago and that I now owed a full month. No No No bank statements show they are incorrect but the lady they have working on it says she doesn't care what it shows I better pay or she is sending me to collections and I can say fair well to my credit score. OMG who is she! Trust me go with any other company this one sucks!
4
May 4, 2020

atiqa

Good customer service

Its a good company that offers different kind of packages of insurances. The customer service is excellent
1
March 5, 2020

action

Do not trust.

Gave estimate through pictures on an app. Appraisers set estimate at half the price of the body shop.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption