Citizens Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Citizens insurance for car owners isn't sold directly, but customers can buy it through its parent company, The Hanover, for around $157/mo. Drivers also enjoy add-ons such as Citizens roadside assistance. Our Citizens auto insurance review overviews the company's customer service, rates, and coverage options.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024Fact Checked

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as an insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the process simpl...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Mar 12, 2024Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Citizens Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$157

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Citizens does offer personal property insurance, commercial property insurance, and casualty insurance
  • Citizens has a vast agency network throughout Michigan and the Midwest

Cons

  • Citizens auto insurance is only available through The Hanover

Final Verdict: Review of Citizens Auto Insurance

Citizens Insurance sells auto coverage through its subsidiary, The Hanover, with rates averaging $157 monthly for full coverage insurance. It offers all the types of auto insurance available with most providers, such as liability, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist coverage. Add-ons, such as Citizens Insurance roadside assistance, are also available.

Citizens Insurance, based in Howell, MI, is a popular choice. You can also buy Citizens home insurance in Michigan and other areas. The Citizens Insurance Michigan phone number is 1-800-922-8427 for Michigan drivers with policy questions.

Read More: Michigan Auto Insurance

Read our Citizens auto insurance review to discover if the company is right for you.

Are you wondering, “How can I get Citizens Insurance near me?” Enter your ZIP code into our free tool above to compare quotes for Citizen Insurance in Michigan and other states.

Unfortunately for drivers looking for a new policy, there is no such thing as Citizens auto insurance. Citizens is not an auto insurance company, which means there is no Citizens auto insurance rental car coverage, no Citizens auto insurance roadside assistance, and no Citizens auto insurance rebates.  

What You Should Know About The Hanover Insurance Group

Citizens Insurance — short for Citizens Insurance Company of America — was founded in 1915. It’s a subsidiary of The Hanover Insurance Group. Hanover is one of the top 25 providers of property and casualty insurance in the United States. The company was founded in 1852 and its current CEO is John Roche.

Read More: Hanover Car Insurance Review

Citizens is based in Howell, Michigan, making Citizens Midwest insurance popular throughout the region. It’s possible, therefore, that customers closer to the coast may have never heard of Citizens Insurance in MI. Grand Rapids, MI, for example, is a popular location for Citizens auto insurance in Michigan.

For Michigan drivers with policy questions, the Citizens Insurance phone number for Michigan is 1-800-922-8427, which is also the Citizens auto insurance phone number for drivers from other states. Also, the Citizens Insurance claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

Unlike Citizens, The Hanover does provide auto insurance. This can lead to some confusion, so let’s provide clarification: if you’ve purchased auto insurance through this company, you’ve purchased it with The Hanover auto insurance, not Citizens.

Daniel Walker Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

Citizens’ parent company, the Hanover Insurance Group, is based in Worcester, Massachusetts. Hanover home insurance is available throughout the United States.

Comparing Citizens Auto Insurance Rates

To get auto insurance coverage with Citizens, you’ll need to buy it from The Hanover, its parent company. Check out the table below to compare The Hanover’s rates vs. top competitors:

The Hanover vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
Allstate$160
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Hanover$157
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99

Unfortunately, for drivers looking for a new policy, there is no such thing as Citizens auto insurance. Citizens is not an auto insurance company, which means there is no Citizens auto insurance rental car coverage, no Citizens insurance roadside assistance, and no Citizens auto insurance rebates.

Many of you may want to know: What is auto insurance for, anyway?

Auto insurance protects you from financial loss in the event of a car accident, theft, or other incidents that cause damage to your vehicle. This can be useful for paying for car repairs, medical bills, and legal fees. Auto insurance is mandated by most states in the U.S. Here are a few helpful statistics:

U.S. Auto Insurance Statistics
Key InfoDetails
2017 Average Auto Insurance Expenditure$1,004.58
Private Passenger Cars Insured in 2015202,681,302
2017 Most Expensive State for Auto InsuranceLouisiana
2017 Least Expensive State for Auto InsuranceNorth Dakota

Even though there’s no Citizens car insurance, you can buy Citizens property insurance for your personal and commercial properties. Citizens also sells casualty insurance.

Often, customers are interested in bundling and want to know what an auto insurance specialist says about bundling rates. Though some insurance companies offer car insurance bundles, no Citizens auto and home insurance policies exist.

For policy questions, the phone number for Citizens Insurance is 1-800-922-8427. To file a claim, the Citizens auto claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

Citizens Auto Insurance Customer Service and Ratings

Is Citizen insurance good? Citizens insurance reviews are relatively good. The company carries an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, and has an average of 3.44 out of 5 stars on the BBB website, with 118 customer reviews. So, policyholders of Citizens Insurance in Michigan and other states seem to be satisfied with their coverage.

Also, there are relatively few complaints for Citizen auto insurance in Michigan and other regions, as it carries a lower-than-average complaint index from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

In addition, the company carries an A rating from A.M. Best, indicating it has good financial stability.

So, since Citizens auto insurance reviews are mostly positive, you can expect the company to handle your claims well. Since The Hanover is its parent company, you should also check out The Hanover Insurance reviews.

How to Find a Citizens Insurance Agent Near Me

Citizens operates through a select group of independent insurance agents and brokers. The Citizens auto phone number is 1-800-922-8427, which also serves as the Citizens Insurance phone number for Michigan drivers.

If you’re asking, “How can I find Citizens insurance agents near me,” look no further. You can easily find an insurance agent using the agent locator tool on The Hanover’s website.

Citizens’ agents can help you by answering questions like:

  • How is Citizens Insurance impacted by COVID-19 (the coronavirus)?
  • How can I amend my Citizens policy?
  • Is anyone who drives my car impacted by Hanover auto insurance?
  • How much would add another car to my Hanover car insurance policy cost?
  • How can I get a Citizens insurance refund?

These questions are great starting points if you want to customize your Citizens or Hanover policy. Agents can also help you make Citizens insurance payments. Again, the Citizens Insurance phone number for agents is 1-800-922-8427.

How to File Citizens Auto Insurance Claims

The best way to file Citizens insurance claims is through the Hanover website. This will require your Citizens website login information.

Hanover policyholders can fill out online web forms to file a property insurance claim or auto insurance claim. Policyholders can also use Hanover’s website to get information about repairing auto glass damage and to find contractors or repair shops nearby. If you have internet access, this is much easier than filing a claim through the mail at Citizens Insurance’s claims address.

You can also call the Hanover Claim Service Hotline to file a Citizens insurance claim. The Citizens auto claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

The Hanover offers a different claim service for its Hanover Platinum Experience members.

The Hanover Platinum Experience includes the Platinum Auto Essential program. The Hanover’s Platinum Auto Essential is a basic car insurance policy that offers features like vehicle key replacement coverage and mechanical parts replacement. If you’re looking to file a The Hanover Platinum Auto Essential claim, call 1-800-799-6977.

Getting a Citizen Car Insurance Quote

Lastly, let’s take a look at how you can obtain a Citizens insurance quote. If you’re interested in Hanover’s auto insurance policies, you can also use this process to get a Hanover auto insurance quote.

The only way to get a quote from Citizens is to contact a Hanover insurance agent. Hanover offers an agent locator function on its website.

For more details, the Citizens Insurance Company of the Midwest phone number is 1-800-922-8427, which is also the Citizens car insurance phone number for all drivers.

If you’re ready to compare quotes for the Citizens Insurance Company in Michigan or other Midwest states, enter your ZIP code into our free comparison tool below.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Citizens auto insurance?

Citizens auto insurance is an insurance company that provides coverage for personal vehicles through The Hanover. They offer various policies and options to meet the specific needs of their policyholders.

Citizens car insurance in Michigan is very popular, as it’s headquarters is in Howell, MI. The company also has a large presence across the Midwest.

What types of coverage does Citizens auto insurance offer?

Citizens auto insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection (PIP), and medical payments coverage.

For questions about coverage options, call the Citizens Insurance Company phone number at 1-800-922-8427. On the other hand, the Citizens auto insurance claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

How can I contact Citizens auto insurance?

You can contact Citizens auto insurance by visiting their website and using their online contact form or by calling their customer service hotline. The contact information can usually be found on their official website or in your policy documents.

Call the Citizen Insurance phone number at 1-800-922-8427 to learn more about the company. The Citizens Insurance auto claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

Can I get a quote for auto insurance from Citizens?

Yes, Citizens auto insurance provides an online quote tool that allows you to receive a personalized quote based on your specific needs and circumstances. You can access this tool on their official website.

How do I file an auto insurance claim with Citizens?

To file an auto insurance claim with Citizens, you should contact their claims department as soon as possible after the incident. They will guide you through the process and provide the necessary forms and information to initiate your claim.

The Citizens claims phone number is 1-800-628-6977.

Does Citizens auto insurance offer discounts?

Yes, Citizens offers various auto insurance discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and more. Contact Citizens or refer to their website for specific details on available discounts.

Learn More: The Hanover Auto Insurance Discounts

Can I manage my Citizens policy online?

Yes, Citizens auto insurance typically offers an online portal or mobile app that allows policyholders to manage their policies conveniently. This may include tasks such as making payments, updating personal information, viewing policy documents, and accessing digital ID cards.

Read More: How to Manage Your Auto Insurance Policy

How do I make a payment for my Citizens auto insurance policy?

Citizens auto insurance provides different payment options, including online payment through their website, automatic recurring payments, payment by phone, or mailing a check or money order. Details regarding payment methods can be found on their website or by contacting their customer service.

What factors can affect my auto insurance premium?

Several factors can influence your auto insurance premium, including your driving record, the type of vehicle you drive, your location, your age, your credit history, the coverage limits and deductibles you choose, and any applicable discounts you qualify for.

Read More: Factors That Affect Auto Insurance Rates

What is The Hanover roadside assistance phone number?

If you need The Hanover Insurance roadside assistance, call 1-800-628-0250.

Read More: Best Auto Insurance Companies for Roadside Assistance

How are Citizens Insurance reviews in Michigan?

Generally, Citizens Insurance Michigan reviews are good, with most customers giving the company a positive rating.

However, you should evaluate Citizens/Hanover Insurance reviews to see if the company is right for you. For example, Howell, MI, residents should check out Citizens Insurance (The Hanover Insurance Group) Howell reviews in their area.

You should also get a Citizens Insurance of Michigan quote to see if you can get cheap coverage.

What are the pros and cons of Citizens Insurance?

Some of the pros of getting a policy with Citizens Insurance is that the company has great financial and customer reviews. You can also enjoy great in-person customer service, since the company has many agents.

However, a major con of Citizens Insurance is that you can’t get auto insurance directly from the company. Instead, you must get it from The Hanover, its parent company.

Is Citizens a good insurance company?

Yes, Citizens is a reputable insurance company. It carries mostly positive reviews from customers and is backed by The Hanover.

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as an insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the process simpl...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for The Hanover Insurance Group

3.80 (270 reviews)
1
August 23, 2023

mtcory

Slow and poor service.

Our truck was in a head on accident 26 days ago. Hanover was very slow to respond and at one point we went 6 days with no calls. They eventually decided to total our truck and came back with 4 "comps", 2 had duel rear wheels and not a 4X4. Ours has 2 rear wheels and is a 4X4. One "comp" was a stretch cab and not a full 4 door like ours. The other one had higher miles and was in average condition. I finally got them to agree to the $17,000 repair...
Our truck was in a head on accident 26 days ago. Hanover was very slow to respond and at one point we went 6 days with no calls. They eventually decided to total our truck and came back with 4 "comps", 2 had duel rear wheels and not a 4X4. Ours has 2 rear wheels and is a 4X4. One "comp" was a stretch cab and not a full 4 door like ours. The other one had higher miles and was in average condition. I finally got them to agree to the $17,000 repairs when our truck is valued at $30,000(2 actual comps that I found on eBay). My 30 days car rental will have long expired before I see one red cent from this company to fix my truck. See attached photos. The red truck is mine, the white one is their best "comp" valued at $20,000.
1
August 1, 2023

Lpetrey

Lazy and poorly run

I had the worst experience I’ve ever had with an insurance company with Hanover. Someone reported an accident to Hanover without my knowledge. They apparently got my information through my plates because the only information they supplied was a picture of my vehicle. I told Hanover I had no knowledge of any accident and was involved in no accident. I further supplied them with details to show the impossibility of the alleged incident. They said...
I had the worst experience I’ve ever had with an insurance company with Hanover. Someone reported an accident to Hanover without my knowledge. They apparently got my information through my plates because the only information they supplied was a picture of my vehicle. I told Hanover I had no knowledge of any accident and was involved in no accident. I further supplied them with details to show the impossibility of the alleged incident. They said I had no proof of innocence so the accuser was getting a payout, but that neither driver was ruled at fault. I later found out that they had put me at fault! I have no at fault incidents on my record in my 15 years driving except this. I’m looking into my options fighting it over them. The second thing that really irritated me with them was the unprofessionalism of the agent handling the case. It may be reflective of only him and not the company, but he was highly unprofessional in the way he spoke to me. If I hadn’t known better, I would’ve thought I was the accuser and not the insured! I was very calm and neutral toned with him intentionally and he would speak with sarcasm, as if he knew me and had a personal issue with me. I’m sure I have never met the man but I was left very confused after every interaction. A truly wild experience!
2
August 30, 2021

Adik

Bad customer Seevce

08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service becaus...
08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service because Representative hold me on phone for 1 hour and didn't tell me she is waiting for approval from supervisor to make a payment. I paid by my self to LakeSide Towing company and in 20 minutes got service.
5
December 22, 2020

Charlton_insurance

Auto and home Insurance purchase

Insurance request was handled with professional from [REDACTED NAME] who answered all of my questions and made the transition go smoothly and efficiently
5
December 21, 2020

David_1688

Great company, great services.

Very good service, easy to deal with and respectful. I don't have any claim in Auto Insurance, but my home owner Insurance gave me very good impression.
5
December 19, 2020

Chuck_Truza_

Fast, Professional Service

I have had a claim and was amazed at the service in getting it handled. I had a fender bender at 11 AM and by 2 PM I had dropped the car off at the dealership repair shop and all the details were taken care of. Can't beat that for service.
4
December 17, 2020

ccstangle

Happy with auto insurance policy

Have used auto claims service and roadside assistance. Both have worked well and prices are good in my area.
5
December 15, 2020

Oldgoldwinger

When all prices were in, I went with Hanover Ins. Group .

I was checking the prices for house and car insurance which I do every two years, to make sure the prices I was paying were in line. I thought the company that I had been with for 25+ had gotten very high. I took my current present policies, so everyone would price me with the same level of insurance protection. When a companies gave me their Quotes Hanover Insurance came in the lowest.
5
December 15, 2020

JacksonDad

Great Customer Service

My son totaled his car (he was fine) and the whole matter was wrapped up and taken care of in less than 7 days.
5
December 15, 2020

14for14

Trustworthy

They’ve been there every time I’ve needed them. Excellent customer service experience so far. I had bought a hybrid vehicle & the wiring is almost like food to rodents & I couldn’t believe it and it happened again days later to the rental, also a hybrid. This all happened right when the first wave of the pandemic hit & my experience with all the parties, with the exception of the dealership, was wonderful
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption