What are state minimums for car insurance in Utah?

Utah requires a minimum of 25/65/15 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. The average rate for auto insurance in Utah is around $41.46/mo.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates...

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byDaniel Walker
Licensed Insurance Agenthttps://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/aiorg-live/d98a9f52-daniel-walker.png

UPDATED: Apr 21, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

View as image

Most states have minimum car insurance requirements and other related laws in place to protect all drivers on the road. Make sure to compare rates with our free comparison tool above today! 

Utah is no exception to this rule. Having at least the minimum amounts of required auto insurance helps protect drivers and passengers should there be costly damages in an accident.

Decoding Car Insurance Requirements

If you have ever read through your auto insurance policy, you may have found it perplexing or overwhelming.

However, it is important that you understand the types of coverages that are available to you and what they provide for. It is your responsibility to be an informed driver.

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability is usually one of the types of mandatory insurance in most states. This type of coverage pays for medical bills and funeral expenses for other parties who are injured in an accident that you are liable for.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/Medical Payments

PIP is a type of coverage that pays for medical bills, funeral expenses, some loss of income and other coverages. It is usually required in no-fault states. States that assign fault will typically only offer medical payments coverage.

No-fault means each driver can recover damages from their own insurance company no matter who is at fault for the accident.

In some cases, PIP will also cover hired help around the house that was needed as a direct result of injuries from the accident.

What is Property Damage Liability?

Similar to bodily injury liability, property damage liability pays for damages to the property of other parties when you are the responsible party.

This can include repair or replacement of a vehicle, buildings, or other structures like a fence or a light pole. Property damage liability is a minimum requirement in nearly all states.

What is Collision Coverage?

Although collision is not a required type of auto insurance, you may be contractually required to have it if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.

Collision coverage pays for damages to your vehicle that occurred as a result of an accident.

With this coverage type, you will choose a deductible amount and also your policy limits.

What is Comprehensive Coverage?

Comprehensive is similar to collision coverage in that you should have this coverage if you are financing or leasing your car and that you choose your deductible and policy limits.

The difference is that comprehensive coverage is for other situations that can damage your vehicle such as hitting wildlife, natural disasters, fires, theft, and vandalism.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some states also require uninsured motorist coverage on your auto insurance policy. If you are in an accident with another driver who does not have insurance, or if it’s a hit and run, your uninsured motorist policy will cover the costs up to your policy limits.

In addition, you can get underinsured motorist coverage.

With this coverage, if the driver who caused the accident does not have enough insurance coverage to pay for all of your damages, your underinsured motorist policy will help cover the remainder of the damages.

Reading and Understanding Your Auto Insurance Policy

Most car insurance and financial experts recommend that you carry at bodily injury liability in the amounts of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence.

You would usually see this written as 100/300. You may also see a third number added which would represent the amount of coverage for property damage.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What is the Minimum Required Coverage for Utah?

Drivers in the state of Utah by law must carry the following types and amounts of auto insurance coverage:

  • $3,000 PIP
  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $65,000 for total bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 for property per accident

Utah Auto Insurance Laws

  • All drivers who reside in the state of Utah must have proof of financial responsibility in the form of auto insurance in order to register their vehicle.
  • In addition, drivers must be prepared to show proof of financial responsibility to law enforcement officers upon request.
  • Utah is a no-fault state, which means PIP coverage is required by law.

What are the penalties for not having the auto insurance coverage in Utah?

Driving a vehicle without the minimum required insurance in the state of Utah is a serious offense. For a first offense, you will receive a fine of at least $400.

Second and subsequent offenses will receive a minimum of a $1,000 fine. You may also have your driver’s license and auto registration suspended or revoked. An SR22 filing may also be invoked upon you.

Additionally, you can be held personally responsible for any financial damages you have caused.

This could lead to civil lawsuits and the potential for your assets being seized and/or garnishment of your paychecks. Driving without at least the minimum required insurance types in Utah simply isn’t worth the risk.

Minimum Requirement vs. Recommended Coverage

While you may think you are adequately covered if you secure the minimum amount of auto insurance required by law, you are likely wrong.

The minimum amounts may not be enough to cover the costs of an accident that you are liable for. In these cases, you would have to pay out of pocket for the remainder of the damages that you caused.

Increasing your coverage types and amounts beyond what is mandated by Utah law will provide much more protection in the event of an accident.

Most financial and insurance industry experts agree that minimum amounts are not adequate and recommend adding other coverages as well as increasing your limits.

How Can I Get Cheap Auto Insurance in Utah?

If you are a new driver in Utah, you can get auto insurance by contacting a local insurance agent. You can also look online and use a price comparison tool that can help you get the best premium.

Another option is to talk to people you know to get recommendations for auto insurance companies or agents.

If you are a resident in Utah and drive a vehicle, be sure you have auto insurance to cover you and other drivers on the road. You should also ensure that you understand all of the different coverages on your policy.

Don’t miss out on our free insurance comparison tool below! Just enter your ZIP code and get your quote today!

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide