What are the Full Glass coverage laws in Texas?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...
  • There are no laws regarding free auto glass coverage in Texas
  • It’s only illegal to drive with windshield damage if it changes the shape of the glass in Texas
  • You can ask your insurance company to provide you with a $0 deductible for your optional auto glass coverage


Auto glass laws in Texas are not big, which goes against the idea that everything is bigger in Texas. The state requires drivers to have a windshield, but very little else is considered a problem under Texas windshield laws.

It’s not illegal to drive with a crack or chip in the windshield, and insurance agencies aren’t required to automatically provide full glass coverage.

However, it is possible you could receive a ticket for your cracked, chipped, or damaged windshield if you’re pulled over driving with a crack or chip.

Texas car insurance laws might not include much related to auto glass coverage, but it does include some regulations.

If you’re living in Texas and looking for a new auto insurance policy that covers your auto glass, you’ll want to ask about comprehensive coverage when you compare rates. Make sure to compare rates with our free quote tool above!

It’s this coverage that includes your auto glass protection, and it’s this coverage that provides for your best savings about windshield replacement and repair.

Auto Insurance Requirements in Texas

adobestock_62445878-1600x1600

If you drive in Texas, you must have insurance. If you’re not a resident, you must meet the insurance standards in place by the state in which you reside.

If you live in Texas, you better meet state requirements for the minimum amount of insurance required for an auto. If you don’t, you risk being fined and possibly sent to jail if you are caught more than once driving without insurance.

The minimum coverage required by the state is simple to obtain. All auto insurance companies are required by law to quote you for nothing less than the minimum when you call for a new policy.

You must carry at least $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury insurance and $25,000 worth of property damage per accident.

This law is required to protect you and the people potentially involved in an accident with you. Even minor accidents are expensive to repair, and they’re made even more expensive if there are any medical issues or injuries caused by accident.

The cost for a fender bender might seem minimal until there are medical bills in need of payment and a potential personal injury lawsuit filed against the driver. The state is looking to protect you.

Auto Glass Insurance Laws in Texas

You’re not protected if you only choose the minimum insurance policy in Texas. Your auto glass is your responsibility if you don’t choose a comprehensive coverage policy. It’s within the comprehensive coverage you find auto glass insurance protection.

However, it’s not free unless you specifically ask an auto insurance provider to lower the deductible to $0 for this. You’ll pay a higher premium, but you won’t come out of pocket to pay for any windshield repairs or replacement issues.

If you do end up with damage to your windshield, you can call your insurance company to file a claim against your comprehensive coverage.

They will take a statement regarding what happened to cause damage, and then they ask you if you have a glass company you prefer or if they can recommend one for you. That’s when they’ll have the glass company of choice give you a call to come out and repair your windshield.

They come to you at work or home, which is convenient. If your coverage includes $0 deductible liability, you pay nothing for the service. If you have a deductible to meet, you’re paying for that when you call your insurance company.

The repair or replacement is done, and you’re back in business. If you don’t have comprehensive insurance, you’re paying for the entire repair yourself.

How do I know if my windshield damage needs repair in Texas?

The law doesn’t say much regarding windshield damage. As long as the damage isn’t impairing your vision or ability to drive, it’s not considered illegal.

You can still receive a ticket for it if you’re pulled over, but you’re not breaking any specific laws in Texas. The only time you’re breaking the law is if the glass is changing shape because of the damage.

If you do have damage and it’s impairing your vision or changing the shape of your windshield, call to have it replaced.

It’s no longer safe for you to drive this car because it could fail to protect you in case of an accident. If you don’t have insurance to cover this, call to compare rates that include comprehensive coverage to protect you.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Finding Affordable Insurance Rates in Texas

The best starting point for affordable insurance in Texas is with your driving record. if you have a good driving record, you will automatically receive lower rates.

If you live close to your work, work from home or you are retired, you spend less time on the road. This means you’re a less risky driver eligible for a discount for not driving many miles.

Ask for this discount as well as discounts for having more than one vehicle on your policy and for bundling your home, life, and car insurance policies.

The other recommendation is you check with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety to see if your vehicle is listed among one of the Top Safety Ratings picks for a discount.

If it is, bring it up when you compare insurance rates to get the safety discount.

  • There are no laws regarding free auto glass coverage in Texas
  • It’s only illegal to drive with windshield damage if it changes the shape of the glass in Texas
  • You can ask your insurance company to provide you with a $0 deductible for your optional auto glass coverage

Auto glass laws in Texas are not big, which goes against the idea that everything is bigger in Texas. The state requires drivers to have a windshield, but very little else is considered a problem under Texas windshield laws.

It’s not illegal to drive with a crack or chip in the windshield, and insurance agencies aren’t required to automatically provide full glass coverage.

However, it is possible you could receive a ticket for your cracked, chipped, or damaged windshield if you’re pulled over driving with a crack or chip.

Texas car insurance laws might not include much related to auto glass coverage, but it does include some regulations.

If you’re living in Texas and looking for a new auto insurance policy that covers your auto glass, you’ll want to ask about comprehensive coverage when you compare rates.

It’s this coverage that includes your auto glass protection, and it’s this coverage that provides for your best savings about windshield replacement and repair.

Auto Insurance Requirements in Texas

If you drive in Texas, you must have insurance. If you’re not a resident, you must meet the insurance standards in place by the state in which you reside.

If you live in Texas, you better meet state requirements for the minimum amount of insurance required for an auto. If you don’t, you risk being fined and possibly sent to jail if you are caught more than once driving without insurance.

The minimum coverage required by the state is simple to obtain. All auto insurance companies are required by law to quote you for nothing less than the minimum when you call for a new policy.

You must carry at least

  • $30,000 per person,
  • $60,000 per accident in bodily injury insurance, and
  • $25,000 worth of property damage per accident.

This law is required to protect you and the people potentially involved in an accident with you. Even minor accidents are expensive to repair, and they’re made even more expensive if there are any medical issues or injuries caused by accident.

The cost for a fender bender might seem minimal until there are medical bills in need of payment and a potential personal injury lawsuit filed against the driver. The state is looking to protect you.

Auto Glass Insurance Laws in Texas

You’re not protected if you only choose the minimum insurance policy in Texas. Your auto glass is your responsibility if you don’t choose a comprehensive coverage policy. It’s within the comprehensive coverage you find auto glass insurance protection.

However, it’s not free unless you specifically ask an auto insurance provider to lower the deductible to $0 for this.

You’ll pay a higher premium, but you won’t come out of pocket to pay for any windshield repairs or replacement issues.

If you do end up with damage to your windshield, you can call your insurance company to file a claim against your comprehensive coverage.

They will take a statement regarding what happened to cause damage, and then they ask you if you have a glass company you prefer or if they can recommend one for you.

That’s when they’ll have the glass company of choice give you a call to come out and repair your windshield.

They come to you at work or home, which is convenient. If your coverage includes $0 deductible liability, you pay nothing for the service. If you have a deductible to meet, you’re paying for that when you call your insurance company.

The repair or replacement is done, and you’re back in business. If you don’t have comprehensive insurance, you’re paying for the entire repair yourself.

How do I know if my windshield damage needs repair in Texas?

adobestock_51346386-1600x1600

The law doesn’t say much regarding windshield damage. As long as the damage isn’t impairing your vision or ability to drive, it’s not considered illegal.

You can still receive a ticket for it if you’re pulled over, but you’re not breaking any specific laws in Texas. The only time you’re breaking the law is if the glass is changing shape because of the damage.

If you do have damage and it’s impairing your vision or changing the shape of your windshield, call to have it replaced.

It’s no longer safe for you to drive this car because it could fail to protect you in case of an accident. If you don’t have insurance to cover this, call to compare rates that include comprehensive coverage to protect you.

Finding Affordable Insurance Rates in Texas

The best starting point for affordable insurance in Texas is with your driving record. if you have a good driving record, you will automatically receive lower rates.

If you live close to your work, work from home or you are retired, you spend less time on the road. This means you’re a less risky driver eligible for a discount for not driving many miles.

Ask for this discount as well as discounts for having more than one vehicle on your policy and for bundling your home, life, and car insurance policies.

The other recommendation is you check with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety to see if your vehicle is listed among one of the Top Safety Ratings picks for a discount.

If it is, bring it up when you compare insurance rates to get the safety discount. Compare rates now with our free quote tool below!

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]