AAA Auto Insurance Review (2024)

AAA car insurance is worth considering if you’re a member of the organization. Rates tend to be higher, but the company offers discounts and various member perks.

UPDATED: May 26, 2024Fact Checked

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 26, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$86

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Multiple discounts available for members
  • Bundling options
  • AAA member perks
  • Superior financial strength rating
  • Roadside assistance coverage included
  • Coverage options for liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance

Cons

  • Expensive rates
  • Below-average scores for customer service and the handling of claims
  • Not available in all states or areas
  • AAA membership required for purchasing car insurance

Final Verdict: Review of AAA

If you’re searching for car insurance, you may want to learn more about AAA coverage. AAA car insurance policies offers coverage options in many U.S. states, and policyholders may be eligible to earn discounts on coverage.

Unfortunately, AAA insurance plans are not available in every state, and the company’s rates are often higher than average. Still, anyone considering car insurance coverage — especially those with a AAA membership — should consider getting AAA auto insurance quotes to see how much they would pay for coverage.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • You have to be a member of AAA to purchase auto insurance with the company
  • AAA’s auto insurance rates tend to be higher than the national average
  • AAA offers multiple discounts and bundling options to lower rates
[/su_box] If you’re searching for car insurance, you may want to learn more about AAA auto insurance coverage. AAA car insurance offers coverage options in many U.S. states, and policyholders may be eligible to earn discounts on coverage. Unfortunately, AAA insurance is not available in every state, and the company’s rates are often higher than average. Still, anyone considering car insurance coverage — especially those with a AAA membership — should consider getting AAA insurance quotes to see how much they would pay for coverage.

What You Should Know About AAA

AAA Insurance Reviews and Ratings

AAA’s insurance rating with A.M. Best is an A+ (Superior) suggesting a stable future outlook. AAA auto insurance reviews suggest that the BBB rated the company with an A+ rating. There are a few customer complaints on the BBB website, but most AAA insurance complaints have been resolved.

AAA policyholders tend to agree that the company’s customer service could use some improvement. Similarly, many customers state that the AAA claims handling process is a bit more complicated than it needs to be, and some claims take too long to be resolved.

Not all AAA clients will recommend the company to their friends and family. According to AAA car insurance reviews, around 54% of customers are not likely to renew their auto insurance policies with AAA. Therefore, you should consider customer reviews and comments concerning AAA auto insurance before you purchase a policy.

Signing Up for AAA Car Insurance as an AAA Member

Purchasing car insurance with AAA often requires that you become an AAA member. The AAA membership price varies from one location to the next, usually ranging from $60 to $120 annually.

Most people join AAA because of the company’s AAA roadside assistance plans, which includes jump starts, towing, emergency fuel delivery, and certain roadside repairs. Additionally, AAA members receive compensation if they’re in an accident more than 100 miles from home. 

Lastly, AAA members enjoy certain perks like discounts on hotel stays, cheaper rental cars, and deals on airfare. And anyone who purchases trips through AAA will receive coverage via AAA’s travel accident insurance. 

AAA Insurance Coverage Options

AAA Car Insurance Coverage

AAA offers several options for car insurance coverage. Exact options for coverages, benefits, and discounts vary based on where you live, but some of the most common options for AAA auto coverage include:

Individuals can purchase coverage that adds up to a full coverage policy — including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance — through most AAA clubs. Still, you’ll need to speak with a representative of an AAA club in your area to ensure you know what options are available to you. 

AAA Membership Cost: Is AAA worth the cost?

Roadside assistance is a popular option when shopping for extra car insurance coverage. AAA roadside assistance has various benefits, from jumpstart assistance to discounts on attractions.

However, the price tag for AAA membership is higher than some of the best roadside assistance, so unless drivers take advantage of all the perks, they’re better off choosing a cheaper program.

Read on to discover our AAA insurance review, from the cost and benefits to deciding if AAA is right for you.

AAA Membership Cost

AAA has three different membership levels, each offering different benefits. The prices we listed are the normal prices, though you may get a lower price during one of the AAA’s sign-up deals.

For example, in the past, AAA has offered a 50% discount on their membership prices and waived the $20 sign-up fee for new members who enrolled in autopay. Take a look at the standard prices below.

AAA Membership Annual Costs

Membership Level Classic AAA Plus AAA Premier
1st Member (Primary)$54$90$127
2 Members $85$132$169
3 Members $116$174$211
4 Members$147$216$253

These are the basic costs listed on AAA’s membership website. However, as stated earlier, how much it costs also depends on any promotions and deals AAA might be running. If the cost seems too high, it might be best to wait for a promotion to get a cheaper annual fee.

Now that we’ve covered the cost of AAA membership, it’s time to consider the benefits to determine if the higher price tag is worth it for drivers. If you’re a senior, you may want to compare AAA vs. AARP Auto Insurance.

AAA Membership Benefits

AAA offers all the basic benefits of a roadside assistance program. The benefits vary slightly by membership level. The table below covers the basic roadside assistance benefits.

AAA Membership Basic Car Assistance Benefits

Benefit Classic Membership AAA Plus MembershipAAA Premier Membership
Towing 3 miles or unlimited back to service providerUp to 100 milesUp to 100 miles plus one tow up to 200 miles
Emergency Fuel Delivery Free delivery but member pays for fuel Free fuel and free delivery Free fuel and free delivery
Vehicle Lockout$60 towards a locksmith $100 towards a locksmith $150 towards a locksmith
Battery Service and JumpstartIncluded IncludedIncluded
Flat Tire IncludedIncludedIncluded
Rental Car Discounted rates providedDiscounted rates provided plus one upgrade of car class Reimbursement for midsize rental for one day
Extrication/Winching 1 vehicle and 1 driverUp to 2 drivers and 2 vehicles Up to 2 drivers and 2 vehicles
Minor Mechanical First AidIncludedIncludedIncluded

In addition to roadside benefits, drivers can take advantage of several additional discounts and benefits. Some of the other benefits include:

  • AAA rewards and discounts. Taking advantage of some of the best AAA discounts is one of the easiest ways to make your membership worth it. You can get discounts for dining, movies, attractions, and more.
  • Identity theft protection. AAA offers identity theft protection with all membership levels, such as lost wallet assistance and credit monitoring.
  • Discounted passport photos. AAA offers free passport photos with the highest membership level or $10 and below for the other levels.
  • Vehicle pricing reports. You can get free vehicle pricing reports through AAA.  
  • Vacation packages. AAA offers travel guides, discounts on travel tickets, and more.

These are just a few of the perks of a AAA membership. If you sign up, take advantage of as many perks and discounts as possible. 

Deciding if AAA is Right For You

AAA may be a good choice for auto insurance coverage, especially if you appreciate the roadside assistance with the membership. However, auto insurance rates with AAA insurance company are often significantly higher than rates with other providers. 

AAA plans and prices are more expensive than other competitors, but the AAA insurance benefits and perks offset the cost. You can also take advantage of sign-up deals to lower the initial sign-up cost.

However, if you don’t use the perks of AAA, you’re better off with another company with one of the best roadside assistance plans.

Before you make a final decision on coverage, you should compare auto insurance quotes from multiple providers to see who will offer you the coverage you want at the lowest price. 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA Insurance Rates Breakdown

AAA Insurance Costs

AAA auto insurance costs will vary based on countless factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage types 

Still, AAA auto insurance quotes typically indicate that AAA’s pricing of policies is often more expensive than a policy with other competitors. The table below shows the average full coverage rates of the top insurance companies as well as the national average.

AAA vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates From Top Providers
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
AAA$86
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
USAA$59
U.S. Average$119

You can expect, AAA car insurance full coverage costs to be nearly 58% higher than the national average. And this trend is common in most AAA full coverage insurance rates.

The following table shows liability coverage rates, and AAA is often 56% higher than the national average.

AAA vs. Competitors: Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates From Top Providers
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
AAA$32
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$30
Liberty Mutual$67
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$38
USAA$22
U.S. Average$45

Similarly, people with poor credit scores are likely to pay rates around 76% higher than the national average. Individuals charged with a DUI could pay rates approximately 97% higher than the national average.

Unfortunately, nearly every category shows that AAA requires policyholders to pay rates that are significantly higher than other insurance providers:

  • Rates for teen drivers are around 20% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 55% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for adult drivers are 53% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 58% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are 68% higher than the national average. 
  • Rates following a car accident are 57% higher than the national average.

The chart below shows AAA full coverage car insurance rates for teenagers compared to the national average.

Comparitively, here are AAA’s annual cost of full coverage for 45-year-old drivers.

And here’s how AAA’s auto insurance for seniors stacks up against the national average.

If you’re considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with AAA, you should compare AAA car insurance quotes online to quotes from other companies.

It’s unlikely you’ll find cheap car insurance with AAA, and comparing AAA online quotes will help you determine which company would work best for you and your family.

How AAA Compares Against Other Auto Insurance Providers

In comparing auto insurance options, AAA stands out when pitted against major competitors like AARP, Geico, and State Farm. This analysis sheds light on how AAA surpasses its counterparts in various aspects, providing a comprehensive overview for informed decision-making.

How AAA Compares Against Other Auto Insurance Providers
AAA vs. AARP
AAA vs. Geico
AAA vs. State Farm

AAA Discounts Available

AAA Car Insurance Discounts

When you get AAA price of insurance, you may want to learn how to lower your insurance costs. Luckily, there are many AAA auto insurance discount options available to its members and policyholders. Some of AAA auto insurance discounts include:

  • Education discount
  • Occupation discount
  • Anti-theft device discount
  • Loyalty discount
  • Safe driver discount
  • Good student discount
  • New driver discount
  • Student away from home discount
  • Driver training course discount
  • Multiple-car discount
  • Multiple-policy discount
  • Paid-in-full discount
  • Automatic payment discount

Much like AAA’s coverage options, the company’s discounts vary from one state and location to the next. Again, you’ll need to speak with an AAA representative in your area to learn more about discounts you may be eligible for. 

AAA Usage-Based Insurance Discounts

AAA uses the AAA Driver Program to monitor drivers’ specific habits on the road. 

Policyholders who enroll in the program may save up to 20% on their auto insurance policies by allowing the company to monitor their average speed, distracted driving habits, fatigue behind the wheel, braking habits, and other factors. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What other types of insurance does AAA offer?

In addition to auto insurance, AAA offers:

  • Home insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Boat, RV, and motorcycle insurance
  • Flood insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Umbrella insurance
  • Educator’s insurance

AAA offers bundling discounts to policyholders who purchase multiple types of insurance.

How do I file a claim with AAA?

You will need to find the number for your local AAA club to file an official auto insurance claim.

How can I cancel a AAA policy?

The cancellation of an AAA auto insurance policy can be done by calling the AAA phone number: 1-877-387-8378.  You will need to provide your policy number and request that payments be canceled immediately. AAA representatives may have additional questions you must answer before successfully canceling your policy.

Do I have to be an AAA member to get car insurance?

Yes, purchasing car insurance with AAA typically requires becoming an AAA member. Membership costs vary by location and offer additional benefits such as roadside assistance and travel perks.

What discounts are available with AAA auto insurance?

AAA offers various discounts to its members and policyholders, including safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, and usage-based insurance discounts through the AAA Driver Program.

Is AAA membership worth the cost for roadside assistance?

AAA offers roadside assistance with additional perks and benefits. However, the higher cost compared to other roadside assistance programs may not be worth it if you don’t utilize the services frequently.

Members can request Emergency Roadside Assistance by calling AAA’s roadside assistance number: 800-AAA-HELP (800-222-4357).

How do AAA auto insurance rates compare to other companies?

AAA’s rates are often higher than the national average and other insurance providers. Their full coverage rates can be 58% higher and liability rates 56% higher than the national average.

Is AAA a good choice for car insurance?

AAA has a superior financial strength rating and positive reviews from customers. However, some customers have complaints about customer service and claims handling.

Is AAA worth it?

AAA is best known for its roadside assistance, including services like towing, battery jump starts, flat tire changes, and lockout service. If you drive frequently, especially in areas where you might not have easy access to help or for long distances, this can be a significant benefit.

Is AAA premier membership worth it?

AAA Premier membership is the highest of of all AAA membership levels and includes the most comprehensive set of benefits.

AAA Premier could be worth it if you travel frequently and far from home, where extended towing and trip interruption benefits can come into play.

Are AAA insurance rates competitive?

AAA insurance rates can be competitive, especially for members. AAA members often receive discounts on insurance policies, which can make their rates more attractive compared to non-member pricing.

How do I find an AAA agent near me?

To find an AAA insurance agent just visit the company’s website and enter your ZIP code. It will direct you to your local AAA club’s page.

What type of features does the AAA auto insurance app offer?

The AAA app offers several convenient features for policyholders, including:

  • Digital ID Cards
  • Policy Management
  • Claim Filing and Tracking
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Bill Pay
  • Contact Information

What’s AAA customer service number?

A commonly used AAA insurance phone number in the US is 1-800-AAA-HELP (1-800-222-4357).

Does AAA offer rental car coverage?

AAA rental car coverage is part of your AAA auto insurance policy. It can help pay for a rental car if your vehicle is in the shop due to a covered loss.

Does AAA offer renters insurance?

AAA renters insurance can provide coverage for your personal belongings, liability protection, and sometimes additional living expenses if your rental unit becomes uninhabitable due to covered perils like fire or severe weather.

What AAA membership plans are available?

AAA offers several membership plans, includingL

  • AAA Basic Membership
  • AAA Plus Membership:
  • AAA Premier Membership

What are AAA’s auto insurance ratings?

AAA’s insurance rating from A.M. Best is A+ (Superior).

How to pay my AAA insurance premiums?

AAA insurance payments can be made online through the AAA website, mobile app, or over the phone.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,934 reviews)
0.5
October 13, 2023

Sally Ayres

AAA review

I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom\'s AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked ...
I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom\'s AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked company, and nobody should do business with them.
1
October 12, 2023

sally_a

Crooks

I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom's AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked c...
I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom's AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked company, and nobody should do business with them.
1
September 19, 2023

Teezee

Don’t buy triple AAA

I have Tripple aaa till this day 2023 been a member for the pass 8 years I was never involved into a accident till recently and I can finally say Tripple AAA is horrible they won’t take care of you doesnt not make you feel part of the team the only thing they are good at is taking our money dont go with triple AAA ROADSIDE is also horrible unless u don’t mind waiting 2 hours for help still have open claims they have no idea how to settle
1
July 5, 2023

Tia_15

DON'T CALL AAA IF THE CRASH ISN'T YOUR FAULT!!!!!!!

Just changed over to AAA Texas from AAA California/Nevada/Utah in May 2023. Received our new policies (Auto, RV, & Renters) in the mail, postmarked 6/22/23. We had already had the insurance in Texas for 2 months/2 payments. On the very same day we received a "Notice of Cancellation & Termination of Insurance", postmarked 6/23/23! This notice stated that my husband "does not meet our acceptability guidelines for coverage". Their reason? "He's had...
Just changed over to AAA Texas from AAA California/Nevada/Utah in May 2023. Received our new policies (Auto, RV, & Renters) in the mail, postmarked 6/22/23. We had already had the insurance in Texas for 2 months/2 payments. On the very same day we received a "Notice of Cancellation & Termination of Insurance", postmarked 6/23/23! This notice stated that my husband "does not meet our acceptability guidelines for coverage". Their reason? "He's had too many claims". NO HE HASN'T!!!! He has had exactly ONE claim in the entire time we've been with them. He sideswiped a gate with our travel trailer & damaged the trailer; zero damage to the truck. There were two other incidents that were the fault of the other drivers. Incident # 1 was a drunk driver in a motorhome crashed into our parked truck in 2021. We weren't even in the truck. It was witnessed, photographed, he was caught, I got a police report, & the guy's insurance information. Incident #2 was a guy who sideswiped me as I was driving. He stopped, I got a photo of his car & plate, and then he drove off without giving me any information. It was all on traffic cameras, so the cops found him, got his insurance information, impounded his car, & cited him for hit & run. Again, I provided all of this information & police report to AAA. THAT was where I went wrong, apparently. I found out from my AAA representative, Kimesha that since no one was in the truck when it was hit by the motorhome drunk, they put my husband down as the "claimant", even though he had nothing to do with it. So that meant that he had two claims in his name within 3 years. Here's what else she educated me on..... even though the back of your insurance card says in Step 4 "Call our AAA Accident Assist Hotline at 1-800-67-CLAIM to report the accident and, if necessary, have your vehicle towed to the repair shop or location of your preference" ... DON'T DO IT!!! ANY time you call and speak to a AAA representative to ask ANY questions about anything to do with your policy they WILL start a claim on your policy. You want to ask about your deductible... LOOK IT UP YOURSELF!!! Just asking that instigates a claim, apparently! Also, if the incident was not your fault DO NOT CALL AAA TO REPORT IT! DO NOT GIVE THE OTHER DRIVER'S INSURANCE INFORMATION TO AAA, thinking they will "deal with it". (Like insurance companies used to do) They won't "waste resources" dealing with it anymore. It costs less for them to just pay for the repairs themselves, than to hire people to chase down other insurance companies & adjusters! Too many phone calls, or too many "claims" (even when YOU do all the footwork getting insurance info, police reports, photos, etc.) and they WILL ABSOLUTELY CANCEL YOU. We never made a late payment, we never called to ask questions we could find the answers to online, we did EXACTLY what our AAA insurance card says to do. And we got cancelled because of two incidents that were NOT our fault, and one that was our fault within 3 years. This is a disgusting, misleading, sleazy way to do business. Also, my cancellation notice says I have coverage until 12:01 a.m. on July 8, which is day 59 of their 60 day window to terminate our insurance . Today (July 5, 2023) I tried to go online to my account to remove my automatic payment information & cancel my Renter's Insurance policy. I am locked out already, 3 days before my cancellation, so I can't remove my payment information from the website. Anyone want to take bets against them trying to put an automatic payment through? If I could give them a -10 rating, I would. DON'T USE AAA!!!!! And DON'T do Step 4 on the back of your insurance card if the crash isn't your fault! They will count it against you, even after they WAIVED THE DEDUCTIBLE because "you didn't cause the accident".
1
September 12, 2022

cordarei

inefficient claims

I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who ...
I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who went to the insured driver's house. How hard should it be to pick up a phone and call the person who went out? They can't get in touch with their insured driver, and they can't tell me what the protocol is if they are unable to get in touch. Their claim adjusters are highly inefficient.
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption