Markel Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Markel is a niche auto insurance company that provides coverage for classic and extremely high-value vehicles. It currently has an A+ rating from the Virginia BBB.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
1.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel Corp.

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products
  • Markel provides auto insurance for classic and extremely high-value vehicles
  • The company does offer standard policies for boats, ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, and snowmobiles

Cons

  • None to mention

The Bottom Line

Markel Corp. doesn’t provide standard auto insurance in the same vein as some of the national auto insurance companies you see on television.

Being a specialty and niche provider, the auto insurance they do offer is for classic and extremely high-value vehicles.

For example, if you had restored a classic Ford Hudson to the point where it became extremely valuable on the collector’s market, your standard auto policy wouldn’t do you much good. But Markel will write a policy that covers not only accidents and

But Markel will write a policy that covers not only accidents and deaths but also just about any other possible circumstance that can result in the loss of the vehicle.

Research for this Markel auto insurance review led to a Virginia-based company. Markel Corp. is an international property and casualty company offering a variety of niche insurance products through half a dozen subsidiaries.

The company was originally founded in the 1920s by Mr. Sam Markel, who wanted to provide insurance coverage to America’s burgeoning transportation industry.

Since that industry was still in its infancy, Mr. Markel found himself on the cutting edge of developing insurance products no one had ever dealt with before.

Over the course of the next 30 years, Mr. Markel developed the company to provide coverage across the United States and parts of Canada. When he died, his children took over the business and kept it alive.

Today Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products. They have continued to diversify and expand its product line through acquisitions and strategic personnel decisions.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel American Insurance Company vs. Competitors

As a general rule, Markel receives fairly good reviews from customers willing to post to independent review sites. Those who like the company tend to remark that Markel was the only place they could find specialty insurance for their niche needs.

Most notable were those in search of coverage for their scooters in areas where standard auto insurance was inadequate. Common complaints include things like poor billing practices and less-than-desirable customer service.

Markel Corp. is a member of the Virginia Better Business Bureau and currently has a rating of A+.

According to the BBB, they have received a total of six complaints within the last three years; two of them occurred within the last 12 months.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Markel American Insurance Company

1.88 (16 reviews)
1
November 25, 2020

cruz5759

Terrible Experience; Deceptive Trade Practices; Stay Away

I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard ...
I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard cylinder engine. Evidence of water intrusion in 2 cylinders. This engine is raw-water cooled. Saltwater circulating through the engine caused corrosion creating holes in the valve guide bores. A close up below of the corrosion: If your policy excludes machinery breakdown chances are you could be paying for a new engine out of your own pocket. Unlike most, our policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. " At this point, the insurance company has sent us a formal letter denying our claim and refusing to pay anything. They first tried to say that the damage was caused by faulty manifolds and risers and that they need to be replaced every 5-6 years and that they would be denying our claim. They never even bothered to ask if we had replaced them recently. We in fact had replaced them about 3 years ago and we sent them a document showing this. Then they said they would reexamine the case, but after a while, they still decided to deny our claim and basically cited "corrosion" as the reason, even though in their advertising in the example above, it clearly shows that this is something they will cover. The way they advertise their coverage on the website clearly suggests that our case is something they would cover. However they are refusing to do so and to me this is a plain case of deceptive trade practices and false advertising. Also, the senior claims examiner failed to return multiple calls and messages from both myself as well as my mechanic. Terrible experience with this company. I would advise to stay away from them and to not trust their advertising.
1
June 10, 2020

HonestReviewer1977

SCAMMERS MONEY HUNGRY PIGS

STAY AWAY. They only want your money and premiums increases every year for no reason. Difficult to receive money from this scamming company after an accident.
1
March 30, 2020

Stuartrich

Horrible experience with claim

Wast of money. Price of insurance was not bad but once u make a claim they will try to make u feel like a liar and do anything they can to not pay. Horrible experience
2
September 25, 2019

STststs

Not for me.

Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure w...
Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure with. So, maybe you're OK with Markel, just watch your premium go through the roof when renewal comes up.
5
January 9, 2019

James2220

Great

Great insurance gets to you as soon as you need help. Also has great insurance deals for the policies and great pricing.
1
September 26, 2018

Nikkidd

I would not expect them to cover you without a fight

Great price compared to Progressive, Geico, and many others, pretty easy application on line, bad at paying claims and making you feel like a liar. I am going on 40 days still waiting to see if my claim is going to be accepted or denied and this is after they have interviewed me and witnesses and companies not even involved.
4.5
May 29, 2017

okaywilldo

Yep Yepp Yepppppppppppppp

It was great! I had a lot of time reviewing the details about this company. It was very very fun. Thanks a lot everyone!
4
January 12, 2017

ekaratzas

Pain free motorcycle coverage

Markel has been easy to work with and they include some good benefits including 24-hr roadside assistance and some decent discounts at certain dealerships.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption