Markel Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Markel is a niche auto insurance company that provides coverage for classic and extremely high-value vehicles. It currently has an A+ rating from the Virginia BBB.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024Fact Checked

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for insurance with the most affordable rates available. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with the best prices for insurance coverage, but he also wants those on the market for insurance to ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 5, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 5, 2024Fact Checked
1.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel Corp.

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$156

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products
  • Markel provides auto insurance for classic and extremely high-value vehicles
  • The company does offer standard policies for boats, ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, and snowmobiles

Cons

  • None to mention

Final Verdict: Review of Markel Corp.

Research for this Markel auto insurance review led to a Virginia-based company. Markel Corp. is an international property and casualty company offering a variety of niche insurance products through half a dozen subsidiaries.

The company was originally founded in the 1920s by Mr. Sam Markel, who wanted to provide insurance coverage to America’s burgeoning transportation industry.

Since that industry was still in its infancy, Mr. Markel found himself on the cutting edge of developing insurance products no one had ever dealt with before.

Over the course of the next 30 years, Mr. Markel developed the company to provide coverage across the United States and parts of Canada. When he died, his children took over the business and kept it alive.

Today Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products. They have continued to diversify and expand their product line through acquisitions and strategic personnel decisions.

You can start comparing auto insurance rates side-by-side by entering your ZIP code now!

[su_box title="Things to Remember..." style="default”]
  • Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products
  • Markel provides auto insurance for classic and extremely high-value vehicles
  • Customers can find a quote tool on the individual subsidiary sites do offer online quote tools
[/su_box] Research for this Markel auto insurance review led to a Virginia-based company. Markel Corp. is an international property and casualty company offering a variety of niche insurance products through half a dozen subsidiaries. The company was originally founded in the 1920s by Mr. Sam Markel, who wanted to provide insurance coverage to America's burgeoning transportation industry. Since that industry was still in its infancy, Mr. Markel found himself on the cutting edge of developing insurance products no one had ever dealt with before. Over the course of the next 30 years, Mr. Markel developed the company to provide coverage across the United States and parts of Canada. When he died, his children took over the business and kept it alive. Today Markel Corp. is considered a first-class provider of specialty insurance products. They have continued to diversify and expand their product line through acquisitions and strategic personnel decisions.

What You Should Know About Markel American Insurance Company

As a general rule, Markel receives fairly good reviews from customers willing to post to independent review sites. Those who like the company tend to remark that Markel was the only place they could find specialty insurance for their niche needs.

Most notable were those in search of coverage for their scooters in areas where standard auto insurance was inadequate. Common complaints include things like poor billing practices and less-than-desirable customer service.

Markel Corp. is a member of the Virginia Better Business Bureau and currently has a rating of A+.

According to the BBB, they have received a total of six complaints within the last three years; two of them occurred within the last 12 months.

All complaints were closed after Markel demonstrated that they were addressed to the customer’s satisfaction. Of the six complaints, two were in relation to advertising and sales while the other four were concerned a product or service the company provides.

Find the best auto insurance rates in your area using our comparison tool!

Markel Auto Insurance Agents and Locations

Markel Corp. maintains its Virginia headquarters along with four regional offices, the Markel American office, and an international office.

Contact information for all of these offices is freely available on the corporate website. Through their acquisitions over the years, they may also have some local offices scattered around the country even though their website doesn’t list any.

While Markel does work directly with customers in terms of selling and servicing policies, they also have a network of independent brokers throughout the country.

There are brokers in every state, so you should be able to find one in your area.

Markel’s website makes finding a local broker easy with an interactive map showing all 50 states.

Customers simply click on their state and wait a few seconds for the website to return a full list of names and contact information.

In more rural areas you may not find a local broker in your immediate vicinity, but you should be able to find one within a reasonable distance.

Markel Insurance is a reputable insurance provider known for its strong financial stability and customer service. Here is some basic information about them:

  • Markel Insurance Company Address: 4521 Highwoods Parkway Glen Allen, VA 23060
  • Markel Insurance Company Phone Number: 1-800-431-1927
  • Markel Insurance Customer Service Phone Number: 1-800-431-1927, choose the option for customer service
  • Markel Motorcycle Insurance Phone Number: 1-800-236-2353
  • Markel Insurance Company A.M. Best Rating: A+
  • Markel Insurance Locations: Markel Insurance operates in multiple locations across the United States

Markel offices are in America and there is an international location. Markel Insurance even operates in Hawaii.

Markel’s Corporate Headquarters, located in the Richmond, Virginia area, oversees its diverse insurance offerings. Markel has offices across the United States and globally, supporting their wide-ranging clientele.  Here are some pros and cons of Markel Insurance.

Pros

  • Strong financial stability for an insurance company
  • Expertise in niche markets

Cons

  • Some of their services may be more tailored to specific industries versus general consumers

Markel Company reviews also showcase the company’s approach to their willingness to explore unique insurance solutions for various recreational and entertainment activities. Markel insures the fun.

Markel American Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Markel Corp. doesn’t provide standard auto insurance in the same vein as some of the national auto insurance companies you see on television.

Being a specialty and niche provider, the auto insurance they do offer is for classic and extremely high-value vehicles.

For example, if you had restored a classic Ford Hudson to the point where it became extremely valuable on the collector’s market, your standard auto policy wouldn’t do you much good. But Markel will write a policy that covers not only accidents and

But Markel will write a policy that covers not only accidents and deaths but also just about any other possible circumstance that can result in the loss of the vehicle.

The company does offer standard policies for boats, ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, and snowmobiles.

They do so through their Markel American Insurance Company subsidiary. Markel American is also the subsidiary that handles classic car insurance.

Markel Boat Insurance is one of those specialized insurance coverages that Markel Insurance offers. Customers can easily manage their policies through the Markel Boat Insurance portal login, making payments on your Markel Boat Insurance easy and hassle-free. For those seeking coverage or looking for information, contacting the specific phone number for Markel Boat Insurance Company customer service is the direction you need to head.

Markel Boat Insurance reviews often highlight the company’s commitment to customer satisfaction and competitive pricing. Whether you require a Markel boat insurance quote or have inquiries about policy details, Markel’s dedicated services cater to boat owners’ unique insurance needs.

The company maintains a separate website for Markel American where users can find all the informaltion they need regarding the various policies.

The website includes safety tips and an FAQ section aimed at new ATV/UTB writers.

Markel Business Insurance Solutions is offered for small businesses, mid-sized companies, and specialized companies, including professional liability, commercial property, general liability, and workers’ compensation.

Markel Equine Insurance offers comprehensive coverage for horses, equestrian facilities, and related activities. Their policies are highly regarded in reviews about Markel Equine Insurance. Other reviews about Markel Insurance’s horse coverage highlight the company’s expertise in this specialized sector.

Markel Insurance offers renter’s insurance to protect insurers who specifically occupy apartment buildings. You can log into your Markel Renter’s Insurance portal to access your Markel policy or email them to get more information or to get a quote from Markel.

Markel accident insurance provides coverage for unexpected accidents. In the event of an accident or unexpected event, Markel’s claim process is designed to be straightforward and efficient. Policyholders can contact Markel’s claims department either online or by phone.

Markel’s Umbrella Insurance is an additional layer of liability protection that is offered as an add-on. Markel’s Motorcycle Insurance provides comprehensive coverage for motorcycle riders, including liability protection, collision coverage, and more. There’s even roadside assistance available as an add-on for motorcycle coverage. Getting a quote for Motorcycle insurance through Markel is easy, allowing riders to compare coverage options. Reviews of Markel’s Motorcycle Insurance highlight the company’s competitive rates, responsive customer service, and tailored options.

All of Markel’s specialty insurance options are made to solve standard and unique risks. Direct reviews of Markel will showcase not only the strong foundation that the company sits on but also the variety of coverage options. No matter what kind of niche service you are looking for, Markel will have an option for you.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel American Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Customers will not find a quote tool, or any references to quotes for that matter, on the Markel Corporation website. However, the individual subsidiary sites do offer online quote tools.

Markel American, for example, allows you to begin the quote process by clicking a button located strategically in the right column of their main page.

Like with any quote tool it is assumed users will need to provide their address and zip code along with pertinent information about the vehicles they want to cover.

Quotes for their other insurance covers work much the same way on subsidiary sites with embedded quote tools.

Of course, interested consumers can always contact the individual subsidiary directly speak to a representative.

The company also utilizes independent auto insurance agents whom you can contact for quotes as well. In some instances, such as classic car insurance, an agent will most likely have to visit your location and do a personal inspection before a quote can be rendered.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Markel Auto Insurance?

Markel Auto Insurance is an insurance product offered by Markel Corporation, a specialty insurance company. It provides coverage for personal vehicles, including cars, motorcycles, and recreational vehicles.

What types of coverage does Markel Auto Insurance offer?

Markel Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage, and roadside assistance.

Who is eligible to purchase Markel Auto Insurance?

Markel Auto Insurance is available to individuals who own personal vehicles and meet the eligibility requirements set by Markel Corporation. These requirements may vary based on factors such as age, driving history, and the type of vehicle being insured.

How can I obtain a quote for Markel Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote for Markel Auto Insurance, you can visit the official Markel Corporation website or contact their customer service. They will ask for information about your vehicle, driving history, and other relevant details to provide an accurate quote.

Can I customize my coverage with Markel Auto Insurance?

Yes, Markel Auto Insurance offers customizable coverage options to suit your specific needs. You can select the types and levels of coverage that best fit your requirements and budget.

Does Markel Auto Insurance offer any discounts?

Markel Auto Insurance may offer various discounts to eligible policyholders. These discounts can vary but may include safe driving discounts, multi-vehicle discounts, good student discounts, and more. It is recommended to inquire about available discounts when obtaining a quote.

How can I file a claim with Markel Auto Insurance?

In the event of an accident or incident requiring a claim, you can contact Markel Auto Insurance’s claims department. They will guide you through the claims process, provide necessary forms, and assist you in filing your claim.

Can I manage my policy online with Markel Auto Insurance?

Yes, Markel Auto Insurance offers an online platform where policyholders can manage their policies, make payments, update personal information, and access policy documents. This convenient feature allows you to have greater control over your insurance coverage.

Does Markel Auto Insurance provide 24/7 customer support?

Yes, Markel Auto Insurance provides 24/7 customer support through various channels. You can contact their customer service team via phone, email, or online chat at any time, ensuring that assistance is available when you need it.

Is Markel Auto Insurance available nationwide?

Markel Auto Insurance operates in several states across the United States. However, availability may vary depending on your location. It is recommended to check with Markel Corporation or visit their website to verify if coverage is available in your area.

Is Markel Insurance, good?

The company is generally regarded as a very reputable insurer, especially with high-valued vehicles, niche businesses, high net-worth individuals, and equine. They are known for their expertise in underwriting unique risks and providing very tailored coverage options.

Is Markel, an American Insurance Company, an admitted entity?

Markel is primarily an excess and surplus lines insurer, which means it often deals with unique or higher-risk insurance coverage that standard admitted insurance carriers may not offer.

Excess and surplus lines insurers are not admitted entities. This doesn’t mean that Markel doesn’t work with admitted subsidiaries.

 

What are the contact details for Markel Insurance?

  • Markel Insurance Corporate Address: 4521 Highwoods Parkway Glen Allen, VA 23060
  • Markel Insurance Claims: 1-800-446-6671
  • Markel Workers Compensation Phone Number: 1-800-500-3344, or there’s a live chat option
  • Markel Insurance Phone numbers for Horse, farm, and agricultural services: 1-800-842-5017, or there’s a live chat option
  • Markel Insurance Services for other specialty commercial and small business products: 1-888-642-4968, or there’s a live chat option
  • For Markel Pet Insurance contact the main customer service line
  • For Markel Renter’s Insurance: [email protected]

Who can I contact regarding Markel Umbrella Insurance?

This depends on what region you are looking to cover.

Markel Mid South (Plano, TX): 469-241-3400

Markel Midwest (Chicago, IL): 847-572-6000

Markel Northeast: 732-224-0500 (Red Bank, NJ), or 646-929-5699 (New York)

Markel Southeast: 804-747-0136 (Richmond, VA) or 678-935-5700 (Alpharetta, GA)

Markel West: 818-595-0600 (Woodland Hills, CA), 415-490-4600 (San Francisco, CA), or 480-951-4363 (Scottsdale, AZ)

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mathew B. Sims

Editor-in-Chief

Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Editor-in-Chief

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for insurance with the most affordable rates available. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with the best prices for insurance coverage, but he also wants those on the market for insurance to ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Markel American Insurance Company

1.83 (17 reviews)
1
November 25, 2020

cruz5759

Terrible Experience; Deceptive Trade Practices; Stay Away

I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard ...
I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard cylinder engine. Evidence of water intrusion in 2 cylinders. This engine is raw-water cooled. Saltwater circulating through the engine caused corrosion creating holes in the valve guide bores. A close up below of the corrosion: If your policy excludes machinery breakdown chances are you could be paying for a new engine out of your own pocket. Unlike most, our policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. " At this point, the insurance company has sent us a formal letter denying our claim and refusing to pay anything. They first tried to say that the damage was caused by faulty manifolds and risers and that they need to be replaced every 5-6 years and that they would be denying our claim. They never even bothered to ask if we had replaced them recently. We in fact had replaced them about 3 years ago and we sent them a document showing this. Then they said they would reexamine the case, but after a while, they still decided to deny our claim and basically cited "corrosion" as the reason, even though in their advertising in the example above, it clearly shows that this is something they will cover. The way they advertise their coverage on the website clearly suggests that our case is something they would cover. However they are refusing to do so and to me this is a plain case of deceptive trade practices and false advertising. Also, the senior claims examiner failed to return multiple calls and messages from both myself as well as my mechanic. Terrible experience with this company. I would advise to stay away from them and to not trust their advertising.
1
June 10, 2020

HonestReviewer1977

SCAMMERS MONEY HUNGRY PIGS

STAY AWAY. They only want your money and premiums increases every year for no reason. Difficult to receive money from this scamming company after an accident.
1
March 30, 2020

Stuartrich

Horrible experience with claim

Wast of money. Price of insurance was not bad but once u make a claim they will try to make u feel like a liar and do anything they can to not pay. Horrible experience
2
September 25, 2019

STststs

Not for me.

Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure w...
Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure with. So, maybe you're OK with Markel, just watch your premium go through the roof when renewal comes up.
5
January 9, 2019

James2220

Great

Great insurance gets to you as soon as you need help. Also has great insurance deals for the policies and great pricing.
1
September 26, 2018

Nikkidd

I would not expect them to cover you without a fight

Great price compared to Progressive, Geico, and many others, pretty easy application on line, bad at paying claims and making you feel like a liar. I am going on 40 days still waiting to see if my claim is going to be accepted or denied and this is after they have interviewed me and witnesses and companies not even involved.
4.5
May 29, 2017

okaywilldo

Yep Yepp Yepppppppppppppp

It was great! I had a lot of time reviewing the details about this company. It was very very fun. Thanks a lot everyone!
4
January 12, 2017

ekaratzas

Pain free motorcycle coverage

Markel has been easy to work with and they include some good benefits including 24-hr roadside assistance and some decent discounts at certain dealerships.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption