Republic Auto Insurance Review (2022)

In this Republic auto insurance review, we look at the six different insurance lines sold by this company: auto, homeowners, renters', condominium, dwelling fire insurance, and umbrella insurance. Rates for the Republic Group are not publicly available; however, you can seek out a quote on the company website. Claims can also be submitted and tracked on the company website or through the online client portal. Scroll down to discover if Republic insurance is right for you.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 24, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 24, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 24, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.7
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Republic Insurance Group

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Republic agents work one-on-one with new policyholders to secure the highest possible level of affordable coverage
  • If you paid for your auto Republic Group policy up-front in full, you could receive a small refund.

Cons

  • Republic Group only sells auto policies primarily in Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, and Arkansas
  • Republic auto insurance rates are not made publicly available

The Bottom Line

Automobile insurance coverage through Republic is competitive and comprehensively covers the laws of the limited states the policies are written for.

Beyond this, Republic auto insurance agents will make suggestions as to the amount of coverage that would be appropriate for the customer. If you are financing or leasing your vehicle, Republic agents will also help determine if the lienholder on the vehicle requires you to have additional coverage. This level of personal insurance service can help you find the solution that not only fits your needs but also one that you’re in the financial position to afford.

Republic Insurance Group is a company licensed to sell its policies in 13 states. It sells both personal and commercial lines of insurance, including auto, home, renters’, condominium, dwelling fire insurance, and umbrella insurance.

The lines of personal coverage that are sold by the Republic Group are the most popular and account for the majority of business revenue that is created. This revenue is created through monthly premium payments.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Republic Group Discounts Available

Auto insurance discounts often stack together and add up to some great savings. Fortunately, the Republic Group offers a handful of great discount opportunities to its clients.

According to the website, the current Republic discounts include the following:

  • Excellent credit history
  • Homeowner/other policy bundling
  • Agency credit
  • Loss free renewal
  • Mature operators/senior discount
  • Driver’s education discount
  • Good student discount
  • Discounted rates for students away at school

Overall, this company provides many attractive savings benefits to its customers who are looking to reduce their insurance premium.

Republic Group Coverage Options

Republic Group sells a variety of insurance products.

Those lines include:

  • Auto
  • Homeowners & renters’
  • Condominium
  • Dwelling fire insurance

The company used to offer commercial lines of coverage, however, it has shifted to only selling personal policies through the company website.

 

 

Republic Group vs. Competitors

Looking at the customer reviews and financial ratings of the Republic Group can help you determine if this company will be able to reliably close out your claims and protect you even in the event of an economic downturn.

While the Republic Group is not accredited through the Better Business Bureau (BBB), the company received a B+ financial rating. However, as an A.M. Best Company, the Republic Group received an A- rating. While not perfect, these scores are still indicators of economic excellence.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Republic Group

3.72 (18 reviews)
1
July 13, 2018

WhitneyCH

HORRIBLE

HORRIBLE customer service. We switched to this company for a cheaper insurance payment, but it is absolutely not worth it with the way they have treated me. They are charging me extra for a current claim I have with them to repair my vehicle. They do not answer your questions or explain the why behind anything, but rather talk in circles. Raised their voice with me over the phone and got defensive after I politely asked to speak with the supervis...
HORRIBLE customer service. We switched to this company for a cheaper insurance payment, but it is absolutely not worth it with the way they have treated me. They are charging me extra for a current claim I have with them to repair my vehicle. They do not answer your questions or explain the why behind anything, but rather talk in circles. Raised their voice with me over the phone and got defensive after I politely asked to speak with the supervisor because this derp couldn't explain anything to me and I wanted to speak with someone who could. MOST DIFFICULT claim process I have EVER gone through to get my car fixed. We will be switching insurance providers.
4
April 24, 2018

mrmauser06

Helped with better rate when adding teen driver

Best rates of all the companies I looked at. Best coverage for money spent by far. Helped save money on our auto insurance compared to our previous provider as we added a teenage driver for the first time. Highly recommend getting a quote to see how they can save you money and provide excellent coverage.
4
March 7, 2018

bethanng51702

Good company

Have been pleased with both our auto and homeowners policies with them. They are quick to resolve claim and any corrections that are needed.
5
March 1, 2018

Rodney Mouton

Republic review

I am a licensed insurance agent in Texas. We started selling coverage with the Republic Group at the beginning of 2017 because they offered a great home product with many options unavailable from other carriers to protect your home. We sell home and auto with the Republic Group. Their rates are very competitive for many individuals. Texas, especially the Collin and Denton county area was hit very bad with hail damage during 2017. I am very happy ...
I am a licensed insurance agent in Texas. We started selling coverage with the Republic Group at the beginning of 2017 because they offered a great home product with many options unavailable from other carriers to protect your home. We sell home and auto with the Republic Group. Their rates are very competitive for many individuals. Texas, especially the Collin and Denton county area was hit very bad with hail damage during 2017. I am very happy to say that Republic did an outstanding job with the service of our clients claims related to their home and auto needs. If you have a bad experience with an agent that is not a reflection on the Insurance carrier but the agency you are dealing with. Change agents. I would not sell insurance with The Republic Group if I did not know they offered good claims service. How the company preforms is a reflection on my decision as an agency owner and I am very happy to have this carrier to offer to me clients.
5
January 1, 2018

weatherball

Discounts

I bought the insurance from an agent about a eyar ago and he was very thorough in showing me various deals and discounts I was eligible for. If you add on insurance for the home or anything else, obviously the price is reduced but Republic Group offered me an additional 10% on top of the lowest price I could find from other companies. Plus, they offer discounts for having no incidences. I guess it was a great price matching and beating policy. I ...
I bought the insurance from an agent about a eyar ago and he was very thorough in showing me various deals and discounts I was eligible for. If you add on insurance for the home or anything else, obviously the price is reduced but Republic Group offered me an additional 10% on top of the lowest price I could find from other companies. Plus, they offer discounts for having no incidences. I guess it was a great price matching and beating policy. I am currently happy with my insurance and have no plans of changing or canceling it.
5
August 24, 2017

128Lala

Great

Right service to go with and it helps me a lot when I needed something for my insurance and great company
5
July 7, 2017

mandasman_71749

The Best Dad Gum Insurance Company In The World!

My wife and I were involved in a wreck that totaled our Monte Carlo. One call and we were in a rental on our way back home, and had a great weekend!
1
March 31, 2017

Lee

Republic review

No review...but I did read negative comments left by one angry policyholder. I see others giving Republic Ins. only 1 star. Thanks, but no thanks.
1
October 13, 2016

Laronica Williams

Republic review

One of the worst Insurance I've have dealt with the agents are very rude to the customers. My daughter arm got burnt air bag. In the agent insulted her by offering her just only $596 after she had to go to the emergency room she had to be on medication, had to get a tetanus shot, had to miss work and they insulted her about her just $596. they pay more for the car being told and in storage then they offered her I would never recommend this. A...
One of the worst Insurance I've have dealt with the agents are very rude to the customers. My daughter arm got burnt air bag. In the agent insulted her by offering her just only $596 after she had to go to the emergency room she had to be on medication, had to get a tetanus shot, had to miss work and they insulted her about her just $596. they pay more for the car being told and in storage then they offered her I would never recommend this. And on top of all that the agents that's handling the case is very rude very inconsiderate. I would never recommend.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption