Mile Auto Insurance Review (2023)

Mile Auto car insurance has some of the lowest rates for pay-per-mile insurance, with low-mileage drivers saving up to 40% on their coverage compared to standard companies.

UPDATED: Dec 30, 2022Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Dec 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 30, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 30, 2022Fact Checked
3.4
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mile Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Some of the cheapest rates for people who drive fewer than 10,000 miles per year
  • Mile Auto doesn’t have a preferred network of repair shops, meaning you can take your car wherever you like
  • No tracking device or app is needed, which appeals to drivers who want to maintain their privacy

Cons

  • Coverage is only available in seven states, but Mile Auto promises to expand to the rest of the country soon.
  • Customer service reviews are often negative, with many customers complaining about how hard it is to contact representatives.
  • Mile Auto has limited coverage options and doesn’t offer discounts.

The Bottom Line

Standard car insurance uses various factors to determine how much you’ll pay for your coverage. While the traditional model works for many people, low-mileage drivers often feel like they’re overpaying for insurance they rarely need.

Mile Auto is one of the few pay-as-you-go car insurance companies offering an alternative way of buying car insurance. Rather than paying a flat monthly fee, you only pay for the miles you drive.

Mile Auto isn’t the right company for everyone — only drivers who put fewer than 10,000 miles annually on their car should consider buying Mile insurance. However, drivers looking for low-mileage car insurance that doesn’t use a tracking device might find Mile Auto is their best option.

Read on to learn more about Mile Auto insurance and if it’s the right choice for your coverage needs. Then, compare rates and policies with other pay-per-mile companies to find the best plan for you.

Although Mile Auto insurance struggles with its customer service, it does well with its claims process and offers some of the lowest rates for low-mileage drivers. If you drive fewer than 27 miles per day, Mile Auto insurance might be right for you.

Of course, you should still compare rates with other companies before you sign up for a policy. Mile Auto has low rates, but you might find a company better suited for your needs elsewhere.

Is Mile Auto a Good Choice?

Founded over a decade ago, Mile Auto insurance is underwritten by the older company, Spinnaker Insurance. Though Spinnaker has more experience in the insurance industry, it also receives more complaints.

In fact, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) reports that Spinnaker receives nine times as many complaints as similarly sized companies. However, it’s unclear how Spinnaker’s high number of complaints affects Mile auto reviews.

While it struggles with complaints, Spinnaker has an excellent rating from A.M. Best. A.M. Best rates companies on their financial strength, and Spinnaker’s A- grade means Mile won’t struggle to pay any claims you need to make.

As a pay-per-mile company, Mile insurance isn’t for everyone. However, you might find the lowest rates with Mile if you’re looking for auto insurance for infrequent drivers. Mile is currently only available in seven states, though the company plans to expand throughout the U.S.

Mile Auto Insurance Reviews

Unfortunately, Mile insurance reviews aren’t always favorable. The Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies on their ability to resolve customer complaints. Mile Auto doesn’t have a rating from the BBB, but the company site lists several complaints.

Negative reviews of Mile Auto insurance mainly focus on how hard it is to contact customer service. Mile’s customer service line is only available during business hours, Monday through Friday, and representatives are often slow to respond to requests. This combination leads to frustrating experiences for many Mile customers.

People also say the window of time Mile provides to submit odometer pictures is inconveniently small. Its lack of online options to update your payment details can also make managing your insurance challenging.

However, it’s not all bad news. Reviewers rave about how cheap their coverage is, often saying they can’t find cheaper insurance elsewhere. While its customer service leaves something to be desired, most Mile drivers report overall satisfaction with the claims process.

Mile Auto Rates

Pay-per-mile insurance is usually cheaper for drivers who put less than 10,000 miles on their cars yearly. Even among pay-per-mile companies, Mile Auto insurance tends to offer the lowest prices.

Mile sells enough coverage to meet state minimum auto insurance requirements and full coverage needs. The amount you pay for your coverage varies by several factors, but the average driver pays about $44 monthly for minimum insurance.

For full coverage auto insurance, Mile drivers pay about $65 a month, a staggering 93% less than average rates. However, these rates are typical for low-mileage drivers — you’ll see much higher prices if you drive more than 10,000 miles per year.

Other factors affecting your auto insurance from Mile include your location, age, and driving history, but your annual mileage is the most important.

How does Mile insurance work?

Standard insurance companies calculate a flat fee based on your unique characteristics. Once your rate gets calculated, you can split your payments into monthly increments or pay in full.

Mile Auto insurance doesn’t work like a standard company. Instead, Mile offers pay-per-mile coverage, meaning you pay for each mile you drive. So the fewer miles you drive, the less you’ll pay.

To start, Mile calculates a base rate. Your base rate is the amount you’ll pay for car insurance every month, no matter how many miles you drive.

Mile sets your base rate the same way standard companies craft rates. The company considers your age, gender, location, coverage needs, vehicle type, and driving history to determine your base rate. Then, you’ll get a price for every mile you drive.

For example, a common base rate with Mile is $35 a month. If your per-mile rate is $0.05 per mile and you drive 400 miles in a month, your monthly bill would be $55.

Most pay-per-mile insurance companies track your mileage through a smartphone app or a device you plug into your car. Mile Auto takes a slightly different approach — you’ll need to submit a photo of your odometer once a month.

You don’t need to worry about remembering to submit your photos since Mile sends reminders through email and text. You simply need to click on the link Mile sends you to submit your monthly photo and follow the instructions. Learn more about how your annual mileage affects auto insurance.

What happens if you want to take a long road trip?

Low-mileage insurance is great for your daily routine, but what happens if you want to spend the weekend out of town? U.S. drivers frequently put hundreds of miles on their cars in a single road trip, which can cause your rates to double or more.

Pay-per-mile companies usually limit the number of daily miles they charge to avoid making it cheaper to get insurance from a standard company. Mile Auto isn’t clear about its policy towards road trips, but similar competitors like Metromile car insurance cap daily miles at 250.

When you buy pay-per-mile insurance, check with a representative before you go on a long trip. While Mile Auto probably has a plan for long trips, checking beforehand might save you money. Also, find out how to get a low-mileage discount.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mile Auto Discounts Available

Since Mile Auto insurance offers low rates by charging by the mile, it doesn’t offer other discounts. So if you’re not a low-mileage driver and want to take advantage of discounts, you should consider a standard insurance company instead.

Mile Auto Coverage Options

Most insurance companies sell enough coverage to meet minimum insurance and full coverage needs, and Mile is no different. It doesn’t have as long a list as some competitors, but you can buy the following coverages from Mile:

  • Property damage liability. This part of liability insurance covers damage you cause to other people’s property in an accident, such as cars, buildings, or fences.
  • Bodily injury liability insurance. As the other half of liability insurance, this part pays for damages resulting from injuries to others when you’re at fault in an accident..
  • Collision insurance. Liability insurance doesn’t cover any of your repair bills after an accident you cause. You’ll need collision insurance if you want help with your repair bills.
  • Comprehensive insurance. There’s a lot more than accidents that can damage your car. Comprehensive insurance covers unexpected events like fire, extreme weather, flooding, vandalism, theft, and animal contact.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Every state selling Mile coverage requires car insurance before you can drive, but not all drivers follow the law. Uninsured motorist protects you from drivers with inadequate or no coverage.
  • Personal injury protection/medical payments coverage. Medical bills after a car accident can get pricey quickly. Medical payments or personal injury protection insurance helps pay health care expenses after an accident.

These are the most basic options for car insurance you can find at most companies. Mile doesn’t have the extended insurance options as larger companies, but it offers roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.

Mile Auto vs. Competitors

Mile Auto insurance has few competitors for pay-per-mile coverage, so finding companies to compare can be tricky. However, you have a few options, including the following:

  • Metromile Auto Insurance. Metromile is a pay-per-mile company available in eight states and is ideal for people looking for more technological options. With Metromile, you use a plug-in device to track your miles.
  • Allstate Milewise. Milewise is a mileage tracking program offered by Allstate to give low-mileage drivers an option to save. Milewise is available in 21 states and uses a plug-in device paired with an app.
  • Liberty Mutual ByMile. Available in 17 states, ByMile also uses a plug-in device paired with an app. ByMile is a good choice for low-mileage drivers who go on the occasional road trip.
  • Nationwide SmartMiles. SmartMiles has the widest availability, covering 40 states. SmartMiles uses a plug-in device to track your miles and has some of the best customer service ratings.

Like standard car insurance, comparing your options is important when looking for pay-per-mile coverage. Another consideration is whether low-mileage insurance is right for you, but a representative can help you decide.

See if Mile Auto is Right for You

Although Mile Auto insurance struggles with its customer service, it does well with its claims process and offers some of the lowest rates for low-mileage drivers. If you drive fewer than 27 miles per day, Mile Auto insurance might be right for you.

Of course, you should still compare rates with other companies before you sign up for a policy. Mile Auto has low rates, but you might find a company better suited for your needs elsewhere.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Mile Auto insurance cost?

Mile Auto insurance rates vary by driver, but the company boasts savings of up to 40% compared to standard car insurance companies. Your Mile insurance rates consist of two parts. First, you’ll pay a monthly base price, no matter how many miles you drive. The second half is your per-mile fee, which you’ll pay for each mile you drive in a month.

Does Mile Auto have a maximum number of miles it charges per day?

Mile Auto is vague about whether it caps the number of miles you get charged daily, and its policy likely varies by state. However, most pay-per-mile insurance allows drivers to take occasional road trips without paying high prices.

Is Mile Auto insurance affordable?

Compared to standard insurance companies, Mile Auto insurance can be much cheaper. As for pay-per-mile insurance, Mile Auto is one of the most affordable options on the market.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Mile Auto

3.36 (7 reviews)
1
September 20, 2022

TrippleB

Stay Away!

We had three cars and three drivers insured, and removed one of the cars one month before our renewal. I didn't pay attention, but a couple of months later I discovered they literally doubled our premium on the two existing cars, base rate went from $35 to $65 and per-mile went from $.08 to $.14. I called to ask why and they told me I lost the 'multi-car- discount. OK, but I still have two cars insured, and the bottom-line is it costs me *more* t...
We had three cars and three drivers insured, and removed one of the cars one month before our renewal. I didn't pay attention, but a couple of months later I discovered they literally doubled our premium on the two existing cars, base rate went from $35 to $65 and per-mile went from $.08 to $.14. I called to ask why and they told me I lost the 'multi-car- discount. OK, but I still have two cars insured, and the bottom-line is it costs me *more* to insure *two* cars than it did to insure *three* cars. Also, my wife was involved in an accident on July 3d and I've been getting the runaround from their 'adjuster' [REDACTED NAME] [REDACTED NAME] for two months. Not only am I getting the runaround, but he is a miserable person to work with. Very short and snotty, if his job was not specifically to screw customers on behalf of the company, he would never get any other type of customer-facing position anywhere else. Miserable, miserable human being. Plus, you have to send in odometer pictures and then an invoice generates, that always seems to be on a Friday and they automatically charge you two days later which is Sunday. There is no chance to contact them over the weekend of there is a problem. This month they only sent me a link to update the odometer for one car, the other was in the shop. I assumed they only sent me the link because they knew the other one was in the shop. Nope - upon receiving the invoice (Friday morning at 1:01AM, the second car (in the shop) was charged 1,240 miles for a total of $214.05. I had to call and managed to reach someone Friday who adjusted the invoice. Had IU not been keeping a hawk-eye on my email that day I would have been charged extra money I was not prepared for, over drafting my account by about $175! Stay away from these crooks, and believe the bad reviews...
5
August 5, 2021

Bobby_provost

Great company

It was inexpensive and easy to cancel the customer service made every call eady and a pleasure to deal wih
1
August 5, 2021

Bobby_provost

Impossible to cancel

Impossible to cancel the customer service is never available and its more than frustrating and you can not cancel online.
5
June 24, 2021

INGRA

THE GOOD AND BAD - WHY I LOVE MILE AUTO

Let me tell you the good and the bad. I find this company after Liberty Mutual went up on a new policy that I had with them. They had quoted me a rate of about $500 for two cars. I went with them only for them to requote my policy and raise it to almost $800 per month!!! I was desperate and to top it off, I was a safe driver who didn't drive much. I have just signed my 2nd policy term and my rate went down again with Mile Auto. My rate for ...
Let me tell you the good and the bad. I find this company after Liberty Mutual went up on a new policy that I had with them. They had quoted me a rate of about $500 for two cars. I went with them only for them to requote my policy and raise it to almost $800 per month!!! I was desperate and to top it off, I was a safe driver who didn't drive much. I have just signed my 2nd policy term and my rate went down again with Mile Auto. My rate for the same two cars now cost me around $205 per month!!!! A savings of almost $600 per month. I love this company. What I don't like, it's hard to get in touch with them. They are only available from around 9 AM to around 5 PM EST - Monday - Friday. I had my insurance cancelled when my debit card was compromised. They could not get payment and it totally slipped my mind. When I got the notice in the mail, I tried to cal. I had to wait until Monday to make payment and reinstate my insurance. The company from my understanding is relatively new. How will they handle a claim or accident only time will tell? I am super happy that I made the switch, saving me $7200 per year, that's crazy good!
5
May 13, 2020

Atlanta1996

Great service and saved a lot of money

I wasn't driving my car much due to the pandemic. When I checked out their rates and coverage this was a much better deal for me given that I am a low mileage driver. I thought I had a good rate with my last company but this one was much better giving my limited use. I ended up with great cover its at a much lower rate. Very easy to deal with.
5
May 8, 2020

Elyse

Great Company

I am glad I found a company that charges by the mile as I am saving almost $50 a month with them. If I don't drive during Covid 19, they don't charge me as much.
5
March 28, 2019

BennyG

Easy; fair & private - for low mileage drivers

Super easy insurance. I don't drive much; hate high insurance rates for a car I rarely use. This company doesn't try to spy on me by tracking me with GPS or a blackbox! Just a photo of my odometer once a month - they send reminders. Privacy is good. Fair rates; pay for what I use. Friendly call center folks.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption