MetLife Auto Insurance Review (2024)

MetLife offers many types of auto insurance and coverage add-ons. It is one of the largest insurance providers in the world and has an A+ financial rating from AM Best.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

On This Page

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$112

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low
[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • MetLife offers many options for auto insurance
  • MetLife has an A.M. Best rating of A+
  • MetLife offers additional auto insurance options such as GAP, PIP, renters insurance, towing and roadside assistance, etc.
[/su_box] MetLife, short for Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, is one of the most well-known insurance companies in existence. Part of this is because everyone recognizes their well-known mascot, Snoopy. The other reason is because of the company’s success at serving over 90 million customers in over 60 countries. MetLife serves its clients in the United States, Japan, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Europe, and the Middle East. MetLife has been in existence for over 140 years. The company began as a private insurer for soldiers and sailors during the Civil War protecting them against disabilities.

MetLife, short for Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, is one of the most well-known insurance companies in existence. Part of this is because everyone recognizes the insurance company’s well-known mascot, Snoopy.

The other reason is because of the company’s success at serving over 90 million customers in over 60 countries. MetLife serves its clients in the United States, Japan, Latin America, Asia-Pacific, Europe, and the Middle East.

MetLife has been in existence for over 140 years. The company began as a private insurer for soldiers and sailors during the Civil War protecting them against disabilities.

Before reading our MetLife car insurance review, compare auto insurance quotes online by entering your zip code now!

What You Should Know About Metlife, Inc.

MetLife Company Overview
MetLife FactsData
Year foundedMarch 24, 1868
CEO
Michael Khalaf
Number of employees48,000
Total sales/assets$69,620,000,000/$740,460,000,000
HQ address200 Park Avenue New York, NY 10166
Phone number212-578-2211
Company websiteMetlife.com
Premiums written$42,240,000,000
Financial standingA+ by A.M. Best
Best forStrong Financial Ratings

Compare RatesStart Now →

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife Auto Insurance Company Availability

MetLife’s long-standing good reputation in the industry makes them a great prospect for your next auto insurance policy. MetLife auto insurance reviews reveal that the company serves all 50 states, including the Marshall Islands and the Virgin Islands.

That’s a plus for drivers who may be moving from one state to another and do not want to switch car insurance providers.

Additionally, drivers with a carrier whose coverage follows you throughout the 50 states and the listed island groupings can travel freely without much hassle.

It takes away some of the concerns for how a claim might be handled in another state.

Additionally, MetLife car insurance reviews have demonstrated that the company has substantial financial resources to consistently pay claims, according to various credit rating agencies.

They have consistent A-ratings. Customers are consistently satisfied with their claims experience as well.

Decoding Age-Specific Auto Insurance Rates: MetLife vs. Competitors

The comparison of monthly auto insurance rates by age is an essential exploration for those in search of the most economical coverage. This analysis delves into the distinctive rates offered by various insurance companies across diverse age groups, shedding light on how premiums transform with advancing age.

MetLife vs. Competitors: Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age
Insurance Company16-Year-Olds20-Year-Olds30-Year-Olds40-Year-Olds50-Year-Olds60-Year-Olds
Allstate$830$292$262$254$246$240
American Family$589$208$185$176$167$160
Farmers$736$250$213$206$199$192
Geico$497$193$192$190$189$188
Liberty Mutual$833$353$319$308$297$286
MetLife$536$205$205$133$127$118
Nationwide$539$232$198$189$181$175
Progressive$763$227$186$177$168$160
State Farm$553$204$174$165$156$149
Travelers$923$201$182$177$172$168
USAA$425$171$129$125$121$117

Compare RatesStart Now →

The monthly auto insurance rates for individuals at different ages, ranging from 16 to 60 years old, reveal a noteworthy fluctuation among insurance providers. For instance, at 16 years old, USAA offers the most affordable coverage at $425, while Liberty Mutual quotes $833.

As drivers mature, rates generally decrease, but the extent varies across companies. American Family consistently presents competitive rates across age groups, while Travelers tends to quote higher premiums, even for older drivers. This data serves as a comprehensive guide for individuals to navigate age-specific insurance costs and make informed decisions based on their unique needs and budget constraints.

MetLife Insurance Customer Service

When MetLife first began, their agents established a personal relationship with its clients. For example, agents called their clients at the same time every week.

According to MetLife insurance reviews, it has since expanded its coverage greatly and maintains a strong presence in the insurance industry with an A.M. Best rating of A+.

By giving customers this personal attention, the company was able to grow. Personal attention can still be obtained through MetLife’s local offices today.

MetLife also provides online customer service. Through the website, an insured can do the following:

  • manage their account
  • contact MetLife
  • pay insurance bills
  • change an address
  • find claim information

Forms are also provided online which explain MetLife Insurance products in detail. You can also acquire a MetLife auto insurance quote online.

The website also contains a section on helpful hints such as ways to keep your car safe while traveling.

These tips include keeping at least one-quarter tank of gas in your vehicle at all times, never leaving valuables in your car, looking in the backseat upon entering the vehicle, and other recommendations that can protect your well being as you travel.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife Auto Insurance Agents

MetLife Insurance has auto insurance agents which can be located online depending on the state you reside. Agents are also listed by region. You can contact an agent by visiting their office, calling them on the MetLife Insurance phone number, sending a fax, or email.

If you are only interested in getting a quote, the website permits you to get an instant quote by entering your zip code or by calling this MetLife car insurance number: 1-800-MET-AUTO.

MetLife offices are locally managed to provide the best customer service possible. Major locations are listed on the website, but the company’s headquarters is located within the former Pan Am building in midtown Manhattan at:

200 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10166

Starting a Career at MetLife

MetLife has received much recognition as an employer. They have been awarded with the following:

  • “World’s Most Admired Company”
  • “Top Company for Executive Women”
  • “Top 50 Companies for Diversity”
  • “Best Place to Launch a Career”
  • “Best Company for Working Mothers”
  • “Best Adoption-Friendly Workplace”

There is a multitude of career opportunities at MetLife. The website is extensive in the various employment opportunities available according to your skill or background.

Jobs can be searched as a professional or even as a student looking for an opportunity to work at MetLife.

Career paths and career guides are also available on the website to help you determine the best career fit for your personality and job skill.

MetLife Customer Reviews

The customer insurance reviews of MetLife vary greatly. It seems most customers begin quite happily with MetLife due to their good rates and discounts. Often, they incur a problem which changes their positive experience to one of negativity.

However, knowing their long history, strong ratings with all financial credit rating companies, huge client base and standing within the industry, MetLife must be doing right.

You can get online auto insurance quotes from active providers by taking your zip code into the free rates tool now!

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Metlife, Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

Types of Policies Offered at MetLife Car Insurance

There are many options for a MetLife auto policy. The collision and comprehensive options take care of car accidents, theft, vandalism, fire, flood, and hail damage. This coverage also allows for new car replacement should you wreck your vehicle within one year of ownership or 15,000 miles.

Major parts are replaced due to the accident and are guaranteed as long as repairs are done through an approved facility.

Additional coverage, which is standard to MetLife Insurance, is also provided to its clients. For example, glass repairs are completed without any deductible being spent.

Identity protection coverage is provided at no additional cost, and uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is also considered standard under a MetLife policy.

MetLife’s rental car insurance also covers the rental vehicle if you get in an accident while driving one.

The rental car insurance includes towing, decrease in market value of the rental, accident claims handling expenses, and rental income lost by the rental company during the vehicle’s repairs. However, this coverage is not permitted in North Carolina.

Personal Injury Protection is another benefit to MetLife policyholders. PIP covers medical services to the customer as needed.

MetLife Auto Insurance’s Additional Policy Features

MetLife Insurance provides additional policy features at an additional cost. These options include:

  • Towing and roadside assistance
  • Legal defense fees
  • Direct billing to MetLife during use of a rental car due to your vehicle being repaired
  • GAP coverage

GAP coverage covers the difference between what you owe on the car and what the car is worth if you are in an accident which deems your vehicle totaled.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MetLife Auto Insurance Discounts

As a MetLife policyholder, there are auto insurance discounts available that can help you save on your MetLife auto insurance rates if you meet the stated requirements. For example:

  • You can receive a $50 credit towards your deductible every year you are accident-free, with a maximum of $250 for a lifetime.
  • Completing a safe driving course can earn you up to a seven percent discount on your policy.
  • Multi-policy discounts are another way to save money.
  • If your household is claim and violation free for five years, MetLife offers an additional discount. The discounts to drivers vary by state but can be as much as 20 percent off of your policy.
  • High school students who bring home excellent grades can receive a student discount of up to 15 percent on the policy.

How to File MetLife Auto Insurance Claims

You can call MetLife auto insurance to report your claim. Claims can be reported by calling MetLife’s 1-800-854-6011 number, 24 hours a day, seven days a week including major holidays.

Metlife, Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

How to Shop for the Best MetLife Auto Insurance Quotes

Start by naming your specific insurance needs. All states mandate a minimum amount of coverage. On top of that, if you are leasing or still paying off a car, the company or lender may have additional insurance requirements.

Make sure you are buying adequately to cover your assets.

It is important as the consumer to shop around for auto insurance coverage. Make sure to do your research ahead of time – don’t depend on the car insurance agent to do your homework for you!

Keep in mind that the type of vehicle you drive may be affecting your MetLife auto insurance quote. You might be surprised just how much the pricing differs among different vehicle classes and sizes.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare Rates When You Get a New Car

Most people assume that when they buy a newer car their insurance automatically will go through the roof. This is not necessarily the case.

In particular, people who trade in heavier vehicles that can translate into more fatalities and property damage for a smaller and safer vehicle can end up saving money.

When buying a new car, draw up a list of vehicles you are interested in and look at them from a practical standpoint. In other words, how much will it cost to insure each vehicle on your wish list?

This will remind you of just how costly a car may be long after the new car scent has faded.

In other words, you will see how much insurance you will be paying for the life of the new car. This can save you a lot of headache and hassle in the future.

Factors in Pricing Insurance for New Cars

Some factors that affect that price of the insurance for a new vehicle include:

Achieving ideal safety ratings is one way to force insurance costs down. While a safer car will not necessarily stop accidents, it can reduce the degree of injuries and even prevent fatalities.

Security is another big factor in how much the premiums will cost with any insurer. If your car is on thieves’ hot list, then it is a target for being stolen.

If that happens, the car insurance carrier pays out a claim, which means that they are out money. As a result, they increase your insurance rates. They do charge you higher rates up front too, in anticipation of such theft, rather than waiting for your car to be stolen.

The cost of car parts also is a huge factor in insurance pricing. If your car is involved in an accident, your insurance carrier will have to pay out benefits to have it fixed.

These are expenses that your insurance company does not want to incentivize. 

If you have a rare and particularly pricey vehicle model, the parts required to repair the car may be expensive. Additionally, finding a specialized mechanic who can fix the car may be hugely expensive and a rarity too.

The initial selling price of the vehicle also impacts insurance rates. If the carrier has to replace your vehicle if, they will have to pay more to replace it with the same model.

Insurance pricing reflects all of these anticipated costs that the insurance company must take on in insuring your car.

Limiting Driver and Vehicle Costs

Have a teenager who is just learning to drive? Particularly in pricey states, you may want to hold off on putting them onto the household policy. Many parents check out insurance premiums for their teenager to have their own policy.

You can potentially save a lot of money just by separating a junior’s insurance from the rest of the household’s.

Other parents have found that their inexperienced drivers are too costly, even with discounts for good grades or defensive driving courses.

In those cases, parents and kids agree that maybe junior can wait on having insurance and a car until after college or until after the age of 21.

It’s been an increasing trend for parents in expensive states to hold back on giving their teens the keys and insurance to the family car.

However, most insurance carriers are becoming aware of this. In response, some have started to count your twenty-something as a new driver.

All families are different – this is why it is important to do your research ahead of time and shop around.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

How Older Age Affects Pricing

For a long time, the elderly were valued for their long-held driving experience. This meant they paid lower rates for insurance. This is not the case anymore. In many cases, the cost of insurance for the aging population is increasing.

Again, the only way to prepare for this is to shop around and compare quotes.

Be aware of the actual amount of coverage that you need, and only buy sufficiently to cover yourself and your vehicle.

Consider downsizing your vehicle and comprehensive and collision coverage. Take advantage of low mileage driving, if you are among the many who do not drive more than a few thousand miles per year.

MetLife Auto is a long-time insurer with great credit ratings and high customer satisfaction. Always do your homework by comparing rates, especially in high-cost auto insurance states.

Make sure to research how well a company treats its clients to check their credentials.

Just because a company offers the lowest rate, does not mean they are the most reliable. Do your homework in advance and review ratings of auto insurance companies. Otherwise, the insurance carriers may be taking you for a ride.

Metlife, Inc. Discounts Available

As a MetLife policyholder, there are auto insurance discounts available if you meet the stated requirements. For example:

  • You can receive a $50 credit towards your deductible every year you are accident-free, with a maximum of $250 for a lifetime.
  • Completing a safe driving course can earn you up to a seven percent discount on your policy.
  • Multi-policy discounts are another way to save money.
  • If your household is claim and violation free for five years, MetLife offers an additional discount. The discounts to drivers vary by state but can be as much as 20 percent off of your policy.
  • High school students who bring home excellent grades can receive a student discount of up to 15 percent on the policy.

How Metlife, Inc. Ranks Among Providers

While many people think of MetLife as a small insurance company, the company’s group actually has a very strong financial standing and plenty of assets to protect investors.

As of 2021, MetLife tops insurance companies by market share. 

For those that may be wondering, is MetLife going out of business? Not anytime soon. See more plan details about MetLife’s market share in the table below.

Top 10 Insurance Companies by Market Share
RankCompaniesDirect Premiums WrittenMarket Share
1MetLife$10,877,337,0006.7%
2Northwestern Mutual$10,550,806,0006.5%
3New York Life$9,385,843,0005.8%
4Prudential$9,170,883,0005.6%
5Lincoln National$8,825,314,0005.4%
6MassMutual$6,874,972,0004.2%
7Transamerica$4,867,311,0003.0%
8John Hancock$4,657,312,0002.9%
9State Farm$4,636,147,0002.9%
10Securian$4,426,864,0002.7%

Compare RatesStart Now →

When a company controls a large portion of the market share, it proves that the company is financially stable, and will be able to close out claims regardless of if there is an economic dip or downturn. 

If you purchase an insurance policy through MetLife, you have the security that the company is economically responsible enough to follow through on claims service and policy pay-outs.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Navigating Credit Impact: MetLife’s Competitive Edge

Understanding how auto insurance rates vary based on credit scores is crucial for making informed decisions. In the following table, we compare the monthly auto insurance rates for individuals with good, fair, and poor credit across various insurance providers.

MetLife vs. Competitors: Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Score
Insurance CompanyGood CreditFair CreditPoor Credit
Allstate$110$130$150
American Family$105$125$145
Farmers$115$135$155
Geico$95$115$135
Liberty Mutual$100$120$140
MetLife$108$128$148
Nationwide$102$122$142
Progressive$98$118$138
State Farm$90$110$130
Travelers$112$132$152
USAA$85$105$125

Compare RatesStart Now →

MetLife stands out as a competitive option in the realm of auto insurance, particularly for individuals with good credit scores. With a monthly rate of $148 for those with good credit, MetLife offers a cost-effective solution compared to other major players in the market.

However, as credit scores decline, MetLife’s rates also adjust, aligning with industry standards. Individuals with fair credit can expect a monthly rate of $178, while those with poor credit face a rate of $291. It’s essential to note how MetLife’s rates compare to industry averages and its direct competitors to make an informed decision based on individual credit circumstances.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MetLife automobile insurance?

MetLife Auto Insurance is a type of insurance coverage offered by MetLife, a leading global insurance company. It provides protection for individuals against financial losses that may occur as a result of automobile accidents, theft, or damage to their vehicles.

What MetLife insurance policies are available?

So, what is covered by MetLife? MetLife Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options to meet the diverse needs of policyholders. Some common types of MetLife coverage include liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, medical payments coverage, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

How can I obtain a quote for MetLife Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote for MetLife Auto Insurance, you can visit the official MetLife website or contact their customer service directly. By providing necessary information such as your personal details, vehicle information, and desired coverage options, MetLife will generate a customized quote based on your requirements.

Are there any discounts available with MetLife Auto Insurance?

Yes, MetLife offers various discounts to eligible policyholders. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and more. The availability and specifics of discounts may vary based on factors such as location and policy details.

How can I file a claim with MetLife Auto Insurance?

In the event of an accident or damage to your vehicle, you can file a claim through MetLife’s auto insurance claims phone number. This can typically be done online, through the MetLife mobile app, or by contacting their claims department directly. MetLife will guide you through the necessary steps and documentation required to process your claim efficiently.

Can I manage my MetLife Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, MetLife provides online account management tools for policyholders. Through their website or mobile app, you can conveniently manage your policy, make payments, view policy documents, update personal information, and access other relevant services.

Does MetLife Auto Insurance offer roadside assistance?

Yes, MetLife’s roadside assistance is an optional coverage that can be added to your auto insurance policy. This coverage provides assistance in situations such as flat tires, lockouts, battery jump-starts, and towing services. MetLife’s roadside assistance number is: 1-800-854-6011.

Can I customize my MetLife Auto Insurance policy?

MetLife Auto Insurance offers flexibility in tailoring your policy to suit your specific needs. You can choose from various coverage options, deductible amounts, and add-on features to create a policy that aligns with your budget and preferences.

Does MetLife offer auto insurance for commercial vehicles?

Yes, MetLife offers auto insurance options for commercial vehicles. They provide coverage for businesses and organizations that require insurance protection for their fleet of vehicles, ensuring their vehicles and drivers are protected in case of accidents or other incidents.

How can I contact MetLife for further assistance?

To get in touch with MetLife regarding their auto insurance or for any other inquiries, you can visit their official website and find the contact information for their customer service department. They typically offer phone, email, and online chat support options to assist you with your questions or concerns.

Does MetLife offer motorcycle insurance?

MetLife’s motorcycle insurance is now available through Farmers, its parent company.

Is MetLife auto insurance good?

Wondering if MetLife has good insurance rates? Among its top competitors, MetLife has some of the most expensive auto insurance rates for good drivers.

Is MetLife a good life insurance company?

MetLife is a good insurance company, although it occasionally receives mixed ratings for customer satisfaction.

What happened to MetLife insurance?

As of 2021, MetLife’s auto and home insurance operations were acquired by Farmers Insurance.

Who owns MetLife now?

MetLife, Inc. is primarily owned by institutional investors, which hold about 70% of its shares.

Is MetLife still a company?

Yes, MetLife is still an active company.

Does MetLife pay claims?

Yes, MetLife customers can file claims by submitting a claim kit in order to get paid.

Can I cash out my MetLife insurance policy?

Yes, you may be able to cash out your MetLife insurance policy, depending on the type of policy you have.

How do I check my MetLife policy?

The easiest way to check policy details, update personal information, and make payments is to log in MetLife’s auto insurance agent login portal.

How long does it take MetLife to pay out?

MetLife generally processes and pays out life insurance claims quickly, often within 5 business days after receiving the necessary documents and claim forms.

How much is a MetLife insurance policy?

The cost of a MetLife insurance policy varies based on the type of insurance and the amount of coverage. For example, the cheapest policy starts from $225 per year.

How many countries does MetLife operate in?

MetLife operates in over 60 countries worldwide.

Is MetLife a big insurance company?

MetLife is considered one of the largest insurance companies globally. It operates in over 60 countries and serves approximately 90 million customers worldwide.

How do I check my MetLife status?

To check the status of your MetLife insurance policy, head over to their online portal. You can log in here to view details about your policy, including coverage, premium payments, and any claims you may have filed.

Did MetLife buy AIG?

MetLife did not buy AIG as a whole company. However, MetLife did acquire Alico, a large international subsidiary of AIG, in 2010.

Are MetLife and AIG the same company?

No, MetLife and AIG (American International Group) are not the same company. They are separate entities, each operating independently.

Why MetLife is the best company for insurance?

MetLife’s long-standing reputation in the insurance industry makes it a preferred choice for those seeking reliable coverage. Founded in 1868, MetLife has grown to become one of the largest global providers of insurance, annuities, and employee benefit programs, serving about 90 million customers in over 60 countries.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Metlife, Inc.

4.02 (977 reviews)
1
March 5, 2021

NickDigi55

RUN AWAY!!!!

MetLife Auto has given my wife nothing but [REDACTED WORD]. She worked for [REDACTED NAME] and it came out of her paycheck but once she left [REDACTED NAME] it became [REDACTED WORD]. I would like to talk about our experience from November through March 5th. In November we made a payment over the phone. We were told by the representative that is covers the full months of December and January. We were also told we wouldn’t have to pay until ...
MetLife Auto has given my wife nothing but [REDACTED WORD]. She worked for [REDACTED NAME] and it came out of her paycheck but once she left [REDACTED NAME] it became [REDACTED WORD]. I would like to talk about our experience from November through March 5th. In November we made a payment over the phone. We were told by the representative that is covers the full months of December and January. We were also told we wouldn’t have to pay until February. In January we receive a notice that our policy is going to be canceled due to no payment. We were very confused since we were told we won’t have to pay until February. Also, the amount owed was very confusing because based the yearly premium divided by 12 it was not the amount they said we owed. We call MetLife and get a female representative. We asked simple questions; “why do we owe if we were told something different in November?” No answer for this one. Just a confused worker. Next question “Why does it say we owe over $300 if our yearly premium divided by 12 is $140?” Representative hangs up on us. Rather then find out answers all they do at MetLife is hang up. Call the next day, Finally we get an intelligent agent. He was great. He explained that MetLife charges 9 times a year and not 12 hence the amount being off to us. Explained to us that the first agent was wrong in November and you have to pay in advanced for February/March and have to make that payment in January. Asked us if we would like to do monthly auto payments instead of paying this weird amount 9 times a year. We said yes, this makes perfect sense. Auto payments and don’t have to deal with these terrible MetLife auto agents. Gives us clear instructions. “Call February 1st, make payment over phone of $135 and email the paperwork for auto payment once you pay”. We call February 1st, make the payment. We email paperwork and received a text that auto payment is complete and will start March 1st. Here comes today March 5th. We check out bank account no payment has been taken out. We look online and see our policy is canceled. At this moment I’m thinking here is my 22 week pregnant wife driving without insurance and no one even notified us. I’m very angry as you can imagine. We call 4 times today, the first agent has no answers, takes our number and says a supervisor will call us. Do these agents know anything? Can they look into an issue themselves and get an answer? Guess what I’m not waiting now. I tell my wife I’m calling. Next agent I call and I didn’t even give her a chance to speak said things I shouldn’t of but as you can imagine finding out your pregnant wife is not covered with car insurance without notification to fix an issue is very infuriating. Says she’s going to transfer me to a supervisor. Guess what? Hangs up instead. Why is everything (I need a supervisor or hanging up)with this company? I call back, speak more politely. She informs me that the insurance policy was canceled on February 1st, the same day we called and made the payment! We got a text after February 1st saying we are enrolled in autopay. As you can imagine we have no idea our policy is canceled especially since payment was accepted on February 1st and we got a text afterwards saying we are enrolled in auto pay. Autopay for what? You canceled our policy February 1st. She says she’s going to transfer me to a supervisor, here we go again I’m thinking. Another incompetent MetLife auto agent that needs supervision. He explained to us that the person in February 1st messed up and we would of been covered if something happened. They never fixed the cancelation notice by accident. He tried to twist it on us “if you would of paid the $320 in January this would of never been an issue, we did you the favor” If someone in November is telling us we are paid for December and January; then get a $320 bill in January we aren’t going to pay it blindly. If your team was able to tell us why we had to pay the first time we called it would of never been an issue. Then the next guy offered us automatically monthly payments so of course we going to accept that over being billed random amounts with no explanations! He then offered to reinstate us and charge us the amount for March 1st, we went elsewhere. Stay again from MetLife Auto!
3
February 2, 2021

kvothe

Met Life

It was very amazing and good because they offer the best deals and they put great effort into their job to keep it in the best form possible.
5
January 10, 2021

angie304

Metlife

Metlife is a very good choice.They are there for you 24-7...The agents are very helpful in every way.
5
January 6, 2021

0962550901

[REDACTED ADDRESS]

This company is very good and offers us excellent service and classy customer service and can be recommended
4
November 27, 2020

NJAJ

Good Auto insurance for 1st time buyer

Excellent process to expedite the quote of auto insurance. Easy process to renew and good customer service
5
October 23, 2020

johnrandy007

good

its a good for any man auto insurance. its provide good services to the customers. its a good for all
4
October 8, 2020

Watson

Great Metlife

I like the company Met life which is the best insurance company right now. I like the company environment. They are good at their business.
5
July 11, 2020

cyberkisses

Nice!

I thought the company was great! it was super simple to work with and it didn't take too long for them to approve you!
2
June 29, 2020

Lilfurly004

terrible service

They aren’t very good…they like to rip you off. I needed customer support but they continually hang the phone up
5
June 26, 2020

jef_thom

pleased

this company seems a very friendly and supportive to its customer. And their policies are enough friendly.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption