Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that exis...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Apr 20, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • Alaska Statue 28.22.101 revolves around state minimum car insurance requirements
  • Alaska requires minimum coverage for bodily injury, death, and property damage
  • As a consumer, be aware of your pre-existing coverage and shop the market for adequate policies

The state of Alaska is like all others in the United States in that they have mandatory car insurance requirements. As the owner of a motor vehicle, you are going to be subject to these requirements when you go to register at the department of motor vehicles.

There are always variations from one state to the next when it comes to car insurance needs.

As a consumer, you want to be well aware of your pre-existing coverage and make a determination if you require shopping the market further to better what you have, or at the bare minimum, make sure you comply.

Law drives the minimum amounts for car insurance in the state of Alaska. Alaska has what is known as Mandatory Insurance Statues. The Alaska Statue 28.22.101 is what needs to be called out for this piece.

That particular statue is what is going to lay out what is required from a car insurance perspective. A car insurance policy with liability insurance on it has to be in effect, period.

Compare car insurance rates to find the coverage that’s right for you. Enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above to get started.

The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Alaska

The minimum car insurance requirements in the state of Alaska fall under two buckets. The first type of car insurance requirement is in the area of bodily injury or death.

This liability insurance will cover you in the event you get in a car accident and cause such damage to another party.

The Alaska Statue 28.22.101 states you must have a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury coverage for one person and $100,000 of coverage to cover injuries to multiple people in an accident.

Property damage coverage is also required in the state of Alaska. The amount of property damage coverage needed is going to $25,000 per the statute in the state.

Similar to the bodily injury or death coverage, this is a type of liability insurance that is going to revolve around the damage that you may do to another’s property.

If you get into a car accident and hit a house, for example, that is a type of property that has been damaged by you and would be covered up to that minimum limit.

Property damage liability will also pay for the damage you inflict on another vehicle.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What happens if you do not have minimum car insurance in Alaska?

There are going to be consequences if you fail to have proper insurance in the state of Alaska. When you are driving a motor vehicle, you need to have proof of the automobile liability insurance with you.

If an officer asks you to provide it, evidence of the insurance has to be present, or you may face the following penalties:

When you go to register your vehicle for the first time, proof of insurance is also going to have to be present. Failure to show evidence of insurance is going to equate to you not being able to register your automobile.

The only exception to this rule is if you are driving in a part of Alaska where registration of a vehicle is not required.

Even still, if you are a driver with a ticket for a violation of six points more on your record within the last five years, insurance is still going to be required.

Check Your Current Car Insurance Coverage and Shop the Market

You want to have an awareness of your pre-existing car insurance coverage. What is the current coverage limits that you have? Do they meet the minimum requirements within the state?

If so, you may be good, but that does not mean that there are not more valuable options. Shop the car insurance market and see if there is more value to be had when it comes to your policy.

You may even be able to get a better policy, with higher limits, for the same premium you are paying now. Make price comparisons and use online quotes.

Enter your ZIP code below to receive and compare several online quotes for free today!