Safeway Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Looking at Safeway auto insurance? They offer non-standard policies as well as cheap auto insurance, and have a financial rating of A (Excellent) from A.M. Best.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2023Fact Checked

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of professional experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ach...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Nov 9, 2023Fact Checked
3.3
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safeway Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$107

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Safeway Car Insurance began offering insurance products in 1959
  • Safeway Insurance is the largest family-owned private insurer. They service more than a quarter of a million policyholders
  • Safeway Insurance is an agency that offers no-fault policies, as well as standard policies, to meet the needs of any type of driver

Cons

  • Safeway Insurance is not yet set up to receive your claim online

Final Verdict: Review of Safeway Insurance

Safeway offers no-fault policies as well as standard policies. No-fault policies can also be called Personal Injury Protection policies; they help cover any bodily injury or loss of income you or your passengers may sustain in an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Because this is a small insurance agency, they offer a lot more flexibility than some of the bigger players out in the field.

If you are a high-risk driver, you may want to know that this company can also offer non-standard policies for those with a blemished driving record, SR22s, or FR44s.

[su_box title="Things to Remember..." style="default”]
  • Safeway Car Insurance began offering insurance products in 1959
  • Safeway Insurance is the largest family-owned private insurer. They service more than a quarter of a million policyholders
  • Safeway Insurance is an agency that offers no-fault policies, as well as standard policies, to meet the needs of any driver
[/su_box] Safeway Insurance provider is a company that first began selling policies in 1959. This casualty company supports its branch offices from its headquarters in Westmont, Illinois – a suburb of Chicago. Safeway Insurance is the largest family-owned private insurer. They service more than a quarter of a million policyholders. To get auto insurance quotes from this insurance provider and other familiar carriers, enter your ZIP code in the box above!

What You Should Know About Safeway Insurance Co.

Safeway Insurance Group is actually a group of companies made up of businesses with similar names in the states where they operate, such as:

  • Safeway Insurance Company of Georgia
  • Safeway Insurance Company of Arizona
  • Safeway Insurance Company of Louisiana
  • Oakbrook County Mutual Insurance Company
  • SPIC Financial Corporation

Who is Safeway car insurance good for?

The average person may be unable to buy vehicle insurance coverage from a major carrier for many reasons. They may have several moving violations on their driving record, they may have been in an accident, or they may not have been able to get auto insurance coverage at an affordable rate in the past so there are lapses in their coverage. Safeway Insurance is a small company that sells affordable coverage and priceless peace of mind to anyone who needs comprehensive coverage, even if they have a bad driving record.

Safeway car insurance specializes in selling auto coverage to the average person.

What is the Safeway Insurance claims process like?

Safeway Insurance is not yet set up to receive your claim online. Instead, policyholders can only make claim submissions by phone. The company promises to pass on the report, within hours, to the representative who initiates the next step in the claims process.

Representatives understand the inconvenience of being in an accident. They are trained to make the process as smooth as possible if your vehicle has been damaged.

You can expect representatives to arrange your repairs by scheduling the adjuster’s trip to assess the car and the repair shop.

Some rental car agencies will pick you up from the repair shop after you have concluded your business with them.

If you are at fault in an accident, the company will communicate the status of the situation to the other driver and passengers. This step is taken within 48 hours of receiving a report of the accident.

If more damage is detected during the repair period, Safeway will send an adjuster out to assess the new damage as well.

What do reviews say about Safeway Insurance Company?

This is a solvent company based on the rating it received from A.M. Best, the most recognized auto insurance rating company.

A.M. Best issued Safeway an “A” (Excellent). This indicates that the company is in good standing among its peers and policyholders.

This company has a definite online presence in the form of information about the company and its different insurance coverage options, along with many reviews. Several people have had bad experiences with Safeway that made them so angry they made comments to the Ripoff Report.

Most of these reviewers were involved in accidents with Safeway policyholders.

You can get online auto insurance rates from several companies by simply entering your ZIP code below!

Safeway Insurance Co. Insurance Coverage Options

Every state establishes the minimum coverage requirements based on the area’s conditions. Safeway can provide its policyholders with the minimum coverage in minutes should they need something on the spot.

When you establish your insurance policy by phone, you make a down payment and will pay your first monthly payment on the spot.

However, you don’t really receive verification of your policy terms right away when it is done this way.

An overview of your policy is called the declaration page. The company website describes everything you might find on the “dec” page and what they all mean. You can always speak to an agent if you have questions about your automobile insurance policy.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Safeway Auto Insurance?

Safeway Auto Insurance is an insurance company that specializes in providing auto insurance coverage to drivers. They offer a range of insurance products and services to meet the needs of policyholders.

Is Safeway Auto Insurance a reputable company?

Safeway Auto Insurance has a presence in the insurance industry, but it is not as widely known as some larger insurance providers. It’s advisable to research and read customer reviews to gather more information about their reputation and customer experiences.

What types of coverage does Safeway Auto Insurance offer?

Safeway Auto Insurance offers various coverage options to protect you and your vehicle. They provide standard auto insurance coverages such as liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. They may also offer additional coverage options and endorsements that you can choose from.

How can I get a quote from Safeway Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote from Safeway Auto Insurance, you can visit their official website or contact their customer service directly. On their website, you may find a quote form where you can provide the necessary information about your vehicle, driving history, and coverage requirements to receive an estimate. Alternatively, you can reach out to a Safeway agent for assistance.

Does Safeway Auto Insurance offer any discounts?

Safeway Auto Insurance may offer discounts to help you save on your premium. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and more. When obtaining a quote, be sure to inquire about available discounts that you may qualify for.

How can I file a claim with Safeway Auto Insurance?

If you need to file a claim with Safeway Auto Insurance, you should contact their claims department directly. They typically have a dedicated claims phone number and online claims portal where you can report your incident and initiate the claims process. It’s important to have all the necessary details and documentation ready when filing a claim.

How is Safeway Auto Insurance customer service?

The level of customer service provided by Safeway Auto Insurance may vary. It’s advisable to research customer reviews and consider the experiences of others when evaluating their customer service. Their customer service team should be responsive, knowledgeable, and helpful in addressing inquiries, concerns, and claims.

Can I manage my Safeway Auto Insurance policy online?

The availability of online account management for Safeway Auto Insurance policyholders may vary. It’s recommended to visit their website or contact their customer service to inquire about online policy management options, such as accessing policy details, making payments, and updating information.

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of professional experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ach...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Safeway Insurance Co.

3.29 (93 reviews)
5
March 19, 2020

Laury-Espinal

Excellent service

I am so grateful for this company. I highly recommend it. I truly love the way they treat me and how effective they are.
1
January 27, 2020

Rizz

Do not by Safeway Insurance you will be robbed constantly

My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you o...
My first and my worst experience I've ever had with the insurance company ever they will constantly Rob and steal from you from 32 more dollars every single time you owe if there is an emergency that is totally out of your control on a day that there is no customer service the next day that there is customer service you're still screwed .they will steal your money and will not give it back even if you paid on your due date. They will snatch you off your automatic pay and make you old your next bill within the next two weeks when you're supposed to pay monthly they rob still and Rob and steal and Rob and I'm desperately looking for better insurance .
1
October 8, 2019

Ibeck6650

RIP OFF

Horrible experience. Moral of story they don’t cover everything that they say they cover . They actually don’t cover anything! I had to purchase my car out of towing cash and now I have to get it fix cash because the insurance I pay for on time doesn’t cover any expensive. WOW such a rip off !
4
July 19, 2019

beatgodz

if you cheap like me

very cheap always ready to help always under 100. fast soons as you have the cash your insured and safe to drive
1
July 1, 2019

Chase

The worst company ever

The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go low...
The worst, lien, don’t call, claim just sitting in there computer insurance company ever. I spoke with [REDACTED NAME] one day we closed a offer, he told me to call back the next business day. I call back he say another offer that’s 50 dollars lower like we didn’t just closed on a offer.. so I ask to speak to his supervisor, he put me on hold, then came back and told me she said his offer is his offer and if I don’t take it he will go lower... so I kept saying I wanna speak to your supervisor.. she gets on the phone no help I’m telling her to pull the recording oh we don’t record ever call... they both had attitudes. When I spoke on there reviews she got mad... this is the worst company I ever dealt with..
4
June 4, 2019

Mstearman

Great customer service, invoices need work.

The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is du...
The people at this company are really nice and have worked with us when we were late on a payment. I did not get quotes but the price is better than we have had in the past. The only thing I don't like is that they send invoices that say "cancelation notice" when it's just asking for your next payment, before the payment is due but only a few days before. So we don't have much notice. We usually pay it before the invoice comes in because it is due on the same date every month. But getting a cancelation notice makes me worry that something went wrong with my payment or my husband forgot this month. In my state any lapse in insurance causes a $200 fine when you renew your registration so it makes me worry.
2
May 5, 2019

Amzl

customer service

i have contacted them numerous times. i haven't been contacted at all ever. i finally got to contact someone. they need to improve their costumer service quality.
1
March 20, 2019

Ajae

Insurance claims

Customer service is rude !!! I filed a claim have to go through a process to get vehicle repaired . Pay your own rental car then they reimburse you which is another process I HATE this company
2
March 19, 2019

JMMM11

INSURANCE SHOULD GO DOWN IF CLAIM FREE

It hasn't gone down any in the time I have had it, about three to four years, despite no claim history
5
December 31, 2018

Hanzo

Easy to work with

Easy to get insurance! Good for bad driving history. Give drivers a second chance. Prices are a bit high but expected for people if bad driving history
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption