PEMCO Auto Insurance Review

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company covers bodily injury liability, property damage, towing, and rental reimbursement. It has a B++ financial rating from A.M. Best.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

PEMCO

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

B++

Complaint level:

Low

PEMCO, which stands for Public Employees Mutual Casualty Company, is a mutual company owned by its customers, not stockholders.

It was founded in 1949 by Robert J. Handy, a math teacher and journalist, who wished to offer insurance to teachers.

PEMCO offers automobile policies in the Northwestern United States. The company has a B++ financial rating from A.M. Best.

Is PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company a Good Choice?

A benefit of PEMCO is their convenient payment plans. Policyholders have the option of having the payments automatically withdrawn from their checking or savings account.

They can also pay in full, pay half now and half in six months, or subscribe to a 20 percent plan that pays the policy off in nine months.

One way PEMCO provides customer service to its customers is through their website.

Frequently asked questions and answers are available for review as well as a glossary of insurance terms.

Clients also have the ability to view their policy online under the document request service.

Lastly, policyholders can make payments online and can view explanations on how to read a bill.

PEMCO Automobile Insurance Claims

PEMCO claims can be reported by calling PEMCO. Once the claim is reported, PEMCO will investigate to determine who was at fault.

Damages are then reviewed, along with the estimate for repairs, and payment is made. Your deductible will be refunded if you were not considered to be at fault in the accident.

Repairs can either be done at the shop of your choice or at one of the company’s “Timesaver Repair Shops” — repair shops that have been approved by PEMCO.

Policyholders work directly with the repair shop to have the necessary repairs completed, and the shop will send PEMCO the final bill.

Timesaver Repair Shops guarantee their work with a warranty for as long as you own the vehicle.

PEMCO Careers

Careers at PEMCO can be viewed on the company’s website. Potential employees have the ability to view current job openings and apply online.

Jobs can be searched by keywords, locations, categories, and posting dates. You can narrow your search by the miles you are willing to travel.

PEMCO’s employee benefits rank in the top ten list of employee benefits across the state of Washington. The benefits include:

  • 200 percent 401(k) matches
  • Bonuses
  • Health and welfare insurance
  • Flexible spending accounts
  • Benefits from PEMCO vendors
  • $30 on each family member’s birthday
  • Vacation, personal and sick days, paid holidays

PEMCO Mutual Contact Information

PEMCO’s main phone number, 1-800-GO-PEMCO, is the number to call to find answers to all of your questions regarding policies, claims, and quotes, or any other questions you may have regarding your insurance needs.

You also have the option of emailing the company via the website. Simply fill out some information and answer some questions and hit send.

Correspondence should be mailed to:

PO Box 778
Seattle, WA 98111-0778

PEMCO maintains three offices in Washington.

PEMCO Automobile Insurance Quotes

PEMCO quotes can be generated by either calling PEMCO or entering your zip code into the quote tool box.

Once you fill out the form and hit submit to receive a quote, an agent will email you for a follow-up discussion.

PEMCO allows quotes to be saved and retrieved for review for up to thirty days.

PEMCO rates are determined by various factors such as your driver’s record, vehicle usage, place of residence, vehicle type, age, and gender.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

PEMCO offers discounts to individuals that qualify. Discounts are granted if you also have homeowners insurance with PEMCO.

There is also a new customer discount, which individuals are eligible for in the first two years with PEMCO if they have been accident-free and violation-free.

This discount, for up to ten years, converts to a safe driver discount if you remain accident-free.

A unique discount offered by PEMCO is an alternative commute discount. If you only drive to work two days or less a week, you can save up to five percent on your policy.

Lastly, PEMCO grants a discount for multi-cars, security features, good students, and completed defensive driving courses for individuals age 55 and over.

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company Coverage Options

PEMCO coverage includes:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Underinsured motorists
  • Bodily injury and property damage
  • Personal injury protection
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Towing and labor
  • Rental reimbursement

In addition, the company also offers auto accidental death coverage for named insured and spouse ages 21 through 64.

PEMCO also provides auto loan endorsement for vehicles less than three years old. If the unpaid balance of the vehicle exceeds the worth, the difference is covered.

Umbrella policies are also available at PEMCO and cover the insured for additional amounts above their standard policy.

There are certain requirements for obtaining an umbrella policy, and these requirements are explained on the PEMCO site.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for PEMCO Mutual Insurance Company

4.17 (100 reviews)
1
September 6, 2021

meewhoo

Horrible! They make up horrific stories to avoid payment.

I'm appalled by the conduct of the multiple Pemco employees I've been dealing with. It's been 1 year 9 months since I was hit by an uninsured motorist while stopped at a stop sign. The abandoned my car at the repair shop where it was taken apart. The shop was going to put a lein on it so PEMCO (after I contacted them) towed it and abandoned it in my driveway. This was after they insisted it was intact and I explained that if it wasn't my HOA woul...
I'm appalled by the conduct of the multiple Pemco employees I've been dealing with. It's been 1 year 9 months since I was hit by an uninsured motorist while stopped at a stop sign. The abandoned my car at the repair shop where it was taken apart. The shop was going to put a lein on it so PEMCO (after I contacted them) towed it and abandoned it in my driveway. This was after they insisted it was intact and I explained that if it wasn't my HOA would fine me daily. Because my car is rare and there are only 2 compareable vehicles nationwide, they are fighting me tooth and nail over the cost of the claim. The comp cars are for sale for 15k and 14k, their offer to me is about 4k with no explination. They're not only bad insurance agents, they're bad people. Throughout all of this, they invented a story that involved the other driver losing a child/pregnancy in the accident. For that reason they said they weren't going to pay out because in their minds it changed the fault of the accident to have been my own. When I explained that although that's unfortunate, it doesn't change the covereage to my car, they would only repeat that "she lost a child!" over and over with an occational mention that I will be liable and will have to go to court over it at which point I will need to pay damages to her out of pocket. They hung up on me countless times when I disagreed and asked them to explain their reasoning, provide proof for what they were saying, or show where it describes this exclusion in my policy. At some point during a several month period without contact, I learned that they "closed" the claim. I had to explain the criminal nature of their actions to a supervisor before they agreed to continue with the claim. Their lies have included inventing that the other driver had lost a pregnancy in the accident, that my car was already taken apart/totaled before I DROVE IT to the shop, denying statements made to me which I have recorded, and insisting they never got emails I've sent AFTER they've replied to them!!! For anyone considering becoming a customer - BEWARE! The rates are super low at first to draw you in, but they raise them constantly and for no reason at all! You'll only get a year at best for the price they quote you. But none of that matters when they refuse to pay out on a claim. I've only had to deal with them covering the cost of my own car, I can't imagine how much worse it could get paying out-of-pocket for another persons claim if you were actually at fault, but you'll be doing just that because there's no way Pemco is going to pay out!!
1
November 16, 2020

Consumerism

Dishonest company

Dishonest company. They will raise yoir rates with little notifications and for no reason and deduct throguh auto pay. Sneaky and underhanded.
5
October 13, 2020

DeepakT

Great Insurance that fits into your budget

Pemco is great company. It provide insurance within our budget and also gives discounts every year. It also has great customer support
5
January 16, 2020

Happyvalley

I recommend PEMCO

I have have a policy through PEMCO for the last 7 years and always have great customer service. I recommend them for Auto and Homeowners Insurance.
5
October 10, 2019

KFaria

Fantastic!

Great company to work with. I was in a small accident last month and it was so easy to deal with. I would highly recommend them.
5
September 17, 2019

Aaiyahbaby

great

I love PEMCO. I love that I can call and immediately talk to a real, live person who can pronounce my name. I love that I can talk to a real, live person right after that who answers my questions about car and home owner's insurance and treats me like an adult worthy of respect. I have been with them for 7 years, and while I haven't had to file any claims, their customer service for my homeowners insurance has been awesome. So disclaimer: t...
I love PEMCO. I love that I can call and immediately talk to a real, live person who can pronounce my name. I love that I can talk to a real, live person right after that who answers my questions about car and home owner's insurance and treats me like an adult worthy of respect. I have been with them for 7 years, and while I haven't had to file any claims, their customer service for my homeowners insurance has been awesome. So disclaimer: this high rating is just for their customer service, which rocks my socks.
5
March 25, 2019

Ckreis

Hit and run

I had a claim of a hit and run on my vehicle. I did follow the guy home and he ended up being a neighbor that was driving under the influence and with a suspended license. I called PEMCO and they told me to go right into any company I chose and get it fixed. I had to pay $100 for the claim. It was fixed and paid for in one week. I called the police and he was arrested. PEMCO followed up on my claim and 3 months later they refunded my $100. They ...
I had a claim of a hit and run on my vehicle. I did follow the guy home and he ended up being a neighbor that was driving under the influence and with a suspended license. I called PEMCO and they told me to go right into any company I chose and get it fixed. I had to pay $100 for the claim. It was fixed and paid for in one week. I called the police and he was arrested. PEMCO followed up on my claim and 3 months later they refunded my $100. They have great customer service and low rates. My rates did not go up.
2
November 25, 2018

Washstatewoman

Prices increasing, support decreasing

PEMCO has long been an excellent company but that has been changing recently. I do appreciate customer service that is available by phone or email but I dislike that one person says one thing while another person says another thing. I was signed up for auto pay and made a payment by credit card several weeks before the auto pay occurred. I was dinged for doing that, with a $35 charge. The PEMCO support person did not tell me I would be dinged...
PEMCO has long been an excellent company but that has been changing recently. I do appreciate customer service that is available by phone or email but I dislike that one person says one thing while another person says another thing. I was signed up for auto pay and made a payment by credit card several weeks before the auto pay occurred. I was dinged for doing that, with a $35 charge. The PEMCO support person did not tell me I would be dinged. She accepted payment happily. You can also make the payment via their site without a "fail." I complained and asked for a return. I was told "no." Their premiums have continued to go up year after year despite cars aging and driving less and less. I was told it was because of the fires and the the legalization of cannabis in the state of Washington. I'm looking elsewhere.
5
November 20, 2018

vic1234

Great company.

Pemco has the best customer service. My suv was parked in my driveway and it was hit in the middle of the night. It was a hit and run. It was totaled. In two weeks had my check and was completely satisfied with the amount.
4
October 16, 2018

DebbieRaffle

I've looked and this is still the best deal

Excellent customer service and good discounts. I have shopped around nearly every year and I find that my Auto and Home Owner's insurance are the best rates/coverage around. I have every discount applied, good driver, UW alum, multiple policies and this still gives me the best rate. My broker has taken the time to review this with me each year and we were even able to reduce my AUTO policy now that I take the bus to and from work and put ver...
Excellent customer service and good discounts. I have shopped around nearly every year and I find that my Auto and Home Owner's insurance are the best rates/coverage around. I have every discount applied, good driver, UW alum, multiple policies and this still gives me the best rate. My broker has taken the time to review this with me each year and we were even able to reduce my AUTO policy now that I take the bus to and from work and put very few miles on my car. I have been with PEMCO over 20 years and I highly recommend PEMCO
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption