Essentia Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Essentia Insurance Company reviews are found under its parent company, Markel Corp. In 2013, Markel purchased Essentia Insurance Company, which underwrites insurance for Hagerty, which exclusively covers antique, classic, military, and other collectible automobiles. Markel provides auto insurance for classic cars through Hagerty. Markel doesn't currently offer standard auto insurance. The coverage they provide includes classic car insurance, bicycle insurance, yacht insurance, small boat insurance, excess and surplus property insurance — and more.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 8, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 8, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 8, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
1.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel/Essentia Insurance Company

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Essentia Insurance Company has a rating of A with A.M. Best.
  • They provide includes classic car, bicycle, yacht, small boat, excess and surplus property insurance.

Cons

  • Essentia Insurance Company was purchased by Markel in 2013.
  • The company doesn’t currently offer standard auto insurance.

The Bottom Line

Essentia Auto Insurance Review : The Bottom Line

Unless you are shopping for classic car coverage, the odds are good that Markel and Essentia Insurance Company don’t have a policy for you.

Now that we’ve covered Essentia’s relationship with Hagerty classic car insurance, you can get affordable auto insurance quotes for your own personal auto insurance if you enter your ZIP code in our FREE tool below.

[/su_box]

Looking for the Essentia Insurance Company may prove difficult — the company was purchased by Markel in 2013.

Those looking for “Essentia Auto Insurance” will find company by this name, which means people searching for an Essentia Auto Insurance review are actually looking for Essentia Insurance Company. How do they compare to the best companies for auto insurance?

Shortly after its creation it was acquired by Bermuda-based OneBeacon Insurance Group and assigned to its Marine insurance division. Later, in 2012, Essentia Insurance Company was sold to Markel Corp along with Hagerty Insurance.

Today, Essentia focuses mainly on classic car auto insurance and specialty insurance products. Is Hagerty Insurance any good? What is the best collector car insurance? Read on to learn more.

Though Essentia may not be able to meet your auto insurance needs, you can enter your ZIP code into our FREE tool above if you’re looking for the best auto insurance rates in your state.

Is Markel American Insurance Company a Good Choice?

Markel and Essentia Insurance Company Financial Ratings

Because, as noted by Bloomberg, Essentia was never really established as an underwriter before its acquisition, its financial strength lies almost exclusively in that of the parent company.

Markel states that Essentia’s financial ratings are all stable, as evidenced by the chart below:

Essentia Insurance Financial Ratings
Ratings BureauFinancial Rating
A.M. BestA
Moody'sA2
S&PA
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Financial ratings aren’t the only factor to consider when choosing an insurance policy, but they do reflect the likelihood that an insurance company will be able to pay their claims.

Essentia Insurance Company History

Essentia Insurance Company is a property and casualty insurer that started in Florida in 2007. It was quickly acquired by OneBeacon Insurance Group and assigned to its Marine insurance division. Later, in 2012, Essentia was purchased by Markel Corp where it became part of the company’s classic car division.

Markel continues to grow every year. In February of 2020, its operating revenues topped $9.5 billion, with $2.1 billion in payouts to shareholders in 2019.

How is Markel’s online presence?

Markel does have a website, but it is mostly informative in nature. Because it only offers products on a specialty or commercial level and require the use of an agent, there are no online quote options or other interactive functions. Hagerty, however, has a tremendous web presence.

Not only does it have a website where you can manage your policy, but it also has a YouTube channel where you can watch videos of the restoration and driving of classic cars, along with commercials and other video footage. As of this writing, the channel has 1.26 million viewers, so it clearly has an audience that loves the company and its products.

What do Markel and Essentia employees have to say?

Although Essentia does not do business separate from Markel, it does have job postings as part of the parent company’s database. You can find available jobs by visiting Markel’s website and clicking the Contact Us link at the top of the page.

Markel promotes itself as a great place to work with competitive compensation, an impressive list of benefits, and a working environment that encourages employees to think like owners.

Markel American Insurance Company Rates

Essentia, or, again, Markel, does offer auto insurance. Its auto policies only cover classic cars. If you are a classic car collector or auto enthusiast Markel may have an insurance plan for you.

What is Essentia’s availability by state?

We do not have rates available for Markel auto policies. We can, however, provide you with the average rates for full coverage insurance by state.

Classic car insurance can be 40 percent less than standard auto insurance rates. What do standard auto insurance companies offer? In comparison to classic cars, standard policies cover cars that are driven more frequently and therefore pose more risk.

We've collected data to give you an idea of how full vs. minimum auto insurance rates compare for some of the top U.S. companies:

Keep in mind that the rates above are for full coverage, so you may not need that much insurance. The rates above are also averages, which means some people will pay much less and others will pay much more.

Markel doesn't specify in which states it offers coverage. It also does not offer online quoting, so anyone in need of a good classic auto insurance company for classic cars would need to contact Hagerty Insurance Commission, its classic car division, directly to find out if it is available to you and what your rate would be for coverage.

As it doesn't offer basic auto insurance coverage for your average driver, this shouldn't be a problem for most people.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Markel American Insurance Company Discounts Available

Markel Discounts to Ask About

Markel doesn’t specifically list any discounts on the website. If you are looking for possible discounts for your own personal insurance policy, take a look at the discounts listed below:

Auto Insurance Discounts by Company
DiscountsAAAAllstateEsuranceFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualMetLifeNationwideProgressiveSafecoState FarmTravelersUSAA
Adaptive Cruise Controlxxxx
Adaptive Headlightsxxxxx
Anti-lock Brakesxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Anti-Theftxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Claim Freexxxxxxxxxxxxx
Continuous Coveragexxxxxxxx
Daytime Running Lightsxxxxxxxxxxx
Defensive Driverxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Distant Studentxxxxxxxxxx
Driver's Edxxxxxxxxxxxx
Driving Device/Appxxxxxxxxxxxx
Early Signingxxxxxxxxxx
Electronic Stability Controlxxxxxx
Emergency Deploymentx
Engaged Couple
Family Legacyxxxx
Family Planxx
Farm Vehiclexxx
Fast 5x
Federal Employeexxxx
Forward Collision Warningxxxx
Full Paymentxxxxxxxxx
Further Educationxxxxxx
Garaging/Storingxxx
Good Creditxxxx
Good Studentxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Green Vehiclexxxxx
Homeownerxxxxxxxxxxx
Lane Departure Warningxxxx
Life Insurancexx
Low Mileagexxxxxxxxxxxxx
Loyaltyxxxxxx
Marriedxxxxxxxxx
Membership/Groupxxxxxxxx
Militaryxxxxxxxxx
Military Garagingx
Multiple Driversx
Multiple Policiesxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Multiple Vehiclesxxxxxxxxxxxx
New Addressx
New Customer/New Planxx
New Graduatex
Newer Vehiclexxxxxxxxxxxx
Newly Licensedx
Newlywedsx
Non-Smoker/Non-Drinker
Occasional Operatorx
Occupationxxxxxxxxx
On Time Paymentsxx
Online Shopperxx
Paperless Documentsxxxxx
Paperless/Auto Billingxxxxxxxxxxx
Passive Restraintxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Recent Retireesx
Renterxx
Roadside Assistancex
Safe Driverxxxxxxxxxxxx
Seat Belt Usex
Senior Driverxxxxx
Stable Residencexxx
Students & Alumnixxxxx
Switching Providerxxxxx
Utility Vehiclexxx
Vehicle Recoveryxxxxxxxxxxxxx
VIN Etchingxxxxxxxxx
Volunteer
Young Driverxxxx
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Companies can and do update their car insurance discounts regularly, so be sure to check with your insurance company to find out if it has any discounts available that you aren’t already using on your policy.

You can also enter your ZIP code to find auto insurance discounts available in your area

What programs are available from Markel?

Essentia is part of the Markel family of insurance companies. At this time there are no specific programs listed on the Markel website for Essentia or any other insurance companies under their umbrella.

Many insurance companies offer programs designed to save you money, such as accident forgiveness programs and usage-based insurance programs. If you are interested in taking advantage of something like this, reach out to your insurance company to find out what programs it offers.

Markel American Insurance Company Coverage Options

Markel Auto Insurance Coverages Offered

Markel only offers specialty policies, so it offers classic car auto insurance. There is no indication of being able to buy a standard auto policy from Markel. According to the website, it offers the following insurance coverages:

  • Classic car insurance
  • Bicycle insurance
  • Yacht insurance
  • Small boat insurance
  • Snowmobile insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Marine tradesman insurance
  • Multi-family housing insurance
  • Manufactured home insurance
  • Excess and surplus property insurance

Essentia was sold to Markel as a collector car and boat business that the company writes through Hagerty Insurance Agency. The only auto insurance specifically mentioned is coverage for classic cars, so if you are a classic car collector it might be worth your time to reach out to Hagerty for a quote.

What are Markel’s bundling options?

Markel probably offers the ability to bundle multiple policies together for a discount, but nothing is specified on their website.

Essentia Insurance Company has been brought into the Markel product line, which means it will only cover specialty policies like the ones mentioned above. Whether or not you can bundle classic car coverage through Essentia with other policies such as small boat policies or bicycle insurance will depend on how coverage is set up at Markel.

If you are interested in this option you can speak to your Hagerty agent about possibly bundling your coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

How are Essentia and Hagerty related?

Essentia is a collector car and boat insurer that writes coverage through Hagerty Insurance Agency. If you are looking to sign up for an Essentia Insurance Company policy, you will need to reach out to Hagerty directly.

What is a Hagerty agent’s commission?

The commission earned by Hagerty agents isn’t readily available to us, so if you have questions about how much an agent is earning to place your policy with Hagerty, Essentia Insurance, or other Markel companies, you will need to ask them before purchasing a policy.

What is Hagerty Insurance’s Demotech rating?

A search of the Demotech rating site does not return any information on Hagerty. If you need to know a specific rating for Hagerty it would be best to reach out to a Hagerty agent.

How do I pay my Essentia Insurance bill?

Customers of Essentia Insurance Company can make a payment by using the Hagerty online system. You will need your username and password. If you have questions about how to get set up in their system, reach out to your Hagerty agent for assistance.

What is the Essentia Insurance company contact address?

Essentia’s current address is the Markel Headquarters, listed below:

Markel
4521 Highwoods Parkway
Glen Allen, VA 23060

How do Essentia, Hagerty, and other company reviews compare with Grundy classic car insurance reviews?

All of these companies have both good and bad reviews. Grundy offers collector car insurance, so you may want to research them further if you are looking to possibly insure a collector vehicle.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Markel American Insurance Company

1.88 (16 reviews)
1
November 25, 2020

cruz5759

Terrible Experience; Deceptive Trade Practices; Stay Away

I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard ...
I own a 2005 Sea Ray. I have an insurance policy through the issuing company Markel American Insurance Company. About two months ago, saltwater got into the engine in the boat and caused it to seize up and stop functioning. The main reason that I got insurance through this company is because they advertise that their policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. Even on the website, there is an example: "Mechanical Breakdown Inboard cylinder engine. Evidence of water intrusion in 2 cylinders. This engine is raw-water cooled. Saltwater circulating through the engine caused corrosion creating holes in the valve guide bores. A close up below of the corrosion: If your policy excludes machinery breakdown chances are you could be paying for a new engine out of your own pocket. Unlike most, our policy does not have mechanical breakdown exclusion. " At this point, the insurance company has sent us a formal letter denying our claim and refusing to pay anything. They first tried to say that the damage was caused by faulty manifolds and risers and that they need to be replaced every 5-6 years and that they would be denying our claim. They never even bothered to ask if we had replaced them recently. We in fact had replaced them about 3 years ago and we sent them a document showing this. Then they said they would reexamine the case, but after a while, they still decided to deny our claim and basically cited "corrosion" as the reason, even though in their advertising in the example above, it clearly shows that this is something they will cover. The way they advertise their coverage on the website clearly suggests that our case is something they would cover. However they are refusing to do so and to me this is a plain case of deceptive trade practices and false advertising. Also, the senior claims examiner failed to return multiple calls and messages from both myself as well as my mechanic. Terrible experience with this company. I would advise to stay away from them and to not trust their advertising.
1
June 10, 2020

HonestReviewer1977

SCAMMERS MONEY HUNGRY PIGS

STAY AWAY. They only want your money and premiums increases every year for no reason. Difficult to receive money from this scamming company after an accident.
1
March 30, 2020

Stuartrich

Horrible experience with claim

Wast of money. Price of insurance was not bad but once u make a claim they will try to make u feel like a liar and do anything they can to not pay. Horrible experience
2
September 25, 2019

STststs

Not for me.

Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure w...
Had motorcycle insurance with Markel for the past year. When renewal came up, I was shocked, premium went up 27%, no accidents, claims or tickets, riding about 3k miles a year. Are they kidding, how can they stay in business, I could easily stay with them if the rates would be the same but...went with another insurance, way, way cheaper and same limits. I guess Markel does NOT want my $$$ and that's OK, there are hundreds of companies to insure with. So, maybe you're OK with Markel, just watch your premium go through the roof when renewal comes up.
5
January 9, 2019

James2220

Great

Great insurance gets to you as soon as you need help. Also has great insurance deals for the policies and great pricing.
1
September 26, 2018

Nikkidd

I would not expect them to cover you without a fight

Great price compared to Progressive, Geico, and many others, pretty easy application on line, bad at paying claims and making you feel like a liar. I am going on 40 days still waiting to see if my claim is going to be accepted or denied and this is after they have interviewed me and witnesses and companies not even involved.
4.5
May 29, 2017

okaywilldo

Yep Yepp Yepppppppppppppp

It was great! I had a lot of time reviewing the details about this company. It was very very fun. Thanks a lot everyone!
4
January 12, 2017

ekaratzas

Pain free motorcycle coverage

Markel has been easy to work with and they include some good benefits including 24-hr roadside assistance and some decent discounts at certain dealerships.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State