Fremont Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Exclusive to Michigan, Fremont auto insurance (review below) also sells other personal lines of coverage, including boat, home, life, renters, and umbrella policies. Policies are sold through independent agents.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Fremont Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • The company’s roots go back to 1875 and the Patrons Mutual Fire Insurance Company
  • Fremont Insurance offers a solid web portal for its customers but doesn’t offer online quotes

Cons

  • According to the BBB website, the B- rating is because of a failure to respond to one complaint that was filed against the company.
  • Fremont Insurance Company only provides insurance to Michigan residents

The Bottom Line

When it comes to car insurance, Fremont Insurance offers a popular product only available in Michigan.

The primary downside of having a policy through Fremont Insurance is that you are required to go through an agent to get a quote or sign up for a policy. This makes it difficult to compare quotes with other policies before making a purchase.

In 1875 members of Pomona Grange No. 11 had gathered to discuss their farming interests and decided that farm insurance was too expensive. They thought they could do better for themselves, so they formed the Patrons Mutual Fire Insurance Company to insure their own property.

In 1932 the company expanded beyond Newaygo to include the entire state of Michigan. This is when the name changed to Fremont Mutual Insurance Company.

In 1952, the company decided to expand past farm fire insurance to include dwellings, commercial, and wind insurance.

In 2004 the company was converted from a mutual company to a stock company, changing the name from Fremont Mutual to Fremont Insurance Company.

In 2011, the company merged with its parent company to form Fremont Michigan InsuraCorp, Inc. Only after becoming part of its parent corporation did Fremont begin offering personal auto insurance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Fremont Insurance Company Discounts Available

According to its website, Fremont offers the following discounts for auto insurance:

  • Multi-Car
  • Multi-Policy
  • Insurance Score
  • Claims Free
  • Accident-Free
  • Violation Free
  • Good Students
  • Low Mileage
  • Groups

New discounts become available all the time.

Fremont Insurance Company Coverage Options

According to its website, Fremont Insurance offers the following personal insurance options:

  • Homeowners
  • Personal Auto
  • Mobile Homeowners
  • Renters and Rentals
  • Marine
  • Farmowners and Country Estates

If you choose to purchase a policy from Fremont Insurance you can talk to your agent about these and any other coverages they may be able to provide you.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Fremont Insurance Company

3.85 (31 reviews)
5
October 20, 2021

InSuReNcE

Totally Satisfied!

I can’t say enough good things about this insurance company. We had to file a claim and all my concerns were addressed efficiently and professionally. My claim agent walked me through the whole process with ease and clarity. I recommend this insurance company to anyone.
2
October 11, 2020

hajivinnie2

No sympathy for seniors.

Not good. I was promised twice that my payment would be reduced to about half of what I pay now. Since I am a senior citizen with limited income this was good news for me. We are now going into the third month that this company is not honoring what I was told would happen.
5
August 19, 2019

multi1

Low auto insurance rates

We were pleased with this company from the beginning because the auto insurance rates were a lot cheaper than what we were paying.
5
October 15, 2018

LMSERVIS

A++ IN MY BOOK

VERY COMPETITIVE RATES. EASE OF DOING BUSINESS WITH THEM. GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE. GOOD REPUTATION.
4
August 24, 2018

Pandachick03

Markus

They insure my cars for my entire family. they are easy to reach by phone and take care is claims promptly
4
August 14, 2018

JMT

Fremont Insurance

Fremont is a Michigan based insurance that is reliable and low cost. Through my local insurance agent I have had excellent service and the few claims I have requested have gone through the system smoothly. As most companies do, Fremont has raised some of their rates in the past couple of years & that is a bit disheartening. If it get's too expensive I'll have to move on, as there are a lot of companies that are comparable.
5
July 17, 2018

SGJack

Great company all around

Fremont is a smaller Michigan based insurance company that clearly treats its customers better than most. We have been with them for over 10 years with both homeowners and auto coverage. They offer excellent discounts for a variety of reasons; senior, no at-fault claims, driving record, credit score, multi-policy, etc. On top of that, once a claim is experienced, they are quick to respond and truly exhibit a caring attitude. My vehicle was to...
Fremont is a smaller Michigan based insurance company that clearly treats its customers better than most. We have been with them for over 10 years with both homeowners and auto coverage. They offer excellent discounts for a variety of reasons; senior, no at-fault claims, driving record, credit score, multi-policy, etc. On top of that, once a claim is experienced, they are quick to respond and truly exhibit a caring attitude. My vehicle was totaled in a crash I was not responsible for. I received a couple follow-up calls that same evening after hours, just to update me on the claim progress; with additional calls back throughout the process. Within only a few days there was a check in my mailbox for a very fair value of the vehicle and I was able to replace it with little issues. Being insured by Fremont means I don't even need to explore the possibility of changing companies. One less headache in my life.
5
May 26, 2018

babsnake

Good company

Good pricing, never had a claim yet, no problems with billing and always send out the policy out on time.
5
April 18, 2018

Mantle

Great company

Great company. Rates are low and customer service is great. Agent explained all of the coverage and beat my other carriers price
4
February 17, 2018

gooey

great company

inexpensive insurance that allows you to bundle your total cars and home for a discount. they also allow monthly payments instead of every 6 months that makes payments easier. they aslo do automatic payments.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption