Hagerty Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Got a classic car? Hagerty auto insurance specializes in protection for classic and collector cars by providing comprehensive, collision, and liability coverage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 26, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 26, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.0
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Hagerty Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

This Hagerty auto insurance review will focus on the classic car insurance provider, Hagerty Insurance located in Traverse City, MI. Hagerty offers insurance products for classic cars and collector cars. They do not offer insurance for day-to-day automobiles.

Hagerty originated in January 1991. Hagerty specializes in protection for unique vehicles. Since these cars are not intended for daily driving usage, the premiums are often cheaper than regular car insurance coverage.

 

Is Hagerty a Good Choice?

What is Hagerty Insurance’s Contact Information?

141 River’s Edge Drive
#200
Traverse City, Mi.
49684-1303
Phone:
800.922.4050
Fax:
231.941.8227
https://www.hagerty.com

Who Is The Hagerty Insurance Company?

The Hagerty Insurance Agency offers comprehensive, collision and liability coverage; however, they only offer classic car insurance. Hagerty currently serves clients in the United States and provides international service in Canada and the United Kingdom.

Are you a classic boat owner? Hagerty also offers specialty insurance services to clients with classic boats. Agent services can be accessed via their website at any time.

They also offer membership in what they call the Hagerty Drivers Club, which offers exclusive discounts, access to exclusive member events, and more.

What Do Hagerty Insurance Reviews Say?

Hagerty Insurance has been accredited with the Better Business Bureau since December of 1997. The current rating with the BBB is an A+. This is the highest possible rating available from the Better Business Bureau.

In the last 3 years, 3 complaints were filed with the BBB against this collector car insurance company.

All of these successfully resolved by the guidelines of the Better Business Bureau.

 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Hagerty Coverage Options

What Do Hagerty Insurance Services Include?

Hagerty is a classic car insurance provider that gives you the ability to drive your collector vehicle with no fixed mileage restriction. They also have customized options based on your particular needs. This includes having multiple collector vehicles. It also includes vehicle restoration or construction.

Hagerty’s full coverage insurance policy includes comprehensive, collision, and liability.

In addition, the following services are offered for the classic car enthusiast:

  • Instant new purchase coverage gives you 30 days of coverage for up to $50,000 in value for your existing Hagerty classic car insurance policy. This only applies if you have a current insurance policy with the company, though.
  • Auto show medical reimbursement gives up to $10,000 in medical payments for clients and family members that are injured while attending an auto show or car-related function where you’ve taken an insured vehicle.
  • Motorcycle safety equipment coverage features up to $1,000 of coverage for safety apparel including leather pants, gloves, jackets, and helmets.
  • Spare parts coverage includes $750 of comprehensive coverage for spare parts needed. This is in addition to parts needed as a result of a collision. If more than $750 is needed, the coverage limit can be raised for an additional premium. If you’re interested in classic vehicle restoration, this can come in handy.
  • Any personal tools that are used to maintain or restore collector vehicles are eligible for coverage with your classic car insurance policy. That includes tool boxes, storage cabinets, and accessories.

What Is Hagerty Insurance Coverage?

Hagerty is not your average auto insurance carrier and they even go above and beyond when providing collector car insurance. They will cover historic items that are linked to the vehicle. More information, or a complete description, on what items qualify for this coverage can be learned by contacting a Hagerty insurance agent.

Other property that may be considered includes farm implements, militaria, diner memorabilia such as soda shop signs, and barber shop memorabilia such as barber poles or signs.

Hagerty offers a special type of insurance for business use of your classic or collector car. This could be for photo shoots, movies, television commercials, small business promotions, or weddings.

The coverage can be used for an event lasting up to 72 hours. The insurance cost is 20 percent of the vehicle’s annual premium.

If you have a vehicle under construction, coverage is available for those as well. The value of the car will be raised 10 percent every quarter to a maximum of $25,000 per year. Having an under construction policy also offers up to $750 in coverage for your automotive tools.

Coverage is also available for traveling collectors. This includes $10,000 in accidental death coverage. There is access to a toll-free number for convenient towing that is dedicated to the needs and care of collector vehicles.

A traveling collector is eligible for up to $1,500 towards the use of a rental vehicle, repayment of lost event expenses and lodging required during repairs from a covered accident.

Traveling collector insurance also covers $750 for spare parts, $750 for tools and $250 for personal effects.

 

For customers who collect several vehicles, Hagerty offers a program called private client services. This program will automatically increase the value of the collection by 2 percent every quarter.

Hagerty offers specialized coverage if you are taking your car overseas. The insurance will cover the shipping as well as cover the vehicle while it is out of the country.

This includes transportation to and from the track, in storage, or during the pace laps. For all coverage types, Hagerty allows you to choose your own repair shop. They will also allow you to do the repairs yourself.

Classic car insurance is available for businesses that have collector cars on their property. This includes dealerships, restorers, builders, museums, storage facilities, events, and car clubs.

Hagerty offers an optional guaranteed flatbed truck roadside assistance program, too, which is great for those who like to partake in occasional pleasure driving of their collection instead of relegating it to a garage. Enrolling in this program also gives you the benefit of becoming a member of their classic car club, the historic vehicle association, giving you access to a community of collectors like yourself.

Access to the Hagerty Drivers Club includes extra benefits and services as well as a subscription to Hagerty magazine. It’s clear to see that this company provides so much more than just classic auto insurance.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Hagerty

4.00 (15 reviews)
1
January 3, 2022

Awetz

BE AWARE

On october 23,2021 i had a vehicle stolen that i had insured through hagerty since then they have refused to pay out claim after requesting a Substantial ammount of information from me as i provided more then enough info they have recorded me 2 times made me tell them about all my finacials and went around to all my neighbors and gave out personal information to them and made me look like a bad guy also asking me information about when i purchase...
On october 23,2021 i had a vehicle stolen that i had insured through hagerty since then they have refused to pay out claim after requesting a Substantial ammount of information from me as i provided more then enough info they have recorded me 2 times made me tell them about all my finacials and went around to all my neighbors and gave out personal information to them and made me look like a bad guy also asking me information about when i purchased the vehical and who i bought it from which is totally Irrelevant to the Situation and now are requesting phone records which is bizzare being that if they didnt belive me from the start what is a phone number going to tell them,I am a business owner my self and would never ever treat my customers like this ,it wasnt like i had a choice to have insurance and seems like hagerty is the only ones that handle classic car insurance and at the end of the day i paid them to protect my vehical and they have treated me like a criminal and i do not think this is fair no matter what the situation is at the end of the day my car was stolen and i paid them to protect it its not like i had control of my car getting took i mean obviously if i could have controlled it it would have never happend . I think it is Fraudulent to have a customer pay for protection and when it comes down to paying they dont have any intention of paying and are requesting Substantial ammounts of information they have also badgerd people about it that have no control over what happend to the point where they are offended which no one should ever have to feel that way
5
April 20, 2020

mkc211

Couldn’t be easier and saved big.

Was very easy to insure a classic VW lethally less than 15 minutes and saved hundreds of dollars. Filled out online form in seven minutes, got on the phone with [REDACTED NAME] that took another 5 minutes. Saved from a Commerce Insurance now MapFre policy that was way overcharging me.
5
January 31, 2020

jjdigby

The best ever

Awesome saved me a lot of money. I would Highly recommend hagerty insurance to anyone with a classic car
5
August 18, 2019

draftybarn

Great insurance for my classic car

Excellent service, great pricing, attention to detail and roadside service. The best choice for classic cars.
5
March 29, 2019

Brandon111

Best classic car insurance company

The company is very reasonable and has very good customer service. Never had any kind of issue. Again best insurance company ever
5
March 21, 2019

Yfz450chris

Say yes to their Classic car insurance coverage!

I purchased classic car insurance from this place. You do have to fill out a form for review by their team. It seems like you dont know what to expect. However they contact you by the next business day with all of your options. My insurance is very affordable and worth what I pay. Even though I drive my classic very few miles. It is by far, worth knowing my pride and weekend joy is covered! I highly highly recommend these guys. They are absolute...
I purchased classic car insurance from this place. You do have to fill out a form for review by their team. It seems like you dont know what to expect. However they contact you by the next business day with all of your options. My insurance is very affordable and worth what I pay. Even though I drive my classic very few miles. It is by far, worth knowing my pride and weekend joy is covered! I highly highly recommend these guys. They are absolutely professional and get the job done by far!
1
March 2, 2019

Richiecuz

Outrageous renewal quote

My premium went from $492 with a $0 deductible $13,000 worth of coverage to after 4 calls $705 with a $1500 deductible $15,000 worth of coverage all because I was honest and told them I purchased 22" wheels for my Impala SS. Could have lied and said nope still has the stock wheels since they sit right along side my vehicle in my Locked garage inside my Gated community. I even explained I don't care to cover the wheels I want my Impala covered. I ...
My premium went from $492 with a $0 deductible $13,000 worth of coverage to after 4 calls $705 with a $1500 deductible $15,000 worth of coverage all because I was honest and told them I purchased 22" wheels for my Impala SS. Could have lied and said nope still has the stock wheels since they sit right along side my vehicle in my Locked garage inside my Gated community. I even explained I don't care to cover the wheels I want my Impala covered. I was advised thats not a choice for me now and because I was honest I show intent to want bigger wheels so there was nothing I could do. Outrageousness is the best word I can use. People check out American Modern, American Collectors, Gundy, Safeco or JC Taylor. Hagerty is not the only company out there. Don't let them bully you into higher insurance. Thanks for reading.
4
August 23, 2018

Angie2018

Great classic car insurance

One of the few insurance companies that will actually insure my DeLorean. They're a pretty good insurance company.
5
August 23, 2018

buj999

Good company

I've had nothing but great service with Hagerty. The agent was polite and very helpful. She explained everything precisely and completely. My past experience with them has been excellent, also.
5
May 25, 2018

Redbaron2

Classic and collector vehicle insurance for the regular guy.

This is a great insurance company for classic and collector vehicles! They have very reasonable rates.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption