Country Financial Auto Insurance Review (2024)

The average Country Financial customer pays about $149 a month for full coverage and $43 for minimum insurance. Country car insurance is usually affordable, and the company receives few complaints.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024Fact Checked

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 26, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Country Financial

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$150

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Low rates for young drivers
  • Excellent customer service ratings
  • Offers a few hard-to-find insurance options, like glass deductible modification and portable electronics and media coverage

Cons

  • Limited insurance options
  • Not available in every state
  • The mobile app is not highly rated

Final Verdict: Review of Country Financial

Founded in 1925 selling fire and lightning insurance, Country Financial has since expanded into a variety of other insurance types. Today, Country car insurance is highly-rated and usually affordable.

Unfortunately, Country Financial is only available in some states. If you happen to live in one of the states where Country Financial sells insurance, it might be your cheapest option for car insurance. Country Financial typically offers affordable rates for all demographics but is especially low for young drivers.

However, Country Financial doesn’t have as many coverage options as other companies, but it makes up for it with a long list of unique car insurance discounts. Country Financial also receives fewer complaints than many of its competitors.

Read on for a full Country Financial insurance review and learn more about how it might fit your car insurance needs best. Then, compare quotes to find the best rates possible.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Country Financial usually has affordable rates, especially for young, inexperienced drivers
  • While it’s a highly-rated insurance company, Country Financial is only available in 19 states
  • A.M. Best rates Country Financial’s financial strength with an A+, and the company typically receives few customer complaints
[/su_box] Founded in 1925 selling fire and lightning insurance, Country Financial has since expanded into a variety of other insurance types. Today, Country car insurance is highly-rated and usually affordable. Unfortunately, Country Financial is only available in some states. If you happen to live in one of the states where Country Financial sells insurance, it might be your cheapest option for car insurance. Country Financial typically offers affordable rates for all demographics but is especially low for young drivers. However, Country Financial doesn’t have as many coverage options as other companies, but it makes up for it with a long list of unique car insurance discounts. Country Financial also receives fewer complaints than many of its competitors. Read on for a full Country Financial insurance review and learn more about how it might fit your car insurance needs best. Then, compare quotes to find the best rates possible.

What You Should Know About Country Financial

Generally speaking, Country Financial is considered a good insurance company. One of the best ways to decide if a company is right for you is to look at third-party ratings.

For example, Country Financial’s A.M. Best rating is an A+, which means it has the financial strength to pay claims.

Country Financial also receives a solid score from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), which ranks companies on how many complaints they receive. The national average is 1.0 — anything lower means the company receives fewer complaints. Country Financial insurance complaints rate 0.63, meaning it has nearly half the number of complaints as other companies.

Country Financial Life Insurance Company Overview Table
Key InfoCompany Specifics
Year Founded1925
Current ExecutiveCEO - Jim Jacobs
Number of Employees3,868
Total Sales / Total Assets$15,025,000 / $36,329,000
HQ Address1701 N. Towanda Ave.
Bloomington, IL 61701-2057
Phone Number1-866-268-6879
Company Websitewww.countryfinancial.com
Premiums Written -Individual Life$2,506,391
Financial Standing$2,100,000
Best ForTerm & Whole Life Insurance

Finally, J.D. Power collects data on customer satisfaction and gives companies a score of 1000. The national average for companies is 839 — Country Financial scored 850.

Is Country Financial car insurance expensive?

Country Financial’s rates tend to be less expensive than other companies, with the average full coverage policy costing $149 a month and minimum insurance $43 per month.

Of course, the rates you see will depend on a variety of factors unique to you. Country Financial does fairly well with most demographics, but rates are especially low for car insurance for drivers under 25.

How do you make Country Financial payments?

Like many other insurance companies, there are several ways to pay for Country Financial policies. You can make payments on the mobile app or through the website. You can also call the customer service phone number or speak with a local agent.

How do you make Country Financial claims?

Like making payments, filing a car insurance claim with Country Financial is easy. Most customers prefer to use the website or mobile app, but you can also call the Country preferred insurance claims phone number. Whichever option you choose, you should take pictures of any damage done to your car. It would also help to start your claim as soon as possible.

Country Financial Insurance Coverage Options

There are two main types of insurance needs — minimum and full coverage. Minimum insurance refers to the least amount of coverage you can buy and still be legally able to drive or register a car. Full coverage offers better protection for your vehicle but costs much more. Full coverage is never required by law, but you might need it if you have a car loan or lease.

Country Financial sells everything you need to meet these needs, including the following insurance types.

Country Financial Auto Insurance Coverage Options
CoverageDescription
Collision CoveragePays for damage to your car resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
Comprehensive CoverageCovers damage to your car caused by events other than collisions, such as theft, fire, or vandalism.
Emergency Roadside AssistanceOffers help for roadside issues like flat tires, dead batteries, or towing needs.
Liability CoverageProtects you if you're responsible for causing injury to others or damage to their property.
Medical Payments (MedPay)Covers medical expenses for you and your passengers in the event of an accident.
Personal Effects CoverageProvides reimbursement for personal items in your car that are damaged or stolen.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)Pays for medical expenses, lost wages, and other expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of who's at fault.
Safety Glass CoverageCovers the cost of repairing or replacing damaged safety glass, such as windshields.
The Keeper® - New Car CoverageProvides replacement of a totaled new car with a brand-new model, not just the depreciated value.
Umbrella InsuranceOffers additional liability coverage beyond what your auto policy covers, for extra protection.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UI/UIM)Protects you if you're in an accident with someone who doesn't have sufficient insurance.
Vehicle Rental and Trip InterruptionCovers the cost of a rental car and possibly trip interruption expenses during repairs.

These are the basic coverage options you can find at most insurance companies. If you’re interested in more options to customize your coverage, Country Financial has a few choices. However, you might need to look elsewhere if an extensive list of add-ons is important to you.

What add-ons does Country Financial sell?

Country auto insurance has a few customization options, but you’ll find more choices at other companies. However, there are still a few valuable choices to pick from.

  • The Keeper. Country Financial will pay for a brand-new car of the same make and model rather than reimburse you for your vehicle’s current value. Only cars four years old or younger are eligible for this coverage.
  • Roadside assistance. Country Financial roadside assistance will come to the rescue when you’re stranded on the side of the road or locked yourself out. This add-on covers up to $100 for fuel delivery, towing, basic repairs, and locksmith services.
  • Trip interruption. If you get into an accident more than 100 miles from home, Country Financial will reimburse you up to $800 for a rental car, lodging, and meals.
  • Personal effects. Country Financial covers up to $800 of personal items if they are stolen or damaged in a claim.
  • Safety glass. This add-on allows you to skip your comprehensive deductible if your windshield, windows, or headlight covers need to be repaired.

Availability of these add-ons varies by state, so check with a representative before you sign up for them. Additionally, you should only buy what you need — add-ons can significantly increase your rates.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Country Financial Insurance Rates Breakdown

Country insurance quotes are often some of the cheapest on the market, with only a few companies offering lower average rates. In particular, young drivers can find affordable coverage with Country Financial.

Insurance companies look at a variety of factors when determining how much to charge for coverage. Factors that affect car insurance rates vary by company but typically include your age, gender, location, driving record, credit score, and the make and model of your car.

While insurance companies look at the same factors, they emphasize each one differently. Check below to see how Country Financial compares to other companies for various demographics.

Country Financial vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Age and Gender
Insurance CompanyFemale (16)Male (16)Female (20)Male (20)Female (30)Male (30)Female (40)Male (40)Female (50)Male (50)
Allstate$608$638$410$430$190$195$180$185$170$175
American Family$414$509$280$290$160$165$150$155$140$145
Country Financial$350$360$240$250$130$135$120$125$110$115
Farmers$810$773$450$470$230$235$220$225$210$215
Geico$298$312$220$230$120$125$110$115$100$105
Liberty Mutual$723$785$440$460$220$225$210$215$200$205
Nationwide$411$476$300$310$150$155$140$145$130$135
Progressive$801$814$420$440$210$215$200$205$190$195
State Farm$311$349$230$240$140$145$130$135$120$125
Travelers$719$910$430$450$210$215$200$205$190$195

As you can see, Country Financial often offers the lowest rates, regardless of your situation. However, it’s still important to compare quotes with as many companies as possible since there’s no way of knowing who has the lowest rates for you without a personalized price.

Country Financial Discounts Available

Country Financial doesn’t offer the longest list of insurance options, but it does much better with its discounts. Companies offer discounts to their customers to help them save money, and it’s important to find a company with several options for you to take advantage of. Country Financial offers the following discounts:

Country Financial Auto Insurance Discounts
DiscountPercentageDescription
Anti-Theft10%Vehicles with theft-prevention devices qualify for this discount.
Defensive Driver5%Awarded to drivers who complete an approved defensive driving course.
Driver's Ed10%Given for completing a driver's education course.
Early Signing10%Available when signing a new policy before the current one expires.
Engaged Couple10%Offered to couples soon to be married.
Family Plan25%Applies to families insuring multiple members together.
Good Student25%For students maintaining good grades.
Homeowner12%Homeowners receive this discount on their insurance.
Multiple Policies25%Applies when holding multiple insurance policies with the same insurer.
Multiple Vehicles15%For insuring more than one vehicle through the same company.
Newer Vehicle10%Applies to newer model vehicles.
Occupation10%Certain professions are eligible for this discount.
Young Driver10%Tailored for young drivers meeting specific qualifications.

While some of Country Financial’s discounts are relatively common, it offers a few that are hard to find elsewhere.

How Country Financial Ranks Among Providers

Compared to other major companies, Country Financial usually offers lower rates. Country Financial’s full coverage rates are 29% cheaper than the average, while its minimum coverage rates can be up to 33% cheaper.

Check below to see how Country Financial compares to some of its largest competitors.

Country Financial vs. Competitors: Full Coverage Auto Insurance Average Rates
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Country Financial$133
Farmers$139
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
USAA$59
U.S. Average$119

As you can see, only State Farm auto insurance has lower average rates than Country Financial. However, these are only averages — you might see different rates when your unique situation is accounted for.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Country Financial a good insurance company?

Country Financial is generally considered a good insurance company. Country Financial complaints are lower than other major companies, and it offers a long list of unique discounts. Auto insurance rates also tend to be lower with Country Financial.

Who owns Country Financial?

Country Financial is a subsidiary of the Illinois Agricultural Association, which is a bank in Illinois.

Is Country Mutual the same as Country Financial?

Country Mutual and Country Financial are the same company, with the mutual operating under Country Financial. Regardless of which you buy from, Country companies’ insurance ratings are excellent.

Which states does Country Financial sell insurance in?

Country Financial operates in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Washington, and Wisconsin.

What is Country Financial Auto Insurance?

Country Financial Auto Insurance is a type of insurance policy offered by Country Financial, a well-established insurance company. It provides coverage for automobiles and protects policyholders against financial losses in the event of accidents, theft, or damage to their vehicles.

What types of coverage does Country Financial Auto Insurance offer?

Country Financial offers various coverage options for auto insurance, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage, and rental car reimbursement. These coverages can be customized to meet individual needs and budget.

How can I get a quote for Country Financial Auto Insurance?

To get a quote for Country Financial Auto Insurance, you can visit their official website or contact their customer service directly. They will ask you a series of questions about your vehicle, driving history, and other relevant information to provide you with an accurate quote.

How does Country Financial determine auto insurance premiums?

Country Financial considers several factors when determining auto insurance premiums. These factors may include your driving record, the make and model of your vehicle, your age and gender, your location, the purpose of your vehicle, and the desired coverage options. By assessing these variables, they calculate the level of risk associated with insuring you and establish the premium accordingly.

What is Country Financial’s claims process for auto insurance?

In the event of an accident or damage to your vehicle, you can initiate a claim with Country Financial by contacting their claims department. They will guide you through the process and provide the necessary forms to report the incident. It’s important to provide all relevant information, including any supporting documentation or evidence, to ensure a smooth claims process.

How are customer reviews for Country Financial Auto Insurance?

Customer reviews for Country Financial Auto Insurance can vary. It is advisable to research and read reviews from multiple sources, including independent review websites and consumer feedback platforms. This will give you a more comprehensive understanding of other customers’ experiences with the company and their auto insurance services.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management degree with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Au...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Country Financial

4.12 (442 reviews)
5
January 16, 2021

Mjaw87

Great company

I have always had a great experience with this company I have had the same agent since I got my own policy and have been with him ever since
5
November 25, 2020

Dogs2015

Great company

Great company and always available to help quickly with any questions or issues. Highly recommended.
5
October 18, 2020

mamdata

Country Financial Is There When You Need Them.

Great company. I have never had an issue with them on my auto or home insurance. I once had to have my van towed and they immediately reimbursed me within two weeks of the towing. I like that fact that they include towing on the car insurance coverage.
1
August 25, 2020

Shelbyray26

Do not go with Country!!

I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been unco...
I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been uncovered for almost 3 months. The worst part is nobody had informed me my policy was cancelled at any point in time. Because of this lapse in coverage due to their error I had CPI added onto my loan. Once the policy was reinstated, I noticed a second vehicle (not mine) and a renter’s insurance policy (not mine) and they let me know after removing these my payments would increase almost $100 from what I was originally paying because of their error. The communication is HORRIBLE, and they do not listen to customers frustrations whatsoever. Rates are incredibly high, and I will never insure with them EVER again. They admitted their fault but did not do much to make the situation better or make it right. Very disappointed.
4
February 23, 2020

Jenczap

Check out Country Financial

My agent and his office has been a huge help over the last many years. From changing cars to going from homeowners to renters...they have made everything so easy to understand.
5
February 4, 2020

Tammi1982

Country Financial is awesome

Country Financial is an awesome insurance company. Filed a claim with them 2016 for a car accident I was in and they were on top of everything. Whatever questions my fiance and I had they answered. They also helped replace my children's carseats. I would highly recommend them.
5
February 3, 2020

Burtondr

My Country Financial Review

I am happy with Country Financial. They have always helped when needed. No rate increases. Looking time customer.
5
January 30, 2020

Stotta

Great Insurance

Country has been an amazing insurance company and very personal which I love. I know my agent and could chat with him in the store if I ran into him!
1
January 28, 2020

NinaDon1010

DONT GO WITH COUNTRY

In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration off...
In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration offices. I mean NOTHING. Unless, you call and email and reach out. They feel that if sending a vague letter is sufficient. It truly made me realize that this company is out for themselves and doesn’t see that their lack of reaching out and communication any information hurts their customers. We pay insurance to get updated and be on the better side of any issues. Instead we are left in the dark unless we reach out. We just learned this past month, we are held liable for all any open claims… and they allowed a settlement to happen without getting any 2nd statements or updates from/for us, the customer. The claim agent stated to us that having two open claims is against us…. How is being hit while at a stop light our fault if the other insurance company is denying any fault due to reasons unknown. Isn’t that part of your job to fight for the cause and for your customer? How is having an open claim against us? It was a true shock to realize how they process information and hold it against you in the end. I asked for letter of explanation on a claim and a supervisor. A SUPERVISOR, send me the timeline of when we opened a claim….showing NOTHING to do with the timeline of the claims agent messing up communication and why they settled… It was baffling. I have come to realize through speaking with out customers having gone through similar situation if not exact. You pay a lot of money to have them and they pay out regardless of fault or not. So you get dinged in the end no matter what. I plan to switch insurance companies very soon- Country has taken steps to ruin our polices without even advising us what was going on. Our Agent was also baffled and then started to tell us that it’s best to wait till they drop off to move companies. She even stated they aren’t doing well due to the amount of claims in the past three years they paid out. They are known to pay out often. So having them as your insurance company, you can almost guarantee anyone and their mom can sue them with a lawyer and you’ll get money. And you as the customer are likely to be affected.
1
January 14, 2020

Kellyc92

Terrible do not use

Worst company to deal with for an automobile claim. Car accident occurred nearly a month ago and anytime I try to obtain updates I'm rerouted to voicemails by rude intake people. Communication is lacking substantially
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption