Bristol West Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Bristol West offers non-standard car insurance to high-risk drivers, but rates with Bristol West are likely higher than those with many other companies.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked
2.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Bristol West

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A- (Excellent)

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Coverage for high-risk drivers
  • The option to work directly with an agent
  • SR-22 coverage
  • Multiple payment options
  • Availability in several states

Cons

  • High rates for drivers with good driving records
  • Numerous customer complaints
  • Limited coverage and discount options

Final Verdict: Review of Bristol West

If you’re searching for car insurance, you may have several companies in mind. However, finding proper coverage and cheap car insurance can be challenging if you have a bad driving record.

Bristol West offers non-standard auto insurance coverage to individuals with DUIs, accidents, and other driving violations. While rates with Bristol West are higher than average, you may want to consider Bristol West if you’re a high-risk driver.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Bristol West offers non-standard car insurance to high-risk drivers in the U.S.
  • The company provides SR-22 filings
  • Rates with Bristol West are higher than average
[/su_box] If you’re searching for car insurance, you may have several companies in mind. However, finding proper coverage and cheap car insurance can be challenging if you have a bad driving record. Bristol West offers non-standard auto insurance coverage to individuals with DUIs, accidents, and other driving violations. While rates with Bristol West are higher than average, you may want to consider Bristol West if you’re a high-risk driver.

What You Should Know About Bristol West Insurance Services Inc.

Bristol West has an A- (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. The company also has an A rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Unfortunately, the BBB website shows many complaints from Bristol West customers.

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Bristol West insurance reviews cite poor customer service, inconsistent billing, and a poorly-constructed website as their top issues with the company.

If you’re considering an insurance policy with Bristol West, read customer reviews beforehand to better understand the company’s pros and cons.

What is Bristol West Insurance?

Bristol West Insurance Company is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance. As a Farmers Insurance subsidiary, Bristol West carries a solid financial strength background and is available in many U.S. states.

Bristol West offers agent-based insurance quotes in most states. So anyone interested in purchasing a policy with Bristol West may have to contact a company agent to get started. Fortunately, with an insurance agent, you have a contact person if you need to file a claim, make a payment, or ask policy questions.

Unfortunately, many agent-based companies offer pricier policies than those without agents. In some cases, interested individuals can find Bristol West insurance quotes online. Still, this option varies based on location and isn’t always accurate.

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

Bristol West offers some standard auto insurance coverages, like:

  • Bodily injury liability
  • Property damage liability
  • Medical payments
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist

While you can’t purchase collision or comprehensive auto insurance to get a full coverage policy with Bristol West, the company offers additional coverage options, including:

  • GAP insurance
  • Roadside assistance
  • Towing
  • Rental car reimbursement
  • Rideshare coverage
  • Rental car coverage

Bristol West may be a good option if you don’t need a full coverage policy but want additional options like Bristol West Insurance roadside assistance. Unfortunately, you’ll have to seek insurance with another provider if you’re looking for collision and comprehensive insurance.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

Rates with Bristol West depend on several factors including driving history, coverage options, and more. For example, you can expect to pay higher rates if you have a DUI or multiple traffic violations on your driving record.

The chart below shows how your rates if you have a DUI, ticket, or at-fault accident on your record. This will help you better understand what you can expect to pay with Bristol West.

Rates for drivers with these violations will be higher than those with a clean record. If you have a clean driving record, you may find cheaper rates with other companies that don’t offer auto insurance to high-risk drivers.

Besides your driving record, the amount of coverage you select will greatly influence your rates. The map below shows the average monthly rates for minimum coverage across the U.S.

Rates increase drastically when you add on collision and comprehensive coverages, also known as full coverage.

Shop online and compare car insurance rates with multiple providers to see which company offers the coverage you need at the best price for your unique situation.

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Discounts Available

Policyholders can take advantage of several discount options with Bristol West, such as:

  • Multi-car
  • Multi-policy
  • Paid-in-full
  • Electronic payments
  • Automatic payments
  • Homeowner
  • Non-owner
  • Safe driver
  • Paperless

Discounts can help individuals save a significant amount on insurance premiums. If you qualify for one or more discounts listed above, you could speak with a Bristol West agent and ask how much you can save on coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who owns Bristol West?

Bristol West is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance.

How can I get a Bristol West car insurance quote?

You can get a free online insurance quote on the company’s website or by calling 866-228-4622.

How do I file a claim with Bristol West?

You can file a claim on the company website or by calling 800-274-7865.

Where is Bristol West available?

Bristol West is available in every state except Alaska, Washington D.C., Delaware, Hawaii, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia.

What is Bristol West Auto Insurance?

Bristol West Auto Insurance is an insurance company that provides auto insurance coverage to drivers. They offer a range of policies designed to protect against financial loss resulting from accidents, damages, or theft involving vehicles.

What types of coverage does Bristol West Auto Insurance offer?

Bristol West Auto Insurance typically offers a variety of coverage options, including:

  • Liability coverage: This covers bodily injury and property damage caused by you in an accident.
  • Collision coverage: This pays for damages to your vehicle resulting from collisions with another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive coverage: This protects against damages to your vehicle from non-collision incidents, such as theft, vandalism, or natural disasters.
  • Medical payments coverage: This helps pay for medical expenses for you and your passengers if injured in an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: This provides coverage if you’re involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or has insufficient coverage.

Are there any discounts available with Bristol West Auto Insurance?

Bristol West Auto Insurance may offer various discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums. These discounts can include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and discounts for safety features in your vehicle. It’s recommended to inquire about the available discounts when obtaining a quote or speaking with an insurance agent.

How is Bristol West Auto Insurance rated in terms of customer satisfaction?

Customer satisfaction ratings can vary based on individual experiences and regional factors. To assess Bristol West Auto Insurance’s customer satisfaction, it’s advisable to research and review customer feedback specific to your area. Online reviews, consumer advocacy organizations, and industry rating agencies can provide insights into the company’s customer service, claims handling, and overall satisfaction levels.

Can I manage my Bristol West Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, Bristol West Auto Insurance typically offers online account management tools that allow policyholders to view and manage their policies, make payments, update personal information, and file claims. These online services provide convenience and accessibility for policyholders.

Does Bristol West Auto Insurance offer roadside assistance?

Yes, Bristol West Auto Insurance offers optional roadside assistance coverage. This coverage provides assistance if your vehicle breaks down or if you need help with services like towing, fuel delivery, battery jump-start, flat tire change, and lockout assistance. Roadside assistance can provide peace of mind during unexpected situations on the road.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Bristol West Insurance Services Inc.

2.23 (98 reviews)
1
December 28, 2023

Buzarsmichelle_gmail_com

Worst company ever

I called and had my policy set up in November was told nothing about being required to have health coverage and paid my 6 month premium in full. Got a letter the day after Christmas that my car insurance was canceled unless I could pay them 1600 dollars to make sure that I had medical coverage. I had already paid them 500 dollars November 9th. I never even received my insurance cards in the mail. You sit on hold for hours while trying to contact ...
I called and had my policy set up in November was told nothing about being required to have health coverage and paid my 6 month premium in full. Got a letter the day after Christmas that my car insurance was canceled unless I could pay them 1600 dollars to make sure that I had medical coverage. I had already paid them 500 dollars November 9th. I never even received my insurance cards in the mail. You sit on hold for hours while trying to contact someone regarding anything and their website doesn't actually allow you to do anything. Worst insurance company ever ibshouldnt have to pay 2 grand for 6 months of insurance when I've never had an accident or gotten a ticket and only needed liability for a car that isn't driven all winter and won't be again until June.
1
March 29, 2023

Miichelle

Ripoff

Recent,y Bristal West stated that they were cutting my auto insurance. I already paid the bill. Then they jump the cost by $28.00. I spoke with someone about this trying to see why. No problems gave occurred, Then another email was sent to me stating another increase by $10.00. They're trying to raise my cost by $38.00 for no reason. They couldn't explain what the increase was about either. Stay away from this company!!
1
January 3, 2023

Phoenix-Fire

This is straight up theft!

How do you spell out fraud and theft! I was being charged almost $400 a month for one dodge ram 2011. I had a second driver who had some speeding tickets which raised my insurance damn near $300. I removed said person from my insurance before my billing date. My insurance reflects that he has been removed! My bill is saying I still owe for the services for him being on my account. They are saying that it’s because I did it before the invoice wa...
How do you spell out fraud and theft! I was being charged almost $400 a month for one dodge ram 2011. I had a second driver who had some speeding tickets which raised my insurance damn near $300. I removed said person from my insurance before my billing date. My insurance reflects that he has been removed! My bill is saying I still owe for the services for him being on my account. They are saying that it’s because I did it before the invoice was set out. Flat out! I am not being charged for my services for the month. Which would be just me on my insurance! I have to pay upfront for insurance for that month. So when I removed him off my insurance I was expecting there to be $87 taken out of my account instead of them trying to charge me $371 +20 for insufficient funds because I was not expecting them to take out the $400. This is straight up theft! If anybody else has had this issue please let me know! I would be glad to start a class action lawsuit.
1
October 6, 2022

Bristol_Scam

Bristol West is a scam

Bristol West is a scam. I bought this insurance and paid the first fee for the premium, then set up autopayment. A month and a half later they send me a cancellation notice stating that I was overdue, and they charged me a late fee. I went to the website and confirmed that autopayment was set up, and now I'm paying for the mistakes of incompetent employees who want to rely on automation. Poor service and poor experience. I can't imagine what fili...
Bristol West is a scam. I bought this insurance and paid the first fee for the premium, then set up autopayment. A month and a half later they send me a cancellation notice stating that I was overdue, and they charged me a late fee. I went to the website and confirmed that autopayment was set up, and now I'm paying for the mistakes of incompetent employees who want to rely on automation. Poor service and poor experience. I can't imagine what filing a claim would have looked like. Glad they canceled my policy. 0/10 recommend.
1
August 22, 2022

grumpygringo

Bad insurance company shady practices.

This company is fully automated. Agent wrote me up for policy 3 days after I wanted it. Didn't even ask "When do you want to start your policy?". Took it upon herself to do that on her own. The Less human work the better I guess she must have been thinking . Sent me her picture instead of policy my policy., just her face. all by itself. Like what am I supposed to do with that.? I need that insurance by the end of the weekend. Why was it not her...
This company is fully automated. Agent wrote me up for policy 3 days after I wanted it. Didn't even ask "When do you want to start your policy?". Took it upon herself to do that on her own. The Less human work the better I guess she must have been thinking . Sent me her picture instead of policy my policy., just her face. all by itself. Like what am I supposed to do with that.? I need that insurance by the end of the weekend. Why was it not her mind as well. ?Then after canceling over the phone , 3 days later I got billed for 2.5 months of coverage anyway. I wasn't given a bill previous to that, just informed 2 1/2 months later that if I didn't pay the bill it was going to collections. No paper bills no phone calls no itemized bills anywhere. No warning. Nothing out of nowhere threatening collection notice came in postal mail. And " Still" not itemized. Didn't even know I had a bill . They promise everything over a phone . Don't deal with these guys unless you get EVERYTHING in writing. Not in a email either, because they will say they sent it. Bottom line very shady business practices. I am going to Attorney General to find out if that is up to standards. they take TOO MUCH advantage of VERBAL communications. There has got to be some rules against this.
1
June 27, 2022

Jtobiasson_

Bad business practices

After being told there was no charge for canceling, they hit me with a cancelation fee and decided that I owed them another $64 for "unpaid services" for the month I just gave them $250 for. Not to mention they were $80 more than their competitors
1
June 3, 2022

Muhammad_Abdullahi

Charging extra Money!

My contract ended in 6 months and I made all the payments on time, NOW they are charging me for the late payment of an imaginary new contract that was never signed or approved!!! Daylight stealing!!!
1
May 25, 2022

Ayoub_Khan

Horrible Experience with company.

Horrible Experience with the company, they Charged me without my consent or renewing the new policy. they wanted me a double price for my policy without me getting a ticket or a into an accident or claims. that's why wanted to cancel the policy. and i did switch to new insurance company but they still deducted my money because i cant cancel my autopay and now when i am calling them they cant help and they would say, they would refund $190 somethi...
Horrible Experience with the company, they Charged me without my consent or renewing the new policy. they wanted me a double price for my policy without me getting a ticket or a into an accident or claims. that's why wanted to cancel the policy. and i did switch to new insurance company but they still deducted my money because i cant cancel my autopay and now when i am calling them they cant help and they would say, they would refund $190 something out of $500+ for one extra day which is horrible.
1
April 20, 2022

Lexabshi03

Don’t even bother…

Bristol West charged my card for over $100.00 because according to their records, I missed last months payments… I don’t have Bristol West. Customer Service did absolutely nothing to help. Thanks Bristol West 👍🏽👍🏽
1
April 14, 2022

bkelly66

poor customer service

my daughter inadvertently bought car insurance thru Bristol. She cancelled 3 days later after she realized her insurance had not cancelled. Bristol would not cancel the insurance with them unless she produced qualified insurance on her vehicle. This is not the insurance companies job to verify current ins on any vehicle in order to cancel. Additionally they did not cancel this insurance until 10 days later charged her an admin fee and 10 days on...
my daughter inadvertently bought car insurance thru Bristol. She cancelled 3 days later after she realized her insurance had not cancelled. Bristol would not cancel the insurance with them unless she produced qualified insurance on her vehicle. This is not the insurance companies job to verify current ins on any vehicle in order to cancel. Additionally they did not cancel this insurance until 10 days later charged her an admin fee and 10 days on ins. All in all they stole $100.00 from a 19 year old. Do not do business with this company. One month later she is still waiting for her reimbursement.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption