Shelter Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Shelter Insurance sells various car insurance coverages and has strong industry ratings, but its rates are more expensive than some competitors.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024Fact Checked

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 16, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Shelter Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$183

A.M. Best rating:

A (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Few customer complaints
  • Several discount options
  • A website allowing policyholders to file claims and pay Shelter insurance online
  • An A (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best
  • Different coverage options to customize car insurance policies

Cons

  • Limited availability
  • Limited discounts depending on where you live
  • Insurance rates higher than the national average
  • An underwhelming Shelter insurance mobile app

Final Verdict: Review of Shelter Insurance

Shelter Insurance offers various products and discounts to its customers. However, car insurance rates with the company are relatively expensive, and coverage is only available in 15 states in the U.S.

Still, Shelter insurance ratings for customer satisfaction and financial strength suggest it’s a good option for anyone searching for car insurance. So before you commit to Shelter, compare quotes from multiple companies to get a good idea of what works best for you.

[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Shelter offers various car insurance coverage options to its policyholders
  • The company helps people save money on coverage with discounts
  • Shelter Insurance is only available in 15 states
[/su_box] If you’re searching for the best car insurance company in your area, you may want to consider Shelter Insurance. Shelter offers car insurance coverage options that people can adapt to meet their needs. The company also provides discounts to its policyholders to help them save on coverage. Unfortunately, Shelter Insurance is only available in 15 states in the U.S. Before choosing Shelter as your car insurance provider, shop online and compare quotes from other companies with Shelter Insurance auto quotes to see who can offer you the best price.

What You Should Know About Shelter Mutual Insurance Company

If you’re searching for the best car insurance company in your area, you may want to consider Shelter Insurance. Shelter offers car insurance coverage options that people can adapt to meet their needs. The company also provides discounts to its policyholders to help them save on coverage.

Unfortunately, Shelter Insurance is only available in 15 states in the U.S. Shop for Shelter insurance online and compare quotes from other companies with Shelter auto insurance quotes to see who can offer you the best price.

Shelter Car Insurance Availability

Shelter Insurance is a Missouri-based company. The company offers insurance products in the following states:

If you don’t live in one of the states above, you’ll have to look elsewhere for car insurance coverage.

Shelter Insurance Ratings and Reviews

Shelter Insurance’s A.M. Best rating is A (excellent) in terms of financial strength. Shelter insurance reviews from the BBB also reveal that the company boasts an A+ rating, though the BBB website lists several Shelter insurance complaints from customers.

Still, Shelter Insurance customer reviews show it has few complaints relative to the company’s size. Based on information from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Shelter Insurance insurance reviews are encouraging to anyone considering the company as an insurance provider.

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

When it comes to car insurance, it’s nice to have options. With Shelter, you can choose various coverage options to find the best policy. 

Shelter’s auto insurance coverages include:

  • Bodily injury liability. Pays for injuries you cause to another person or people
  • Property damage liability. Pays for damage you cause to another vehicle
  • Roadside assistance. Shelter’s insurance roadside assistance overs flat tire repair, lock-out services, fuel delivery services, and more
  • New car replacement. Pays to replace your car with the same make and model if yours gets totaled in a covered event
  • Collision. Covers any damage to your vehicle caused by an accident
  • Comprehensive. Covers any damage to your vehicle caused by non-accident-related events like inclement weather or vandalism
  • Medical payments (MedPay). Pays for ambulance fees, hospital bills, doctor follow-ups, and other medical fees associated with an accident
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). Pays for your medical bills and fees if you are in a covered accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Pays for damage someone else causes to you or your vehicle when they have inadequate or no insurance
  • Rental reimbursement. Shelter insurance covers the cost of a rental car if yours gets damaged in a covered event
  • Accidental death. Pays your beneficiary if you or your spouse get killed in a car accident
  • Disability income. Pays a weekly stipend for up to one year if you become disabled in a car accident
  • GAP insurance. Pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and what your car is worth
  • Loss of use. Provides a single payment when your vehicle is in the shop after a covered loss

With so many coverage options, it makes sense that many online Shelter car insurance reviews mention the customizable nature of the company’s policies.

Other Types of Insurance From Shelter

In addition to auto insurance, Shelter offers the following insurance products:

  • Motorcycle
  • Renters
  • RV
  • ATV
  • Boat
  • Farm
  • Flood
  • Umbrella
  • Personal articles
  • Business

When comparing Shelter Insurance vs. State Farm or other well-known companies, Shelter doesn’t offer as many insurance products. However, for a small company operating in just 15 states, Shelter has plenty of options for its customers.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

The average cost for a Shelter insurance full coverage policy in the United States is roughly $1,674 annually. Shelter insurance quotes are more expensive, at around $2,196 per year. Let’s compare with the top 10 insurers in the country.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates From the Top Providers
Insurance CompanyMonthly Rates
Allstate$160
American Family$117
Auto-Owners$87
Farmers$87
Geico$80
Liberty Mutual$174
Nationwide$115
Progressive$105
State Farm$86
Travelers$99
USAA$59
U.S. Average$119

Rates for minimum coverage with Shelter are also more expensive. 

Liability Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider
Insurance CompanyRates
Allstate$61
American Family$44
Farmers$53
Geico$30
Liberty Mutual$67
Nationwide$44
Progressive$39
State Farm$33
Travelers$38
USAA$22
U.S. Average$45

Nationally, the average cost for a liability-only policy is $565, but a Shelter liability-only car insurance policy typically costs around $704 annually.

How does your driving history affect your Shelter rates?

Shelter’s rates for people with speeding tickets, new or teen drivers, and people who are at fault in a car accident are also higher than the national average. You can compare the top insurance companies’ rates after a speeding ticket below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Ticket vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyOne TicketClean Record
AAA$108$180
Allstate$188$166
American Family$136$116
Farmers$173$140
Geico$106$95
Hartford$136$175
Liberty Mutual$212$177
Nationwide$137$140
Progressive$140$120
State Farm$96$105
Travelers$134$160
U.S. Average$147$123

Shelter insurance rates increase for drivers involved in an accident. So, rates will be higher than the national average with Shelter Insurance Company. See rates from the top insurance companies below.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates: One Accident vs. Clean Record
Insurance CompanyClean RecordOne Accident
AAA$180$220
Allstate$166$225
American Family$116$176
Farmers$140$198
Geico$95$132
Hartford$175$230
Liberty Mutual$177$234
Nationwide$140$161
Progressive$120$186
State Farm$105$150
Travelers$160$200
U.S. Average$123$172

If you have a DUI on your record, you’ll definitely pay more for insurance. You could even have a hard time finding a company willing to offer you coverage, but we’ve put together a list of the top insurance companies that do offer DUI insurance.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Driving Record
Insurance CompanyClean RecordOne AccidentOne DUIOne Ticket
AAA$180$220$240$220
Allstate$166$225$225$195
American Family$116$176$176$131
Farmers$140$198$198$176
Geico$95$132$132$125
Hartford$175$230$250$215
Liberty Mutual$177$234$234$217
Nationwide$140$161$161$175
Progressive$120$186$186$160
State Farm$105$150$202$138
Travelers$160$200$239$205
U.S. Average$123$172$173$152

Before committing to Shelter car insurance, or any other company, compare quotes online to find a company offering the coverage you want at a price that works with your budget. 

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Shelter offers several discount options to its policyholders, including:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Paid-in-full
  • Multi-car
  • Multi-policy
  • Safety features
  • Accident prevention course
  • Military
  • Young adult driver’s education course
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Window identification

Discounts can save people up to 25% on a car insurance policy, so check with a Shelter insurance customer service representative to see how much you could save on coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get a Shelter insurance quote?

You can find auto insurance quotes on Shelter’s insurance website and over the phone.

What states does Shelter insurance cover?

Shelter offers auto insurance in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.

How can I file Shelter insurance claims?

You can use Shelter’s company website to file a car insurance claim or call Shelter insurance claims department to speak with a representative.

What is Shelter Insurance?

Shelter Auto Insurance is a type of insurance coverage that protects individuals and their vehicles against financial loss in the event of an accident, theft, or damage. It is offered by Shelter Insurance, a reputable insurance company.

What types of auto insurance coverage does Shelter offer?

Shelter Auto Insurance provides various types of coverage, including liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. Shelter also offer optional add-ons such as roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.

What factors affect the cost of Shelter Auto Insurance?

The cost of Shelter Auto Insurance depends on various factors such as your age, location, driving record, type of vehicle, coverage options, and deductible amount. Additionally, your credit history may also be taken into consideration.

Does Shelter insurance cover windshield replacement?

Yes, Shelter covers windshield replacement if you have comprehensive coverage on your auto insurance policy.

Does Shelter insurance have health insurance?

Shelter Insurance does not offer health insurance. However, you can find Shelter life insurance, home, and business insurance​.

Where is Shelter insurance headquarters address?

Shelter Insurance’s headquarters is located at 1817 West Broadway, Columbia, Missouri, 65218​.

How is Shelter insurance rated?

Shelter auto insurance ratings from major insurance rating agencies like A.M. Best or Standard & Poor’s are positive. The company has received an A.M. Best rating of A.

How to cancel Shelter insurance?

To cancel a policy with Shelter Insurance, it’s recommended to contact your local agent directly or call Shelter Insurance customer service phone number.

Does Shelter insurance cover rental cars?

Yes, Shelter covers rental cars under your auto policy’s liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage if the car you rent is not owned by you or any resident of your household and you have a written agreement with the rental company for a period not exceeding 30 days.

Is Shelter auto insurance legit?

Yes, Shelter Insurance is a legitimate company that offers a range of insurance products including auto, home, and life insurance.

Is Shelter insurance good?

Shelter Insurance tends to receive positive claims and customer service reviews.

Is Shelter insurance expensive?

They offer competitive rates and also provide various discounts which can make their policies more affordable.

Does Shelter offer motorcycle insurance?

Yes, Shelter Insurance does offer motorcycle insurance.

Does Shelter insurance has towing coverage?

Yes, Shelter offers towing coverage as part of its roadside assistance. This coverage includes towing, fuel delivery, battery jump-starts, and lockout assistance.

Does Shelter has commercial truck insurance?

Shelter Insurance provides coverage for larger trucks such as box trucks, semi-tractor trailers, or farm vehicles.

What’s Shelter insurance claims phone number?

Shelter insurance phone number for claims handling is: 1-800-SHELTER (1-800-743-5837). A Shelter insurance claims adjuster will help you find out how your claim will be handled.

Do Shelter insurance policies include grace period?

All Shelter life insurance policies include at least a 31-day grace period.

Does Shelter provide renters insurance?

Shelter renters insurance policies provide coverage for personal property, liability, and may include additional living expenses if your rental becomes uninhabitable due to a covered loss.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Shelter Mutual Insurance Company

4.16 (421 reviews)
1
July 20, 2022

FranklinGirl

Stay far away!

I filed a claim for a parking lot accident after a lady backed out and hit me. I spoke with the claims adjuster [REDACTED NAME], and he took a statement and told me he would reach out to the other insurance agency. I was logged into my account and noticed he had closed my claim without communicating with me. I contacted him and he told me to contact the other insurance agency. Really??? I pay nearly $10,000 a year (20 years) for insurance for a h...
I filed a claim for a parking lot accident after a lady backed out and hit me. I spoke with the claims adjuster [REDACTED NAME], and he took a statement and told me he would reach out to the other insurance agency. I was logged into my account and noticed he had closed my claim without communicating with me. I contacted him and he told me to contact the other insurance agency. Really??? I pay nearly $10,000 a year (20 years) for insurance for a house and 5 cars for him to do his job. Unbelievable..I'm in the process of finding a company that values my business and serves their clients. Shelter has really gone down the [REDACTED] . They were a premier company, but not anymore.
1
October 21, 2021

BenjaminHM

Non communicative experience.

I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused t...
I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused to pay for damage to my hubcap(later I had to pay for the resulting flat tire), didn't respond to my requests, and in general just treated me horribly.
4
October 17, 2020

DaRiD

Problem with Claims Communications

I recently had an accident and getting information from the company regarding the status of my claim was extremely difficult. Overall, my dealings with the agent are pleasant, but receiving updates from the claims department was a nightmare.
5
July 31, 2020

Atm

Great!

It was wonderful. Every time my insurance was supposed to go up it would go down in price. For example when I got an MIP when I was 19 my insurance went down $20.
5
July 19, 2020

Leo_Kim

The product and sevice is good!

The policy provided is very easy to understand. The agent was very nice to explain everything to me and helped customize my auto insurance.
1
July 9, 2020

Broncos1858

Horrible experience

Horrible. My brand new 2020 truck got damaged last night! The insurance agent was rude! I can't even take my truck to get fixed until the adjuster calls me so I am stuck driving around a damaged truck which was no fault of my own!!!
5
May 1, 2020

lesley

Trusted with good rates

The company covered my two fender benders and was a reasonable rate. The insurance agent was wonderful. He was a cornerstone of the community and trusted. I had my apartment and car insurance through the company. I was ran into and two different occasions and it did not raise my rates. I only canceled after I moved to a different state and got married.
5
February 23, 2020

Cricky73

A great company to do business with and offer discounts

I have not had to make a claim (fortunately) however, any time we've had a question they were available to answer and we're kind in doing so. Even better, their prices are lower than anyone else we could find. They also offer discounts such as safe driver.
5
February 13, 2020

kolsen

Shelter Insurance, A Great Company

Shelter has always been good to me and I've never had any issues. They offer far lower prices than I could find at competitors with the same coverage.
5
January 30, 2020

beanmom

Probably the Best

I had to file two claims in less than a year, and one I could have been hassled over, but Shelter took care of it no questions asked. Super friendly, and personable company. I have been with them for 5 years and have always been impressed, and I am a supercritical person when it comes to businesses such as this.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption