Shelter Auto Insurance Review 2022

Shelter Insurance sells various car insurance coverages and has strong industry ratings, but its rates are more expensive than some competitors.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 23, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 23, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 23, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.2
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Shelter Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

$2,196

A.M. Best rating:

A (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Few customer complaints
  • Several discount options
  • A website allowing policyholders to file claims and make online payments
  • An A (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best
  • Different coverage options to customize car insurance policies

Cons

  • Limited availability
  • Limited discounts depending on where you live
  • Insurance rates higher than the national average
  • An underwhelming mobile app

The Bottom Line

Shelter Insurance offers various products and discounts to its customers. However, car insurance rates with the company are relatively expensive, and coverage is only available in 15 states in the U.S.

Still, the company’s customer satisfaction ratings and solid financial strength suggest it’s a good option for anyone searching for car insurance. So before you commit to Shelter, compare quotes from multiple companies to get a good idea of what works best for you.

If you’re searching for the best car insurance company in your area, you may want to consider Shelter Insurance. Shelter offers car insurance coverage options that people can adapt to meet their needs. The company also provides discounts to its policyholders to help them save on coverage.

Unfortunately, Shelter Insurance is only available in 15 states in the U.S. Before choosing Shelter as your car insurance provider, shop online and compare quotes from other companies with Shelter Insurance auto quotes to see who can offer you the best price.

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Rates

The average cost for a full coverage policy in the United States is roughly $1,477 annually. Shelter insurance rates are more expensive, at around $2,196 per year. Let’s compare with the top 10 insurers in the country.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
Average$1,477

Rates for minimum coverage with Shelter are also more expensive. 

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
Average$541

Nationally, the average cost for a liability-only policy is $541, but a Shelter liability-only car insurance policy typically costs around $704 annually.

How does your driving history affect your Shelter rates?

Shelter’s rates for people with speeding tickets, new or teen drivers, and people who are at fault in a car accident are also higher than the national average. You can compare the top insurance companies’ rates after a speeding ticket below.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a Traffic Ticket
Insurance CompanyRates with a TicketRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,342$1,993
American Family$1,571$1,386
Farmers$2,108$1,674
GEICO$1,282$984
Liberty Mutual$2,600$2,120
Nationwide$1,737$1,445
Progressive$1,710$1,310
State Farm$1,227$1,091
Travelers$1,780$1,287
Average$1,818$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Rates for drivers involved in an accident will also be higher than the national average with Shelter. See rates from the top insurance companies below.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with an Accident
Insurance CompanyRates with an AccidentRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$2,848$1,993
American Family$2,000$1,386
Farmers$2,383$1,674
GEICO$1,595$984
Liberty Mutual$2,840$2,120
Nationwide$1,983$1,445
Progressive$2,284$1,310
State Farm$1,285$1,091
Travelers$1,888$1,287
Average$2,123$1,477

If you have a DUI on your record, you’ll definitely pay more for insurance. You could even have a hard time finding a company willing to offer you coverage, but we’ve put together a list of the top insurance companies that do offer DUI insurance.

Average Annual Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with a DUI
Insurance CompanyRates with a DUIRates with a Clean Record
Allstate$3,638$1,993
American Family$2,124$1,386
Farmers$2,296$1,674
GEICO$2,566$984
Liberty Mutual$3,900$2,120
Nationwide$3,028$1,445
Progressive$1,760$1,310
State Farm$1,490$1,091
Travelers$2,765$1,287
Average$2,619$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Before committing to Shelter car insurance, or any other company, compare quotes online to find a company offering the coverage you want at a price that works with your budget. 

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Shelter offers several discount options to its policyholders, including:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Paid-in-full
  • Multi-car
  • Multi-policy
  • Safety features
  • Accident prevention course
  • Military
  • Young adult driver’s education course
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Window identification

Discounts can save people up to 25% on a car insurance policy, so check with a Shelter representative to see how much you could save on coverage.

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company Coverage Options

When it comes to car insurance, it’s nice to have options. With Shelter, you can choose various coverage options to find the best policy. 

Shelter’s auto insurance coverages include:

  • Bodily injury liability. Pays for injuries you cause to another person or people
  • Property damage liability. Pays for damage you cause to another vehicle
  • Roadside assistance. Covers flat tire repair, lock-out services, fuel delivery services, and more
  • New car replacement. Pays to replace your car with the same make and model if yours gets totaled in a covered event
  • Collision. Covers any damage to your vehicle caused by an accident
  • Comprehensive. Covers any damage to your vehicle caused by non-accident-related events like inclement weather or vandalism
  • Medical payments (MedPay). Pays for ambulance fees, hospital bills, doctor follow-ups, and other medical fees associated with an accident
  • Personal injury protection (PIP). Pays for your medical bills and fees if you are in a covered accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. Pays for damage someone else causes to you or your vehicle when they have inadequate or no insurance
  • Rental reimbursement. Covers the cost of renting a vehicle if yours gets damaged in a covered event
  • Accidental death. Pays your beneficiary if you or your spouse get killed in a car accident
  • Disability income. Pays a weekly stipend for up to one year if you become disabled in a car accident
  • GAP insurance. Pays the difference between what you owe on your vehicle and what your car is worth
  • Loss of use. Provides a single payment when your vehicle is in the shop after a covered loss

With so many coverage options, it makes sense that many online Shelter auto insurance reviews mention the customizable nature of the company’s policies.

Where is Shelter car insurance available?

Shelter Insurance is a Missouri-based company. The company offers insurance products in the following states:

If you don’t live in one of the states above, you’ll have to look elsewhere for car insurance coverage.

What other types of insurance does Shelter offer?

In addition to auto insurance, Shelter offers the following insurance products:

  • Motorcycle
  • Renters
  • RV
  • ATV
  • Boat
  • Farm
  • Flood
  • Umbrella
  • Personal articles
  • Business

When comparing Shelter Insurance vs. State Farm or other well-known companies, Shelter doesn’t offer as many insurance products. However, for a small company operating in just 15 states, Shelter has plenty of options for its customers.

Shelter Mutual Insurance Company vs. Competitors

Shelter Insurance’s A.M. Best rating is A (excellent) in terms of financial strength. The company also boasts an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), though the BBB website lists several complaints from Shelter customers.

Still, Shelter Insurance customer reviews show it has few complaints relative to the company’s size. Based on information from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, Shelter Insurance reviews are encouraging to anyone considering the company as an insurance provider.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I get a car insurance quote with Shelter?

Shelter offers auto insurance quotes on the company website and over the phone.

Where does Shelter offer insurance policies?

Shelter offers auto insurance in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.

How can I file a claim with Shelter?

You can use Shelter’s company website to file a car insurance claim or call the company to speak with a representative.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for Shelter Mutual Insurance Company

4.17 (420 reviews)
1
October 21, 2021

BenjaminHM

Non communicative experience.

I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused t...
I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused to pay for damage to my hubcap(later I had to pay for the resulting flat tire), didn't respond to my requests, and in general just treated me horribly.
4
October 17, 2020

DaRiD

Problem with Claims Communications

I recently had an accident and getting information from the company regarding the status of my claim was extremely difficult. Overall, my dealings with the agent are pleasant, but receiving updates from the claims department was a nightmare.
5
July 31, 2020

Atm

Great!

It was wonderful. Every time my insurance was supposed to go up it would go down in price. For example when I got an MIP when I was 19 my insurance went down $20.
5
July 19, 2020

Leo_Kim

The product and sevice is good!

The policy provided is very easy to understand. The agent was very nice to explain everything to me and helped customize my auto insurance.
1
July 9, 2020

Broncos1858

Horrible experience

Horrible. My brand new 2020 truck got damaged last night! The insurance agent was rude! I can't even take my truck to get fixed until the adjuster calls me so I am stuck driving around a damaged truck which was no fault of my own!!!
5
May 1, 2020

lesley

Trusted with good rates

The company covered my two fender benders and was a reasonable rate. The insurance agent was wonderful. He was a cornerstone of the community and trusted. I had my apartment and car insurance through the company. I was ran into and two different occasions and it did not raise my rates. I only canceled after I moved to a different state and got married.
5
February 23, 2020

Cricky73

A great company to do business with and offer discounts

I have not had to make a claim (fortunately) however, any time we've had a question they were available to answer and we're kind in doing so. Even better, their prices are lower than anyone else we could find. They also offer discounts such as safe driver.
5
February 13, 2020

kolsen

Shelter Insurance, A Great Company

Shelter has always been good to me and I've never had any issues. They offer far lower prices than I could find at competitors with the same coverage.
5
January 30, 2020

beanmom

Probably the Best

I had to file two claims in less than a year, and one I could have been hassled over, but Shelter took care of it no questions asked. Super friendly, and personable company. I have been with them for 5 years and have always been impressed, and I am a supercritical person when it comes to businesses such as this.
1
January 15, 2020

mmccoy44

Terrible

Simply put, I am incredibly frustrated and disappointed with my experience with Shelter Mutual Insurance. I am not a policy holder, but if I was I would cancel my policy and find insurance elsewhere. Back in November, a driver insured by Shelter hit my vehicle while it was parked on the side of the road. For two months, I got the runaround from this person’s insurance agent and the claims adjuster. I had to email and call 3 or 4 times before ge...
Simply put, I am incredibly frustrated and disappointed with my experience with Shelter Mutual Insurance. I am not a policy holder, but if I was I would cancel my policy and find insurance elsewhere. Back in November, a driver insured by Shelter hit my vehicle while it was parked on the side of the road. For two months, I got the runaround from this person’s insurance agent and the claims adjuster. I had to email and call 3 or 4 times before getting a call back. The communication and explanation of everything was borderline non-existent. I was promised a rental vehicle comparable to my 2018 Chevy Silverado and got a Nissan Altima. And just when I finally thought everything was over, my vehicle was held up at the body shop because the claims adjuster refused to return communications for 2 weeks to sign-off on the work. This has seriously been the worst experience of my life.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption