Encompass Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Encompass Insurance offers auto and home insurance and coverage for your possessions. Policyholders may receive significant discounts for bundling policies with Encompass.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 12, 2024Fact Checked
3.4
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Encompass Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$112

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Insurance packages that combine home and auto coverage
  • Discounts on insurance coverage
  • Add-ons like roadside assistance and accident forgiveness

Cons

  • Lack of availability in certain states
  • No online quotes
[su_box title="Things to Remember" style="default”]
  • Encompass does not offer insurance quotes online
  • The company offers add-on coverage options, like roadside assistance and accident forgiveness
  • Encompass is a subsidiary of Allstate Insurance Company
[/su_box] If you’re searching for the best auto insurance companies in your area, Encompass may be an excellent fit for you. Encompass Insurance offers auto and home insurance, plus coverage for personal possessions. Encompass is a subsidiary of Allstate Insurance, with a solid financial strength rating and a stable outlook on future endeavors. Unfortunately, you cannot get quotes for Encompass Insurance online. So you’ll have to call the company and speak with a representative to see how much Encompass Insurance would be for you. Before committing to any auto insurance plan, shop around online and compare rates with multiple providers to ensure you get the best coverage deal.

If you’re searching for the best auto insurance companies in your area, Encompass may be an excellent fit for you. Encompass Insurance offers auto and home insurance, plus coverage for personal possessions. Encompass is a subsidiary of Allstate Insurance, with a solid financial strength rating and a stable outlook on future endeavors.

Unfortunately, you cannot get quotes for Encompass Insurance online. So you’ll have to call the company and speak with a representative to see how much Encompass Insurance would be for you.

Before committing to any auto insurance plan, shop around online and compare rates with multiple providers to ensure you get the best coverage deal.

What You Should Know About Encompass Insurance Company

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), Encompass receives close to the expected number of complaints for an insurance company of its size. Encompass reviews state the company has good customer service but needs a more helpful and timely claims system.

Encompass’ parent company, Allstate, has an A+ (Superior) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. The company also has a stable outlook on future endeavors.

If you’re considering purchasing an insurance policy with Encompass, consider reading online customer reviews to see what past and current policyholders have to say about the company.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Encompass Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Encompass offers packages that combine insurance products, but the company also offers stand-alone products that policyholders can purchase individually. In many cases, packages provide cheaper rates and additional coverage options.

Special Policy Package

The Special Policy Package is Encompass’ entry-level package. Policyholders can add the following coverages for an additional charge:

  • New car replacement. Encompass will replace your car with the same make and model if yours is totaled in a covered accident. Your car must be under four model years old, and you must be the original owner of the vehicle.
  • Electronic equipment coverage. Encompass will replace permanently installed electronic equipment in your vehicle. Electronic equipment coverage is only available with comprehensive insurance.
  • GAP coverage. Encompass will pay the difference between your vehicle’s actual value and what you owe on your car loan. GAP coverage is only available with full coverage policies

With a Special Policy Package, policyholders can decide whether they want a liability-only policy, a liability plus collision or comprehensive, or a full coverage policy that includes liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage.

Deluxe Policy Package

The Deluxe Policy Package allows individuals to choose their level of coverage and automatically includes electronic equipment, windshield replacement, and accident forgiveness.

Policyholders can add new car replacement, GAP insurance, and auto-trip interruption coverage — a type of long-distance roadside assistance — to a Deluxe Policy Package.

Elite Policy Package

An Elite Policy Package is Encompass’ highest tier of auto insurance coverage. With the Elite Policy Package, policyholders get all the coverages listed above except new car replacement and GAP insurance.

The Elite Policy Package also includes:

  • Unlimited accident forgiveness. Your rates will never go up because of an accident.
  • Company car protection. Your Encompass insurance will cover you even if you’re using a company vehicle.

Rates for the Encompass Insurance packages vary based on several factors.

What other types of insurance does Encompass offer?

In addition to auto insurance, Encompass offers the following insurance products:

  • Condo
  • Renters
  • Motorcycle
  • Boat
  • Umbrella
  • RV

If you purchase multiple insurance products, Encompass offers discount opportunities to save money on coverage.

Does Encompass have a mobile app?

Encompass has a roadside assistance app for individuals who include this add-on in their policies. With this app, you can ask for help, share your location, and see your policy details.

Encompass allows policyholders to pay for coverage and view pertinent information on the company website through their MyEncompass account.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Encompass Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Rates for the Encompass Insurance packages vary based on several factors.

How much is Encompass Insurance?

You will not know how much you’ll pay for Encompass Insurance until you speak with a company representative. Because the company does not offer car insurance quotes online, it’s impossible to know how much a car insurance policy would cost.

The average cost for a full coverage car insurance policy in the U.S. is $1,674 annually.

View as image

Now compare that with the average rates for minimum coverage with the top insurers in the country.

View as image

Still, if you have a speeding ticket or accident on your record or a teen driver on your insurance, you can expect your rates to be higher. Below is a chart on how much you can expect your rates to increase if you get into an accident.

View as image

Drivers will notice similar increases after a traffic ticket.

View as image

Drivers with a DUI on their record will see the largest increase in their auto insurance rates. Some companies might refuse to cover drivers with DUI.  We’ve put together a list of companies that do offer insurance to these high-risk drivers.

View as image

Besides driving history and coverage options, your age also has an effect on how much you pay for car insurance. Young drivers have less experience behind the wheel and see much higher car insurance rates.

View as image

Once drivers reach 25 years of age, they will see their rates drop drastically — as long as they have maintained a clean driving record.

Encompass Insurance Company Discounts Available

Encompass offers several auto insurance discount options to policyholders, such as:

  • Safe driver
  • Good student
  • Safety features (anti-lock brakes, anti-theft device, passive restraint system)
  • Early signing
  • New car
  • Multi-policy
  • Defensive driver
  • Driver training course (for drivers under 21)
  • Defensive driving training course
  • Student away at school
  • Automatic payments
  • Timely payments

You may be able to save up to 25% on your auto insurance premium if you qualify for specific discounts, so speak to an Encompass representative to see if you’re eligible.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I file a claim with Encompass?

You can call 1-800-588-7400 to file a claim with Encompass.

How can I get an Encompass auto insurance quote?

You will have to call the company to speak with a representative to get quotes on coverage. Unfortunately, encompass does not offer quotes online.

Can I get rideshare coverage with Encompass?

Encompass does not offer rideshare insurance.

What is Encompass Auto Insurance?

Encompass Auto Insurance is an insurance company that specializes in providing auto insurance coverage to drivers. They offer a range of insurance products and services, including coverage for personal vehicles, classic cars, and high-value vehicles.

Is Encompass Auto Insurance a reputable company?

Encompass Auto Insurance is generally considered a reputable company. They have been in operation for several years and are a subsidiary of Allstate Insurance Company, a well-known and established insurance provider. However, it’s always recommended to do thorough research and read customer reviews before making a decision.

What types of coverage does Encompass Auto Insurance offer?

Encompass Auto Insurance offers a variety of coverage options to meet the needs of drivers. They provide standard coverages such as liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and medical payments coverage. Additionally, they offer optional coverages and enhancements like roadside assistance and rental car reimbursement.

How can I get a quote from Encompass Auto Insurance?

To obtain a quote from Encompass Auto Insurance, you can visit their official website or contact their customer service directly. On their website, you will typically find a quote form where you can provide the necessary information about your vehicle, driving history, and coverage preferences to receive an estimate.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Benjamin Carr

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Benjamin Carr worked as a licensed insurance agent at State Farm and Tennant Special Risk. He sold various lines of coverage and informed his clients about their life, health, property/casualty insurance needs. Assessing risks and helping people find the best coverage to suit their needs is a passion of his. He appreciates that insurance was designed to protect people, particularly during times...

Former State Farm Insurance Agent

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the need ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Encompass Insurance Company

3.44 (160 reviews)
1
May 1, 2023

Lex_B

Worst Automated response. Can’t speak to customer service

Worst automated response in the industry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s like trying to solve a math problem when connecting with customer services!!!!!!!! Takes you Forever to get connected going through a series of automated questions. It will literally take you all day!!!!!
1
November 26, 2022

Denirricka8

WORSE INSURANCE COMPANY

This is the worse insurance company I have had. It’s been a month since I even heard from anyone. Mr. [REDACTED NAME] was very rude to me. When I finally got in contact with him ( although he was not my original claim rep, I only talked to her the first day) he stated that my car had prior damages which was not true. He claim I would hear from the expert because the pictures I sent showed rust in the damages. No one has called me nor reached o...
This is the worse insurance company I have had. It’s been a month since I even heard from anyone. Mr. [REDACTED NAME] was very rude to me. When I finally got in contact with him ( although he was not my original claim rep, I only talked to her the first day) he stated that my car had prior damages which was not true. He claim I would hear from the expert because the pictures I sent showed rust in the damages. No one has called me nor reached out to me about anything. I have called called and called. Within a month I have made phone contact on the first with [REDACTED NAME] ( who I am guessing is no longer with the company ) and finally to rude rep name [REDACTED NAME]. I have really been patient and tried to explain to him we live near salt water and it also took up to a almost a week before I could even pick up my police report and also I wasn’t exactly sure when my car got side swipe because I was out of town.
1
June 15, 2022

AlexD90

TERRIBLE COMPANY!!

TERRIBLE COMPANY! Never calls back and leaves their customers waiting weeks to months just for a call back! had my car sitting in the shop because they would not answer or assist me! Switching companies as of today!!!
1
November 20, 2021

Encompass_sucks

Encompass is awful. I cancelled my coverage with them!

I found encompass to be awful. Sure, always friendly when there were no problems. But I had a vehicle that turned out to be a total loss and boy did they try to use up time and money to avoid that conclusion. I had rep. who would not call me back when she said she would and have no doubt that she was a pawn following directives from elsewhere. Only when the state and my broker got involved did they send me a check for the full vehicle value. And ...
I found encompass to be awful. Sure, always friendly when there were no problems. But I had a vehicle that turned out to be a total loss and boy did they try to use up time and money to avoid that conclusion. I had rep. who would not call me back when she said she would and have no doubt that she was a pawn following directives from elsewhere. Only when the state and my broker got involved did they send me a check for the full vehicle value. And in the meantime it was their obvious attempt to saddle me with as much billing for a rental vehicle (above and beyond what they would provide) such that I would cave. Awful awful awful. The POINT of an insurance company is not to make money. The POINT is to take care of your customers and thus, by doing, earn income.
1
June 14, 2021

Lucy21

Buyer Beware!!!!

Do not use Encompass insurance company!!! The rates are high! Worst of all it is near impossible to Cancel your policy!! We switched to Allstate in February (it is now June) and Encompass still has not canceled our policy!! You have to write a letter and mail it to cancel your policy and they always say they did not get it so you have to do it again! They are trying to send us to collections for non payment due to the fact they keep saying the...
Do not use Encompass insurance company!!! The rates are high! Worst of all it is near impossible to Cancel your policy!! We switched to Allstate in February (it is now June) and Encompass still has not canceled our policy!! You have to write a letter and mail it to cancel your policy and they always say they did not get it so you have to do it again! They are trying to send us to collections for non payment due to the fact they keep saying they did not get our cancelation notice!! Buyer Beware!
1
March 25, 2021

Plainjane57

Very poor company and very bad Customer service I definitely

Very unprofessional . Someone hit my husband‘s truck on Christmas night here it is March We were left with unanswered questions until today they are not going to cover my husband’s truck they do not believe our story after being a loyal customer for 17 years. We have our house car and umbrella policy that was in place In the beginning they were I felt like was a good insurance company but as the time is gone by our prices have gone up more a...
Very unprofessional . Someone hit my husband‘s truck on Christmas night here it is March We were left with unanswered questions until today they are not going to cover my husband’s truck they do not believe our story after being a loyal customer for 17 years. We have our house car and umbrella policy that was in place In the beginning they were I felt like was a good insurance company but as the time is gone by our prices have gone up more and more and now denied after my husband’s truck was hit hit and run. So if I were you I would think twice about ever going through encompass I noticed the rates have gone down from a five to a three there must be a reason for that. I’ve never felt like such a criminal in all my life. I do not recommend this company I will be leaving this company and never looking back. I just don’t wanna see anyone else put that long into an insurance company and them not help you after you’ve been a loyal customer to them that’s gratitude.
1
November 27, 2020

gil99

Bad experience

I had a bad experience with this insurance. they don help me when i need it. Their policy makes, in general, a bad experience.
1
March 31, 2020

JB2020

WORST COMPANY EVER

This is the WORST company ever! They dropped my insurance because there was an issue with my debit card and didn't even care to give me any kind of notice. I did not know until I needed it, of course. Their response was that it was not their responsibility!!!! And they claimed that they did not have my email address or contact information. They refused to reinstall my insurance but then decided to charge me $750 for the non coverage and send me t...
This is the WORST company ever! They dropped my insurance because there was an issue with my debit card and didn't even care to give me any kind of notice. I did not know until I needed it, of course. Their response was that it was not their responsibility!!!! And they claimed that they did not have my email address or contact information. They refused to reinstall my insurance but then decided to charge me $750 for the non coverage and send me to collections to be harassed constantly by a collections agency. Then a couple of emails ago, they sent me a marketing email. So - guess what - they had my email address, which they denied having before. Ever since, they send me multiple letters. They are TERRIBLE.
1
January 24, 2020

Alvaraal

Not for high end cars.

If you have a luxury vehicle and expect to be able to chose to use your dealer for repairs. This is not the insurance company for you. They have limits on what they are willing to pay for service and will not even pay the bill on your behalf. They expect you to pay out of packet. And I don’t mean your deductible. Which fair insurance practices. They can not even guarantee you will be reimbursed for your claim. Telling your clients you can choos...
If you have a luxury vehicle and expect to be able to chose to use your dealer for repairs. This is not the insurance company for you. They have limits on what they are willing to pay for service and will not even pay the bill on your behalf. They expect you to pay out of packet. And I don’t mean your deductible. Which fair insurance practices. They can not even guarantee you will be reimbursed for your claim. Telling your clients you can choose to take your vehicle anywhere you like, is untrue if you make impossible to work with someone other then the insurances preferred service departments. If I pay for a high end car I expect high end technicians and high end parts. Not discounted parts and discounted services departments. I’m a firm believer of you get what you pay for. I will be changing providers to a more reliable/ reputable insurance company
1
January 3, 2020

AliciaM

Can't Reach Anyone

I can never get a hold of anyone. I needed to update my card info and sent an email to the email address provided two weeks ago and no response. Is this even a real company?? I can't make a profile online to make payments or manage my account. Can't find any social media for them. It looks a lot like fraud. The prices are good but why is it so hard to reach an actual person? I am going to start looking for someone else.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption