Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Allmerica Financial Alliance changed its name to the Hanover Insurance Group in 2005. Use this Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance review to learn more about the company. Hanover Insurance is only available in 17 states, so use our comparison tool to find affordable auto insurance near you.

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023Fact Checked

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of professional experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ach...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 2, 2023Fact Checked
3.8
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Excellent A+ financial rating from A.M. Best
  • Wide variety of discounts and coverage options

Cons

  • You must contact a Hanover insurance agent to get Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance quotes
  • Coverage only available in 17 states
  • Does not have a mobile app

Final Verdict: Review of Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance

Keep reading to find the best auto insurance companies. This Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance review will tell you everything you need to know about the company, which has been absorbed by Hanover Insurance Group.

Hanover has been selling policies and consistently growing its portfolio of insurance products since 1852. Based in Massachusetts, the company sells insurance in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. It is publicly traded and has consistently received an “A,” or excellent, financial stability rating from A.M. Best.

Starting as a home and business insurance company in 1852, Hanover was very popular with early investors, including famous author Washington Irving. It was named for its original location, Manhattan's Hanover Square. In 1911, the company expanded its coverage to include automobiles, underwriting a policy for baseball's most famous player, Babe Ruth, in 1915. In 1969, the company moved its headquarters to Massachusetts. In 2013, Hanover reached the milestone of having more than $5 billion in written premiums.

What You Should Know About The Hanover Insurance Group

Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance is available through Hanover Insurance, which tends to be more expensive than its competitors, with lower rankings by most standard metrics. This doesn’t mean the company is a bad choice for you.

If you feel that doing business with an independent agent is the best choice for you, it may be worth your time to consider purchasing a policy from Hanover. Ask your agent for a quote and if they know of any other products that might be a better fit for your needs. Then compare auto insurance quotes online to see if Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance quotes from Hanover are the most affordable option near you.

How to Get Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance Quotes

While many of the largest insurance companies in the country offer online quote systems, Hanover requires you to contact an independent agent to get Allmerica Financial Alliance quotes.

Keep in mind, however, that it’s always best to find an agent with no affiliation to any particular insurance company. You can also get free car insurance quotes online with comparison tools like ours above. Enter your ZIP code to get auto insurance rates from local companies in your neighborhood.

The Hanover Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Hanover offers a variety of car personal insurance coverage options for Allmerica policies that can be customized to fit the personal Its types of auto insurance coverage may include:

Different Types of Insurance Available from Hanover

If you buy Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance from Hanover, you can also purchase a policy called “Toys” coverage. It’s not for all the stuff you buy your kids; it’s for all the fun stuff you buy yourself. This coverage is only available for those who already have a personal auto insurance policy with Hanover, as it’s an add-on and cannot be purchased separately.

The Toys coverage can be purchased to protect motor homes, golf carts, dune buggies, all-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles, antique vehicles, classic vehicles, trailers, and campers. However, it only covers physical damage, so if you want other types of coverage on these vehicles, a policy will need to be customized specifically for you by Hanover.

Because they are a smaller company, they have to be more creative in the policies they offer to attract clients. This means they might have the perfect policy for you. The downside of this, however, is that Hanover’s coverage is only available through an agent, meaning you cannot get an online quote for a policy.

How to Cancel Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance

Before you decide to cancel car insurance, make sure you’re managing your auto insurance policy by having another one set up first. Canceling without having new coverage in place could leave you with a gap in coverage, which would mean your vehicle was unprotected during that time.

You’ll want to get in touch with your independent agent and let them know you would like to cancel your auto insurance. If you used them to purchase a new policy, they may have already put things in motion to cancel your policy through Hanover without any extra work on your part.

You may also find that your new insurance company will take care of your cancellation for you, so make sure to ask when you’re setting up the new policy if taking care of the termination of your old policy is a service that they offer.

If you don’t want to reach out to your agent, you can call the Hanover customer service department at 1-800-922-8427, and they can connect you to someone who can help you get your policy canceled.

If you have insurance through Hanover, your best bet is to reach out to your independent agent who arranged your policy and find out whether or not you’re entitled to a refund on car insurance.

How to Make an Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance Claim

To file an auto insurance claim with Hanover, call the claims department directly at 1-800-628-0250. They can walk you through the process of filing a claim and answer any questions you may have.

Once you’ve filed a claim, expect to hear from an adjuster within one business day. When you hear from your adjuster, they will:

  • Ask you for a statement to get the details of the accident
  • Review your policy and the specific coverages that are available to you
  • Explain the damage estimate process to you and let you know the next steps in getting your car repaired or replaced
  • Inform you whether or not a deductible will apply

If you have any questions about your claim, feel free to reach out to your adjuster or your independent agent.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hanover Insurance Group Discounts Available

Allmerica Financial Alliance offers the following auto insurance discounts:

  • Good Student Discount: Like most insurance companies, Hanover is happy to reward responsible students with a discount. Typically, a discount of this kind is available to students with a B average or higher, but Hanover’s website doesn’t provide their specific requirements, so you may need to reach out to your agent and ask if this is a discount you might be entitled to.
  • Student Away at School Discount: If you have a student on your policy who is away at school and won’t have access to your vehicle on a regular basis, you may be entitled to this discount.
  • Low Mileage Discount: If you don’t drive much, you have a decreased risk of being in an accident. Hanover is happy to reward you for your reduced risk with a discount on your premium.

Hanover also offers a bundling discount. So, you can get more affordable Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance rates if you have multiple policies with Hanover.

Keep in mind that insurance companies update their discounts all the time. You may want to verify the current available discounts with your independent agent.

Hanover Auto Insurance Discount Programs

Hanover’s biggest selling point is its Platinum Auto programs, all of which offer a fantastic combination of coverage options.

Platinum Auto Essential

This plan offers some amazing benefits, including:

  • Waiver of Deductible
  • Child Passenger Restraint System Replacement Coverage
  • Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Parts
  • Mechanical Parts Replacement
  • Ultimate Rental
  • Vehicle Key Replacement Coverage
  • Excess Custom Equipment
  • Excess Electronic Equipment

Platinum Auto Advantage

This plan offers all of the coverages listed above and adds:

Platinum Auto Elite

This plan offers everything included in the other two platinum plans and bundles in several other coverages, including:

  • Pet Injury Protection
  • Rental Car Insurance
  • Trip Interruption
  • Rental Coverage Upgrade
  • Home Care Services
  • Accidental Airbag Deployment
  • Accidental Death Benefit

You can reach out to your independent agent for details about these plans and how the benefits apply to you.

How The Hanover Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

There are various organizations that rate insurance companies on everything from financial stability to consumer satisfaction, making it easier for customers to choose which insurance company is right for them.

The ratings for Hanover are as follows.

Rating AgencyHanover Rating
A.M. BestA
BBBA+
Moody'sBaa2
Standard & Poor'sA
NAIC Complaint Index0.68
J.D. Power3/5 New England
2/5 North Central
Consumer ReportsGood/Excellent

Frequently Asked Questions

What happened to Allmerica Financial?

In 2005, the company changed its name to the Hanover Insurance Group and continues to sell different types of insurance policies, including car insurance, under this name.

Is Hanover good insurance for cars?

This is a tough question. While the company has received decent financial ratings and employees seem happy to be there, the Allmerica financial insurance company customer service ratings tend to be low, and you will require a middleman to access their service.

 

However, their platinum plans and Toys coverage make them unique in the market, so if these things appeal to you it might be worth your time to reach out to an independent agent for a quote.

How do you receive Hanover discounts?

Hanover offers a number of discounts, though that information is difficult to find on their website. You can review the section on discounts above or reach out to your agent for more information.

What is the Hanover Insurance A.M. Best rating and what does it mean?

Hanover Insurance has an A rating with A.M. Best, which is considered “Excellent.” While its rating could be higher, it’s high enough to indicate that they should have no problems paying claims in the foreseeable future.

How big is Hanover Insurance?

When compared to other insurance companies, it’s not very big. Hanover does, however, offer a huge number of products on a national and international level, which is a significant accomplishment.

What is the Hanover Insurance logo?

The Hanover logo is a stylized image of the company name. It isn’t a symbol and has no additional colors, which can be confusing for people who are used to logos that have a bit more pizazz.

Is there a Hanover Insurance blog?

There is no indication of a blog anywhere on the Hanover website.

What other companies are subsidiaries of The Hanover?

AIX and Nova Casualty are among the subsidiaries of The Hanover. Hanover also owns all of the Citizens companies, including Citizens Insurance Company of the Midwest. Allmerica Financial Benefit Insurance Company of Metairie, LA is also a subsidiary, but a different company from Allmerica Financial Alliance.

Although the name is similar, All American is not a Hanover company, and All American Financial Insurance claims are not handled by The Hanover.

How can I contact Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance?

You can contact them by calling their phone number or reaching out to an independent agent.

What is the average monthly rate for good drivers with Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance?

The average monthly rate for good drivers is not provided. Contact them or an agent for a personalized quote.

Is Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance available nationwide?

No, it’s available in 17 states.

What is Hanover’s availability by state?

According to the Hanover insurance home page, their coverage is not available nationwide. The company only writes auto policies in Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Tennessee at this time.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of professional experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ach...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading fina...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for The Hanover Insurance Group

3.80 (270 reviews)
1
August 23, 2023

mtcory

Slow and poor service.

Our truck was in a head on accident 26 days ago. Hanover was very slow to respond and at one point we went 6 days with no calls. They eventually decided to total our truck and came back with 4 "comps", 2 had duel rear wheels and not a 4X4. Ours has 2 rear wheels and is a 4X4. One "comp" was a stretch cab and not a full 4 door like ours. The other one had higher miles and was in average condition. I finally got them to agree to the $17,000 repair...
Our truck was in a head on accident 26 days ago. Hanover was very slow to respond and at one point we went 6 days with no calls. They eventually decided to total our truck and came back with 4 "comps", 2 had duel rear wheels and not a 4X4. Ours has 2 rear wheels and is a 4X4. One "comp" was a stretch cab and not a full 4 door like ours. The other one had higher miles and was in average condition. I finally got them to agree to the $17,000 repairs when our truck is valued at $30,000(2 actual comps that I found on eBay). My 30 days car rental will have long expired before I see one red cent from this company to fix my truck. See attached photos. The red truck is mine, the white one is their best "comp" valued at $20,000.
1
August 1, 2023

Lpetrey

Lazy and poorly run

I had the worst experience I’ve ever had with an insurance company with Hanover. Someone reported an accident to Hanover without my knowledge. They apparently got my information through my plates because the only information they supplied was a picture of my vehicle. I told Hanover I had no knowledge of any accident and was involved in no accident. I further supplied them with details to show the impossibility of the alleged incident. They said...
I had the worst experience I’ve ever had with an insurance company with Hanover. Someone reported an accident to Hanover without my knowledge. They apparently got my information through my plates because the only information they supplied was a picture of my vehicle. I told Hanover I had no knowledge of any accident and was involved in no accident. I further supplied them with details to show the impossibility of the alleged incident. They said I had no proof of innocence so the accuser was getting a payout, but that neither driver was ruled at fault. I later found out that they had put me at fault! I have no at fault incidents on my record in my 15 years driving except this. I’m looking into my options fighting it over them. The second thing that really irritated me with them was the unprofessionalism of the agent handling the case. It may be reflective of only him and not the company, but he was highly unprofessional in the way he spoke to me. If I hadn’t known better, I would’ve thought I was the accuser and not the insured! I was very calm and neutral toned with him intentionally and he would speak with sarcasm, as if he knew me and had a personal issue with me. I’m sure I have never met the man but I was left very confused after every interaction. A truly wild experience!
2
August 30, 2021

Adik

Bad customer Seevce

08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service becaus...
08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service because Representative hold me on phone for 1 hour and didn't tell me she is waiting for approval from supervisor to make a payment. I paid by my self to LakeSide Towing company and in 20 minutes got service.
5
December 22, 2020

Charlton_insurance

Auto and home Insurance purchase

Insurance request was handled with professional from [REDACTED NAME] who answered all of my questions and made the transition go smoothly and efficiently
5
December 21, 2020

David_1688

Great company, great services.

Very good service, easy to deal with and respectful. I don't have any claim in Auto Insurance, but my home owner Insurance gave me very good impression.
5
December 19, 2020

Chuck_Truza_

Fast, Professional Service

I have had a claim and was amazed at the service in getting it handled. I had a fender bender at 11 AM and by 2 PM I had dropped the car off at the dealership repair shop and all the details were taken care of. Can't beat that for service.
4
December 17, 2020

ccstangle

Happy with auto insurance policy

Have used auto claims service and roadside assistance. Both have worked well and prices are good in my area.
5
December 15, 2020

Oldgoldwinger

When all prices were in, I went with Hanover Ins. Group .

I was checking the prices for house and car insurance which I do every two years, to make sure the prices I was paying were in line. I thought the company that I had been with for 25+ had gotten very high. I took my current present policies, so everyone would price me with the same level of insurance protection. When a companies gave me their Quotes Hanover Insurance came in the lowest.
5
December 15, 2020

JacksonDad

Great Customer Service

My son totaled his car (he was fine) and the whole matter was wrapped up and taken care of in less than 7 days.
5
December 15, 2020

14for14

Trustworthy

They’ve been there every time I’ve needed them. Excellent customer service experience so far. I had bought a hybrid vehicle & the wiring is almost like food to rodents & I couldn’t believe it and it happened again days later to the rental, also a hybrid. This all happened right when the first wave of the pandemic hit & my experience with all the parties, with the exception of the dealership, was wonderful
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption