Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance Review (2022)

Allmerica Financial Alliance auto insurance is a subsidiary of Hanover Insurance Group, the 22nd largest car insurance company in the U.S. The Hanover sells car policies through independent agents in 17 states.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
3.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allmerica Financial Alliance Auto Insurance

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Hanover has been selling policies and consistently growing its portfolio of insurance products since 1852
  • Consumer Reports, on the other hand, reports that Hanover rates Very Good to Excellent across the board.
  • A.M. Best gives Hanover an A rating on financial stability

Cons

  • According to the Hanover insurance home page, their coverage is not available nationwide
  • Hanover requires you to contact an independent agent to get a quote

The Bottom Line

Hanover tends to be more expensive than its competitors, with lower rankings by most standard metrics. This doesn’t mean the company is a bad choice for you, however.

Their financial rankings are perfectly reasonable and they offer a wide variety of coverages, some of which are not available from the competition, which might be enough to tilt you in their favor.

If you feel that doing business with an independent agent is the best choice for you, it may be worth your time to consider purchasing a policy from Hanover. Ask your agent for a quote and if they know of any other products that might be a better fit for your needs.

Starting as a home and business insurance company in 1852, Hanover was very popular with early investors, including famous author Washington Irving. It was named for its original location, Manhattan’s Hanover Square.

In 1911, the company expanded its coverage to include automobiles, underwriting a policy for baseball’s most famous player, Babe Ruth, in 1915.

In 1969, the company moved its headquarters to Massachusetts. In 2013, Hanover reached the milestone of having more than $5 billion in written premiums.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Hanover Insurance Group Discounts Available

Hanover states that they offer the following discounts:

  • Good Student Discount – Like most insurance companies, Hanover is happy to reward responsible students with a discount. Typically, a discount of this kind is available to students with a B average or higher, but Hanover’s website doesn’t provide their specific requirements, so you may need to reach out to your agent and ask if this is a discount you might be entitled to.
  • Student Away at School Discount – If you have a student on your policy who is away at school and won’t have access to your vehicle on a regular basis, you may be entitled to this discount.
  • Low Mileage Discount – If you don’t drive much you have a decreased risk of being in an accident. Hanover is happy to reward you for your reduced risk with a discount on your premium.

While these three discounts are the only ones listed on the Hanover website, there are many other potential discounts that may apply to your policy. Check with your agent to see if Hanover will provide any of the following discounts:

  • Pay in Full Discount – This discount is available if you pay your premium all at once rather than month-by-month.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount – Many companies offer a discount on your comprehensive coverage if you have certain anti-theft devices installed on your vehicle.
  • Multi-Car Discount – You may be entitled to a discount if you insure multiple vehicles with Hanover.
  • Safe Driving Course Discount – You may be entitled to a discount if you pass a certified driving course.
  • Multi-line Discount – If you have multiple policies with Hanover you should be entitled to a multi-line discount.
  • Affinity Groups – If you work for a company that is associated with Hanover auto insurance, or if you belong to an organization connected to the company, you may be entitled to a discount. Check with your agent to see if your employer or organization is affiliated with Hanover.

Keep in mind that insurance companies update their discounts all the time. You may want to verify the currently available discounts with your independent agent.

The Hanover Insurance Group Coverage Options

Hanover offers a variety of personal insurance coverage options that can be customized to fit the personal insurance needs of its clients.

Hanover home insurance options are:

  • Basic policy
  • Select policy
  • Select plus policy
  • Select premium policy
  • Select premium extra policy

You should choose your policy based on the coverage you need for your home, the value of your home, and the value of your assets.

Its types of auto insurance coverage may include:

  • Various liability limits
  • Collision or comprehensive coverage
  • State required liability
  • Original equipment manufacturer parts (OEM parts)
  • Newer car replacement
  • Deductible dividends
  • Roadside assistance
  • Transportation expense
  • Medical payments coverage/ personal injury protection

This coverage helps pay legal expenses if you are sued due to an accident or something that happens on your property, or if your identity is stolen.

The Hanover Insurance Group vs. Competitors

Online presence is one aspect where Hanover doesn’t really stack up to the competition. While they do have an active website where you can pay your bill and find answers to frequently asked questions, they don’t offer any kind of online quote availability or even a general idea of what your rates might be with the company.

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – Is Hanover good insurance for cars?

This is a tough question. While the company has received decent financial ratings and employees seem happy to be there, the Allmerica financial insurance company’s customer service ratings tend to be low, and you will require a middleman to access their service.

However, their platinum plans and Toys coverage make them unique in the market, so if these things appeal to you it might be worth your time to reach out to an independent agent for a quote.

#2 – How do you receive Hanover discounts?

Hanover offers a number of discounts, though that information is difficult to find on their website. You can review the section on discounts above or reach out to your agent for more information.

#3 – What is the Hanover Insurance A.M. Best rating and what does it mean?

Hanover Insurance has an A rating with A.M. Best, which is considered “Excellent.” While its rating could be higher, it’s high enough to indicate that it should have no problems paying claims in the foreseeable future.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for The Hanover Insurance Group

3.85 (264 reviews)
2
August 30, 2021

Adik

Bad customer Seevce

08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service becaus...
08/292021 I requested to have road assistance. It take me be with agent 1 hour on the phone and not completed the service to towing my car 2 miles to the shop. Representative told me she try reach 11 companies and no of them give a respond. which is not true, I called by self to Lakeside Towing company and dispatcher [REDACTED NAME] said: Representative of Citizen company waiting for approval from supervisor. I'm so upset with service because Representative hold me on phone for 1 hour and didn't tell me she is waiting for approval from supervisor to make a payment. I paid by my self to LakeSide Towing company and in 20 minutes got service.
5
December 22, 2020

Charlton_insurance

Auto and home Insurance purchase

Insurance request was handled with professional from [REDACTED NAME] who answered all of my questions and made the transition go smoothly and efficiently
5
December 21, 2020

David_1688

Great company, great services.

Very good service, easy to deal with and respectful. I don't have any claim in Auto Insurance, but my home owner Insurance gave me very good impression.
5
December 19, 2020

Chuck_Truza_

Fast, Professional Service

I have had a claim and was amazed at the service in getting it handled. I had a fender bender at 11 AM and by 2 PM I had dropped the car off at the dealership repair shop and all the details were taken care of. Can't beat that for service.
4
December 17, 2020

ccstangle

Happy with auto insurance policy

Have used auto claims service and roadside assistance. Both have worked well and prices are good in my area.
5
December 15, 2020

Oldgoldwinger

When all prices were in, I went with Hanover Ins. Group .

I was checking the prices for house and car insurance which I do every two years, to make sure the prices I was paying were in line. I thought the company that I had been with for 25+ had gotten very high. I took my current present policies, so everyone would price me with the same level of insurance protection. When a companies gave me their Quotes Hanover Insurance came in the lowest.
5
December 15, 2020

JacksonDad

Great Customer Service

My son totaled his car (he was fine) and the whole matter was wrapped up and taken care of in less than 7 days.
5
December 15, 2020

14for14

Trustworthy

They’ve been there every time I’ve needed them. Excellent customer service experience so far. I had bought a hybrid vehicle & the wiring is almost like food to rodents & I couldn’t believe it and it happened again days later to the rental, also a hybrid. This all happened right when the first wave of the pandemic hit & my experience with all the parties, with the exception of the dealership, was wonderful
5
December 15, 2020

John_W

I have nothing to complain about.

I have no complaints at at all my experience is great . It’s straight to the point and I have no issues.
5
December 15, 2020

Dustin34

Outstanding company!

Extremely happy with Hanover. From customer service to claims, everyone has exceeded my expectations
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption