Agricultural Workers Mutual Auto Insurance Review (2022)

AgWorkers is a small mutual insurance company serving Texas and Oklahoma. They have a B-rating with the BBB, and provide full coverage auto insurance.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Sep 24, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Sep 24, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Sep 24, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
2.9
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AgWorkers

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • It’s a good choice for those who look for insurance for farms, ranches, or anyone involved in the agricultural business or education

Cons

  • AgWorkers only covers the basic minimum insurance required by state auto insurance laws of Texas, Arkansas, and Oklahoma.

The Bottom Line

This insurance company is a practical choice for anyone in the commercial farm business. It’s not a general insurance coverage company like many larger companies. It’s a good choice for those who look for insurance for farms, ranches, or anyone involved in the agricultural business or education.

AgWorkers is a mutual insurance that started in 1948. From 1954 to 1964, AgWorkers grew rapidly due to investments and the number of policies attained in their coverage area.

They eventually moved into a new building, but finally settled into a permanent commercial residence in 1987. Since 2009, AgWorkers has continued to grow and has spread its services to Arkansas and Oklahoma.

As a mutual insurance company, AgWorkers pay dividends to its policyholders. They’re an insurance company that provides insurance only for those who are involved in agriculture, employed with AgWorkers, or have family employed by AgWorkers.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AgWorkers Insurance vs. Competitors

The ratings for AgWorkers are limited, but the company managed to make A.M. Best and Better Business Bureau (BBB) ratings.

Under A.M. Best, AgWorkers Insurance Company has an “A-” rating, meaning they substantially meet the obligations to policyholders. The BBB score is a “B-“ as of 2020. The NAIC reported that AgWorkers had a complaint index of 1.38, which is .21 points higher than the national complaint index for insurance companies.

Frequently Asked Questions

#1 – Did AgWorkers do business in a woman’s bathroom?

Yes. When the company was growing rapidly in the mid-1950s, they tried managing space within the workplace and used a portion of the women’s bathroom to do business until they moved into another commercial location.

#2 – Why can’t I get a policy with AgWorkers?

AgWorkers focus solely on individuals who are involved in agriculture, employees of AgWorkers, and families related to AgWorker employees and affiliates. If you don’t have any connections to agriculture or anyone working in AgWorkers, you may have to consult an agent.

#3 – Does AgWorkers offer medical payments coverage?

When we went through the quote process, we didn’t see Medical Payments (Med Pay) as an available coverage. Ask an AgWorkers agent if it’s available.

#4 – Is there a military discount?

The company doesn’t list any discounts for military service members, but you should ask.

#5 – How is AgWorkers different from other insurance companies?

AgWorkers is like a specialty insurance company, which focuses only on those involved with agricultural businesses, estates, and employees of AgWorkers. Although they provide auto insurance, they offer a broad range of insurance options for those who farms, ranches, and commercial agricultural businesses.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for AgWorkers Insurance

2.85 (8 reviews)
1
April 26, 2021

StoneyMarkham

Denied Claim for Mischief/Vandalism Despite Police Report

On June 2, 2020 I took my 2011 Honda CRV to McLarty Honda of Little Rock to have a broken belt replaced that controlled the power steering. The vehicle had zero issues with overheating prior to entering their shop and the radiator fluid had been checked earlier that day at Moore & Robinson on Markham Street in Little Rock as a courtesy since I was having new tires put on it. I told the service area employee who met me at McLarty I only wanted the...
On June 2, 2020 I took my 2011 Honda CRV to McLarty Honda of Little Rock to have a broken belt replaced that controlled the power steering. The vehicle had zero issues with overheating prior to entering their shop and the radiator fluid had been checked earlier that day at Moore & Robinson on Markham Street in Little Rock as a courtesy since I was having new tires put on it. I told the service area employee who met me at McLarty I only wanted the belt replaced (and I showed him the broken one) and the complimentary passenger airbag recall tended to since I was there anyway and had received a letter in the mail about the recall saying it was a free replacement. I waited for some time and listened to the employee informing two elderly appearing people of unexpected repairs to their vehicles. This, along with the AAA tow truck driver's warning to me that McLarty would likely try to tell me my entire air conditioning system needed replacing and to let them know I only wanted to replace the broken belt, made me suspicious. The first update I was given was that they recommended replacing the entire air conditioning system. I declined and reiterated I only wanted the belt to be replaced. It was getting late in the day so the employee left to see if they had a loaner vehicle for me. Then after quite awhile he returned and stated that they could not replace the broken belt because they didn't have one (if it was out of stock why didn't they say that before I had spent two hours plus waiting on its repair?) and furthermore he informed me the car was now "dangerous to drive". I asked him how that could be since it had driven there perfectly fine and did not get a satisfactory answer at which point I told him I was ready to leave. They had me sign some piece of paper and charged me nothing for the several hours. On the way home (at the time I lived at 2412 Hickorynut Ct in Little Rock which is only a few miles away from their location) the vehicle began overheating almost immediately. I turned my heater on all the way up and rolled my windows down and made it home. In the past I had had several vehicles that were older and had radiator issues and had had to deal with that kind of thing, although the CRV had never before had any such issues. Due to my suspicions and the fact they had kept my car for over two hours (and had tried to sell me over $1000 of extra repairs that I had been warned about), I decided to record checking the radiator fluid level when I got home. The video (which I still have) shows the radiator being completely empty. I filed a police report with the Little Rock Police Department about what McLarty Honda did, and opened an insurance claim with AgWorkers. Due to my still owing on the car, I had full coverage insurance and my policy stated there was coverage for vandalism and/or mischief. AgWorkers denied my claim the first time (the first adjuster allegedly inspected it while I was away. I had left the vehicle unlocked in the driveway for him, yet I never got a report on the findings nor was there evidence in the car that it had been looked at that I could see). I appealed the denial and [REDACTED NAME] (another adjuster) was assigned to the the claim. On July 14th he told me in an email (which I still have) he would be inspecting the vehicle tomorrow. I emailed him July 18th asking if he ever had and he replied on the 21st that the carrier requested I be present. Due to some personal issues I had no access to my email for about two months and did not see his July 21st email until September 24th when I emailed him to see what the status was. I never received a response and upon my contacting AgWorkers was told the claim was denied again since it was deemed a "mechanical issue" instead of mischief and/or vandalism. I filed complaints with the BBB and Arkansas Attorney General's Office about McLarty Honda and may yet pursue the matter in court. [REDACTED NAME] should have inspected the vehicle on July 15th like he said he would and my claim should have been paid out as the total loss it was under my covered mischief/vandalism coverage.
1
September 26, 2019

mikefoster1983

Horrible experience

I was in a rear end incident that resulted in minor damage to my back bumper. It has now been 45 days and I have no payment. I even took my car to a shop to get an estimate to expedite the process and it hasn't helped. Every time I ask for someone to call me back or respond to an email I never hear from anyone. Today I spoke with a manager who didn't even have the authority to release the $3,000 that it's going to take to pay for my damage. So I'...
I was in a rear end incident that resulted in minor damage to my back bumper. It has now been 45 days and I have no payment. I even took my car to a shop to get an estimate to expedite the process and it hasn't helped. Every time I ask for someone to call me back or respond to an email I never hear from anyone. Today I spoke with a manager who didn't even have the authority to release the $3,000 that it's going to take to pay for my damage. So I've been driving around after a no-fault accident with a damaged vehicle for over a month and a half now. surely this isn't the norm for this company and someone will reach out and help me and resolve this issue.
5
July 30, 2019

captain01

A great insurance company at a great rate.

This company has been great. Every interaction that I've had has been great. They are prompt and courteous. I've had several accidents and they had done everything they could to make it as easy on me as possible.
5
January 9, 2019

Kaitlin5118

Great Company

I like my insurance. They are very easy to work with and are always happy to help me when anything comes up.
3
March 1, 2018

kb755779

Good insurance just a bit slow.

Agworkers is good about taking care of claims for the most part but they can be hard to reach in the evenings or on weekends and are not the most timely in sending someone out to do an estimate.
5
November 9, 2017

nae

Excellent Company

I've had to make a couple of claims with Ag Workers, and they are very easy to get in touch with, and they get claims filed very quickly. I love my yearly discount, and I have not found less expensive insurance anywhere! Excellent value, great customer service, a winner for sure!
4
September 29, 2017

equise3

Automotive Insurance

Agworkers Insurance gives us very little hassle about taking care of things when we have had issues. However, they can be hard to get hold of on weekends and it may take them a while to send an inspector.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption