AAA Car Insurance Review

AAA car insurance is worth considering if you’re a member of the organization. Rates tend to be higher, but the company offers discounts and various member perks.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Aug 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Aug 29, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Written By: Rachel BodineReviewed By: Daniel WalkerUPDATED: Aug 29, 2022Fact Checked
Quick Read
4.1
autoinsurance.org

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA

Average annual rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Multiple discounts
  • Bundling options
  • AAA member perks

Cons

  • Expensive rates
  • Below-average scores for customer service and the handling of claims
  • Not available in all states or areas

The Bottom Line

AAA may be a good choice for auto insurance coverage, especially if you appreciate the roadside assistance with the membership. However, auto insurance rates with the company are often significantly higher than rates with other providers. 

Before you make a final decision on coverage, you should compare auto insurance quotes from multiple providers to see who will offer you the coverage you want at the lowest price. 

  • You have to be a member of AAA to purchase auto insurance with the company
  • AAA’s auto insurance rates tend to be higher than the national average
  • AAA offers multiple discounts and bundling options to lower rates

Is AAA a Good Choice?

If you’re searching for car insurance, you may want to learn more about AAA auto insurance coverage. AAA car insurance offers coverage options in many U.S. states, and policyholders may be eligible to earn discounts on coverage.

Unfortunately, AAA insurance is not available in every state, and the company’s rates are often higher than average. Still, anyone considering car insurance coverage — especially those with a AAA membership — should consider getting AAA insurance quotes to see how much they would pay for coverage.

Does AAA have good ratings and reviews?

AAA has an A+ (Superior) financial strength rating with A.M. Best and a stable future outlook. The company also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). There are a few customer complaints on the BBB website, but most complaints have been resolved.

AAA policyholders tend to agree that the company’s customer service could use some improvement. Similarly, many customers state that the AAA claims handling process is a bit more complicated than it needs to be, and some claims take too long to be resolved.

Not all AAA customers will recommend the company to their friends and family. Additionally, around 54% of customers are not likely to renew their auto insurance policies with AAA. Therefore, you should consider customer reviews and comments concerning AAA auto insurance before you purchase a policy.

AAA Rates

How much is car insurance with AAA?

Auto insurance rates with AAA vary based on countless factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage types 

Still, AAA auto insurance quotes typically indicate that a car insurance policy with AAA is often more expensive than a policy with other competitors. The table below shows the average full coverage rates of the top insurance companies as well as the national average.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
Average$1,477

You can expect, full coverage rates with AAA to be nearly 58% higher than the national average. And this trend is common in most AAA auto insurance rates.

The following table shows liability coverage rates, and AAA is often 56% higher than the national average.

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
Average$541

Similarly, people with poor credit scores are likely to pay rates around 76% higher than the national average. Individuals charged with a DUI could pay rates approximately 97% higher than the national average.

Unfortunately, nearly every category shows that AAA requires policyholders to pay rates that are significantly higher than other insurance providers:

  • Rates for teen drivers are around 20% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 55% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for adult drivers are 53% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 58% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are 68% higher than the national average. 
  • Rates following a car accident are 57% higher than the national average.

The chart below shows AAA full coverage auto insurance rates for teenagers compared to the national average.

Comparitively, here are AAA's annual full coverage rates for 45-year-old drivers.

And here are how AAA's full coverage rates for senior drivers stack up against the national average.

If you’re considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with AAA, you should compare AAA car insurance quotes to quotes from other companies.

It’s unlikely you’ll find cheap car insurance with AAA, and comparing quotes will help you determine which company would work best for you and your family.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA Discounts Available

Does AAA offer car insurance discounts?

When you get AAA auto insurance quotes, you may want to learn how to lower your insurance costs. Luckily, AAA offers many different discount options to its members and policyholders. Some of the company’s most common discounts include:

  • Education discount
  • Occupation discount
  • Anti-theft device discount
  • Loyalty discount
  • Safe driver discount
  • Good student discount
  • New driver discount
  • Student away from home discount
  • Driver training course discount
  • Multiple-car discount
  • Multiple-policy discount
  • Paid-in-full discount
  • Automatic payment discount

Much like AAA’s coverage options, the company’s discounts vary from one state and location to the next. Again, you’ll need to speak with an AAA representative in your area to learn more about discounts you may be eligible for. 

Does AAA offer usage-based insurance discounts?

AAA uses the AAA Driver Program to monitor drivers’ specific habits on the road. 

Policyholders who enroll in the program may save up to 20% on their auto insurance policies by allowing the company to monitor their average speed, distracted driving habits, fatigue behind the wheel, braking habits, and other factors. 

AAA Coverage Options

What does AAA offer for car insurance coverage?

AAA offers several options for car insurance coverage. Exact options for coverages, benefits, and discounts vary based on where you live, but some of the most common options for AAA auto coverage include:

Individuals can purchase coverage that adds up to a full coverage policy — including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance — through most AAA clubs. Still, you’ll need to speak with a representative of an AAA club in your area to ensure you know what options are available to you. 

AAA vs. Competitors

How much is car insurance with AAA?

Auto insurance rates with AAA vary based on countless factors, such as:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Car make and model
  • ZIP code
  • Credit score
  • Driving history
  • Coverage types 

Still, AAA auto insurance quotes typically indicate that a car insurance policy with AAA is often more expensive than a policy with other competitors. The table below shows the average full coverage rates of the top insurance companies as well as the national average.

Average Annual Full Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$1,993
American Family$1,386
Farmers$1,674
GEICO$984
Liberty Mutual$2,120
Nationwide$1,445
Progressive$1,310
State Farm$1,091
Travelers$1,287
Average$1,477
Get Your Rates Quote Now

You can expect, full coverage rates with AAA to be nearly 58% higher than the national average. And this trend is common in most AAA auto insurance rates.

The following table shows liability coverage rates, and AAA is often 56% higher than the national average.

Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum Coverage Rates
Allstate$605
American Family$582
Farmers$674
GEICO$290
Liberty Mutual$771
Nationwide$588
Progressive$484
State Farm$408
Travelers$471
Average$541
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Similarly, people with poor credit scores are likely to pay rates around 76% higher than the national average. Individuals charged with a DUI could pay rates approximately 97% higher than the national average.

Unfortunately, nearly every category shows that AAA requires policyholders to pay rates that are significantly higher than other insurance providers:

  • Rates for teen drivers are around 20% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for young adult drivers are 55% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for adult drivers are 53% higher than the national average.
  • Rates for senior drivers are 58% higher than the national average.
  • Rates following a speeding ticket are 68% higher than the national average. 
  • Rates following a car accident are 57% higher than the national average.

If you’re considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with AAA, you should compare AAA car insurance quotes to quotes from other companies. It’s unlikely you’ll find cheap car insurance with AAA, and comparing quotes will help you determine which company would work best for you and your family.

Frequently Asked Questions

What other types of insurance does AAA offer?

In addition to auto insurance, AAA offers:

  • Home insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Boat, RV, and motorcycle insurance
  • Flood insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Umbrella insurance
  • Educator’s insurance

AAA offers bundling discounts to policyholders who purchase multiple types of insurance.

How do I file a claim with AAA?

You will need to find the number for your local AAA club to file an official auto insurance claim.

How can I cancel a AAA policy?

You can call 1-877-387-8378 to cancel a policy. You will need to provide your policy number and request that payments be canceled immediately. AAA representatives may have additional questions you must answer before successfully canceling your policy. 

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that ex...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,931 reviews)
1
September 12, 2022

cordarei

inefficient claims

I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who ...
I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who went to the insured driver's house. How hard should it be to pick up a phone and call the person who went out? They can't get in touch with their insured driver, and they can't tell me what the protocol is if they are unable to get in touch. Their claim adjusters are highly inefficient.
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
5
January 17, 2021

Random_

AAA Review

The company was a good company but the customer service was very irritating, it was unbearable and I am considering to switch companies.
4
January 10, 2021

ted_mulkey

my pro and con with AAA

it was a very good experience there are multiple discounts that are amazing and quite helpful and their costumer service is good but it is a little bit expensive
5
January 7, 2021

Sherry1982

How I feel

AAA has been amazing and any time I need there help they are there with answers. They offer so many good deals with there road side assistance
5
January 7, 2021

Trustme

AAA Insurance!

This company was very good because it gave us protection and security of our autovehicle. I would recommend this insurance company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.autoinsurance.org account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption