Auto Insurance for Snowbirds
Florida law requires at least 10/10 of personal injury protection and property coverage for snowbirds. After 90 days in Florida, you must comply with their insurance laws.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 3, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
- There are special requirements for snowbird insurance
- Even part-time residents may be susceptible to Florida requirements
- Many insurance companies offer discounts for snowbirds
When you plan your winter snowbird escape to Florida, there are a lot of things to consider from where you will stay to who will take care of your pets while you’re gone. One thing you may not have given much thought about is auto insurance.
Florida has certain requirements for auto insurance, even if you are just a part-time visitor to the Sunshine State.
Start comparison shopping today to ensure you have the right coverage as you travel to Florida! Just enter your zip code in our FREE tool to get started.
Florida Car Insurance Requirements
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, anyone living in Florida for more than 90 days in a year must comply with Florida’s insurance laws.
Those 90 days do not have to be consecutive either, so if you like to make multiple trips to Florida throughout the year you could be subject to those laws.
To meet Florida state law requirements, you need to have at least:
- $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection
- $10,000 of Property Damage Liability
Personal injury protection, or Florida no-fault insurance, protects you regardless of who was at fault.
When an accident leaves you with expensive medical bills, lost wages, or other unexpected expenses, personal injury protection can help compensate you for these additional costs.
Not only does it protect your injuries, but it also covers other injured passengers in your vehicle as well. Because it is no-fault insurance, compensation is quick and stress-free.
Property damage liability pays for property damages when you are at fault in an accident. Most commonly, the property damage will be to someone else’s car but could include damages to buildings, trees, fences, guardrails, telephone poles, lamp posts and more.
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Other Types of Florida Insurance
Florida’s car insurance requirements are quite minimal when compared with other states. If you exceed damages outside of the $10,000 limits, however, you will be held responsible for the remaining costs.
It is recommended that you purchase a policy similar to what you have at home to give yourself a cushion of protection while driving around in Florida.
Other common types of car insurance you may want to consider are:
– Bodily Injury Liability
Bodily Injury Liability pays for medical expenses or funeral costs for the injured party when you are at fault in an accident. It also provides protection from being sued in a lawsuit. If the other party sues you for damages, it will provide you compensation for a defense attorney.
Bodily injury liability is usually denoted by a fraction such as 50/100. The first number is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay out for injuries to a single person ($50,000), and the second number is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay out for all individuals who were injured in an accident ($100,000).
Without bodily injury liability insurance, you could be sued for hundreds of thousands of dollars. If you can’t afford to pay, then your assets and future income could be taken away from you.
Collision pays for damages to your vehicle when you are in an accident with another vehicle or object, regardless of who caused the crash. This type of coverage only applies to your vehicle in an accident and does not include injuries or property damage.
Comprehensive pays for damages from accidents other than a collision. It covers damages to your vehicle due to hurricanes, which are considered to be a frequent threat to Florida.
Uninsured helps with costs from injuries sustained from a car accident with an uninsured driver. If you are hit by someone who is at fault and does not have car insurance, then having this insurance is important.
Uninsured covers medical expenses, lost wages, and compensation for pain and suffering. This coverage also applies if you or your passengers happen to be the victim of a hit-and-run accident.
Florida just so happens to be in the top ten states for people driving uninsured. You certainly don’t want to be in an accident with someone who has no coverage and can’t afford to pay for your damages.
The amount of coverage you have will affect the price of your premium. Always stay within the lines of what you know you can afford.
Get Insurance in Florida
Some people try to save money by registering their vehicle in their home state only. Doing this ensures they only have one insurance policy and one insurance agent to deal with.
But that could turn out badly if you get into an accident in Florida. Your home insurance could refuse to pay your claim because you misrepresented your location.
It is important that you buy Florida insurance through a Florida insurance agency. The good news is many of the big name insurance agencies around your area will likely have agencies in Florida.
One thing you don’t have to worry about changing, however, is your driver’s license.
How to save the most on car insurance in Florida
Fortunately, Florida is known for having the lowest rates on car insurance in the country. One way to get the best rates is to shop around and compare multiple quotes. Make sure the company is reputable and do some research with the Better Business Bureau.
There are other great ways to get discounts that can lower your insurance premium. If you are over the age of 50, check out some of these discounts that may apply to you:
- Senior adult discount
- Low mileage discount
- Diagnostic device discount
- AARP membership discount
- Defensive driving course discount
One thing is for sure, whatever you decide to do always read your policy before committing to anything, and make sure that it is written accurately.
Get your Florida auto insurance taken care of today, so you can sit back, relax, and enjoy the snowbird life! Enter your zip code into our FREE comparison tool right now to get started!