What are the car seat laws in Wyoming?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...
  • No matter what state you live in, you should always follow the manufacturer guidelines and instructions when it comes to children and car seats
  • The AAP also provides reliable guidelines
  • Wyoming law states that all children under the age of 9 should be in a child restraint seat and in the rear row of seats in a vehicle


If you have a child in your life, you have probably taken multiple steps to provide for their safety wherever they may go.

One of these steps should include safety while traveling in the car. Car seat laws vary from one state to the next, which can be confusing if you are traveling in between states or moving out of state.

Car seats must be federally approved. In general, most state laws specify that you should follow the manufacturer recommendation when it comes to the weight and height of the child.

Furthermore, most laws state that you should read and follow all instructions from the manufacturer. Make sure you are covered with the best rate using our free quote tool above! 

If you are unsure of the laws in a particular state, you can use this as a fallback until you find out more information.

American Academy of Pediatrics Recommendations for Car Seats

AdobeStock_26349443-1600x1600

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is another highly regarded resource when it comes to children’s health and safety in America.

Current AAP car seat recommendations include:

  • Toddlers remain in their rear-facing car seats until they are 2 years of age or reach the maximum height and weight for their seat.
  • Children should remain in a belt-positioning booster seat until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall and between the ages of 8 and 12.
  • The front passenger seat of a vehicle should only be used for children over the age of 13.

Car Seat Law for Wyoming

In Wyoming, children under the age of 9 must be secured in a child safety restraint system. More specifically, the child must be restrained in the rear seat of the vehicle, unless the vehicle only has one row of seats or if all other passenger seats are occupied by children in a restraint.

Consequences for Breaking Car Seat Laws in Wyoming

AdobeStock_60895134-1600x1600

Just as there are consequences for other traffic or safety belt offenses, there are also consequences for not properly restraining the children in your vehicle. Generally, not using a car seat or following the car seat laws can lead to:

  • Fines
  • Points off of your license

Car seat use is a secondary offense in the state of Wyoming. If you are stopped for another offense, you can receive a $50 fine for not having the appropriate car seat for a child in your vehicle or not using it correctly.

In some cases, this fine may be waived or reduced if you can prove you have obtained the proper car seat. Keep in mind that a $50 fine is for the first offense and may rise if you are a repeat offender when it comes to following Wyoming child safety seat laws.

In addition, Wyoming provides a reward for seat belt and child safety restraint use. A $10 reduction off of a ticket for a primary offense if all passengers in the vehicle are properly restrained.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Providing for Child Safety and Care

Whether you are a parent, grandparent, aunt, uncle, nanny, babysitter, neighbor, or friend, you are responsible for the safety and well-being of any child riding in your vehicle.

This not only includes driving safely but also making sure you have the right auto insurance coverage and providing a safe car seat for the child.

– Have the Right Insurance Coverage

Ensure that you have the right auto insurance coverage. This includes the legally required amounts of coverage and quite possibly additional coverages, depending on your own situation.

You should review your auto insurance policy every six months to be sure it is up to date and continuing to meet your coverage needs.

– Compare Multiple Policies

AdobeStock_91362395-1600x1600

When you review your policy, you should get quotes from three to four other auto insurance carriers to be sure you are not only getting the best deal but also doing business with a strong carrier who meets your personal needs. This can easily be accomplished by using an online price comparison tool.

– Decision Shouldn’t Be Based Solely on Price

While your premium amounts are an important factor when selecting an auto insurance policy, you should also consider other factors.

These could include the reputation of the company, reviews of the company, customer service, and how the company is performing financially.

– Car Seat Inspection for Proper Installation

Car accidents are the leading cause of death for children between the ages of 1 and 13 in the United States.

Deaths and injuries can be prevented by ensuring you have selected the proper car seat, have it installed right, and have the child correctly placed in the seat.

You can learn more from the National Highway Transportation Safety Board. Many local fire departments, hospitals, and police stations also offer car seat clinics or appointments for inspection.

Safety First

AdobeStock_38015788-1600x1600

While you can’t protect the children in your care from every little bump or scrape, you can take steps to help prevent them from being another statistic in an auto accident.

Taking the time to put their safety first, no matter what state you live in, will give you peace of mind and help you to enjoy your time together. Don’t miss out on our free insurance comparison tool below! 

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]