Mathew B. Sims is Editor-in-Chief and has authored, edited, and contributed to several books. He has been working in the insurance industry ensuring content is accurate for consumers who are searching for the best policies and rates. He has also been featured on sites like UpJourney.

Full Bio →

Written by

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring that exis...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Auto Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Apr 21, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Things to remember...

  • The car seat law is Idaho is a primary law
  • The Idaho car seat law does not offer specific guidelines regarding when to turn a car seat from rear-facing to front-facing
  • The AAP offers guidelines that Idaho drivers can follow for additional safety on the road
  • Car insurance companies in Idaho will enforce their own policies on following these safety precautions


Drivers in Idaho must take appropriate steps to keep children as safe as possible on the road. There are laws in Idaho regarding the proper use of car seats for younger children as well as seat belts for older children.

However, some drivers also refer to the American Academy of Pediatrics, or AAP, for clarification about the proper and safe use of car seats.

The AAP is a highly respected, national organization, and its recommendations apply to the general use of car seats and seatbelts. It recommends that drivers use rear-facing car seats in the backseat of the car for all children who are two years old or younger.

The AAP also recommends that front-facing car seats be used for children between the ages of two years old and eight to 12 years old who are less than 57 inches tall. There are no weight guidelines offered by the AAP for the safe use of car seats versus adult seat belts.

What is the car seat law in Idaho?

The child car seat law in Idaho provides minimum legal requirements for the use of car seats that must be met, and this is unlike the AAP’s guidelines, which are recommendations.

The Idaho car seat law requires any child who is under the age of seven years old to be secured by a car seat.

This law does not provide requirements for the use of a front-facing car seat versus a rear-facing car seat, and it does not provide recommendations for the use of car seats based on height or weight.

With this in mind, some drivers in this state closely follow the AAP guidelines to keep children in their vehicles as safe as possible.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consequences for Breaking the Law

If you plan to drive with children in your vehicle in Idaho, you need to be aware of the consequences associated with violating the state’s child car seat law.

All drivers who violate the car seat law in Idaho will be charged a fine of up to $100 per incident, and you may be charged multiple fines if you have more than one child in the car who is in violation of the law at the same time.

In addition, drivers who do not secure children who are at least seven years old or older with an adult seat belt in this state may be charged up to $51 per incident.

As a driver in Idaho, be aware that the car seat law and child seat belt laws are primary laws.

A primary law means that the police officers may pull over your vehicle based on suspicion of a violation of this crime only. They do not need any other reason to pull you over than their observation of a possible violation of this law.

Note that the seat belt law adjusts to a secondary law when the child reaches the age of 18 years old.

The adult seat belt law in this state is secondary, which means that law enforcement officials will need another primary reason to pull you over and cannot pull you over simply because you were not wearing your seatbelt.

For example, they may pull you over for speeding, and they can then charge you for a seat belt law violation.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Keep Children Safe on the Road

If you plan to drive with children in your vehicle in Idaho, it is imperative that you understand and obey the state’s car seat and seat belt laws. You should invest in the proper car seats for your children’s age, height, and weight, and you need to ensure that they are properly installed.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, or NHTSA, offers special seat checks that are available to drivers free of charge.

These checks can ensure that your car seats are installed properly or can result in their adjustment so that they are installed properly.

How do I get a quote for auto insurance in Idaho?

Now is a great time to review your existing car insurance policy and to determine if you need to adjust your coverage to enjoy maximum benefits.

The minimum car insurance requirement per state law in Idaho only provide for liability benefits, and it does not pay for any of your own out-of-pocket expenses related to injuries that occurred in your car or repair work on your car.

If you want to ensure that children and other passengers in your car are properly covered by your auto insurance policy in Idaho, consider upgrading your coverage to a comprehensive policy that offers personal injury benefits.

Idaho drivers should get in the habit of comparing at least three to four quotes for new coverage every six months. While this can seem time-consuming, the Internet offers you a fast and convenient way to obtain quotes and to potentially identify savings on your coverage.

As important as it is to buy coverage that is affordable, you also need to turn your attention to a provider’s financial security and overall devotion to providing great customer service if you want to make a smart decision about your car insurance.

Don’t miss out on our free insurance comparison tool below! Just enter your ZIP code and compare rates now!