Select Page

What are the car seat laws in Texas?

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

Things to remember...

  • Car seats are designed to keep children safe, but each state has unique child safety seat laws
  • Texas has reasonable laws as well as mild punishments for violations in comparison to many other states
  • Drivers should be aware of all car seat laws in any states they pass through rather than only in the state they are licensed to drive in

The American Academy of Pediatrics, or AAP, is one of the leading sources that offers child safety seat guidelines in the United States.

While each state in the country has unique laws and guidelines that ultimately dictate how parents must safely buckle their little ones in while on the road, it is important to note that the AAP’s guidelines may be more significant than some state guidelines.

In some cases, the AAP guidelines are viewed as additional guidelines that parents follow in addition to state guidelines.

Since 2011, the AAP has stated that children who are under the age of two need to be in a rear-facing child seat at all times while in the car.

This recommendation differs from the previous one that stated that children could be turned to a forward-facing position at the age of 12 months.

In addition, AAP states that children who are between the ages of eight and 12 years old and who are less than four-foot, nine-inches tall should ride in an approved booster seat.

If you are driving through the state of Texas, however, it is important to understand what the law in this state says about car seats and booster seats.

Save money on car insurance starting today by finding the best rate for the coverage you need. Enter your zip code into our free rate comparison tool above to get started.

Car Seat Law for Texas

AdobeStock_72859522-1600x1600

If you plan to drive in Texas with a younger child in the car, it is imperative that you understand what the child safety seat laws are and that you properly comply with them at all times.

A child must be sitting in an approved manufactured child safety seat while in the car in Texas if one or both of the following is true:

  • The child is under the age of eight
  • The child is less than 57 inches tall

A child who is over the age of eight and who is more than 57 inches tall must be wearing a seatbelt at all times while in this state.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Consequences for Breaking the Law in Texas

You may be wondering what penalties are for violating the car seat laws and seat belt laws in the state of Texas. The child seat law is violated when those who are under the age of eight and who are less than 57 inches tall are not properly secured in a safety seat.

The penalty for this violation is $25 per incident. If an older and taller child is in violation of the safety belt law, the driver of the car will be fined $200 per incident.

Understand that this fine is assessed for each child that is not properly fasted in the vehicle. As you can imagine the penalties for multiple violations can easily mount.

If you have two or three children in the car at one time you are not properly fastened, you may pay several hundred dollars in fines for one event.

Provide for Child Safety and Care

AdobeStock_116290360-1600x1600

If you plan to drive with one or more children in your car in Texas, it is imperative that you plan ahead with safety in mind. Research and understand the child safety seat laws in the state, and invest in the right safety or booster seats required by law.

Ensure that they are properly installed, and seek professional help from the fire department if needed.

Remember that even those who rent a car in Texas must comply with these requirements. Some rental car companies offer booster and car seat rentals, but you should not rely on this.

If you plan to rent a car, confirm that a booster or car seat rental is available before you arrive at the pickup location or make alternate arrangements so that you have the safety equipment available when needed.

It is also important that you review your car insurance coverage periodically and ensure that you have the proper coverage at all times.

When you review your current policy today, ensure that it complies with the minimum coverage requirements in Texas, and consider if you need to purchase additional coverage beyond the minimum amount that is required by law.

Consider comparing at least three or four different car insurance policies every couple of months to find the best deal on car insurance.

Texas Car Seat Laws and Car Insurance Rates

Both car seats and car insurance in Texas are designed to keep you and your loved ones safer on the road.

When you understand what the legal requirements are, you can take steps to comply with the law and to ensure that these safety precautions are effectively working in your favor at all times while you are on the road in Texas.

Compare car insurance rates and make sure you’re getting the most coverage for your budget. Compare car insurance rates today to find the company that’s right for you. Enter your zip code below to get started.

FREE Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top auto insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

[0-9]
[0-9]